• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Dell Windows 8 Tablet Leaks

Joined
Oct 10, 2009
Messages
868 (0.25/day)
Location
London, UK
System Name The one under the desk / Media Centre
Processor Xeon X3730@3.6GHZ / Phenom II X4 805E
Motherboard Gigabyte P55M-UD4 / Asus Crosshair III
Cooling Corsair H70 + 2*PWM fan / Arctic Alpine 11
Memory 16GB DRR3-1333 9-9-9-27 / 4GB Crucial DDR3-1333
Video Card(s) Asus DirectCU GTX 680 / Gigabyte 560TI
Storage Kingston V200 128GB, WD6400AAKS, 1TB Seagate 7.2kRPM SSHD / Kingston V200 128GB
Display(s) Samsung 2343BW + Dell Ultrasharp 1600*1200 / 32" TV
Case C'M' Silencio 550 / Some ancient SilverStone brushed aluminium media centre
Audio Device(s) No.
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower XT 675W / EVGA 430W
Mouse Mionix Naos 3200 / Generic PS2
Keyboard Roccat Ryos TKL Pro / Evoluent Mouse Friendly Keyboard (Logitech OEM)
Software Windows 7 Ult x64
Benchmark Scores Nah.
I'm sick to death of these tablets and laptops with that sh*t tier screen resolution.
 

slybunda

New Member
Joined
Apr 7, 2012
Messages
18 (0.01/day)
agreed, the screen res should be 1680x1050 minimum. 1920x1080 prefered, makes it much easier to read small text.

atom cpu is good enough, its faster than cortex a9 so thats the main thing.
 
Joined
Apr 24, 2008
Messages
1,219 (0.30/day)
Processor Core i7 3930K / Core i7 5820K
Motherboard Asus P9X79 Deluxe / Asus X99-A
Cooling Coolermaster Hyper 212 Plus
Memory 32GB DDR3 1600 (8x4GB)
Video Card(s) GTX 670
Storage Corsair Force Series 3 120GB SSD (2x) Samsung 840 500GB SSD
Display(s) Asus VE276Q, VE278Q and VK278Q triple 27” 1920x1080
Case Antec P180
Audio Device(s) On Board
Power Supply Antec Earthwatts 650W
Software Windows 8 Pro 64bit
In addition to the ASUS Eee Slate EP121 Windows 7 PC tablet, I had a first gen iPad which I sold and bought the new iPad with Retina display at 2048-by-1536. I also have a 16GB and 32GB HP Touchpad one of which is running CM9 Android.

While there is a difference in display resolution it's not something that bothers me or something I notice most of the time.
 

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
24,744 (6.38/day)
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Video Card(s) Sapphire NITRO+ RX 590 Special Edition 8 GiB DVI + HDMI
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate Exos X12 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T240 24" LCD (1920x1200 HDMI) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW 19" LCD (1440x900 DVI)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek Onboard, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
...since when was 1366x768 on a 10.1" display bad? That's 103,870 pixels per inch. 1920x1080 on your typical 23" screen is 90,157 pixels per inch.

If you can't read small text, turn the DPI up. It's running Windows 8--it'll surely have that option just like Windows dating back to at least 95 had.


Not surprising. Windows might support ARM, but the adoption will be slow until there is a decent amount of software that supports ARM for Windows.
Since it is AoW, I suspect the issue isn't software, but drivers. Writing Windows drivers for ARM--that's something new.
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 14, 2012
Messages
886 (0.34/day)
Location
US
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 1600X
Motherboard AsRock X370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H60 Liquid Cooling
Memory 16 GB CORSAIR Vengeance LPX 3000 Mhz (Running at 2933)
Video Card(s) EVGA FTW2 GTX 1070Ti
Storage 740GB of SSDs, 7 TB's of HDDs
Display(s) LG 27UD58P-B 27” IPS 4K
Case Phanteks Enthos Pro M
Audio Device(s) Integrated
Power Supply EVGA 750 P2
Mouse Mionix Naos 8200
Keyboard G Skill Ripjaws RGB Mechanical Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Pro
I wonder how much these are gonna run?
 

Easy Rhino

Linux Advocate
Staff member
Joined
Nov 13, 2006
Messages
14,709 (3.21/day)
Location
Mid-Atlantic
System Name Desktop
Processor i5 7500 Kaby Lake
Motherboard AsRock MicroATX Z170M Extreme4
Cooling Stock
Memory 2x 8G Gskill Aegis DDR4 2400
Video Card(s) Nvidia GTX 970 FTW+
Storage Samsung nVME 512
Display(s) Dell 27" 1440p 8bit GSYNC
Case Corsair Carbide 400C
Audio Device(s) On Board
Power Supply Seasonic SSR-650GD Flagship Prime Series 650W Gold
Mouse Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard Code V2B
Software Windows 10
just realized this. 2GB memory? Oh yea, it is a Windows OS :laugh:
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
47,001 (8.79/day)
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name OCD (Overclocking Compulsive Disorder)
Processor Ryzen R7 2700X (stock/XFR OC)
Motherboard Aorus AX370-Gaming 5 (planned x570 upgrade when they come out)
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro W/ Corsair ML RGB fans
Memory 16GB DDR4 3200 Corsair Vengeance RGB Pro
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS mod to Gaming Z) w/ NZXT Kraken x52 AIO
Storage 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + 1TB Intel 6000 Pro NVME
Display(s) Phillips 328m6fjrmb (32" 1440p 144hz curved) + Sony KD-55X8500F (55" 4K HDR)
Case Fractal Design R6 Gunmetal Grey (Type C TG)
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 + Corsair Void pro RGB, Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G703 + PowerPlay mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
...since when was 1366x768 on a 10.1" display bad? That's 103,870 pixels per inch. 1920x1080 on your typical 23" screen is 90,157 pixels per inch.

If you can't read small text, turn the DPI up. It's running Windows 8--it'll surely have that option just like Windows dating back to at least 95 had.



Since it is AoW, I suspect the issue isn't software, but drivers. Writing Windows drivers for ARM--that's something new.
finally, someone said what i was thinking.


if this had some 3D rendering power, then i'd be all over it. i'll skip in a few generations.
 
Joined
Oct 10, 2009
Messages
868 (0.25/day)
Location
London, UK
System Name The one under the desk / Media Centre
Processor Xeon X3730@3.6GHZ / Phenom II X4 805E
Motherboard Gigabyte P55M-UD4 / Asus Crosshair III
Cooling Corsair H70 + 2*PWM fan / Arctic Alpine 11
Memory 16GB DRR3-1333 9-9-9-27 / 4GB Crucial DDR3-1333
Video Card(s) Asus DirectCU GTX 680 / Gigabyte 560TI
Storage Kingston V200 128GB, WD6400AAKS, 1TB Seagate 7.2kRPM SSHD / Kingston V200 128GB
Display(s) Samsung 2343BW + Dell Ultrasharp 1600*1200 / 32" TV
Case C'M' Silencio 550 / Some ancient SilverStone brushed aluminium media centre
Audio Device(s) No.
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower XT 675W / EVGA 430W
Mouse Mionix Naos 3200 / Generic PS2
Keyboard Roccat Ryos TKL Pro / Evoluent Mouse Friendly Keyboard (Logitech OEM)
Software Windows 7 Ult x64
Benchmark Scores Nah.
...since when was 1366x768 on a 10.1" display bad? That's 103,870 pixels per inch. 1920x1080 on your typical 23" screen is 90,157 pixels per inch.
I sit about 2-3 feet from a 23", 2048*1152 monitor. Any closer and I can make out lines between pixels. With tablets and laptops, you sit closer still. Plus there's the sheer lack of on-screen real estate.

And what has this got to do with not being able to read small text? That's an argument against higher resolutions, since Windows deals with DPI increases so poorly (see the Anandtech review of the new Asus ultrabook). If I was to run a laptop or tablet (and this resolution issue on the reasonable priced ones is a big part of why I don't) I'd run a Linux distribution that seemed comfortable at an appropriate DPI.
 

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
24,744 (6.38/day)
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Video Card(s) Sapphire NITRO+ RX 590 Special Edition 8 GiB DVI + HDMI
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate Exos X12 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T240 24" LCD (1920x1200 HDMI) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW 19" LCD (1440x900 DVI)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek Onboard, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
I've got the perfect screen for you:

No lines!

The lines are a consequence of LCDs. You can make them smaller, but they'll always be there.
 
Joined
Oct 10, 2009
Messages
868 (0.25/day)
Location
London, UK
System Name The one under the desk / Media Centre
Processor Xeon X3730@3.6GHZ / Phenom II X4 805E
Motherboard Gigabyte P55M-UD4 / Asus Crosshair III
Cooling Corsair H70 + 2*PWM fan / Arctic Alpine 11
Memory 16GB DRR3-1333 9-9-9-27 / 4GB Crucial DDR3-1333
Video Card(s) Asus DirectCU GTX 680 / Gigabyte 560TI
Storage Kingston V200 128GB, WD6400AAKS, 1TB Seagate 7.2kRPM SSHD / Kingston V200 128GB
Display(s) Samsung 2343BW + Dell Ultrasharp 1600*1200 / 32" TV
Case C'M' Silencio 550 / Some ancient SilverStone brushed aluminium media centre
Audio Device(s) No.
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower XT 675W / EVGA 430W
Mouse Mionix Naos 3200 / Generic PS2
Keyboard Roccat Ryos TKL Pro / Evoluent Mouse Friendly Keyboard (Logitech OEM)
Software Windows 7 Ult x64
Benchmark Scores Nah.
You can make them smaller
Yes please. While we're at it, higher resolutions tends to mean sharper, clearer images, which can't hurt.



Sitting one foot away, a screen has to be <4" before you can't see any benefit from >720p.
 
Joined
Feb 13, 2012
Messages
454 (0.17/day)
just realized this. 2GB memory? Oh yea, it is a Windows OS :laugh:
thats what worries me, while atoms are well faster than ARM processors, they will be running a rather heavyweight OS. I wonder if the user experience is going to be even acceptable to start with, because in windows 7 atoms were a complete fail in terms of performance and user satisfaction.
now if atom or brazos were to run on andriod os for example then you have something you can consider "powerful" because it doesnt stress the hardware like windows does

so from a user experience standpoint, you wanna do multitasking on the os without starting to lag, and android probably does the better job there, because in windows memory usage usually is at 1.2gb or so before you even run anything
 
Joined
Jul 24, 2007
Messages
204 (0.05/day)
I can see it now, someone buys this, it runs slow and so they conclude that windows 8 runs slow and sucks. Of course, the atom and intel integrated is what really sucks. :banghead::mad:

thats what worries me, while atoms are well faster than ARM processors, they will be running a rather heavyweight OS. I wonder if the user experience is going to be even acceptable to start with, because in windows 7 atoms were a complete fail in terms of performance and user satisfaction.
now if atom or brazos were to run on andriod os for example then you have something you can consider "powerful" because it doesnt stress the hardware like windows does

so from a user experience standpoint, you wanna do multitasking on the os without starting to lag, and android probably does the better job there, because in windows memory usage usually is at 1.2gb or so before you even run anything
Exactly! I have a tablet with a AMD C60 and HD6250 graphics and it runs great. :) Also, it uses a 32GB SSD which runs quite quick and is upgradeable. The crap atom just needs to die, AMD is so much better at that level. :nutkick:

I sit about 2-3 feet from a 23", 2048*1152 monitor. Any closer and I can make out lines between pixels. With tablets and laptops, you sit closer still. Plus there's the sheer lack of on-screen real estate.

And what has this got to do with not being able to read small text? That's an argument against higher resolutions, since Windows deals with DPI increases so poorly (see the Anandtech review of the new Asus ultrabook). If I was to run a laptop or tablet (and this resolution issue on the reasonable priced ones is a big part of why I don't) I'd run a Linux distribution that seemed comfortable at an appropriate DPI.
Sorry, but my Acer W500 at 1280 x 800 looks fantastic in Windows 8. (The text is nice and sharp to me and it is a 10 inch screen.)

just realized this. 2GB memory? Oh yea, it is a Windows OS :laugh:
Oh yeah, why would anyone want to use 2GB of ram. :rolleyes: Just go back to your 640K and have fun.

Acer W500 Definitely fantastic with windows 8 on it. Also, it comes with a dock that has a keyboard and ethernet port.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

sneekypeet

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
26,373 (5.50/day)
System Name His
Processor Intel i9 7920X
Motherboard Asus Prime X299 Deluxe
Cooling Corsair H115i RGB Platinum
Memory G.Skill TridentZ RGB 32GB @ 3600MHz
Video Card(s) nVidia RTX 2080ti
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Samsung 55" 4K 60hz
Case Cooler Master Cosmos C700P (Inverted Layout)
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony Receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
One post at a time please. There is an edit button at the bottom right of your initial post, use that instead of multiple posts.
 
Joined
Apr 24, 2008
Messages
1,219 (0.30/day)
Processor Core i7 3930K / Core i7 5820K
Motherboard Asus P9X79 Deluxe / Asus X99-A
Cooling Coolermaster Hyper 212 Plus
Memory 32GB DDR3 1600 (8x4GB)
Video Card(s) GTX 670
Storage Corsair Force Series 3 120GB SSD (2x) Samsung 840 500GB SSD
Display(s) Asus VE276Q, VE278Q and VK278Q triple 27” 1920x1080
Case Antec P180
Audio Device(s) On Board
Power Supply Antec Earthwatts 650W
Software Windows 8 Pro 64bit
Since it is AoW, I suspect the issue isn't software, but drivers. Writing Windows drivers for ARM--that's something new.
The supported hardware for windows on ARM will be far lower then that of the X86 / X64 version. There will likely be many things you simply cannot do with a Windows ARM tablet. So no, I don't suspect drivers will be much of an issue.
 
Joined
Feb 13, 2012
Messages
454 (0.17/day)
The supported hardware for windows on ARM will be far lower then that of the X86 / X64 version. There will likely be many things you simply cannot do with a Windows ARM tablet. So no, I don't suspect drivers will be much of an issue.
well lets get realistic here, tablets were never about having everything you expect from a computer on one device. you see only laptops are almost barely getting to that point were anything u did on a desktop you can now do on a laptop

with tablets however and the hardware we are at now,the engineers would be taking a more "what can we do without" approach that way you end up with a device that ends up doing some things perfect rather than a device that can do everything poorly
that is why tablet os has to be as light as possible, as of now tablets are for web browsing/reading/checking emails and sometimes watching videos and for playing mobile video games
there for it is very important in my opinion to keep 2 seperate operating systems one for mainstream and one for mobile. tho i wonder how win8 will stack up, im very curious
im thinking win8 for tablets and arm will end up more like windows phone 7 which looks alot like the win8 metro style stuff. while win8 for x86 will have the desktop and all the sophisticated file system. if that isnt the case then i doubt win8 will be successful because then it wont be able to compete on price against the well established ios and android because it when it does it wont perform as fast(from a user experience perspective)
 
Joined
Oct 10, 2009
Messages
868 (0.25/day)
Location
London, UK
System Name The one under the desk / Media Centre
Processor Xeon X3730@3.6GHZ / Phenom II X4 805E
Motherboard Gigabyte P55M-UD4 / Asus Crosshair III
Cooling Corsair H70 + 2*PWM fan / Arctic Alpine 11
Memory 16GB DRR3-1333 9-9-9-27 / 4GB Crucial DDR3-1333
Video Card(s) Asus DirectCU GTX 680 / Gigabyte 560TI
Storage Kingston V200 128GB, WD6400AAKS, 1TB Seagate 7.2kRPM SSHD / Kingston V200 128GB
Display(s) Samsung 2343BW + Dell Ultrasharp 1600*1200 / 32" TV
Case C'M' Silencio 550 / Some ancient SilverStone brushed aluminium media centre
Audio Device(s) No.
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower XT 675W / EVGA 430W
Mouse Mionix Naos 3200 / Generic PS2
Keyboard Roccat Ryos TKL Pro / Evoluent Mouse Friendly Keyboard (Logitech OEM)
Software Windows 7 Ult x64
Benchmark Scores Nah.
Sorry, but my Acer W500 at 1280 x 800 looks fantastic in Windows 8. (The text is nice and sharp to me and it is a 10 inch screen.)
Firstly, that something is fantastic does not mean that there is no room for improvement. Secondly, this kinda thing is kinda subjective, so saying that a given resolution is satisfactory for you does not imply that it is therefore good enough for everyone.

Personally I used a 1440*900 screen on my desktop for years. I thought the picture quality was pretty damn good. And for a 1440*900 screen, it was pretty damn good.

Then I bought a higher resolution screen, and I realised what I'd been missing out on all that time. Now I feel the same way when I look at 1080p laptops and the new iPad - it's not that what went before was bad, it's that it's possible to do so much better.

If laptops still all came with C2Ds, they'd still be pretty useful pieces of kit, but you'd be pretty fed up with that state of affairs, wouldn't you?
 

treehouse

New Member
Joined
Apr 9, 2011
Messages
199 (0.07/day)
System Name hazel
Processor phenom II 555 BE unlocked to 4 cores at 3.6ghz
Motherboard asus m4a89gtdpro
Cooling antec kuhler
Memory 8gb corsair
Video Card(s) 2 x 6950 crossfire
Storage ocz ssd 60gb
Display(s) LG 24 inch 1080p
Case nzxt phantom
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply BeQuiet 750w
i might get a windows tablet pc if i can control remotely my main pc with
if you can do that with an apple ipad, then am sure you can with this
 

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
24,744 (6.38/day)
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Video Card(s) Sapphire NITRO+ RX 590 Special Edition 8 GiB DVI + HDMI
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate Exos X12 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T240 24" LCD (1920x1200 HDMI) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW 19" LCD (1440x900 DVI)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek Onboard, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
Remote Desktop
 
Joined
Apr 24, 2008
Messages
1,219 (0.30/day)
Processor Core i7 3930K / Core i7 5820K
Motherboard Asus P9X79 Deluxe / Asus X99-A
Cooling Coolermaster Hyper 212 Plus
Memory 32GB DDR3 1600 (8x4GB)
Video Card(s) GTX 670
Storage Corsair Force Series 3 120GB SSD (2x) Samsung 840 500GB SSD
Display(s) Asus VE276Q, VE278Q and VK278Q triple 27” 1920x1080
Case Antec P180
Audio Device(s) On Board
Power Supply Antec Earthwatts 650W
Software Windows 8 Pro 64bit
Firstly, that something is fantastic does not mean that there is no room for improvement. Secondly, this kinda thing is kinda subjective, so saying that a given resolution is satisfactory for you does not imply that it is therefore good enough for everyone.

Personally I used a 1440*900 screen on my desktop for years. I thought the picture quality was pretty damn good. And for a 1440*900 screen, it was pretty damn good.

Then I bought a higher resolution screen, and I realised what I'd been missing out on all that time. Now I feel the same way when I look at 1080p laptops and the new iPad - it's not that what went before was bad, it's that it's possible to do so much better.

If laptops still all came with C2Ds, they'd still be pretty useful pieces of kit, but you'd be pretty fed up with that state of affairs, wouldn't you?
You're right, it is subjective to a point. Like I said before the 2048-by-1536 resolution of the new iPad was noticeable (side by side) over the 1024-by-768 of the first gen iPad but it wasn't as important or useful as I thought it might be. So it's a small improvement to me.

On the manufacters side though the specs have to go up in order to support the upgrade and thus the cost goes up too.
 

treehouse

New Member
Joined
Apr 9, 2011
Messages
199 (0.07/day)
System Name hazel
Processor phenom II 555 BE unlocked to 4 cores at 3.6ghz
Motherboard asus m4a89gtdpro
Cooling antec kuhler
Memory 8gb corsair
Video Card(s) 2 x 6950 crossfire
Storage ocz ssd 60gb
Display(s) LG 24 inch 1080p
Case nzxt phantom
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply BeQuiet 750w
Like I said before the 2048-by-1536 resolution of the new iPad was noticeable (side by side) over the 1024-by-768 of the first gen iPad but it wasn't as important or useful as I thought it might be
i thought it was really noticeable and that is the sole reason i use my ipad over other devices. the screen.

i have 5 lines better eyesight than 20/20 though

edit: re-read what you wrote, i must say that i find the extremely high resolution highly useful but that is like you say, subjective
 
Last edited:
Top