• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Dead Space Crashes!!

Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Messages
3,046 (0.91/day)
Likes
684
System Name Has and is well
Processor i7 4770K
Motherboard ASUS B85
Cooling Corsair H100
Memory TEAM 1866mhz 8GBx2 16GB
Video Card(s) MSI 980ti Gold Edition
Storage Intel 520 120GB + Seagate 2TB 7200RPM
Display(s) DELL U2713HM 2560x1440 Monitor
Case Corsair 350D
Power Supply EVGA 850W Gold
Software Win 10
#1
Hey guys,

Is anyone else getting in-game crashes at very random times? This only started happening to me today, I load the game play it for a bit then boom black screen and an audio loop.. or just a black screen sometimes. I've turned down my clocks and it still does it.. could it be that the audio settings being in max studio quality setting cause the game to crash?

PS: Other games like Crysis, COD4, GRID etc. work like butter.
 

RadeonX2

New Member
Joined
Oct 12, 2008
Messages
1,197 (0.36/day)
Likes
179
Location
Asia, PH
Processor Q6600 @ 3.6GHz | P4 @ 2.1GHz
Motherboard Asus Commando ROG (Vdroop mod) | Asus P4V8X-MX
Cooling MegaShadow w/ 2x Scythe Slipstream MX-2 Paste + Kama Bay + 4x120mm case fan | stock Intel
Memory Kingston 4x1GB DDR2 @ 800MHz w/ OCZ XTC cooler | 1GB DDR @ 400MHz
Video Card(s) Palit GTX 260 1792mb 448bit @ 713/1458/1116x2 | GeForce 4 MX 440 AGP8X 64mb 64bit
Storage 640GB WD AACS 250GB Excelstor 160GB Seagate | 40GB WD
Display(s) Samsung T220, Samsung 32" 1080P | LG L1752S
Case Gigabyte 3D Aurora 570 | Trendsonic mid tower
Audio Device(s) Asus Supreme FX (Creative Inspire 5.1 speaker), Samsung HT-Z220 | Onboard audio (2.1 Speaker)
Power Supply Gigabyte Odin Pro 800W | 550W generic
Software Vista Ultimate 64 SP2 | XP Pro 32 SP3
Benchmark Scores 3Dmark06 - 17,348 Vantage - P13,510 Super PI 1M - 12.765s @ 4.1GHz GenericCPUbench - 6,864 ms 38,
#2
at first it did black screen then I lowered my clocks all seems fine now. I have a 9600GT the first batch the one with black screen problems. just now I finished playing for an hour no problems for me no more black screen sound loop crash :toast:
 
Joined
Jun 20, 2007
Messages
3,833 (1.00/day)
Likes
594
System Name Medusa
Processor i7 2600k @4.8ghz
Motherboard Asus P8P67 Pro
Cooling CPU : Noctua NH-L12 GPU: EK FC 1080 via Magicool 360 III PRO > Photon 170 (D5)
Memory 8gb Corsair XMS DDR3 @1600mhz
Video Card(s) GTX 1080 FE
Storage Vertex 4 256 /Crucial C300 256/ Hitachi 2TB 2x
Display(s) Tempest X270OC @ 120hz / LG W3000h
Case Fractal Define S [Antec Skeleton hanging in hall of fame]
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar Xense with AKG K612 cans on Monacor SA-100
Power Supply Seasonic X-850
Mouse Razer Naga 2014
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores FFXIV ARR Benchmark 1600p score 12,098[this means nothing any more!]
#3
Not here Flip. I'd just chalk it up to being a console port ; /
 
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Messages
3,046 (0.91/day)
Likes
684
System Name Has and is well
Processor i7 4770K
Motherboard ASUS B85
Cooling Corsair H100
Memory TEAM 1866mhz 8GBx2 16GB
Video Card(s) MSI 980ti Gold Edition
Storage Intel 520 120GB + Seagate 2TB 7200RPM
Display(s) DELL U2713HM 2560x1440 Monitor
Case Corsair 350D
Power Supply EVGA 850W Gold
Software Win 10
#4
Haha half-assed console ports :( ....

Anyway I found the problem, just a matter of clocks being too high... I've always found that odd, crysis being able to handle a 700+ core clock and GRID/Dead Space crashing into a black screen of nothingness but a sound loop and they're two games that could be run easily with a low-range system.

Ah well......... CROSSFIRE RULES!
 

RadeonX2

New Member
Joined
Oct 12, 2008
Messages
1,197 (0.36/day)
Likes
179
Location
Asia, PH
Processor Q6600 @ 3.6GHz | P4 @ 2.1GHz
Motherboard Asus Commando ROG (Vdroop mod) | Asus P4V8X-MX
Cooling MegaShadow w/ 2x Scythe Slipstream MX-2 Paste + Kama Bay + 4x120mm case fan | stock Intel
Memory Kingston 4x1GB DDR2 @ 800MHz w/ OCZ XTC cooler | 1GB DDR @ 400MHz
Video Card(s) Palit GTX 260 1792mb 448bit @ 713/1458/1116x2 | GeForce 4 MX 440 AGP8X 64mb 64bit
Storage 640GB WD AACS 250GB Excelstor 160GB Seagate | 40GB WD
Display(s) Samsung T220, Samsung 32" 1080P | LG L1752S
Case Gigabyte 3D Aurora 570 | Trendsonic mid tower
Audio Device(s) Asus Supreme FX (Creative Inspire 5.1 speaker), Samsung HT-Z220 | Onboard audio (2.1 Speaker)
Power Supply Gigabyte Odin Pro 800W | 550W generic
Software Vista Ultimate 64 SP2 | XP Pro 32 SP3
Benchmark Scores 3Dmark06 - 17,348 Vantage - P13,510 Super PI 1M - 12.765s @ 4.1GHz GenericCPUbench - 6,864 ms 38,
#5
Haha half-assed console ports :( ....

Anyway I found the problem, just a matter of clocks being too high... I've always found that odd, crysis being able to handle a 700+ core clock and GRID/Dead Space crashing into a black screen of nothingness but a sound loop and they're two games that could be run easily with a low-range system.

Ah well......... CROSSFIRE RULES!
glad you sorted it out... yes high clocks can cause serious crashes. dead space doesn't really need a powerful pc to play with even my 9600GT was downclock to original 700/1625/950 to 500/1500/800 I am still getting a decent frame of a 80-100 but sometime it dips below 60 but thats fine for me :toast:
 
Joined
Jul 10, 2008
Messages
574 (0.17/day)
Likes
124
Location
Alberta, Canada
System Name Custom FX
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 965 @ 4.0 GHz
Motherboard ASUS SABERTOOTH 990FX R2.0
Cooling be quiet! Dark Rock 3
Memory G.SKILL F3-10666CL9D-8GBRL Ripjaws 8GB
Video Card(s) GIGABYTE GV-R927XOC-2GD Radeon R9 270X 2GB
Storage Samsung 840 EVO 120GB SSD OS Drive/Seagate Hybrid Drives ST1000LM014 1TB MLC/8GB 64MB Cache
Display(s) ASUS VE228H 21.5 inch
Case Fractal Design Define R4 Window Edition
Audio Device(s) Built in HD
Power Supply Silverstone Strider 750 Plus 750W Modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
#6
Ya grid tell me about it that game is very sensitive about your video card clocks even like 1 MHz to much and it just freezes and crashes no artifacts or anything just crash
 

n4xo

New Member
Joined
Nov 10, 2008
Messages
3 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#7
hi everyone.
i have the same problem as randomflip. crysis warhead, far cry 2, cod4, bioshock,... running fine, but dead space just crashes into a black screen and makes me reset.ive managed to play for like an hour max. i get that irritating sound loop too. how did you fix it? what do you mean by turning down the clocks? thanks.

i have win xp sp2
intel core duo e4500
2 gb ram
nvidia geforce 8800gt.

every driver is updated
 

Binge

Overclocking Surrealism
Joined
Sep 15, 2008
Messages
6,979 (2.07/day)
Likes
1,734
Location
PA, USA
System Name Molly
Processor i5 3570K
Motherboard Z77 ASRock
Cooling CooliT Eco
Memory 2x4GB Mushkin Redline Ridgebacks
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 680
Case Coolermaster CM690 II Advanced
Power Supply Corsair HX-1000
#8
I've had every one of these problems too, but mine was a problem with ram. You're not running GDDR5 in those cards so my fix for black screens wouldn't help :p but it seems along the same line. After I lowered the mem clock (by 55MHz) on my 4870x2 not only were there no black screens in this game, but I also got a higher frames in all my other games. Weird :wtf:

As for the guy above... clocks refers to your graphics card's gpu and memory speeds. I hope that helps!
 

n4xo

New Member
Joined
Nov 10, 2008
Messages
3 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#10
ok. so ive used rivatuner to set the clocks down. i set core to -100mhz and memory to -60mhz.
its fixed. ive been playing for more than 2 hours and it works fine.
i dont really understand why, but it worked.
thanks
 

mrxxx

New Member
Joined
Nov 14, 2008
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#11
Hi, I'd just register here to report the exact same problem (found this thread with google search). There is a definate problem with the 9600GT OC and this game; and EA should address this, read this thread and release a patch for the game in their next update. I had to underclock to 595/1506/801 from 675/1700/900 which was the default with my BFG Tech 9600GT OC . Even with underclock, crashes less often but sometimes it will still crash; game freezes sounds/music continues in a loop and i have to alt+tab and kill deadspace.exe to get back to normal. Fallout 3 also crashes sometimes, but not sure if its related to the gpu clock.