• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Dead Computer

KennyT772

New Member
Joined
Dec 21, 2005
Messages
3,572 (0.65/day)
System Name Raptor
Processor Intel E8400 Wolfdale @3600
Motherboard Asus P5Q-Pro LGA775
Cooling Zalman CNPS9700
Memory 1024mbx2 Crucial Ballistix DDR800
Video Card(s) XFX 9600GT
Storage Seagate 7200.11 500GB
Display(s) Acer AL2216Wbd and Acer AL1717
Case Gigabyte 3DAurora Black
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Extreme Gamer Faitality
Power Supply OCZ GameXStream 500w
I just got home today from running errands and I find my computer off yet the fans are still running. The psu is hot to the touch and my system will not boot, the lights flicker when I turn the psu on or off. My motherboard so far will not boot with another psu (thermaltake 420w) and now I'm tearing apart my system to see if it can be fixed or salvaged... Please tell me there is some hope!
 

pbmaster

New Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2006
Messages
2,588 (0.49/day)
Location
Savannah, GA
Processor AMD Phenom II 955
Motherboard Asus Crosshair III Formula
Cooling Cooler Master V8 CPU cooler, 120 mm and 200 mm exhaust, 3 x 120 mm intake
Memory 4 GB OCZ DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon HD 4890
Storage Western Digital 500 GB Blacks in RAID 0/ Wesdtern Digital SE16 250 GB
Display(s) Acer 19" widescreen
Case Antec Nine Hundred
Audio Device(s) Supreme X-Fi
Power Supply Seasonic M12 SS-700HM
Software Windows Vista Home Premium x64 SP2
Benchmark Scores 3dMark 03-~62k 3dMark 05-~22k 3dMark 06-18268
I've had something similar like this happen to me. All my fans and lights would come on, but nothing else. Turned out to be the mobo. It was working fine the night before too...
 

zekrahminator

McLovin
Joined
Jan 29, 2006
Messages
9,066 (1.67/day)
Location
My house.
Processor AMD Athlon 64 X2 4800+ Brisbane @ 2.8GHz (224x12.5, 1.425V)
Motherboard Gigabyte sumthin-or-another, it's got an nForce 430
Cooling Dual 120mm case fans front/rear, Arctic Cooling Freezer 64 Pro, Zalman VF-900 on GPU
Memory 2GB G.Skill DDR2 800
Video Card(s) Sapphire X850XT @ 580/600
Storage WD 160 GB SATA hard drive.
Display(s) Hanns G 19" widescreen, 5ms response time, 1440x900
Case Thermaltake Soprano (black with side window).
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Live! 24 bit (paired with X-530 speakers).
Power Supply ThermalTake 430W TR2
Software XP Home SP2, can't wait for Vista SP1.
Today must be the day when all our computers give us heart attacks...lol.

1AM, my PC was fine. 10AM, I try turning it on, and I get a bunch of long beeps. I look in my manual, turns out it's a DRAM problem, so I switch the RAM slots. Everything's fine...for now.
 

OOTay

New Member
Joined
Jan 28, 2006
Messages
710 (0.13/day)
Location
Cali
Processor Athlon 64 X2 3800+ Manchester HT 2000MHz @ 2.5ghz
Motherboard ASRock 939Dual-SATA2 Socket 939 ULi M1695
Cooling ARCTIC COOLING Freezer 64 Pro, GPU VF700CU-LED, 3 120mm Front, 1 120mm + 92mm Rear, 1 92mm Top.
Memory 1gig pc3200 @ 208mhz 2,2,2,5
Video Card(s) x850pro @ XT 256mb agp @ 535 core 591mem
Storage 160gb Western Digital SATA 3.0gbs
Display(s) 19in Hanns G widescreen 5ms LCD
Case Thermaltake Black Xaser Armor Series
Audio Device(s) onboard 7.1 Realtek
Power Supply Thermaltake 420watt TT
Software Windows XP / Linux, Photoshop God.
Kenny, i forgot about something...check for watercooling leaks see if it dripped on anything.
 

p_o_s_pc

F@H&WCG addict
Joined
May 2, 2007
Messages
13,005 (2.62/day)
Location
Newark ohio
System Name el'lappy|Cruncher | Cruncher 2
Processor intel C2D T6400 | i7 3770k @4.2ghz | AII X2 220 @3.4ghz
Motherboard some Acer | Asus P8Z77-V Pro |Gigabyter GA-M61p-S3
Cooling dual 80mm cooling fan | WC'ing ) |cheapo
Memory 2x2gb ddr3 | 2x2gb Ripjaws 1600 |4x512mb D9s
Video Card(s) onboard | 60 1GB(hd7770 ) |8800GTS
Storage Momuntus xt 320gb |Kingston Hyper X 120gb SATA III|500gb WD
Display(s) 17in | 42" 1080P HD 3D TV
Case lappy case | CM HAF XB |none yet
Audio Device(s) onboard | onboard | onboard
Power Supply Dell brick w/ acer end end | Antec EW 650w |Antec SP 350w(upg.soon)
Software Windows 7 Ult. 64bit---->------->
Today must be the day when all our computers give us heart attacks...lol.

1AM, my PC was fine. 10AM, I try turning it on, and I get a bunch of long beeps. I look in my manual, turns out it's a DRAM problem, so I switch the RAM slots. Everything's fine...for now.
Mine has been working fine all day not a problem yet.It can be many things just switch whatever parts you can and take everything out that you don't need.clear the cmos.
 

hat

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
21,211 (4.14/day)
Location
Ohio
System Name Starlifter :: Dragonfly
Processor i7 2600k 4.4GHz :: Athlon II x4 630 3.5GHz
Motherboard ASUS P8P67 Pro :: GIgabyte GA-770T-USB3
Cooling Corsair H70 :: Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 2x4GB DDR3 1866 :: 2x1GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) 2x PNY GTX1070 :: none
Storage Plextor M5s 128GB, WDC Black 500GB :: Mushkin Enhanced 60GB SSD, WD RE3 1TB
Display(s) Acer P216HL HDMI :: None
Case Antec SOHO 1030B :: Old White Full Tower
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro - iLive IT153B Soundbar (optical) :: None
Power Supply FSP Hydro GE 550w :: something
Software Windows 10 Pro - Plex Server on Dragonfly
Benchmark Scores >9000
The only problem I've had is trying to download that free Far Cry from Fileplanet. Had to wait over an hout to get it and after 10 hours of downloading at 40k/sec it copied to my documents with a total filesize of 1.9GB, the download was 2.7GB. ;/
 

Kursah

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 15, 2006
Messages
13,425 (2.60/day)
Location
Missoula, MT, USA
System Name Kursah's Gaming Rig 2018 - Ryzen+ Edition | SpartanCore | SpartanCore2
Processor R7 2700X @ Stock (3.7/4.35) w/PBO+XFR2 | i7 3770 3.4/3.9 Stock | i7 4770 3.4/3.9 Stock
Motherboard Asus ROG Strix X370-F Gaming | Intel DQ77MK | SuperMicro X10SLQ
Cooling Noctua NH-U14S Push-Pull + NT-H1 | Stock Intel Cooler + AC MX4 | Stock Intel Cooler + AC MX4
Memory 16GB (2x8) G.Skill DDR4-3200 | 16GB (4x4) Samsung DDR3-1600 | 32GB (4x8) Mushkin Stealth DDR3-1600
Video Card(s) MSI GTX980 Ti Gaming 6G LE @ Stock | Onboard Intel HD 4000 | Onboard Intel HD 4600
Storage SSD 250GB + 960GB, 1x2TB | 120GB SSD, RAID10 6x2TB (6TB) | 120GB SSD, RAID10 6x3TB (9TB)
Display(s) Samsung 32" TV IPS 1080p, Dell 23" U2312HM IPS 1080p | 19" Dell on KVM..mostly headless operation.
Case Corsair 600C - Stock Fans on Low | Lian Li Lancool PC-K7 - Cougar fans | Modified Lenovo TS430 Case
Audio Device(s) Aune T1 mk1 > AKG K553 Pro + HiFiMAN HE-350 (Equalizer APO + PeaceUI) | Not in use
Power Supply EVGA 750G2 Modular + APC Back-UPS Pro 1500 | EVGA KR500 80+ Bronze (Both) + APC Smart-UPS 1500
Mouse Logitech G502 | Dell USB Laser Mouse (KVM)
Keyboard Logitech G15 rv2 | Dell USB Keyboard (KVM)
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 | Windows Server 2012 R2 (Hyper-V) | Windows Server 2016 (Hyper-V)
Kenny when I had that issue it turned out to be a RAM issue, I tried different PSU's and all the sort. Try one stick or if you have different memory try that...
 

KennyT772

New Member
Joined
Dec 21, 2005
Messages
3,572 (0.65/day)
System Name Raptor
Processor Intel E8400 Wolfdale @3600
Motherboard Asus P5Q-Pro LGA775
Cooling Zalman CNPS9700
Memory 1024mbx2 Crucial Ballistix DDR800
Video Card(s) XFX 9600GT
Storage Seagate 7200.11 500GB
Display(s) Acer AL2216Wbd and Acer AL1717
Case Gigabyte 3DAurora Black
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Extreme Gamer Faitality
Power Supply OCZ GameXStream 500w
ram wouldnt cause a mobo to try booting as soon as it has power. i think the board might be gone:cry:
 

Kursah

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 15, 2006
Messages
13,425 (2.60/day)
Location
Missoula, MT, USA
System Name Kursah's Gaming Rig 2018 - Ryzen+ Edition | SpartanCore | SpartanCore2
Processor R7 2700X @ Stock (3.7/4.35) w/PBO+XFR2 | i7 3770 3.4/3.9 Stock | i7 4770 3.4/3.9 Stock
Motherboard Asus ROG Strix X370-F Gaming | Intel DQ77MK | SuperMicro X10SLQ
Cooling Noctua NH-U14S Push-Pull + NT-H1 | Stock Intel Cooler + AC MX4 | Stock Intel Cooler + AC MX4
Memory 16GB (2x8) G.Skill DDR4-3200 | 16GB (4x4) Samsung DDR3-1600 | 32GB (4x8) Mushkin Stealth DDR3-1600
Video Card(s) MSI GTX980 Ti Gaming 6G LE @ Stock | Onboard Intel HD 4000 | Onboard Intel HD 4600
Storage SSD 250GB + 960GB, 1x2TB | 120GB SSD, RAID10 6x2TB (6TB) | 120GB SSD, RAID10 6x3TB (9TB)
Display(s) Samsung 32" TV IPS 1080p, Dell 23" U2312HM IPS 1080p | 19" Dell on KVM..mostly headless operation.
Case Corsair 600C - Stock Fans on Low | Lian Li Lancool PC-K7 - Cougar fans | Modified Lenovo TS430 Case
Audio Device(s) Aune T1 mk1 > AKG K553 Pro + HiFiMAN HE-350 (Equalizer APO + PeaceUI) | Not in use
Power Supply EVGA 750G2 Modular + APC Back-UPS Pro 1500 | EVGA KR500 80+ Bronze (Both) + APC Smart-UPS 1500
Mouse Logitech G502 | Dell USB Laser Mouse (KVM)
Keyboard Logitech G15 rv2 | Dell USB Keyboard (KVM)
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 | Windows Server 2012 R2 (Hyper-V) | Windows Server 2016 (Hyper-V)
Could have a short in it somewhere, too bad man. Wonder if it's your power switch in your case...probably not though.
 

HAL7000

New Member
Joined
Jul 28, 2007
Messages
263 (0.05/day)
Location
Nashville TN
Processor AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ Windsor 3.0GHz
Motherboard ECS KA3 MVP
Cooling stock
Memory Mushkin eXtreme Performance 2GB (2 x 1GB)
Video Card(s) X1900GT
Storage SAMSUNG SpinPoint P Series SP2004C 200GB
Display(s) Acer AL2051W 20" 8ms DVI Widescreen LCD Monitor
Case IN WIN IW-F430.RL Red
Audio Device(s) Creative Audigy gamers edition
Power Supply PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad - Copper
Software XP Pro w/SP3
call DFI tech support....if they answer the phone....tell them your dilemma....

If I understand right, you came home with your fans running and it wouldn’t boot when you tried. I also assume you had it running when you left?
Based on a guess...it does sound like the board fried. Have you tried another board if there’s one around?
Was the processor fan running?
 

Ketxxx

Heedless Psychic
Joined
Mar 4, 2006
Messages
11,507 (2.14/day)
Location
Kingdom of gods
System Name Prowler. V9.
Processor Intel i5 3570k @ 4.6GHz 1.2v
Motherboard Asrock Z77 Extreme6
Cooling Modded CoolIT ECO ALC, 3x 120mm Coolermaster Sickleflow fans
Memory 2x4GB G.Skill Ripjaws @ 2133MHz 10-10-10-25 1N (T)
Video Card(s) HD7950 Vapor-X @ 1.25GHz 1.05v, 6GHz 1.5v
Storage WD Caviar Black 640GB, 32MB cache, SATA
Display(s) 22" LG Flatron W2242S
Case NZXT Apollo
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DX 7.1 PCI-E
Power Supply Corsair HX850w modular
Software Windows 7 x64
Sounds like your PSU blew. If your lucky it didnt take anything with it. Taking your PC to bits, removing CMOS battery and settings your CMOS jumper to the clear position and leaving it overnight will do the trick for the mobo.
 

Glitched System

New Member
Joined
Mar 5, 2007
Messages
212 (0.04/day)
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo E6420 3.2 GHz
Motherboard Asus P5K Motherboard
Cooling Air
Memory 2 GB Crucial DDR 800
Video Card(s) NVIDIA GeForce 7950 GT 512MB GDDR3 PCI-E
Storage Seagate 400 GB S-Ata II, Seagate 500 GB S-Ata II, WD 500 GB S-ATA II
Display(s) Acer 22" LCD
Case Apevia
Audio Device(s) Creative SB X-FI Xtreme Gamer
Power Supply Apevia 500 W
Software Window XP Home
Had something similar happen to me a while back. Went to load a game, then went to the kitchen, when I came back. The pc was off. Tried to boot but It didn't. Although I got the led light.
 

KennyT772

New Member
Joined
Dec 21, 2005
Messages
3,572 (0.65/day)
System Name Raptor
Processor Intel E8400 Wolfdale @3600
Motherboard Asus P5Q-Pro LGA775
Cooling Zalman CNPS9700
Memory 1024mbx2 Crucial Ballistix DDR800
Video Card(s) XFX 9600GT
Storage Seagate 7200.11 500GB
Display(s) Acer AL2216Wbd and Acer AL1717
Case Gigabyte 3DAurora Black
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Extreme Gamer Faitality
Power Supply OCZ GameXStream 500w
To update the situation, my comp is completely parted out. The psu is dead, plug it in and the fans come on without it being plugged into the motherboard or the green being shorted. The mother board is also apparently dead, as soon as it gets any power the 4 red boot led's come on, power led comes on, vdimm led does not come on. The vdimm and power are supposed to turn on when power is applied nothing more.

Ram checks out as fine, same for the video card. Depending on what happens on tuesday after talking to hiper and dfi I may either send in my parts and have them replaced, or make hiper buy the psu back and buy a whole new computer - motherboard cpu ram psu. I would then part out the rest of my old stuff to try to recoup the difference.

I'm so pissed right now you wouldn't believe...
 

p_o_s_pc

F@H&WCG addict
Joined
May 2, 2007
Messages
13,005 (2.62/day)
Location
Newark ohio
System Name el'lappy|Cruncher | Cruncher 2
Processor intel C2D T6400 | i7 3770k @4.2ghz | AII X2 220 @3.4ghz
Motherboard some Acer | Asus P8Z77-V Pro |Gigabyter GA-M61p-S3
Cooling dual 80mm cooling fan | WC'ing ) |cheapo
Memory 2x2gb ddr3 | 2x2gb Ripjaws 1600 |4x512mb D9s
Video Card(s) onboard | 60 1GB(hd7770 ) |8800GTS
Storage Momuntus xt 320gb |Kingston Hyper X 120gb SATA III|500gb WD
Display(s) 17in | 42" 1080P HD 3D TV
Case lappy case | CM HAF XB |none yet
Audio Device(s) onboard | onboard | onboard
Power Supply Dell brick w/ acer end end | Antec EW 650w |Antec SP 350w(upg.soon)
Software Windows 7 Ult. 64bit---->------->
Another Hiper shited out that is making me want to get it out ASAP.When i get the money i am going to get a new PSU.So no new mobo for me yet.Sorry to hear that about the board and PSU.You may want to get a new PSU.
 

sneekypeet

Retired Super Moderator
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
28,571 (5.34/day)
System Name His
Processor Intel i9 7920X
Motherboard Asus Prime X299 Deluxe
Cooling Corsair H115i RGB Platinum
Memory G.Skill TridentZ RGB 32GB @ 3600MHz
Video Card(s) nVidia RTX 2080ti
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Samsung 55" 4K 60hz
Case Cooler Master Cosmos C700P (Inverted Layout)
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony Receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
Told you 4 days ago that PSU was no good , but you always seemed to know better than me , So I guess there is your final answer. Call Shawn @ DFI and see what they will do.(if it took the mobo with it)


AS A TIP TO ALL READERS OF THIS POST>>>>> IF YOUR PSU IS BLOWING OUT HOT AIR IT IS NOT A GOOD THING TO HAVE!
 

JC316

Knows what makes you tick
Joined
Jan 24, 2006
Messages
9,396 (1.73/day)
System Name Budget Gaming
Processor AMD FX6300
Motherboard Gigabyte 880GMA-USB3
Cooling Coolermaster Hyper 212+
Memory 8GB Ripjaws DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) HD7850 1GB
Storage 1TB Sata2
Display(s) Acer 24" LED
Case Generic black
Audio Device(s) Stock onboard
Power Supply FSP Aurum Gold 650W
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
I've had something similar like this happen to me. All my fans and lights would come on, but nothing else. Turned out to be the mobo. It was working fine the night before too...
Same with my 650I board. I am voting mobo.
 

p_o_s_pc

F@H&WCG addict
Joined
May 2, 2007
Messages
13,005 (2.62/day)
Location
Newark ohio
System Name el'lappy|Cruncher | Cruncher 2
Processor intel C2D T6400 | i7 3770k @4.2ghz | AII X2 220 @3.4ghz
Motherboard some Acer | Asus P8Z77-V Pro |Gigabyter GA-M61p-S3
Cooling dual 80mm cooling fan | WC'ing ) |cheapo
Memory 2x2gb ddr3 | 2x2gb Ripjaws 1600 |4x512mb D9s
Video Card(s) onboard | 60 1GB(hd7770 ) |8800GTS
Storage Momuntus xt 320gb |Kingston Hyper X 120gb SATA III|500gb WD
Display(s) 17in | 42" 1080P HD 3D TV
Case lappy case | CM HAF XB |none yet
Audio Device(s) onboard | onboard | onboard
Power Supply Dell brick w/ acer end end | Antec EW 650w |Antec SP 350w(upg.soon)
Software Windows 7 Ult. 64bit---->------->
my PSU is blowing warm air out the back but not vary hot maybe 10f above room temp.
 

sneekypeet

Retired Super Moderator
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
28,571 (5.34/day)
System Name His
Processor Intel i9 7920X
Motherboard Asus Prime X299 Deluxe
Cooling Corsair H115i RGB Platinum
Memory G.Skill TridentZ RGB 32GB @ 3600MHz
Video Card(s) nVidia RTX 2080ti
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Samsung 55" 4K 60hz
Case Cooler Master Cosmos C700P (Inverted Layout)
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony Receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
Well if you run a quality PSU it doenst heat up @ all on full load. When I had weak PSU's they get hot from stress, when I bought a quality PSU (running 2 pc's BTW) and neither PSU runs above ambient temps with whatever going on and folding in the background.

Seems to be for me at least an obvious thing to realize. If you have enough power to get the job done why would it get hot? Of course I'm a believer in more is better, hence why I advise bigger PSU's than just enough to get it done!

oh and P O S if you notice you are on the same PSU that kenny runs.....could it just be that PSU isnt up to spec?
 

p_o_s_pc

F@H&WCG addict
Joined
May 2, 2007
Messages
13,005 (2.62/day)
Location
Newark ohio
System Name el'lappy|Cruncher | Cruncher 2
Processor intel C2D T6400 | i7 3770k @4.2ghz | AII X2 220 @3.4ghz
Motherboard some Acer | Asus P8Z77-V Pro |Gigabyter GA-M61p-S3
Cooling dual 80mm cooling fan | WC'ing ) |cheapo
Memory 2x2gb ddr3 | 2x2gb Ripjaws 1600 |4x512mb D9s
Video Card(s) onboard | 60 1GB(hd7770 ) |8800GTS
Storage Momuntus xt 320gb |Kingston Hyper X 120gb SATA III|500gb WD
Display(s) 17in | 42" 1080P HD 3D TV
Case lappy case | CM HAF XB |none yet
Audio Device(s) onboard | onboard | onboard
Power Supply Dell brick w/ acer end end | Antec EW 650w |Antec SP 350w(upg.soon)
Software Windows 7 Ult. 64bit---->------->
Well if you run a quality PSU it doenst heat up @ all on full load. When I had weak PSU's they get hot from stress, when I bought a quality PSU (running 2 pc's BTW) and neither PSU runs above ambient temps with whatever going on and folding in the background.

Seems to be for me at least an obvious thing to realize. If you have enough power to get the job done why would it get hot? Of course I'm a believer in more is better, hence why I advise bigger PSU's than just enough to get it done!

oh and P O S if you notice you are on the same PSU that kenny runs.....could it just be that PSU isnt up to spec?
that is what i am thinking it isn't up to spec.I think the hype was just because of the looks.This PSU hasn't been as good as people have said i already had to RMA mine in less than 5 months of use and not a heavy load vary often just F@H sometimes and internet and not vary often games.
 

KennyT772

New Member
Joined
Dec 21, 2005
Messages
3,572 (0.65/day)
System Name Raptor
Processor Intel E8400 Wolfdale @3600
Motherboard Asus P5Q-Pro LGA775
Cooling Zalman CNPS9700
Memory 1024mbx2 Crucial Ballistix DDR800
Video Card(s) XFX 9600GT
Storage Seagate 7200.11 500GB
Display(s) Acer AL2216Wbd and Acer AL1717
Case Gigabyte 3DAurora Black
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Extreme Gamer Faitality
Power Supply OCZ GameXStream 500w
Sneek in order for a psu not to create heat it would need to be 100% efficient, which is physically impossible. you drawing 580 watts at 80% efficiency will create a lot of heat as the power is being wasted into heat.

If rick didn't back out of his deal with me I would have had no issues. Ask him why he changed his mind.
 

sneekypeet

Retired Super Moderator
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
28,571 (5.34/day)
System Name His
Processor Intel i9 7920X
Motherboard Asus Prime X299 Deluxe
Cooling Corsair H115i RGB Platinum
Memory G.Skill TridentZ RGB 32GB @ 3600MHz
Video Card(s) nVidia RTX 2080ti
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Samsung 55" 4K 60hz
Case Cooler Master Cosmos C700P (Inverted Layout)
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony Receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
dont know what to tell ya bro....do the math if my system needs 500watts and my 700 watt PSU is 85% efficient , im still under spec on the PSU therefor no heat!!!!!

And as far as the deal with Rick you did say a week ago youd send him the loot and he never got it....kind of hard to back out of a deal that was paid for.
 

p_o_s_pc

F@H&WCG addict
Joined
May 2, 2007
Messages
13,005 (2.62/day)
Location
Newark ohio
System Name el'lappy|Cruncher | Cruncher 2
Processor intel C2D T6400 | i7 3770k @4.2ghz | AII X2 220 @3.4ghz
Motherboard some Acer | Asus P8Z77-V Pro |Gigabyter GA-M61p-S3
Cooling dual 80mm cooling fan | WC'ing ) |cheapo
Memory 2x2gb ddr3 | 2x2gb Ripjaws 1600 |4x512mb D9s
Video Card(s) onboard | 60 1GB(hd7770 ) |8800GTS
Storage Momuntus xt 320gb |Kingston Hyper X 120gb SATA III|500gb WD
Display(s) 17in | 42" 1080P HD 3D TV
Case lappy case | CM HAF XB |none yet
Audio Device(s) onboard | onboard | onboard
Power Supply Dell brick w/ acer end end | Antec EW 650w |Antec SP 350w(upg.soon)
Software Windows 7 Ult. 64bit---->------->
You got to keep in mind that you aren't going to be running 580w on your PSU if you are it isn't going to be for long also the peak power is 630w.You are going to have SOME heat the less the better.With mine you can feel the heat coming off the top of the case if it is loaded (GPU,CPU) for hours and i know mine isn't using the full power of the PSU.
 

sneekypeet

Retired Super Moderator
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
28,571 (5.34/day)
System Name His
Processor Intel i9 7920X
Motherboard Asus Prime X299 Deluxe
Cooling Corsair H115i RGB Platinum
Memory G.Skill TridentZ RGB 32GB @ 3600MHz
Video Card(s) nVidia RTX 2080ti
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Samsung 55" 4K 60hz
Case Cooler Master Cosmos C700P (Inverted Layout)
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony Receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
well with both my OCZ GXS 700's neither of them are even the slightest bit warm EVER!!!!!
 

p_o_s_pc

F@H&WCG addict
Joined
May 2, 2007
Messages
13,005 (2.62/day)
Location
Newark ohio
System Name el'lappy|Cruncher | Cruncher 2
Processor intel C2D T6400 | i7 3770k @4.2ghz | AII X2 220 @3.4ghz
Motherboard some Acer | Asus P8Z77-V Pro |Gigabyter GA-M61p-S3
Cooling dual 80mm cooling fan | WC'ing ) |cheapo
Memory 2x2gb ddr3 | 2x2gb Ripjaws 1600 |4x512mb D9s
Video Card(s) onboard | 60 1GB(hd7770 ) |8800GTS
Storage Momuntus xt 320gb |Kingston Hyper X 120gb SATA III|500gb WD
Display(s) 17in | 42" 1080P HD 3D TV
Case lappy case | CM HAF XB |none yet
Audio Device(s) onboard | onboard | onboard
Power Supply Dell brick w/ acer end end | Antec EW 650w |Antec SP 350w(upg.soon)
Software Windows 7 Ult. 64bit---->------->
ok sneekypeet knows all. The rest of us don't know shit. There isn't going to be much heat i used my hiper in a P3 rig and it still put out some heat. There is going to be wasted energy with ANY PSU that isn't 100% efficient.The more powerful the PSU and the less the load lower wasted heat. It maybe so low that you can't feel it or it is getting trapped in the PSU but there is heat from the wasted energy.
 

sneekypeet

Retired Super Moderator
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
28,571 (5.34/day)
System Name His
Processor Intel i9 7920X
Motherboard Asus Prime X299 Deluxe
Cooling Corsair H115i RGB Platinum
Memory G.Skill TridentZ RGB 32GB @ 3600MHz
Video Card(s) nVidia RTX 2080ti
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Samsung 55" 4K 60hz
Case Cooler Master Cosmos C700P (Inverted Layout)
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony Receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
ok sneekypeet knows all. The rest of us don't know shit. There isn't going to be much heat i used my hiper in a P3 rig and it still put out some heat. There is going to be wasted energy with ANY PSU that isn't 100% efficient.The more powerful the PSU and the less the load lower wasted heat. It maybe so low that you can't feel it or it is getting trapped in the PSU but there is heat from the wasted energy.
WOW where the hell did this come from....just stating opinion...if you choose not to believe thats your right. I never once said I knew more than anyone. I guess I'll just return to my cave and not try to help anyone , cuz I guess we are all to hard headed to understand eachothers opinions!:wtf:

maybe my previous statement was worded a little too tight. I should have put "noticable" heat, but all the same I cant feel any!
 
Top