• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Dead motherboard?

molnart

New Member
Joined
Jan 2, 2008
Messages
55 (0.02/day)
Likes
5
Processor Intel Core i5 3570K @ 4,1 Ghz
Motherboard Asus P8Z77-M Pro
Cooling Gelid Tranquillo rev.2
Memory 2x4GB Corsair 1600Mhz DDR3
Video Card(s) Gigabyte nVidia Geforce GTX560 OC 1024MB GDDR5
Storage Adata S510 120GB SSD, Western Digital WD7501AALS; Seagate Barracuda Green 2000DL003
Display(s) HP LP2275w
Case Fractal Design Arc Mini
Audio Device(s) integrated Realtek ALC892
Power Supply Seasonic S12II-520 Bronze
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
#1
hi all

i have a bad feeling that i have somehow killed my good old Gigabyte P35DS3 Motherboard. Suddenly my attempts to start windows 7 end with a bsod, and the same happens when i attempt to start up winxp, which is in fact located on a second hdd. I have also tried to start the mini xp version from hirens boot cd, but it ended with bsod as well... I guess this rules out hard drive corruption, what i have first suspected. worst of all, i am not getting any display output at all!

Here is what i did before the complete failure occured: i have fired up "mini linux" from hirens boot cd in order to partition my old 250 GB IDE harddrive which is residing in a coolermaster x-craft enclosure. I have created the partitions on the external hdd and started to backup stuff on it from my two sata hdds (which are in my pc case) - still from mini linux. the process took like two hours. Then i have connected two usb flashdrives to the x-craft enclosre, as i wanted to move data from one to another. Afterwards i have restarted the pc and wanted to go back to win7.

The first problem came when i was still at the boot screen: the post memcheck appaerently failed and the computer restared itself. Then another restart occured when trying to boot windows. I have realised that the hdd enclosure (with the two attached usb pendrives) was still connected, so quickly plugged out the cable from the usb port.
Windows repair mode was also a no-go, as it either hanged or gave me an I/O error telling something about an improperly disconnected external drive (which is actually close to the truth).

So i figured that the problem will be probably mobo related, so i have tried to restore default settings in bios (i was running a slight OC for like more than 3 years). And this is where the real misery occured: no display output on the monitor!! In fact i had probs like this in the fact (display taking ages to turn on or wake up), but i always thought it was a problem of my hp lp2275s monitor and its displayport connection. Now i have connected my old phillips lcd through dvi, but i am not getting any signal either....

Does any of you have an idea what could be wrong???

I will try to get an old pci graphics card later this week, so i can get a display output and run some diagnostics from rescue cds, but any help would be appreciated.

I am afraid, that the usb enclosure somehow fried some crucial interface on my mobo...
 
Joined
Jul 26, 2010
Messages
1,655 (0.61/day)
Likes
729
Location
Philly
System Name Primary Rig
Processor Phenom II X4 B50 @ 3.7GHz
Motherboard Biostar TA790GX 128M
Cooling Sunbeam CR-CCTF 120mm , 6x120mm, MOS-C1
Memory 2x2GB Kingston HyperX 1066 @ 800 4-4-4-12
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 5830 800/1000 @ 885/1225
Storage 320GB, 400GB, 500GB, 1.5TB
Display(s) Hannspree HF259
Case CM 690
Power Supply OCZ 850W
Benchmark Scores 3Dmark06: 18545/5219 CPU Mark 7.0: 3911.2 Cinebench R10: 11826/3359 x264 HD 2.0: 75.6/23.9
#2
post memcheck appaerently failed
Umm... Maybe you should try pulling out one stick of RAM, then swap to the other stick, then try another DIMM (and alternate sticks).

It's probably just a horribly failed stick of RAM.
 
Joined
Aug 8, 2010
Messages
540 (0.20/day)
Likes
58
Location
TX
System Name W540
Processor i7 4700MQ 4x 3.40GHz
Motherboard W540
Cooling Modded Fan + AS5
Memory 16GB PC12800 DDR3 Dual Channel
Video Card(s) nVidia Quadro K2100M 2GB GDDR5
Storage 256GB Samsung 850 Pro SSD
Display(s) 15.4" 3K IPS
Case ThinkPad W540
Audio Device(s) Realtek HD Audio
Power Supply 175W
Mouse Razer DeathAdder WOT Edition
Keyboard Razer Deathstallker
Software Windows 10 Home
#3
Check the RAM for errors!
Also try a different CPU and remoove all unnessesary components!
Try to boot up only with Onboard GPU/Keboard and mouse.
ou could also try to reset your bios!

Hope it helps! :/



ahhhh Streetfighter2 was faster!!! ><
 

molnart

New Member
Joined
Jan 2, 2008
Messages
55 (0.02/day)
Likes
5
Processor Intel Core i5 3570K @ 4,1 Ghz
Motherboard Asus P8Z77-M Pro
Cooling Gelid Tranquillo rev.2
Memory 2x4GB Corsair 1600Mhz DDR3
Video Card(s) Gigabyte nVidia Geforce GTX560 OC 1024MB GDDR5
Storage Adata S510 120GB SSD, Western Digital WD7501AALS; Seagate Barracuda Green 2000DL003
Display(s) HP LP2275w
Case Fractal Design Arc Mini
Audio Device(s) integrated Realtek ALC892
Power Supply Seasonic S12II-520 Bronze
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
#4
yes, indeed my computer acts just like it had a fried ram, but i am still reluctant to think that the ram is the problem:
- before i started to mess around with the external hdd everything was working fine
- in my experience ram dies very rarely. it is either dead on arrival or works for ages until thrown away

i have also thought that there could be something wrong with the sata interface, as booting from both harddrives and cd-rom failed. if nothing works i will try to add an IDE dvd drive to try to boot from it.

unfortunately my mobo does not have an integrated video adapter, so i will have to go with the PCI solution - i should have an ancient Rendition Verite card ditched somewhere, i hope it will work with my mobo (which is 10 years newer).

Thanks for the replies so far, i will report back once i am at home again.
 
Joined
Apr 4, 2011
Messages
271 (0.11/day)
Likes
19
System Name Cougars Seeker
Processor Intel Tualatin 1.26gig 512k FSB133
Motherboard ECS P6STMT skt370 FSB133
Cooling Intel Stock Fan + HS
Memory PC133 Sync 640megs
Video Card(s) GeForce FX5200 PCI 256megs / Onboard FXcel 133mhz 64megs SiS630ET
Storage 20 gigs
Display(s) LG W2242TQ
Case Generic
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Random 425w
Software XP Pro 32bits Corporate
#5
unplug everything EVERYTHING remove the video card, unplug the hdd the optical readers and allthe memory sticks. boot up.. .if there is a regular BIP sound the mobo is fine and sending a signal that the memory is missing. If no signal then possibly the mobo or worse the cpu. But mostly the mobo since they are more prone to fail than the cpu itself.
 
Joined
Aug 8, 2010
Messages
540 (0.20/day)
Likes
58
Location
TX
System Name W540
Processor i7 4700MQ 4x 3.40GHz
Motherboard W540
Cooling Modded Fan + AS5
Memory 16GB PC12800 DDR3 Dual Channel
Video Card(s) nVidia Quadro K2100M 2GB GDDR5
Storage 256GB Samsung 850 Pro SSD
Display(s) 15.4" 3K IPS
Case ThinkPad W540
Audio Device(s) Realtek HD Audio
Power Supply 175W
Mouse Razer DeathAdder WOT Edition
Keyboard Razer Deathstallker
Software Windows 10 Home
#6
try to connect a usb drive and boot memtest and hdd/motherboard diagnostic tools
also check the manufacturers webpage for fixes and patches/updates :toast:
 
Joined
Mar 26, 2010
Messages
7,642 (2.71/day)
Likes
1,983
Location
Jakarta, Indonesia
System Name micropage7
Processor Intel G4400
Motherboard MSI B150M Bazooka D3
Cooling Stock ( Lapped )
Memory 16 Gb Team Xtreem DDR3
Video Card(s) Nvidia GTX460
Storage Seagate 1 TB, 5oo Gb and SSD A-Data 128 Gb
Display(s) LG 19 inch LCD Wide Screen
Case HP dx6120 MT
Audio Device(s) Stock
Power Supply Be Quiet 600 Watt
Software Windows 7 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Classified
#7
yep try to unplug ram first and turn it on. does it beep?
if beep it sounds fine.
check the chipset, just turn it on for several minutes and check. if it warm its good but if its too hot or cold indicate your board in trouble
 
Joined
Aug 8, 2010
Messages
540 (0.20/day)
Likes
58
Location
TX
System Name W540
Processor i7 4700MQ 4x 3.40GHz
Motherboard W540
Cooling Modded Fan + AS5
Memory 16GB PC12800 DDR3 Dual Channel
Video Card(s) nVidia Quadro K2100M 2GB GDDR5
Storage 256GB Samsung 850 Pro SSD
Display(s) 15.4" 3K IPS
Case ThinkPad W540
Audio Device(s) Realtek HD Audio
Power Supply 175W
Mouse Razer DeathAdder WOT Edition
Keyboard Razer Deathstallker
Software Windows 10 Home
#8
yep try to unplug ram first and turn it on. does it beep?
if beep it sounds fine.
check the chipset, just turn it on for several minutes and check. if it warm its good but if its too hot or cold indicate your board in trouble

I dont think, that the computer would start at all, if that was the case! :roll:
 
Joined
Mar 26, 2010
Messages
7,642 (2.71/day)
Likes
1,983
Location
Jakarta, Indonesia
System Name micropage7
Processor Intel G4400
Motherboard MSI B150M Bazooka D3
Cooling Stock ( Lapped )
Memory 16 Gb Team Xtreem DDR3
Video Card(s) Nvidia GTX460
Storage Seagate 1 TB, 5oo Gb and SSD A-Data 128 Gb
Display(s) LG 19 inch LCD Wide Screen
Case HP dx6120 MT
Audio Device(s) Stock
Power Supply Be Quiet 600 Watt
Software Windows 7 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Classified
#9
I dont think, that the computer would start at all, if that was the case! :roll:
he said it would on, but end in bsod and anything that done ends in bsod
so i guess at least the chipset should warm if it works
:toast: :toast:
 
Joined
Aug 8, 2010
Messages
540 (0.20/day)
Likes
58
Location
TX
System Name W540
Processor i7 4700MQ 4x 3.40GHz
Motherboard W540
Cooling Modded Fan + AS5
Memory 16GB PC12800 DDR3 Dual Channel
Video Card(s) nVidia Quadro K2100M 2GB GDDR5
Storage 256GB Samsung 850 Pro SSD
Display(s) 15.4" 3K IPS
Case ThinkPad W540
Audio Device(s) Realtek HD Audio
Power Supply 175W
Mouse Razer DeathAdder WOT Edition
Keyboard Razer Deathstallker
Software Windows 10 Home
#10
well...bsod can only be displayed by windows!
He should try to reinstall ans see, if there are anny errors!
If reinstalling works, then its not the harddrive ot the motherboard.
It would most likely be a driver problem.
Maybee heat or Hardware incompatiblity??? :nutkick:
 
Joined
Mar 26, 2010
Messages
7,642 (2.71/day)
Likes
1,983
Location
Jakarta, Indonesia
System Name micropage7
Processor Intel G4400
Motherboard MSI B150M Bazooka D3
Cooling Stock ( Lapped )
Memory 16 Gb Team Xtreem DDR3
Video Card(s) Nvidia GTX460
Storage Seagate 1 TB, 5oo Gb and SSD A-Data 128 Gb
Display(s) LG 19 inch LCD Wide Screen
Case HP dx6120 MT
Audio Device(s) Stock
Power Supply Be Quiet 600 Watt
Software Windows 7 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Classified
#11
well...bsod can only be displayed by windows!
He should try to reinstall ans see, if there are anny errors!
If reinstalling works, then its not the harddrive ot the motherboard.
It would most likely be a driver problem.
Maybee heat or Hardware incompatiblity??? :nutkick:
yep, i miss something
it should be related to the hardware, driver/software problem or even bios setting
try to load default setting first, i assume your hdd is fine
 

molnart

New Member
Joined
Jan 2, 2008
Messages
55 (0.02/day)
Likes
5
Processor Intel Core i5 3570K @ 4,1 Ghz
Motherboard Asus P8Z77-M Pro
Cooling Gelid Tranquillo rev.2
Memory 2x4GB Corsair 1600Mhz DDR3
Video Card(s) Gigabyte nVidia Geforce GTX560 OC 1024MB GDDR5
Storage Adata S510 120GB SSD, Western Digital WD7501AALS; Seagate Barracuda Green 2000DL003
Display(s) HP LP2275w
Case Fractal Design Arc Mini
Audio Device(s) integrated Realtek ALC892
Power Supply Seasonic S12II-520 Bronze
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
#12
it seems that i wont make any further progress for a while, so here is the report of the first testday:

after several trial-and-error attempts i have realized the following:
  • system with ram module#1 does not post at all (blank screen, no beeps)
  • with ram module#2 system posts. tried to run Memtest86, which failed instantly. windows memory diagnostic run for a few secs, it displayed an error on the third test then hanged on the fourth - see screenshot attached

some interesting points to make on the behavior of the PC when started with ram module#2
  • on the first attempt my BIOS hanged when trying to enter "Advanced BIOS features"
  • after i did some changes in the bios and restarted, the Advanced BIOS features option was working, but i was getting some random corrupt characters on the screen when moving around with the arrows
  • when trying to POST with my HDDs plugged in, the computer didn't POST and my graphics card fan was running at full speed

So, what do you think what is the problem? It seems to me extremely unlikely that both of my memory modules failed at the same time. The weird behavior with the HDDs plugged and the bios screen corruption still makes me think that its the motherboard making the problem. But can a mobo die just partially? Could it be eventually a PSU problem?

Unfortunately i have no other memory modules or a spare PSU to do further testing, so i am now kinda stuck here where i am right now... Any idea how to move on is greatly appreciated
 

Attachments

Joined
Oct 16, 2006
Messages
2,560 (0.63/day)
Likes
271
Location
N.Ireland
Processor Core I5 750
Motherboard MSI P55-A FUZION
Cooling Titan Fenrir
Memory 8 gb Mushkin and 4 gb Hyper X
Video Card(s) Radeon 7850 Xfire
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 250 gb / Kingston 128 gb ssd / 3x1 terabyte hdds
Display(s) Technika 32" / Asus 24` ips
Case Xigmatek midgard
Audio Device(s) X-fi Titanium
Power Supply Corsair 950 w (Hur Hur !)
Software Windows 7
#13
Puzzler eh ? You sure the gfx card is OK ?
 

molnart

New Member
Joined
Jan 2, 2008
Messages
55 (0.02/day)
Likes
5
Processor Intel Core i5 3570K @ 4,1 Ghz
Motherboard Asus P8Z77-M Pro
Cooling Gelid Tranquillo rev.2
Memory 2x4GB Corsair 1600Mhz DDR3
Video Card(s) Gigabyte nVidia Geforce GTX560 OC 1024MB GDDR5
Storage Adata S510 120GB SSD, Western Digital WD7501AALS; Seagate Barracuda Green 2000DL003
Display(s) HP LP2275w
Case Fractal Design Arc Mini
Audio Device(s) integrated Realtek ALC892
Power Supply Seasonic S12II-520 Bronze
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
#14
Puzzler eh ? You sure the gfx card is OK ?
Well i am not... but i know that replacing it with an old PCI GeforceFX card did not help, so i guess the card is ok. Anyway how could a damaged gfx card cause ram test errors.

I did some further tryouts and i have realised that the ram module which is showing some signs of life works only in 2 of 4 memory slots. That seems definitely like a motherboard problem to me...
 
Joined
Oct 16, 2006
Messages
2,560 (0.63/day)
Likes
271
Location
N.Ireland
Processor Core I5 750
Motherboard MSI P55-A FUZION
Cooling Titan Fenrir
Memory 8 gb Mushkin and 4 gb Hyper X
Video Card(s) Radeon 7850 Xfire
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 250 gb / Kingston 128 gb ssd / 3x1 terabyte hdds
Display(s) Technika 32" / Asus 24` ips
Case Xigmatek midgard
Audio Device(s) X-fi Titanium
Power Supply Corsair 950 w (Hur Hur !)
Software Windows 7
#15
Yeah ram slots died on 2 boards I own
 

molnart

New Member
Joined
Jan 2, 2008
Messages
55 (0.02/day)
Likes
5
Processor Intel Core i5 3570K @ 4,1 Ghz
Motherboard Asus P8Z77-M Pro
Cooling Gelid Tranquillo rev.2
Memory 2x4GB Corsair 1600Mhz DDR3
Video Card(s) Gigabyte nVidia Geforce GTX560 OC 1024MB GDDR5
Storage Adata S510 120GB SSD, Western Digital WD7501AALS; Seagate Barracuda Green 2000DL003
Display(s) HP LP2275w
Case Fractal Design Arc Mini
Audio Device(s) integrated Realtek ALC892
Power Supply Seasonic S12II-520 Bronze
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
#16
did they also kill the ram modules seated in them? because strangely both of my ram modules seem to be damaged and one of the dead ram slots never had a memory module...
 
Joined
Oct 16, 2006
Messages
2,560 (0.63/day)
Likes
271
Location
N.Ireland
Processor Core I5 750
Motherboard MSI P55-A FUZION
Cooling Titan Fenrir
Memory 8 gb Mushkin and 4 gb Hyper X
Video Card(s) Radeon 7850 Xfire
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 250 gb / Kingston 128 gb ssd / 3x1 terabyte hdds
Display(s) Technika 32" / Asus 24` ips
Case Xigmatek midgard
Audio Device(s) X-fi Titanium
Power Supply Corsair 950 w (Hur Hur !)
Software Windows 7
#17
Hmm don`t think so. Can`t rly remember tho`. Can you test different ram in the board ? You might have 1 or 2 working slots left..
 

molnart

New Member
Joined
Jan 2, 2008
Messages
55 (0.02/day)
Likes
5
Processor Intel Core i5 3570K @ 4,1 Ghz
Motherboard Asus P8Z77-M Pro
Cooling Gelid Tranquillo rev.2
Memory 2x4GB Corsair 1600Mhz DDR3
Video Card(s) Gigabyte nVidia Geforce GTX560 OC 1024MB GDDR5
Storage Adata S510 120GB SSD, Western Digital WD7501AALS; Seagate Barracuda Green 2000DL003
Display(s) HP LP2275w
Case Fractal Design Arc Mini
Audio Device(s) integrated Realtek ALC892
Power Supply Seasonic S12II-520 Bronze
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
#18
just a little status report: i have acquired a 1gig memory module which runs flawlessly in my system. so it seems that the memory modules were what failed. i will rma them tomorrow and hope to get a replacement pair asap. i have tried the replacement module only in one slot tough, so i keep my fingers crossed that everything's alright with my mobo

thank you everyone for your contributions
 
Joined
Jul 26, 2010
Messages
1,655 (0.61/day)
Likes
729
Location
Philly
System Name Primary Rig
Processor Phenom II X4 B50 @ 3.7GHz
Motherboard Biostar TA790GX 128M
Cooling Sunbeam CR-CCTF 120mm , 6x120mm, MOS-C1
Memory 2x2GB Kingston HyperX 1066 @ 800 4-4-4-12
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 5830 800/1000 @ 885/1225
Storage 320GB, 400GB, 500GB, 1.5TB
Display(s) Hannspree HF259
Case CM 690
Power Supply OCZ 850W
Benchmark Scores 3Dmark06: 18545/5219 CPU Mark 7.0: 3911.2 Cinebench R10: 11826/3359 x264 HD 2.0: 75.6/23.9
#19
yes, indeed my computer acts just like it had a fried ram, but i am still reluctant to think that the ram is the problem
Right now I'm resisting the temptation to say, "I told you so." :laugh:
(I realize the irony in telling you that. :laugh:)

Anyway, I'm glad you got that sorted out, and thanks for keeping us updated on your progress! :rockout:
 
Last edited: