• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Delayed (or no) effect of BIOS switch

theWaldschrat

New Member
Joined
Nov 30, 2020
Messages
4 (0.08/day)
Hi all,

Probably I'm just missing something obvious or my google-foo is failing me, but I seem to be having some weird issues with the BIOS switch on my Sapphire Pulse RX 5600 XT.
Maybe someone could be so nice as to push me in the right direction.

Months ago I installed the card with the BIOS switch set to "Silent". Everything worked as expected.
Then after a couple of days I switched to the performance BIOS, but for some reasons it took a while of fiddling, rebooting, head-scratching and what-not until the card actually used the higher clock speeds. In the end I didn't have the slightest clue what actually fixed it.

Now I switched back to the silent BIOS (to test for some instabilities) and again: The VRAM clock lowered to 1500 MHz as expected, but the card still boosts to 1750 MHz even after multiple reboots, power-downs, driver-reinstalls and what-not.

Anyone can give me a hint here?

By the way, GPU-Z actually displays that the boost clock is 1620 MHz, but I still can see clocks around 1750 MHz in Adrenaline.
 

Toothless

Tech, Games, and TPU!
Supporter
Joined
Mar 26, 2014
Messages
6,900 (2.77/day)
Location
Washington, USA
System Name Veraltet
Processor 3700x
Motherboard AsRock Taichi Ultimate x470
Cooling NH-D15 Chromax
Memory G.Skill 2x16GB 3200mhz
Video Card(s) MSI GTX1080 Ti Gaming X
Storage 2 NVME + 4 HDD
Display(s) LG 34UB88-P + 2x AOC 2425W
Case CoolerMaster NR600
Audio Device(s) SteelSeries Arctis 5
Power Supply Rosewill Fortress 750w
Mouse Corsair Scimitar Pro
Keyboard Corsair K57
Software Windows 10 Professional
Benchmark Scores Brrrrrrr
Just clearing the obvious, you're shutting it down before switching right?
 

theWaldschrat

New Member
Joined
Nov 30, 2020
Messages
4 (0.08/day)
Shut it down, even cut power. Also VRAM clock changed from the performance value of 1750 MHz to the silent value of 1500 MHz, just the boost clock seems to ignore the setting.
Which is a bit of pain, because it seems the card is not stable at around 1750 MHz. If I lower the boost clock to something around 1600 MHz with Adrenaline, it seems to be stable (still testing, so we'll see).
 
Joined
Mar 10, 2010
Messages
8,557 (2.16/day)
Location
Manchester uk
System Name RyzenGtEvo/ Asus strix scar II
Processor Amd R7 3800X@4.350/525/ Intel 8750H
Motherboard Crosshair hero7 @bios 2703/?
Cooling 360EK extreme rad+ 360$EK slim all push, cpu Monoblock Gpu full cover all EK
Memory Corsair Vengeance Rgb pro 3600cas14 16Gb in two sticks./16Gb
Video Card(s) Sapphire refference Rx vega 64 EK waterblocked/Rtx 2060
Storage Samsung Nvme Pg981, silicon power 1Tb samsung 840 basic as a primocache drive for, WD2Tbgrn +3Tbgrn,
Display(s) Samsung UAE28"850R 4k freesync, LG 49" 4K 60hz ,Oculus
Case Lianli p0-11 dynamic
Audio Device(s) Xfi creative 7.1 on board ,Yamaha dts av setup, corsair void pro headset
Power Supply corsair 1200Hxi
Mouse Roccat Kova/ Logitech G wireless
Keyboard Roccat Iksu force fx
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores 8726 vega 3dmark timespy/ laptop Timespy 6506
Shut it down, even cut power. Also VRAM clock changed from the performance value of 1750 MHz to the silent value of 1500 MHz, just the boost clock seems to ignore the setting.
Which is a bit of pain, because it seems the card is not stable at around 1750 MHz. If I lower the boost clock to something around 1600 MHz with Adrenaline, it seems to be stable (still testing, so we'll see).
Did you reinstall driver's, seems like the driver logs the bios limit's and won't automatically change them, a reinstall would nudge this on.
 

theWaldschrat

New Member
Joined
Nov 30, 2020
Messages
4 (0.08/day)
Did you reinstall driver's, seems like the driver logs the bios limit's and won't automatically change them, a reinstall would nudge this on.
Yes, even with the "reset to defaults" box ticked and multiple reboots.

But my google-foo must have returned somewhat, because I found that "boost clock" doesn't seem to be a hard limit, just a value that's stored in flash memory in the card.
It's then the drivers task to do something about that. And from what I found, AMDs drivers have a limit set for that card of 1780 MHz and it will boost to that clock when it has a chance to (power- and temperature-wise).
The power limit on the other hand is something that's enforced by the BIOS or at least honored by the driver. So the "official" boost clock of 1680 MHz in the silent BIOS just means: "With a power limit of 135 W the GPU should be able to regularly boost to 1680 MHz, but it may boost higher." And the same for the performance BIOS: "With a power limit of 160 W the card should be able to regularly boost to 1750 MHz, but it may boost higher."
Folding@Home workloads seem to be such that the card can actually boost above 1750 MHz even on the silent power limit.
Which is a bit of a pain, because my GPU seems to crash quite regularly when operated around 1750 MHz. Looks like I may have to warranty-return it. Though I will first try to slightly overvolt it at max clocks, maybe that helps.
 
Joined
Mar 10, 2010
Messages
8,557 (2.16/day)
Location
Manchester uk
System Name RyzenGtEvo/ Asus strix scar II
Processor Amd R7 3800X@4.350/525/ Intel 8750H
Motherboard Crosshair hero7 @bios 2703/?
Cooling 360EK extreme rad+ 360$EK slim all push, cpu Monoblock Gpu full cover all EK
Memory Corsair Vengeance Rgb pro 3600cas14 16Gb in two sticks./16Gb
Video Card(s) Sapphire refference Rx vega 64 EK waterblocked/Rtx 2060
Storage Samsung Nvme Pg981, silicon power 1Tb samsung 840 basic as a primocache drive for, WD2Tbgrn +3Tbgrn,
Display(s) Samsung UAE28"850R 4k freesync, LG 49" 4K 60hz ,Oculus
Case Lianli p0-11 dynamic
Audio Device(s) Xfi creative 7.1 on board ,Yamaha dts av setup, corsair void pro headset
Power Supply corsair 1200Hxi
Mouse Roccat Kova/ Logitech G wireless
Keyboard Roccat Iksu force fx
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores 8726 vega 3dmark timespy/ laptop Timespy 6506
Yes, even with the "reset to defaults" box ticked and multiple reboots.

But my google-foo must have returned somewhat, because I found that "boost clock" doesn't seem to be a hard limit, just a value that's stored in flash memory in the card.
It's then the drivers task to do something about that. And from what I found, AMDs drivers have a limit set for that card of 1780 MHz and it will boost to that clock when it has a chance to (power- and temperature-wise).
The power limit on the other hand is something that's enforced by the BIOS or at least honored by the driver. So the "official" boost clock of 1680 MHz in the silent BIOS just means: "With a power limit of 135 W the GPU should be able to regularly boost to 1680 MHz, but it may boost higher." And the same for the performance BIOS: "With a power limit of 160 W the card should be able to regularly boost to 1750 MHz, but it may boost higher."
Folding@Home workloads seem to be such that the card can actually boost above 1750 MHz even on the silent power limit.
Which is a bit of a pain, because my GPU seems to crash quite regularly when operated around 1750 MHz. Looks like I may have to warranty-return it. Though I will first try to slightly overvolt it at max clocks, maybe that helps.
I use the power save preset in Wattman, this limits power and inadvertently max clock.
I have issues where my pc overheats if fully crunching and folding, IF the house heating is on(too hot for humans my housemates are penguins) and no windows are open a bit.

Could be worth a try.
 

theWaldschrat

New Member
Joined
Nov 30, 2020
Messages
4 (0.08/day)
I actually did that first and it was also stable, at least for the couple of hours I tested it.
Wattman is a bit annoying, because it always switches back to defaults whenever the system crashes. Which is nice for overclocking, but not exactly helpful when you need the settings to keep the system stable. By the way, is there a way to disable that behavior?
That's why I thought: Let's switch to the silent BIOS, that also limits power and clocks, except, well, it doesn't.
 
Joined
Mar 10, 2010
Messages
8,557 (2.16/day)
Location
Manchester uk
System Name RyzenGtEvo/ Asus strix scar II
Processor Amd R7 3800X@4.350/525/ Intel 8750H
Motherboard Crosshair hero7 @bios 2703/?
Cooling 360EK extreme rad+ 360$EK slim all push, cpu Monoblock Gpu full cover all EK
Memory Corsair Vengeance Rgb pro 3600cas14 16Gb in two sticks./16Gb
Video Card(s) Sapphire refference Rx vega 64 EK waterblocked/Rtx 2060
Storage Samsung Nvme Pg981, silicon power 1Tb samsung 840 basic as a primocache drive for, WD2Tbgrn +3Tbgrn,
Display(s) Samsung UAE28"850R 4k freesync, LG 49" 4K 60hz ,Oculus
Case Lianli p0-11 dynamic
Audio Device(s) Xfi creative 7.1 on board ,Yamaha dts av setup, corsair void pro headset
Power Supply corsair 1200Hxi
Mouse Roccat Kova/ Logitech G wireless
Keyboard Roccat Iksu force fx
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores 8726 vega 3dmark timespy/ laptop Timespy 6506
I actually did that first and it was also stable, at least for the couple of hours I tested it.
Wattman is a bit annoying, because it always switches back to defaults whenever the system crashes. Which is nice for overclocking, but not exactly helpful when you need the settings to keep the system stable. By the way, is there a way to disable that behavior?
That's why I thought: Let's switch to the silent BIOS, that also limits power and clocks, except, well, it doesn't.
No way to change that behaviour in Wattman sorry.
 
Top