• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Dead Space is killing me :( HELP!

Joined
May 10, 2008
Messages
44 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
Location
London Essex
#1
So i just got this awesome game, after watching trailers, gameplay videos i couldn't wait! But after installing it and opening it up i was greeted with this title screen:

http://img100.imageshack.us/my.php?image=wtfeh7.jpg
My specs are as follow:

AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+
2GB Ram
Windows XP
Sapphire ATI x1950 Pro 512mb

Im running on dual screens but for tests i've tried unplugging one of the screens but still the problem persisted. no idea what i should be doing to fix this now, any suggestions are much appriciated ><

Thanks for your time
 
Last edited:

Solaris17

Creator Solaris Utility DVD
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
19,262 (4.28/day)
Likes
6,071
Location
Florida
System Name Not named yet
Processor I5 7640x 5Ghz 24/7
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling Corsair H55
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080TI
Storage 2x Seagate 3TB Drives (RAID 0) 1x Seagate 256GB SSD 1x Adata 120GB SSD
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Onboard on Audio-Technica ATH-AG1
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Tyon White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
#2
pics broke
 
Joined
Jun 17, 2007
Messages
7,325 (1.91/day)
Likes
995
Location
C:\Program Files (x86)\Aphexdreamer\
System Name Unknown
Processor AMD Bulldozer FX8320 @ 4.4Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair V
Cooling XSPC Raystorm 750 EX240 for CPU
Memory 8 GB CORSAIR Vengeance Red DDR3 RAM 1922mhz (10-11-9-27)
Video Card(s) XFX R9 290
Storage Samsung SSD 254GB and Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s
Display(s) AOC 23" @ 1920x1080 + Asus 27" 1440p
Case HAF X
Audio Device(s) X Fi Titanium 5.1 Surround Sound
Power Supply 750 Watt PP&C Silencer Black
Software Windows 8.1 Pro 64-bit
#5
Well I'm running Dual Screens as well and I have no problems from it. Your problem lies else where.
 

AsRock

TPU addict
Joined
Jun 23, 2007
Messages
15,309 (4.00/day)
Likes
4,717
Location
US
Processor 2500k \ 3770k
Motherboard ASRock Z68 \ Z77
Memory Samsung low profile 1600
Video Card(s) XFX 6770 \ XFX R9 290X
Storage Intel 80Gb (SATA2) WD 250Gb \ Team SSD+Samsung Evo 250Gb+500Gb+ 2xCorsair Force+WD250GbHDD
Display(s) Samsung 1080P \ Toshiba HDTV 1080P
Case HTPC400 \ Thermaltake Armor case ( original ), With Zalman fan controller ( wattage usage ).
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V475 \ Marantz SR5008 Tannoy Mercury MKII Paradigm 5SE + Tannoy Mercury F4
Power Supply PC&Power 750w \ Seasonic 750w MKII
Mouse MS intelimouse \ Logitech G700s + Steelseries Sensei wireless
Keyboard Logitech K120 \ ROCCAT MK Pro ( modded amber leds )
Benchmark Scores Meh benchmarks.
#6
Joined
May 10, 2008
Messages
44 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
Location
London Essex
#7
Your not going to tell people what was doing it ?..
No i meant i fixed the screenshot, and to the poster above i changed resolutions to the lowest possible and to medium (1280x1024) which also didn't fix it, im going to try a driver install/reinstall now see if it helps ><
 
Joined
Oct 16, 2006
Messages
2,560 (0.63/day)
Likes
271
Location
N.Ireland
Processor Core I5 750
Motherboard MSI P55-A FUZION
Cooling Titan Fenrir
Memory 8 gb Mushkin and 4 gb Hyper X
Video Card(s) Radeon 7850 Xfire
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 250 gb / Kingston 128 gb ssd / 3x1 terabyte hdds
Display(s) Technika 32" / Asus 24` ips
Case Xigmatek midgard
Audio Device(s) X-fi Titanium
Power Supply Corsair 950 w (Hur Hur !)
Software Windows 7
#8
Gfx card overheating ?
 
Joined
Jun 20, 2007
Messages
3,833 (1.00/day)
Likes
594
System Name Medusa
Processor i7 2600k @4.8ghz
Motherboard Asus P8P67 Pro
Cooling CPU : Noctua NH-L12 GPU: EK FC 1080 via Magicool 360 III PRO > Photon 170 (D5)
Memory 8gb Corsair XMS DDR3 @1600mhz
Video Card(s) GTX 1080 FE
Storage Vertex 4 256 /Crucial C300 256/ Hitachi 2TB 2x
Display(s) Tempest X270OC @ 120hz / LG W3000h
Case Fractal Define S [Antec Skeleton hanging in hall of fame]
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar Xense with AKG K612 cans on Monacor SA-100
Power Supply Seasonic X-850
Mouse Razer Naga 2014
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores FFXIV ARR Benchmark 1600p score 12,098[this means nothing any more!]
#9
I second it being a driver related issue.

Though, do you have your GPU overclocked at all?
 
Joined
May 10, 2008
Messages
44 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
Location
London Essex
#11
I second it being a driver related issue.

Though, do you have your GPU overclocked at all?
No its not overclocked, and i've updated to the latest one via the site and still it persists ><

EDIT

AphexDreamer are you using the latest drivers from ATI to?
 
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 5, 2007
Messages
5,048 (1.38/day)
Likes
1,782
System Name Addison Clark
Processor I7 7700k @ 5GHZ 1.35v
Motherboard Asus Z270 ITX
Cooling Corsair H100
Memory Corsair 16GB DDR4-3600
Video Card(s) Zotac 1080 TI F.E.
Storage Plextor M8Pe 1TB M.2
Display(s) Asus 28" 4K
Case Corsair 380T
Audio Device(s) Creative Omni USB
Power Supply EVGA G3 Supernova 1KW
Mouse G.Skill 780
Keyboard MS Sidewinder x4
Software Win 10 Pro
#12
I don't think this would cause your issue but I know on the back of the box it states the card must be OpenGL3.0 compatible. To me it looks like a major driver issue or a overheating issue.
 
Joined
Nov 3, 2007
Messages
1,567 (0.42/day)
Likes
611
Processor i5-6600K / i7-6700K / E5-1620 v3 / E5-2650L v4 / E5-2630L v3 / E5-2530 v4
Motherboard Asus Maximus IX APEX / Asrock EPC612D4I Mini
Cooling Noctua / Aquacomputer / EKWB / Corsair
Memory Corsair DP DDR4 2x16GB 3200 / Crucial LVP 2133 ECC 8x8GB
Video Card(s) R9 NANO / VEGA 64 / VEGA 56
Storage nvme's
Display(s) Acer XR382CQK
Case CaseLabs / Lian Li
Audio Device(s) Creative SB X7
Power Supply Corsair AX1500i / Corsair AX1200i / Seasonic (A handful)
Mouse Logitech
Keyboard Logitech
Software Windows 7 ULT / Windows 10 Pro / unRAID
#14
Drivers man, almost %100. Im using the latest off the ATI site. Trying opening CCC and setting all to default and see if the game fires up then. IF so, turn all your custom settings back one by one until you find the bugger.
 
Joined
May 10, 2008
Messages
44 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
Location
London Essex
#15
Drivers man, almost %100. Im using the latest off the ATI site. Trying opening CCC and setting all to default and see if the game fires up then. IF so, turn all your custom settings back one by one until you find the bugger.
THAT FIXED IT :love: :D could you upload each tabs screenshot and so i know what settings i should have :3 thanks!
 
Joined
Nov 3, 2007
Messages
1,567 (0.42/day)
Likes
611
Processor i5-6600K / i7-6700K / E5-1620 v3 / E5-2650L v4 / E5-2630L v3 / E5-2530 v4
Motherboard Asus Maximus IX APEX / Asrock EPC612D4I Mini
Cooling Noctua / Aquacomputer / EKWB / Corsair
Memory Corsair DP DDR4 2x16GB 3200 / Crucial LVP 2133 ECC 8x8GB
Video Card(s) R9 NANO / VEGA 64 / VEGA 56
Storage nvme's
Display(s) Acer XR382CQK
Case CaseLabs / Lian Li
Audio Device(s) Creative SB X7
Power Supply Corsair AX1500i / Corsair AX1200i / Seasonic (A handful)
Mouse Logitech
Keyboard Logitech
Software Windows 7 ULT / Windows 10 Pro / unRAID
#17
Download the latest drivers, then try again. Make sure you directX and all is up to date as well.
 
Joined
May 17, 2007
Messages
461 (0.12/day)
Likes
41
Location
United Kingdom
Processor I5-4670k @ 4ghz
Motherboard Asrock Z87 Extreme 4
Cooling Hyper 212 Evo
Memory Gskill 2133mhz - 8gb
Video Card(s) Evga 970 GTX FTW
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256gb
Display(s) Samsung 22" B2230
Case NZXT 410 Phantom
Audio Device(s) Motherboard Onboard
Power Supply Corsair Gaming Series 700w
Software Windows 7 64-bit
#18
Get the latest drivers for everything aswell, i think theres even a program which can search everything on your computer and find the latest drivers for you.
 

AsRock

TPU addict
Joined
Jun 23, 2007
Messages
15,309 (4.00/day)
Likes
4,717
Location
US
Processor 2500k \ 3770k
Motherboard ASRock Z68 \ Z77
Memory Samsung low profile 1600
Video Card(s) XFX 6770 \ XFX R9 290X
Storage Intel 80Gb (SATA2) WD 250Gb \ Team SSD+Samsung Evo 250Gb+500Gb+ 2xCorsair Force+WD250GbHDD
Display(s) Samsung 1080P \ Toshiba HDTV 1080P
Case HTPC400 \ Thermaltake Armor case ( original ), With Zalman fan controller ( wattage usage ).
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V475 \ Marantz SR5008 Tannoy Mercury MKII Paradigm 5SE + Tannoy Mercury F4
Power Supply PC&Power 750w \ Seasonic 750w MKII
Mouse MS intelimouse \ Logitech G700s + Steelseries Sensei wireless
Keyboard Logitech K120 \ ROCCAT MK Pro ( modded amber leds )
Benchmark Scores Meh benchmarks.
#19
No i meant i fixed the screenshot, and to the poster above i changed resolutions to the lowest possible and to medium (1280x1024) which also didn't fix it, im going to try a driver install/reinstall now see if it helps ><
Ooh sorry my bad.

The ram on the cards not overheating is it ?. Maybe check for dust build up and check all the ram chips on how hot there getting.

Try cooling topside of the card too.
 

Adeel_ssj4

New Member
Joined
May 10, 2008
Messages
44 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
Location
London Essex
#20
Ok i've fixed the graphical issue, a reinstall of all drivers completely hard wiped from the computer fixed it but also setting it at default to :p

However a new problem has arised, choppy sound >< any ideas?
 
Joined
Dec 5, 2007
Messages
5,048 (1.38/day)
Likes
1,782
System Name Addison Clark
Processor I7 7700k @ 5GHZ 1.35v
Motherboard Asus Z270 ITX
Cooling Corsair H100
Memory Corsair 16GB DDR4-3600
Video Card(s) Zotac 1080 TI F.E.
Storage Plextor M8Pe 1TB M.2
Display(s) Asus 28" 4K
Case Corsair 380T
Audio Device(s) Creative Omni USB
Power Supply EVGA G3 Supernova 1KW
Mouse G.Skill 780
Keyboard MS Sidewinder x4
Software Win 10 Pro
#21
What sound card are you using?
 
Joined
Dec 5, 2007
Messages
5,048 (1.38/day)
Likes
1,782
System Name Addison Clark
Processor I7 7700k @ 5GHZ 1.35v
Motherboard Asus Z270 ITX
Cooling Corsair H100
Memory Corsair 16GB DDR4-3600
Video Card(s) Zotac 1080 TI F.E.
Storage Plextor M8Pe 1TB M.2
Display(s) Asus 28" 4K
Case Corsair 380T
Audio Device(s) Creative Omni USB
Power Supply EVGA G3 Supernova 1KW
Mouse G.Skill 780
Keyboard MS Sidewinder x4
Software Win 10 Pro
#23
What do you mean by stock? It came with your system? If it's one of those Dell Live cards..good luck!! J/K What driver are you using(date of driver)?
 
Joined
Dec 5, 2007
Messages
5,048 (1.38/day)
Likes
1,782
System Name Addison Clark
Processor I7 7700k @ 5GHZ 1.35v
Motherboard Asus Z270 ITX
Cooling Corsair H100
Memory Corsair 16GB DDR4-3600
Video Card(s) Zotac 1080 TI F.E.
Storage Plextor M8Pe 1TB M.2
Display(s) Asus 28" 4K
Case Corsair 380T
Audio Device(s) Creative Omni USB
Power Supply EVGA G3 Supernova 1KW
Mouse G.Skill 780
Keyboard MS Sidewinder x4
Software Win 10 Pro
#24
Here is a driver page I found for the card and I see it has met "End of Life". http://support.creative.com/Product... Value&subCatName=Live!&CatName=Sound+Blaster

I would have to say it sounds like your sound issue is due to the same reason you had problems with your graphics card, the drivers. Before continuing make sure you have the original driver install package for this card cause the Patch will not work unless the original driver can be found. Being a Creative audio card I would go and download Driver Sweeper, http://downloads.guru3d.com/downloadget.php?id=1655&file=4&evp=c14f9f3787877eef9ef4b235b9146e96, and install it. Once you have it installed uninstall your Creative drivers and reboot into safe mode(press F8 for boot options during system bootup). Once your in Safe Mode open up Driver Sweeper, check Creative, Analyze system, and clean what it finds. Reboot back into Normal mode and install drivers.

Supposedly this is the original driver package, http://www.fileshack.com/file.x/545/Sound+Blaster+Live!+Driver+Pack+Full+Package+-+XP/2000.
 
Last edited:

Adeel_ssj4

New Member
Joined
May 10, 2008
Messages
44 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
Location
London Essex
#25
Here is a driver page I found for the card and I see it has met "End of Life". http://support.creative.com/Product... Value&subCatName=Live!&CatName=Sound+Blaster

I would have to say it sounds like your sound issue is due to the same reason you had problems with your graphics card, the drivers. Before continuing make sure you have the original driver install package for this card cause the Patch will not work unless the original driver can be found. Being a Creative audio card I would go and download Driver Sweeper, http://downloads.guru3d.com/downloadget.php?id=1655&file=4&evp=c14f9f3787877eef9ef4b235b9146e96, and install it. Once you have it installed uninstall your Creative drivers and reboot into safe mode(press F8 for boot options during system bootup). Once your in Safe Mode open up Driver Sweeper, check Creative, Analyze system, and clean what it finds. Reboot back into Normal mode and install drivers.

Supposedly this is the original driver package, http://www.fileshack.com/file.x/545/Sound+Blaster+Live!+Driver+Pack+Full+Package+-+XP/2000.
My drivers are up to date since i wiped the computer about 2 months back and those drivers are a few years old :p And no its not a dell, i'd never buy a dell :3 DYI ftw :p I've uninstalled them and reinstalled through the method you said above for a test and it still persisted :(