• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Dell Vostro 1310 Keyboards Come with Different and Incorrect Keyboard Layout in UK

malware

New Member
Joined
Nov 7, 2004
Messages
5,422 (1.13/day)
Likes
954
Location
Bulgaria
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 G0 VID: 1.2125
Motherboard GIGABYTE GA-P35-DS3P rev.2.0
Cooling Thermalright Ultra-120 eXtreme + Noctua NF-S12 Fan
Memory 4x1 GB PQI DDR2 PC2-6400
Video Card(s) Colorful iGame Radeon HD 4890 1 GB GDDR5
Storage 2x 500 GB Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 32 MB RAID0
Display(s) BenQ G2400W 24-inch WideScreen LCD
Case Cooler Master COSMOS RC-1000 (sold), Cooler Master HAF-932 (delivered)
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic + Logitech Z-5500 Digital THX
Power Supply Chieftec CFT-1000G-DF 1kW
Software Laptop: Lenovo 3000 N200 C2DT2310/3GB/120GB/GF7300/15.4"/Razer
#1
I can't explain how happy I'm at the moment, because something like this is being widely reported. It was only a matter of time before someone compain in public. Too bad that it comes from Dell, not the manufacturer I had the same problem with. It seems that the latest Dell Vostro 1310 laptops come with two different types of keyboard layouts - European and USA (International). The problem comes with the European layout which has a big Enter key and changed "forward slash" key position right next to the "Z" key. Try this in a laptop keyboard and the result is sad, the whole bottom row of keys moves with one ahead. Now the worst part, Dell confirmed that all laptops shipped to UK and most likely the whole Europe come with the misconfigured European layout pictured below (third picture shows how the USA layout looks like). I had nearly the same problem with my brand new Logitech G15 rev. 2 keyboard, and it appears all Logitech keyboards ship to Europe with different layout too, without any sign of information that there're two versions - for Europe and USA. It's a shame that things like this happen these days.

Show full news post
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 30, 2006
Messages
6,374 (1.55/day)
Likes
983
System Name ICE-QUAD // ICE-CRUNCH
Processor Q6600 // 2x Xeon 5472
Memory 2GB DDR // 8GB FB-DIMM
Video Card(s) HD3850-AGP // FireGL 3400
Display(s) 2 x Samsung 204Ts = 3200x1200
Audio Device(s) Audigy 2
Software Windows Server 2003 R2 as a Workstation now migrated to W10 with regrets.
#3
This is seriously embarassing egg on face. It's like building a car with the accelerator, brake and clutch the wrong way round. How can a company make such a design flaw? Time for some engineers to fall on swords.
 

jbunch07

New Member
Joined
Feb 22, 2008
Messages
5,260 (1.47/day)
Likes
598
Location
Chattanooga,TN
Processor i5-2500k
Motherboard ASRock z68 pro3-m
Cooling Corsair A70
Memory Kingston HyperX 8GB 2 x 4GB 1600mhz
Storage OCZ Agility3 60GB(boot) 2x320GB Raid0(storage)
Display(s) Samsung 24" 1920x1200
Case Custom
Power Supply PC Power and Cooling 750w
Software Win 7 x64
#4
haha this was posted in the crazy picture thread
 
Joined
Dec 10, 2007
Messages
7,185 (1.97/day)
Likes
769
Location
Adelaide Australia
System Name Becca 2
Processor AMD A10 4600m quad core @ 2.3 ghz
Motherboard dunno
Cooling Logitech alto connect
Memory 16 Gig ddr3 1600mhz
Video Card(s) Ati HD 7660G + & 7470M
Storage 1 TB
Audio Device(s) onboard crap
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit with sp1
#5
Lol typical the us gets the correct layout ones
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,100 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,526
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#6
whats wrong is that the keys are in the wrong locations, meaning that touch typers are going to be very sad people.
 
Joined
Jul 26, 2007
Messages
536 (0.14/day)
Likes
41
Location
Melbourne, Australia
System Name beast
Processor 3930K
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X79-UD3
Cooling Noctua NH-U12P SE2011
Memory 16GB Kingston Value DDR3 1333Mhz CL9
Video Card(s) Sapphire 5870 1GB
Storage 1x 120GB Intel 520
Display(s) 3x X243BW@5760x1080
Case Antec P182
Power Supply Antec TruePower Trio 650
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64
#7
if you go and buy a dell, you get exactly what you deserve.
:wtf: asif dell customers can type properly anyway?
but as its mentioned about the g15's having the same problem well thats just plain funny :laugh::laugh: :laugh: :roll:
 
Joined
Jun 20, 2005
Messages
17 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
Location
Leeds, UK
System Name My PC
Processor 6700K @ 4.5GHz
Motherboard GigaByte GA-Z170XP-SLI
Cooling 2 Fans
Memory 2 x 8GB Corsair 2400MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Sapphire 480 OC @ 1375/2100MHz
Storage Samsung 830 120GB, 3TB WD Blue
Display(s) 23" LG 1080P
Case Corsair
Audio Device(s) Audigy 2ZS with Inspire T7900 7.1 speakers, still!
Power Supply Corsair 850W
Mouse Razor Lachesis & Original Deathadder
Keyboard Logi G510
Software W10 Pro
Benchmark Scores 4526 Timespy
#8
Please clarify - which is "wrong" - SHIFT \ Z or [ ] \ - the article is very confused.


All my desktops and Precision M6300 are SHIFT \ Z which seems right, although the SHIFT is small so Z is between A and S not between S and D - is that the problem?
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,100 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,526
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#9
on normal keyboards the keys start shift-z and end /-shift.

Whats wrong with that layout, is that touch typers are boned. UK keyboards have a different layout to US/aus keyboards, but it seems they're cross-shipping and people are getting the wroung countries models... and the moved Z key is new for either one anyway.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 27, 2008
Messages
697 (0.20/day)
Likes
70
Location
Zagreb, Croatia
Processor C2D E8400@3.9GHz (488x8, 1.4v :( )
Motherboard Abit IP35-E
Cooling Thermaltake Sonic Tower+120mm fan
Memory 2GB kingmax ddr1066@976MHz 5-5-5-15
Video Card(s) Radeon X1800GTO @700/1400MHz with Accelero S1+Glacialtech fancard
Storage 2xSeagate Barracuda 7200.10 160GB
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster 793s... just you laugh...
Case some Aplus case
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC888
Power Supply Chieftec 450W
Software Win7 x64
#10
X should be under S, here it's under D. I use X for sprint and C for crouch, I'd go bananas with this! :banghead:
 
Joined
Dec 10, 2007
Messages
7,185 (1.97/day)
Likes
769
Location
Adelaide Australia
System Name Becca 2
Processor AMD A10 4600m quad core @ 2.3 ghz
Motherboard dunno
Cooling Logitech alto connect
Memory 16 Gig ddr3 1600mhz
Video Card(s) Ati HD 7660G + & 7470M
Storage 1 TB
Audio Device(s) onboard crap
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit with sp1
#11
Dang that sounds crazy man better u than me.
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,274 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,361
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K@4.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR3-1866 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX960 STRIX @ 1500/1900
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Corsair 650D Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#12
Wait, I don't get it. That is the standard European English QWERTY keyboard layout. Why the big fuss, that is how it is supposed to be. It isn't hard to figure out which keyboard you will get, look at where you are shipping it to, look at the standard keyboard for that area, BAM! that is the keyboard you are getting.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,100 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,526
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#13
Wait, I don't get it. That is the standard European English QWERTY keyboard layout. Why the big fuss, that is how it is supposed to be. It isn't hard to figure out which keyboard you will get, look at where you are shipping it to, look at the standard keyboard for that area, BAM! that is the keyboard you are getting.
umm... the Z key. its nowhere near where it should be. The whole bottom row is in the wrong place.
 
Joined
Dec 10, 2007
Messages
7,185 (1.97/day)
Likes
769
Location
Adelaide Australia
System Name Becca 2
Processor AMD A10 4600m quad core @ 2.3 ghz
Motherboard dunno
Cooling Logitech alto connect
Memory 16 Gig ddr3 1600mhz
Video Card(s) Ati HD 7660G + & 7470M
Storage 1 TB
Audio Device(s) onboard crap
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit with sp1
#14
Yes a touch typers nightmare indeed
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,274 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,361
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K@4.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR3-1866 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX960 STRIX @ 1500/1900
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Corsair 650D Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#15
umm... the Z key. its nowhere near where it should be. The whole bottom row is in the wrong place.
Oh I see. Instead of making the shift key smaller, they just put it where the Z key should be. My mistake.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,100 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,526
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#16
Oh I see. Instead of making the shift key smaller, they just put it where the Z key should be. My mistake.
thats the one. why the hell would they do that...
 
Joined
Nov 20, 2013
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#17
did you find any solution?

I have the same problem

I have attached 3 pictures :
http://imageshack.us/a/img708/833/quv1.jpg

doesn't work all the keys in bottom row are shift in 1 position on right

I have bought the an other same code "T456C" and it didn'tt work.

http://imageshack.us/a/img36/281/n3rs.jpg

I bought an othe keyboard uk but UK Qwerty code :"Y876J" and 2 keys are not working .

http://imageshack.us/a/img689/7758/wgw7.jpg

model of my motherboard d815k this is the new is working .

Do you think the layout US will work ??? code "0J483C"

anyone let me know please I don't want fix with software but only buying with right part.