• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Dell N5110 Laptop

moejoe

New Member
Joined
Dec 31, 2013
Messages
21 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
#1
KEYBOARD HAS STOPPED WORKING, SO I CANNOT ACCESS ANY OF THE F-KEYS ,CD DRIVE HUMS, BUT WILL NOT PLAY SCREEN IS NOT CLEAR
 

Frick

Fishfaced Nincompoop
Joined
Feb 27, 2006
Messages
14,889 (3.45/day)
Likes
5,416
System Name A dancer in your disco of fire
Processor i3 4130 3.4Ghz
Motherboard MSI B85M-E45
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo
Memory 4 x 4GB Crucial Ballistix Sport 1400Mhz
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 760 DCU2OC 2GB
Storage Crucial BX100 120GB | WD Blue 1TB x 2
Display(s) BenQ GL2450HT
Case AeroCool DS Cube White
Power Supply Cooler Master G550M
Mouse Intellimouse Explorer 3.0
Keyboard Dell SK-3205
Software Windows 10 Pro
#2

moejoe

New Member
Joined
Dec 31, 2013
Messages
21 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
#3
Get a new keyboard and clean the screen maybe?
Thanks Frick! I was hopping someone knew how to test that keyboard or get it back to working, the screen is not dirty clear it is more of a scramble screen. What did you think about the CD drive going out at the same time?
 

Frick

Fishfaced Nincompoop
Joined
Feb 27, 2006
Messages
14,889 (3.45/day)
Likes
5,416
System Name A dancer in your disco of fire
Processor i3 4130 3.4Ghz
Motherboard MSI B85M-E45
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo
Memory 4 x 4GB Crucial Ballistix Sport 1400Mhz
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 760 DCU2OC 2GB
Storage Crucial BX100 120GB | WD Blue 1TB x 2
Display(s) BenQ GL2450HT
Case AeroCool DS Cube White
Power Supply Cooler Master G550M
Mouse Intellimouse Explorer 3.0
Keyboard Dell SK-3205
Software Windows 10 Pro
#4
So this is what's going on:

1. Keyboard does not work
2. Screen is scrambled.
3. Optical drive not working.

Did you drop it or something? How did it begin?
 

moejoe

New Member
Joined
Dec 31, 2013
Messages
21 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
#5
So this is what's going on:

1. Keyboard does not work
2. Screen is scrambled.
3. Optical drive not working.

Did you drop it or something? How did it begin?
It is my daughters and she was trying to do a check on the hard drive to repair the screen, did not work,, and when it was put back together she did something wrong. I connected two ribbons (cables?) that were loose no help. She lives a 100 miles away so she bit off more than knew.
 

Kursah

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 15, 2006
Messages
10,956 (2.68/day)
Likes
5,076
Location
Missoula, MT, USA
System Name Kursah's Gaming Rig - Haswell Edition | Spartan Home Server 2015
Processor i7 4790k 4.0/4.8 @ 1.26v | i7 4790k 4.0/4.4 @ 1.18v - Both delidded w/CLU
Motherboard Asus Z87-Pro - BIOS 2103 | Asus Z87-Pro - BIOS 2103
Cooling Noctua NH-U14S Push-Pull | Cooler Master 212 EVO Stock - Using NT-H1 and AC MX-4
Memory 16GB (2x8) Corsair Dominator DDR3 2400 CL11 | 32GB (4x8) G.Skill DDR3-1600 CL9
Video Card(s) MSI GTX980 Ti Gaming 6G LE @ Stock | Onboard Intel HD 4600
Storage 850EVO 250GB SSD, 960GB SSD, 1x2TB | 840 120GB SSD, RAID10 6x2TB (6TB) + 8TB Backup
Display(s) Samsung 32" TV IPS 1080p, Dell 23" U2312HM IPS 1080p | 19" 4:3 Dell LCD..mostly RDP.
Case Corsair 600C - Stock Fans on Low | Lian Li Lancool PC-K7 - Cougar fans
Audio Device(s) Aune T1 mk1 > AKG K553 Pro + HiFiMAN HE-350 (Equalizer APO + PeaceUI) | Realtek ALC1150
Power Supply EVGA 750G2 Modular + APC 1500VA UPS | EVGA KR500 80+ Bronze + CyberPowerPC 1000VA UPS
Mouse Logitech G502 | Dell USB Laser Mouse
Keyboard Logitech G15 rv2 | Dell USB Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 | Windows Server 2012 R2 (GUI Core,Hyper-V + VMs)
#6
Try a USB keyboard.
 
Joined
Oct 12, 2008
Messages
5,656 (1.69/day)
Likes
2,606
Location
στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
System Name Ha/AhHa/Dell
Processor QX9650 SLAWN C1/i7-980x/i7-6700K
Motherboard GA-X48_DS4 (F3B bios)/Gigabyte x58A-UDR3 v 2.0(modded FH bios)/Dell Foxconn 0XJ8C4 Z170
Cooling CNPS9900 LED/H60/ 3 pipe-center fan-air
Memory 8 Gig of G.Skill F2-8800CL5D/24 Gb Corsair Vengence/ 24Gb Samsung DDR4 2133
Video Card(s) Galaxy NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960/PowerColor R9 280/ASUS R9 380X Strix G1
Storage All have SSDs with HDDs for extra storage and backup/Dell-M.2 Samsung 850 EVO PCIe
Display(s) Asus 266H/Viewsonic 1080p/HP ZR24W
Case CM-690/CM-690 II adv/Dell 8900 series
Audio Device(s) All use on board (Realtek) w/2.1 speakers
Power Supply PC P&C 750/PC P&C Silencer 950/CM 700 Extreme
Mouse Logitech
Keyboard Logitech
Software Windows 10 Pro - 64 bit/Windows 10 Pro - 64bit/Windows 10 Pro - 64bit
#7
Make sure you have placed the ribbon cables in correctly and locked them in place.

You may have missed something she broke, a connection somewhere... go over it with a good magnifier and look for loose connections.

And, why would she suspect the hard disk... if the screen was scrambled?

Edit:
Try a USB keyboard.
Also, if it has a port for it try an external monitor.
 
Last edited:

moejoe

New Member
Joined
Dec 31, 2013
Messages
21 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
#8
Make sure you have placed the ribbon cables in correctly and locked them in place.

You may have missed something she broke, a connection somewhere... go over it with a good magnifier and look for loose connections.

And, why would she suspect the hard disk... if the screen was scrambled?

Edit:

Also, if it has a port for it try an external monitor.
Thanks!! I'm making some progress I used an external monitor and keyboard and that worked, and I think that the optical drive is defective it failed a test. I will replace that tomorror, and for the record I was surprised that she thought she would be able to look at the hard drive and figure out anything. THANKS AGAIN!!
 

moejoe

New Member
Joined
Dec 31, 2013
Messages
21 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
#9
Thanks!! I'm making some progress I used an external monitor and keyboard and that worked, and I think that the optical drive is defective it failed a test. I will replace that tomorror, and for the record I was surprised that she thought she would be able to look at the hard drive and figure out anything. THANKS AGAIN!!
I still have a problem after bypassing the keyboard with the usb keyboard, I reinstalled windows 7 and now it wants me to turn on my wireless connection which is on my defective laptop keyboard. I;m ok with a ethernet connection, or a wireless adapter plugin, as soon as I disconnect I get the message to turn it on. CAN ANYBODY SUGGEST ANYTHING! Thanks!!!