• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Dedicated Graphics for Work Laptop

Joined
Aug 21, 2008
Messages
507 (0.15/day)
Likes
386
Location
Dubai, U.A.E
System Name Reebok
Processor Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 CPU 920 @4.2GHz DO Stepping
Motherboard Gigabyte EX58-EXTREME
Cooling EK-Supreme HF High Flow CPU WB+2 X EK-FC9800 GTX GPU WBS+Gigabyte NB WB+XSPC 120QuadRadw SanAce fans
Memory 3 X 2GB Corsair Dominator DDR3-PC3 1600 CL8 Kit w Corsair Airflow Fan
Video Card(s) XFX Geforce 9800 GTX Black Edition + Point of View 9800 GTX Overclocked Edition+ XFX 9800GT
Storage 1TB Seagate SATAII + Seagate 600 GB SATA II
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster 2220WM
Case Coolermaster Stacker 830 Nvidia Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Soundblaster PCI Express X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Champion Series
Power Supply Corsair HX850W PSU
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64-Bit
#1
Guys,

I use a HP Elite 8470P Notebook with Intel HD Graphics 4000 at work. This will power two full HD monitors. Will be working on multiple Excel spreadsheets, Word docs, Outlook mails, SAP sessions (5-6 sessions), Lync windows.

Upgraded with 10 Gigs of LPDDR3 and put in a 250GB of Samsung 850 EVO SATA3. Running Win7 x64 w latest drivers.

Notice a sufficient lag when switching between windows or maximising minimized windows.

Processor usage is normal though RAM usage is consistently high.

Would getting a book with dedicated graphics help?
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
11,679 (3.98/day)
Likes
6,404
Location
Ohio
System Name Daily Driver
Processor 7900X 4.5GHz 10c/10t 1.15V.
Motherboard ASUS Prime X299 Deluxe
Cooling MCR320 + Kuplos Kryos NEXT CPU block
Memory GSkill Trident Z 4x8 GB DDR4 3600 MHz CL16
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080 FTW3
Storage 512GB Patriot Hellfire, 512GB OCZ RD400, 640GB Caviar Black, 2TB Caviar Green
Display(s) Yamakasi 27" 2560x1440 IPS
Case Thermaltake P5
Power Supply EVGA 750W Supernova G2
Benchmark Scores Faster than most of you! Bet on it! :)
#2
Doubtful... its all 2d work.

What processor is in that thing?
 
Joined
Oct 17, 2012
Messages
7,146 (3.73/day)
Likes
9,322
Location
Massachusetts
Processor i7 4790
Motherboard Asrock Z97 Extreme 4
Cooling Corsair H-110i GTX
Memory 16 Gb kingston Hyper X
Video Card(s) Nvidia Reference GTX 970 x2
Storage C:\Samsung 850EVO 500Gb & Samsung 850 evo 250Gb
Display(s) Dell Ultra Sharp Widescreen 24" 1200P
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Acrylic
Audio Device(s) Realtech Edition X1789,Ver2.78
Power Supply EVGA 220-G2-0650-Y1
Mouse Logitech G502 spectrum
Keyboard AZIO MRGB Kaith Blue
Software Win 10 Professional 64 bit
Benchmark Scores Congrats USA!! on the Travel Ban.....
#3
Doubtful... its all 2d work.

What processor is in that thing?
iirc its the dual core i5, or if its the big dog, it has a 2c 4t i7. i had the same one a 5-6 years ago. they are getting long in the tooth. i did almost exactly what OP did as far as upgrades go, and after SSD, DDR3 upgrade, etc, it was much faster, but theres a point where a newer laptop is your best choice. Maybe if upgrading isnt an option, you could reinstall OS, or upgrade OS to Win10??
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
11,679 (3.98/day)
Likes
6,404
Location
Ohio
System Name Daily Driver
Processor 7900X 4.5GHz 10c/10t 1.15V.
Motherboard ASUS Prime X299 Deluxe
Cooling MCR320 + Kuplos Kryos NEXT CPU block
Memory GSkill Trident Z 4x8 GB DDR4 3600 MHz CL16
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080 FTW3
Storage 512GB Patriot Hellfire, 512GB OCZ RD400, 640GB Caviar Black, 2TB Caviar Green
Display(s) Yamakasi 27" 2560x1440 IPS
Case Thermaltake P5
Power Supply EVGA 750W Supernova G2
Benchmark Scores Faster than most of you! Bet on it! :)
#4
Its a dually with HT... from 2012. Im goi g to gather it cant walk and chew bubble gum...


What does task manager show ram use is when you have all of these things open?
 
Joined
Sep 24, 2014
Messages
809 (0.67/day)
Likes
501
Location
Living in Birmingham UK, born in Romania
System Name El Calpulator \Gaming Laptop
Processor i7 7700K@4.8ghz \i7 5770HQ@3.5ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z270 Gaming 7 \ MSIGE62 HM87
Cooling AC Liquid Freezer 240 \MSI Dual Fan
Memory 16GB DDR4 3200mhz Corsair Vengance White\16GB DDR3 1600mhz Kingston
Video Card(s) Palit GTX1080 Game Rock@2080/5510mhz \ MSI GTX 970M
Storage Crucial MX100 256GB+MX300 m.2 275GB,2xToshiba 2TB \128GB m.2 SSD+1TB HDD
Display(s) Acer Predator X34 100hz G-Sync \15.6 Screen
Case Phanteks Enthoo PRO M Acrylic
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DGX + Edifier 2000RB\ Realtek ALC 892 Nahimic
Power Supply EVGA SuperNova G2 650W\Power Brick
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus \ A4 Tech V7 Bloody
Keyboard Logitech G910 Orion Spectrum \SteelSeriesGE62
Software WIN 10 Pro\Win 10 Pro
#5
The cpu should be ok with this type of work...

Notice a sufficient lag when switching between windows or maximising minimized windows.
Is this for a specific program or it happens all the time and when you say sufficient what does that mean?
 
Joined
Oct 17, 2012
Messages
7,146 (3.73/day)
Likes
9,322
Location
Massachusetts
Processor i7 4790
Motherboard Asrock Z97 Extreme 4
Cooling Corsair H-110i GTX
Memory 16 Gb kingston Hyper X
Video Card(s) Nvidia Reference GTX 970 x2
Storage C:\Samsung 850EVO 500Gb & Samsung 850 evo 250Gb
Display(s) Dell Ultra Sharp Widescreen 24" 1200P
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Acrylic
Audio Device(s) Realtech Edition X1789,Ver2.78
Power Supply EVGA 220-G2-0650-Y1
Mouse Logitech G502 spectrum
Keyboard AZIO MRGB Kaith Blue
Software Win 10 Professional 64 bit
Benchmark Scores Congrats USA!! on the Travel Ban.....
#6
i would also, try the little setting changes, like decreasing the appearance settings in start/computer/properties/advanced system settings/performance settings/change it to suit performance if it isnt already. also, minimizing running tasks, maybe some uneeded programs are running at startup/boot? msconfig/startup/boot/disable anything you dont NEED to launch upon each startup. verify all updates are installed, for both windows and display.
 
Joined
Feb 19, 2006
Messages
5,680 (1.31/day)
Likes
1,356
Location
New York
System Name http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=73751
Processor i7-920 CO@4.2GHZ / ASUS GL553VW 15.6" Gaming Laptop NVIDIA GTX 960M 4GB Intel Core i56300HQ 8GB DDR4
Motherboard Asus P6T Deluxe Intel X58
Cooling Asetek Liquid CPU Cooling System
Memory CORSAIR DOMINATOR 6GB (3 x 2GB) DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) 2X ATI Radeon HD 4870 X2 2GB DDR5 PCI-Express
Storage (RAID-0) with 4 Identical Hard Drives (1.28TB (320GBx4)
Display(s) LG 50" 50PK550 1080p 600Hz Plasma/37 Inch WestingHouse @1920x1080
Case Thermaltake M9 (I hate it its like trying to live in a 1 inch box)
Power Supply ThermalTake ToughPower 1200 Watt
Software Windows 7 professional 64
#7
Guys,

I use a HP Elite 8470P Notebook with Intel HD Graphics 4000 at work. This will power two full HD monitors. Will be working on multiple Excel spreadsheets, Word docs, Outlook mails, SAP sessions (5-6 sessions), Lync windows.

Upgraded with 10 Gigs of LPDDR3 and put in a 250GB of Samsung 850 EVO SATA3. Running Win7 x64 w latest drivers.

Notice a sufficient lag when switching between windows or maximising minimized windows.

Processor usage is normal though RAM usage is consistently high.

Would getting a book with dedicated graphics help?
Please post a screen shot of ram usage and a screenie of the task monitor with CPU stack and then one with memory stack thank you.
 
Joined
Aug 21, 2008
Messages
507 (0.15/day)
Likes
386
Location
Dubai, U.A.E
System Name Reebok
Processor Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 CPU 920 @4.2GHz DO Stepping
Motherboard Gigabyte EX58-EXTREME
Cooling EK-Supreme HF High Flow CPU WB+2 X EK-FC9800 GTX GPU WBS+Gigabyte NB WB+XSPC 120QuadRadw SanAce fans
Memory 3 X 2GB Corsair Dominator DDR3-PC3 1600 CL8 Kit w Corsair Airflow Fan
Video Card(s) XFX Geforce 9800 GTX Black Edition + Point of View 9800 GTX Overclocked Edition+ XFX 9800GT
Storage 1TB Seagate SATAII + Seagate 600 GB SATA II
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster 2220WM
Case Coolermaster Stacker 830 Nvidia Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Soundblaster PCI Express X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Champion Series
Power Supply Corsair HX850W PSU
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64-Bit
#8
The cpu should be ok with this type of work...
CPU is i5 3320m


Is this for a specific program or it happens all the time and when you say sufficient what does that mean?
Maximizing a minimized window or switching between them is not as instantaneous . Happens when loaded irrespective of program.
 
Joined
Aug 21, 2008
Messages
507 (0.15/day)
Likes
386
Location
Dubai, U.A.E
System Name Reebok
Processor Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 CPU 920 @4.2GHz DO Stepping
Motherboard Gigabyte EX58-EXTREME
Cooling EK-Supreme HF High Flow CPU WB+2 X EK-FC9800 GTX GPU WBS+Gigabyte NB WB+XSPC 120QuadRadw SanAce fans
Memory 3 X 2GB Corsair Dominator DDR3-PC3 1600 CL8 Kit w Corsair Airflow Fan
Video Card(s) XFX Geforce 9800 GTX Black Edition + Point of View 9800 GTX Overclocked Edition+ XFX 9800GT
Storage 1TB Seagate SATAII + Seagate 600 GB SATA II
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster 2220WM
Case Coolermaster Stacker 830 Nvidia Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Soundblaster PCI Express X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Champion Series
Power Supply Corsair HX850W PSU
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64-Bit
#9
Screenshots attached.
 

Attachments

Joined
Feb 19, 2006
Messages
5,680 (1.31/day)
Likes
1,356
Location
New York
System Name http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=73751
Processor i7-920 CO@4.2GHZ / ASUS GL553VW 15.6" Gaming Laptop NVIDIA GTX 960M 4GB Intel Core i56300HQ 8GB DDR4
Motherboard Asus P6T Deluxe Intel X58
Cooling Asetek Liquid CPU Cooling System
Memory CORSAIR DOMINATOR 6GB (3 x 2GB) DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) 2X ATI Radeon HD 4870 X2 2GB DDR5 PCI-Express
Storage (RAID-0) with 4 Identical Hard Drives (1.28TB (320GBx4)
Display(s) LG 50" 50PK550 1080p 600Hz Plasma/37 Inch WestingHouse @1920x1080
Case Thermaltake M9 (I hate it its like trying to live in a 1 inch box)
Power Supply ThermalTake ToughPower 1200 Watt
Software Windows 7 professional 64
#10
You did it wrong. Do it like this


AND


Thank you again. But so far it looks like you have enough ram.,

You may want to turn off some of or all of the Windows 10 animation as that could be whats is causing the lags!
http://www.howto-connect.com/windows-10-turn-off-animations/

This in theory will make it more instantaneous !
 
Last edited: