• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Dead 3930K??

Joined
Aug 3, 2011
Messages
792 (0.33/day)
Likes
373
Location
At the Pub
System Name Sli Lake
Processor i5 7600K w.c
Motherboard Z170 Pro Gaming
Cooling Hardline Acrylic w.c
Memory 2x8GB Corsair 3000
Video Card(s) GTX 1070 Sli w.c
Storage M.2 850 Evo 512
Display(s) 4K 40" BDM4065UC
Case Corsair 750D
Audio Device(s) Asus Zonar
Power Supply Corsair AX1200
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Logitech G910
Software Win 10 x64 atm
#1
Hi Guys,

A while back I bought myself a X79 system to play around with. It sported a 4930K with Rampage 4 Formula and 16Gb of 1866 4x4. No issues there all works well. I purchased a 3930K off eBay a while back (return policy expired) just for shits n giggles and it's not booting.

Now when I place my 4930K back in, she's all sweet. Boots up. As soon as I put the 3930k back it, no boot.

There is a debug LED and the number its stuck on is 19. I have read the manual and it saying "Pre-Memory PCH Initialization is Started".

This is as far as the boot process is going.

Things I have tried: 1 stick of memory in different slots, changing pci-e slots with GPU and cleaning the back of the CPU contacts.

Every time it will display "19" on the debug LED and wont go any further.

Is this CPU DEAD??

Any input would be great.

Cheers.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
20,190 (5.19/day)
Likes
5,489
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#2
Could require a bios flash but to ask, why downgrade? Also arent the 3000 series and 4000 series on different sockets for the Hedt?
 

nuwb

New Member
Joined
Feb 12, 2017
Messages
9 (0.02/day)
Likes
6
#3
Did you reset BIOS to defaults? Ideally some motherboard hardware option. But in particular, make sure RAM isn't XMP but standard frequencies and timings. I'm guessing you have in which case, my money is on dead CPU.

Could require a bios flash but to ask, why downgrade? Also arent the 3000 series and 4000 series on different sockets for the Hedt?
Sandy generally overclocked better than Ivy on air/water although Ivy generally gets better RAM OCs. The IPC difference is small so there are probably a good number of programs where Sandy wins. 39xx and 49xx are both same socket. What he's doing should definitely work.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
20,190 (5.19/day)
Likes
5,489
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#4
Could of very well bought a bad chip.
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Staff member
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,600 (3.83/day)
Likes
11,007
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
#5
try different PCIe slot for VGA. 3930K did not support PCIe 3.0 at launch, sometimes when board boots with PCIe 3.0 mode enabled on this gen of chips, you get weird issues like this. I have two 3960X that don't boot with vgas in specific slots if PCIe 2.0 is not forced in BIOS.

Would make sense then, if 4xxx CPU works, and 3xxx does not, with that in mind, eh?

Only thing I can think of; other problems usually gives different POST codes.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
20,190 (5.19/day)
Likes
5,489
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#6
try different PCIe slot for VGA. 3930K did not support PCIe 3.0 at launch, sometimes when board boots with PCIe 3.0 mode enabled on this gen of chips, you get weird issues like this. I have two 3960X that don't boot with vgas in specific slots if PCIe 2.0 is not forced in BIOS.

Would make sense then, if 4xxx CPU works, and 3xxx does not, with that in mind, eh?

Only thing I can think of; other problems usually gives different POST codes.
The same bs as it was on the mainstream, good tidbit for sure
 
Joined
Aug 3, 2011
Messages
792 (0.33/day)
Likes
373
Location
At the Pub
System Name Sli Lake
Processor i5 7600K w.c
Motherboard Z170 Pro Gaming
Cooling Hardline Acrylic w.c
Memory 2x8GB Corsair 3000
Video Card(s) GTX 1070 Sli w.c
Storage M.2 850 Evo 512
Display(s) 4K 40" BDM4065UC
Case Corsair 750D
Audio Device(s) Asus Zonar
Power Supply Corsair AX1200
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Logitech G910
Software Win 10 x64 atm
#7
try different PCIe slot for VGA
Hey buddy,

I have tried different pci-e slots for vga but have not tried using pcie 2.0 mode via the bios.

I will slap in the 4930k select pcie 2.0 and report back what happens.

Thanks pal.

Edit: Just put the 4930K into the board, selected gen 2 for all PCI-E configs and still no boot. I also noticed there was a little red cpu light on the side of the board underneath the EATX Power that apparently should go green but its staying red. Cheers.
 
Last edited:

OneMoar

There is Always Moar
Joined
Apr 9, 2010
Messages
7,513 (2.61/day)
Likes
4,093
Location
Rochester area
System Name Kreij Lives On
Processor Intel Core i5 4670K @ 4.4Ghz 1.32V
Motherboard ASUS Maximus VI Gene Z87
Cooling Reeven Okeanos Single 140MM Fan +2 SP120 White's
Memory 16GB kingston hyper x @ 2133 @ 11 11 11 32
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1060 ACX Copper Single fan
Storage 240gb Cruical MX200SSD/WD Blue 1TB
Display(s) Samsung S24D300/HP2071D
Case Custom Full Aluminum By ST.o.CH <3
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply HX 750i
Mouse Roccat KONE
Keyboard Rocatt ISKU with ISKUFX keycaps
Software Windows 10 +startisback
#8
put the haswell chip in and drop the ram to 1600Mhz and try again
 

OneMoar

There is Always Moar
Joined
Apr 9, 2010
Messages
7,513 (2.61/day)
Likes
4,093
Location
Rochester area
System Name Kreij Lives On
Processor Intel Core i5 4670K @ 4.4Ghz 1.32V
Motherboard ASUS Maximus VI Gene Z87
Cooling Reeven Okeanos Single 140MM Fan +2 SP120 White's
Memory 16GB kingston hyper x @ 2133 @ 11 11 11 32
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1060 ACX Copper Single fan
Storage 240gb Cruical MX200SSD/WD Blue 1TB
Display(s) Samsung S24D300/HP2071D
Case Custom Full Aluminum By ST.o.CH <3
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply HX 750i
Mouse Roccat KONE
Keyboard Rocatt ISKU with ISKUFX keycaps
Software Windows 10 +startisback
#10
ram may not be playing nice with that proc 4x1866 is a bit of a ask,a quick google tells me that kit has issues kicking qcode 19 on some boards
 
Joined
Aug 3, 2011
Messages
792 (0.33/day)
Likes
373
Location
At the Pub
System Name Sli Lake
Processor i5 7600K w.c
Motherboard Z170 Pro Gaming
Cooling Hardline Acrylic w.c
Memory 2x8GB Corsair 3000
Video Card(s) GTX 1070 Sli w.c
Storage M.2 850 Evo 512
Display(s) 4K 40" BDM4065UC
Case Corsair 750D
Audio Device(s) Asus Zonar
Power Supply Corsair AX1200
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Logitech G910
Software Win 10 x64 atm
#11
Dead cpu code = 00. You're getting 19, so its not a dead cpu. The cpu may not be dead but it doesn't sound kosher either. GL.
Yeah its weird. When I put the 4930K back in it says "New CPU Installed" like its registering the 3930K.
 
Joined
Dec 29, 2010
Messages
649 (0.25/day)
Likes
271
#12
ram may not be playing nice with that proc 4x1866 is a bit of a ask,a quick google tells me that kit has issues kicking qcode 19 on some boards
4 x 1866 is not hard for a 3930k. I used to run Samsung Wonder ram which was rated 1600mhz clocked at 2400mhz on my 3930K back in the day. Code 19 does seem to revolve around memory though.
 
Joined
Aug 3, 2011
Messages
792 (0.33/day)
Likes
373
Location
At the Pub
System Name Sli Lake
Processor i5 7600K w.c
Motherboard Z170 Pro Gaming
Cooling Hardline Acrylic w.c
Memory 2x8GB Corsair 3000
Video Card(s) GTX 1070 Sli w.c
Storage M.2 850 Evo 512
Display(s) 4K 40" BDM4065UC
Case Corsair 750D
Audio Device(s) Asus Zonar
Power Supply Corsair AX1200
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Logitech G910
Software Win 10 x64 atm
#13
ram may not be playing nice with that proc 4x1866 is a bit of a ask,a quick google tells me that kit has issues kicking qcode 19 on some boards
I'm only using 1 stick of RAM atm.
 
Joined
Aug 3, 2011
Messages
792 (0.33/day)
Likes
373
Location
At the Pub
System Name Sli Lake
Processor i5 7600K w.c
Motherboard Z170 Pro Gaming
Cooling Hardline Acrylic w.c
Memory 2x8GB Corsair 3000
Video Card(s) GTX 1070 Sli w.c
Storage M.2 850 Evo 512
Display(s) 4K 40" BDM4065UC
Case Corsair 750D
Audio Device(s) Asus Zonar
Power Supply Corsair AX1200
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Logitech G910
Software Win 10 x64 atm
Joined
Aug 11, 2014
Messages
255 (0.20/day)
Likes
92
Processor ryzen 5 1600 @ 3.9ghz 1.38750v
Motherboard asrock ab350m pro4
Cooling Fractal Design Celsius S36 360mm
Memory Super Talent F3200UA8G x2 (16gbs total) @ 3200mhz cl16-17-17-17-36 1.35v
Video Card(s) PNY GTX1060 6gb with MSI AERO GTX1060 6gb bios
Storage Mushkin Enhanced Triactor 128gb ssd/3TB HDD
Display(s) Lenovo 21.5'' 1920x1080p ips
Case Rosewill CULLINAN
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply evga 600w
Mouse Best Buy Insignia
Keyboard Best Buy Insignia
Software Win 10 pro
#16
in regards to post codes, a bad cpu will in many cases cause the board to throw any number of codes and most of the time that code is specific to that cpu. for example, cpu 1 will throw code 19 on every board and cpu 2 will throw code 00 on every board. ive had 3 dead cpus throw codes unique to each one that would always be the same error on each board i tried them in.

i hope its not a dead cpu.
 

OneMoar

There is Always Moar
Joined
Apr 9, 2010
Messages
7,513 (2.61/day)
Likes
4,093
Location
Rochester area
System Name Kreij Lives On
Processor Intel Core i5 4670K @ 4.4Ghz 1.32V
Motherboard ASUS Maximus VI Gene Z87
Cooling Reeven Okeanos Single 140MM Fan +2 SP120 White's
Memory 16GB kingston hyper x @ 2133 @ 11 11 11 32
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1060 ACX Copper Single fan
Storage 240gb Cruical MX200SSD/WD Blue 1TB
Display(s) Samsung S24D300/HP2071D
Case Custom Full Aluminum By ST.o.CH <3
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply HX 750i
Mouse Roccat KONE
Keyboard Rocatt ISKU with ISKUFX keycaps
Software Windows 10 +startisback
#17
imc is toast chuck/return proc
rip
 
Joined
Aug 11, 2014
Messages
255 (0.20/day)
Likes
92
Processor ryzen 5 1600 @ 3.9ghz 1.38750v
Motherboard asrock ab350m pro4
Cooling Fractal Design Celsius S36 360mm
Memory Super Talent F3200UA8G x2 (16gbs total) @ 3200mhz cl16-17-17-17-36 1.35v
Video Card(s) PNY GTX1060 6gb with MSI AERO GTX1060 6gb bios
Storage Mushkin Enhanced Triactor 128gb ssd/3TB HDD
Display(s) Lenovo 21.5'' 1920x1080p ips
Case Rosewill CULLINAN
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply evga 600w
Mouse Best Buy Insignia
Keyboard Best Buy Insignia
Software Win 10 pro
#18
i have an i7 3820 that will only boot if i have ram in the first 2 blue slots for testing. it boots with all ram slots populated and works fine but if i just want to test it i cant go less then this. dont know why but thats how it is. the board its in is a dx79si.

thought i would add this little tid bit.
 
Joined
Aug 3, 2011
Messages
792 (0.33/day)
Likes
373
Location
At the Pub
System Name Sli Lake
Processor i5 7600K w.c
Motherboard Z170 Pro Gaming
Cooling Hardline Acrylic w.c
Memory 2x8GB Corsair 3000
Video Card(s) GTX 1070 Sli w.c
Storage M.2 850 Evo 512
Display(s) 4K 40" BDM4065UC
Case Corsair 750D
Audio Device(s) Asus Zonar
Power Supply Corsair AX1200
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Logitech G910
Software Win 10 x64 atm
#19

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
10,562 (4.76/day)
Likes
5,652
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Zalman CPNS9900MAX 130mm
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB @ PCI-E 3.0
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 Corsair Force GT Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 17.10
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#20
This may sound really stupid but, do you have a disk plugged in? My P9X79 Deluxe will stop on one of the PCH initialization codes if there is no disk present. Figured that one out first hand going from a 3820 to a 3930k.
 
Joined
Aug 6, 2017
Messages
701 (3.49/day)
Likes
363
Location
Poland
Processor i7 5775c
Motherboard Z97X Gaming 5
Cooling Noctua D15S
Memory Crucial Ballistix Tactical LP DDR3L 2133MHz 9-9-9-27-1T 1.512v.
Video Card(s) GTX 1080 SuperJetstream
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256(x2)+512GB / 3TB+1TB HDDs
Display(s) Acer XB1 24" 1440p 165Hz G-SYNC
Case Full tower
Power Supply Superflower Leadex Gold 850W
Mouse G403 wireless
Keyboard Razer Deathstalker
Software Windows 10
#21
It looks like the boot is initialized but something not necessarily CPU-related makes it either hang or wait .....
 
Joined
Aug 3, 2011
Messages
792 (0.33/day)
Likes
373
Location
At the Pub
System Name Sli Lake
Processor i5 7600K w.c
Motherboard Z170 Pro Gaming
Cooling Hardline Acrylic w.c
Memory 2x8GB Corsair 3000
Video Card(s) GTX 1070 Sli w.c
Storage M.2 850 Evo 512
Display(s) 4K 40" BDM4065UC
Case Corsair 750D
Audio Device(s) Asus Zonar
Power Supply Corsair AX1200
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Logitech G910
Software Win 10 x64 atm
#22
This may sound really stupid but, do you have a disk plugged in? My P9X79 Deluxe will stop on one of the PCH initialization codes if there is no disk present. Figured that one out first hand going from a 3820 to a 3930k.
Like a CD rom? If so then the answer is no. The only peripheral I have plugged in atm is the keyboard, so I can get into bios if it boots. Thanks.
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
10,562 (4.76/day)
Likes
5,652
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Zalman CPNS9900MAX 130mm
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB @ PCI-E 3.0
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 Corsair Force GT Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 17.10
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#23
Like a CD rom? If so then the answer is no. The only peripheral I have plugged in atm is the keyboard, so I can get into bios if it boots. Thanks.
Like a SSD or HDD. Mine won't post without a real disk attached.
 
Joined
Aug 3, 2011
Messages
792 (0.33/day)
Likes
373
Location
At the Pub
System Name Sli Lake
Processor i5 7600K w.c
Motherboard Z170 Pro Gaming
Cooling Hardline Acrylic w.c
Memory 2x8GB Corsair 3000
Video Card(s) GTX 1070 Sli w.c
Storage M.2 850 Evo 512
Display(s) 4K 40" BDM4065UC
Case Corsair 750D
Audio Device(s) Asus Zonar
Power Supply Corsair AX1200
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Logitech G910
Software Win 10 x64 atm
#24
Like a SSD or HDD. Mine won't post without a real disk attached.
Yeah got an SSD for windows to boot up, if it does boot...

Cheers. Ill take the sata cable out and give it a shot and report back.

Edit: Just realized I'm thinking the opposite of what you are trying to say. Yes I have an SSD ready for windows to boot up once it boots but its looking grim at this stage :(
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
10,562 (4.76/day)
Likes
5,652
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Zalman CPNS9900MAX 130mm
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB @ PCI-E 3.0
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 Corsair Force GT Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 17.10
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#25
For what it's worth, I was able to swap between the 3820 and 3930k and back without a problem on both of the P9X79 Deluxes I have now. If everything else about the setup is the same and resetting the BIOS doesn't do anything, I suspect that the CPU is toast.