• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Dell Workstation Owners Club

Joined
Oct 13, 2018
Messages
44 (0.12/day)
Processor i7-8086k
Motherboard ASUS ROG MAXIMUS X CODE
Cooling EVGA 240 WATERCOOLER
Memory G.SKILL DDR4 3200MHZ CL14
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForece 1070ti SC Hybrid
Storage WD Black M.2 NVMe 4x 500gb
Power Supply Dell 1100w (T7500)
Benchmark Scores https://valid.x86.fr/uwqpn1
I got 2 disk drives in my t3500 (came with it, guess it was also used for copying disks). Anyway, was looking initially at a hotswappable 5.25 but didn't need it.

Now I got another issue is the fan noise.

The 80mm fans I got is stupid loud cause it is running max speed. They are PWM 4 pin fans but they do not use the small dell connectors.

Does anyone know of an adapter that would work? Cause this is annoying the noise.
To plug your 4 pin fan into the dell 5 pin controller slot?



https://www.ebay.com/p/1pcs-5-Pin-Dell-Latch-Fan-Connector-to-4-Pin-Fan-Adapter-Convertion-Cable/529924955?iid=262784103218&chn=ps
 
Joined
Sep 28, 2005
Messages
856 (0.17/day)
Location
Calgary Alberta, Canada
System Name PussySlayer
Processor Intel Core i7 4770
Motherboard Asrock Z87E-ITX
Cooling Some crappy Silverstone ITX Cooler
Memory 2x8GB Gskill RipjawsX 1600
Video Card(s) GTX 1070
Storage 1x500gb Crucial SSD
Display(s) BenQ 24" 1080P
Case Couger QBX
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply 650W EVGA BR - Coil Whine Issue
Software Windows 10 64bit Pro
That's the cooler for the 2nd CPU on the T5500 optional riser card. The primary cooler is the same as the T3500.
Here's the Dell fan pinout.
ttps://forums.anandtech.com/threads/dell-motherboard-cpu-fan-header-question.2489271/
ended up ordering this now:

https://www.ebay.ca/itm/5Pin-to-4Pin-Fan-Connector-Adapter-Converter-Extension-Cable-Wire-For-Dell-PC/163279753104?epid=2295246724&hash=item26043b4f90:g:D68AAOSw8D9bqlTH:rk:1:pf:0

Of course it will come in new year almost.....

Alright, so fresh install, everything up, here we go.



Any suggestions on what to do now? I would like to overclock with throttlestop but I don't really know how to use it and I have already gone through the thread.

 
Last edited:
Joined
May 13, 2010
Messages
4,956 (1.44/day)
System Name RemixedBeast-NX
Processor Intel Xeon E5-2650 @ 2.2Ghz (8C/16T)
Motherboard Dell Inc. 08HPGT (CPU 1)
Cooling Dell Standard
Memory 32GB ECC
Video Card(s) EVGA Nvidia GTX 650 Ti SSC 1GB
Storage 500GB Samsung 850//2TB WD Black
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster P2350 23in @ 1920x1080 + Dell E2013H 20 in @1600x900
Case Dell Precision T3600 Chassis
Audio Device(s) Beyerdynamic DT770 Pro 80 // Fiio E7 Amp/DAC
Power Supply 630w Dell T3600 PSU
Mouse Logitech G700s/G502
Keyboard Logitech K740
Software Windows Server 2012 x64 Standard
Benchmark Scores Network: APs: Cisco Meraki MR32, Ubiquiti Unifi AP-AC-LR and Lite Router/Sw:Meraki MX64 MS220-8P
Bout to also join the Xeon club:
Your Orders 10-26-2018 12-28-58 PM.png
 
Joined
May 13, 2018
Messages
118 (0.22/day)
System Name Terminator T3500
Processor Intel Xeon W3570 3.86GHz
Motherboard Dell T3500
Cooling CoolIT Eco 120mm AIO
Memory 10GB (5x2GB) DDR3, upgrading to 12GB
Video Card(s) Gigabyte R9 290X Windforce
Storage 120GB SSD + 1TB HDD
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster 245BW 24" 1920x1200
Case Corsair Carbide Spec-01
Audio Device(s) Kinter MA-170
Power Supply Corsair CX600
Mouse CM Storm Spawn
Keyboard Ajazz AK33
Software Windows 10
ended up ordering this now:

https://www.ebay.ca/itm/5Pin-to-4Pin-Fan-Connector-Adapter-Converter-Extension-Cable-Wire-For-Dell-PC/163279753104?epid=2295246724&hash=item26043b4f90:g:D68AAOSw8D9bqlTH:rk:1:pf:0

Of course it will come in new year almost.....

Alright, so fresh install, everything up, here we go.

Any suggestions on what to do now? I would like to overclock with throttlestop but I don't really know how to use it and I have already gone through the thread.
Use the TRL and TPL tabs...one of them sets the multiplier(s) based on amount of cores loaded...and the other limits power usage. I just set the power usage thing on some really high number as to not get any throttling...I can dig out the numbers I used, but I don't think it makes much of a difference as long as you set them high enough.
 
Joined
Jun 5, 2018
Messages
27 (0.05/day)
Location
France
System Name Dell Precision T5500
Processor Xeon E5520 2.27Mhz
Motherboard 0D883F
Memory 3x4 = 12 Gb samsung 10600R
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 960, 4Gb
Storage 128 ssd
Display(s) Medion 24' - hdmi
Audio Device(s) from hdmi monitor
Power Supply Dell 865 W
Mouse wireless logitech
Keyboard logitech
Software Ubuntu 16.04
Benchmark Scores GPU Blender benchmark total_render_time: bmw27: 414.258s Classroom:1137.3s
Hello,
I got a freaking message on boot of my T5500 saying :"non ECC ram are not supported ..". I shut down and disconnect everything. The message disappeared on next boot. Is it the sign of coming failure?
 
Joined
Jan 19, 2016
Messages
555 (0.41/day)
Location
South Florida
System Name BTXTREME
Processor QX6800 SLACP Core2 Extreme
Motherboard Dell 0WG864 LGA775 BTX
Cooling Dell T9303 heatpipe cooler, Delta GFB1212VHG 2 motor fan.
Memory 8GB Dell DDR2@800
Video Card(s) Sapphire Dual BIOS R9-285 ITX O/C 2GB DDR5
Storage Crucial M500 240GB SSD
Display(s) Dell 22" LCD
Case Dell Dimension E 520 MT
Audio Device(s) onboard sound with Logitech Z523 speakers
Power Supply EVGA B2 750W semi modular
Mouse Logitech wireless (two installed)
Keyboard Logitech wireless backlit
Software Win7-64, Throttlestop 6.00 overclock
Benchmark Scores 3DMark 11 P7644 (52% )In Win7 64, Firestrike 6892 ( 58% ) http://valid.x86.fr/l2j5p1
If you could tell us what CPU(s) and what RAM you're running it would help. Do you have the latest BIOS from Dell?
 
Joined
Jun 5, 2018
Messages
27 (0.05/day)
Location
France
System Name Dell Precision T5500
Processor Xeon E5520 2.27Mhz
Motherboard 0D883F
Memory 3x4 = 12 Gb samsung 10600R
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 960, 4Gb
Storage 128 ssd
Display(s) Medion 24' - hdmi
Audio Device(s) from hdmi monitor
Power Supply Dell 865 W
Mouse wireless logitech
Keyboard logitech
Software Ubuntu 16.04
Benchmark Scores GPU Blender benchmark total_render_time: bmw27: 414.258s Classroom:1137.3s
If you could tell us what CPU(s) and what RAM you're running it would help. Do you have the latest BIOS from Dell?
The A02 version of the BIOS is installed and:
Capture du 2018-10-29 15-03-07.png

It will be difficult to upgrade the bios (no disk with a win7, and I didn't succeed to boot from a freedos key).
 
Joined
Oct 13, 2018
Messages
44 (0.12/day)
Processor i7-8086k
Motherboard ASUS ROG MAXIMUS X CODE
Cooling EVGA 240 WATERCOOLER
Memory G.SKILL DDR4 3200MHZ CL14
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForece 1070ti SC Hybrid
Storage WD Black M.2 NVMe 4x 500gb
Power Supply Dell 1100w (T7500)
Benchmark Scores https://valid.x86.fr/uwqpn1
You could use a trial version:
https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/software-download/windows10ISO

If you dont have a free HDD to load windows 10 trial, on you could build a preinstallation environment (WinPE/RE)using the iso and boot from usb/cd.

Also there usually is a dell bios boot iso (though i cant say for sure on t5500). I just used one to update my bios on my T610 and R810 series poweredges that run headless VMs.

May also try building a YUMI boot disk. You should be able to build a dos boot from it. Ive found YUMI is my goto for stuff like this.

Also i havnt tried it using the trial version but if you boot the windows install disk and enter ibto repair you shoukd be able to lauch a commandline, mount the volume with the dell buos and run from there....been a while since ive had to do something like that but there should be a way.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 19, 2016
Messages
555 (0.41/day)
Location
South Florida
System Name BTXTREME
Processor QX6800 SLACP Core2 Extreme
Motherboard Dell 0WG864 LGA775 BTX
Cooling Dell T9303 heatpipe cooler, Delta GFB1212VHG 2 motor fan.
Memory 8GB Dell DDR2@800
Video Card(s) Sapphire Dual BIOS R9-285 ITX O/C 2GB DDR5
Storage Crucial M500 240GB SSD
Display(s) Dell 22" LCD
Case Dell Dimension E 520 MT
Audio Device(s) onboard sound with Logitech Z523 speakers
Power Supply EVGA B2 750W semi modular
Mouse Logitech wireless (two installed)
Keyboard Logitech wireless backlit
Software Win7-64, Throttlestop 6.00 overclock
Benchmark Scores 3DMark 11 P7644 (52% )In Win7 64, Firestrike 6892 ( 58% ) http://valid.x86.fr/l2j5p1
That looks like a very old but correct configuration. The most likely reason would be a RAM module giving a POST error. This may be a sign of things to come. I would run some RAM stress test to see if that's it.
They're up to BIOS A17 August 2018 "Urgent". This is the Spectre, Meltdown patch. So it might be worth the effort.
https://www.dell.com/support/home/us/en/04/drivers/driversdetails?driverId=C88T9&osCode=W764&productCode=precision-t5500
Most of us here would give that system an update. Newer BIOS. X5687 3.6Ghz 32nm 4C/8T, or X5670 or up 6C/12T. 8GB DDR3 1333 RDIMM ECC are $30 each new. The faster memory goes with the faster CPU in these.
If you can find a RAM problem that would be a cheap fix. But the RAM controller is on the CPU so another reason to look into that option.
 
Joined
Jun 5, 2018
Messages
27 (0.05/day)
Location
France
System Name Dell Precision T5500
Processor Xeon E5520 2.27Mhz
Motherboard 0D883F
Memory 3x4 = 12 Gb samsung 10600R
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 960, 4Gb
Storage 128 ssd
Display(s) Medion 24' - hdmi
Audio Device(s) from hdmi monitor
Power Supply Dell 865 W
Mouse wireless logitech
Keyboard logitech
Software Ubuntu 16.04
Benchmark Scores GPU Blender benchmark total_render_time: bmw27: 414.258s Classroom:1137.3s
That looks like a very old but correct configuration. The most likely reason would be a RAM module giving a POST error. This may be a sign of things to come. I would run some RAM stress test to see if that's it.
They're up to BIOS A17 August 2018 "Urgent". This is the Spectre, Meltdown patch. So it might be worth the effort.
https://www.dell.com/support/home/us/en/04/drivers/driversdetails?driverId=C88T9&osCode=W764&productCode=precision-t5500.
https://www.dell.com/support/home/us/en/04/drivers/driversdetails?driverId=C88T9&osCode=W764&productCode=precision-t5500
Would you jump directly from A02 to A17?

Most of us here would give that system an update. Newer BIOS. X5687 3.6Ghz 32nm 4C/8T, or X5670 or up 6C/12T. 8GB DDR3 1333 RDIMM ECC are $30 each new. The faster memory goes with the faster CPU in these.
If you can find a RAM problem that would be a cheap fix. But the RAM controller is on the CPU so another reason to look into that optionhttps://www.dell.com/support/home/us/en/04/drivers/driversdetails?driverId=C88T9&osCode=W764&productCode=precision-t5500
https://www.dell.com/support/home/us/en/04/drivers/driversdetails?driverId=C88T9&osCode=W764&productCode=precision-t5500
Do you that the relatively poor perf yielded by blender benchmark on GPU rendering are related to a limiting CPU/RAM speed? (The perf of the GTX960 are similar to those of a GTX560)
 
Joined
Jan 19, 2016
Messages
555 (0.41/day)
Location
South Florida
System Name BTXTREME
Processor QX6800 SLACP Core2 Extreme
Motherboard Dell 0WG864 LGA775 BTX
Cooling Dell T9303 heatpipe cooler, Delta GFB1212VHG 2 motor fan.
Memory 8GB Dell DDR2@800
Video Card(s) Sapphire Dual BIOS R9-285 ITX O/C 2GB DDR5
Storage Crucial M500 240GB SSD
Display(s) Dell 22" LCD
Case Dell Dimension E 520 MT
Audio Device(s) onboard sound with Logitech Z523 speakers
Power Supply EVGA B2 750W semi modular
Mouse Logitech wireless (two installed)
Keyboard Logitech wireless backlit
Software Win7-64, Throttlestop 6.00 overclock
Benchmark Scores 3DMark 11 P7644 (52% )In Win7 64, Firestrike 6892 ( 58% ) http://valid.x86.fr/l2j5p1
Since you're still runnning that old configuration I asume it's working for you. The 80W CPU probably came with the aluminum heatsink. With a newer BIOS there are plenty of 4 core, and 6 core 80W options in the newer 32nm CPU family other than the 130W chips many of us prefer. Any of the 5000 series Xeons should work.
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_Intel_Xeon_microprocessors#Xeon_5000-series_(dual-proces
Safe bet would probaly be a couple steps. Maybe A07,A11,A17. That has been an issue sometimes. Maybe wait until some of the others reply.
A GTX 960 will definitely outrun that CPU. The 3 channel RAM can keep up just fine. That's basically a slow Core2 Quad with Hyperthreading and 3 channel RAM added.
The Spectre patch has a performance hit attached to it also. They had to disable some prefetch features for security. I would definitely suggest a lot more CPU clock speed.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 5, 2018
Messages
27 (0.05/day)
Location
France
System Name Dell Precision T5500
Processor Xeon E5520 2.27Mhz
Motherboard 0D883F
Memory 3x4 = 12 Gb samsung 10600R
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 960, 4Gb
Storage 128 ssd
Display(s) Medion 24' - hdmi
Audio Device(s) from hdmi monitor
Power Supply Dell 865 W
Mouse wireless logitech
Keyboard logitech
Software Ubuntu 16.04
Benchmark Scores GPU Blender benchmark total_render_time: bmw27: 414.258s Classroom:1137.3s
Since you're still runnning that old configuration I asume it's working for you. The 80W CPU probably came with the aluminum heatsink.
You're right, this is it.
View attachment DSC05882.JPG
With a newer BIOS there are plenty of 4 core, and 6 core 80W options in the newer 32nm CPU family other than the 130W chips many of us prefer. Any of the 5000 series Xeons should work.
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_Intel_Xeon_microprocessors#Xeon_5000-series_(dual-proces
I understand that I do have to upgrade the bios before trying to upgrade the CPU.
 
Joined
Oct 13, 2018
Messages
44 (0.12/day)
Processor i7-8086k
Motherboard ASUS ROG MAXIMUS X CODE
Cooling EVGA 240 WATERCOOLER
Memory G.SKILL DDR4 3200MHZ CL14
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForece 1070ti SC Hybrid
Storage WD Black M.2 NVMe 4x 500gb
Power Supply Dell 1100w (T7500)
Benchmark Scores https://valid.x86.fr/uwqpn1
Would you jump directly from A02 to A17?
I jumped one T5500 from A6 to A17 a few weeks back with no issues. It had the old case that has non-removable HDD0 bay. I was getting an error with my X5687s and 24gb DDR-10600R ECC ram that dimm 2 was bad. I ran the update and boom ram came back just fine.

I would run A16 or A17 for all hardware support. Like Retro said though - if you are running VMs, the A17 BIOS came out in April to patch Specter v2, otherwise A16 is the same as far as hardware support.

I personally dont like flashing bios that work because you dont know what you will end up with but A02 is super old and there have been a lot of fixes/support added since then.

*******

As a side note a pair of X5687s will go a long way towards improving your system performance. I just benched my T7500 (which the T5500 can be setup quite equally) - and it benched in the 79th percentile for both the system and GPU tests with a 1070ti...The processors alone came in at the top 91st percentile!

System Score:
https://www.passmark.com/baselines/V9/display.php?id=109957263786

3DMark Score:
https://www.3dmark.com/3dm/29867477

Not too shabby, I'll run a test on my T5500 with 2x x5687s, 24gb a gtx 1060 card for comparison and post later.

**** EDIT TO ADD ****

I dug up the the passmark score from that T5500 I was working on last week with the 1060 card
https://www.passmark.com/baselines/V8/display.php?id=109520808175

Processors actually scored higher : 11833 (T7500) vs 12511 (T5500)

The only major differences are in the GPU (1060 vs 1070ti) and disks (I've spent a lot of time optimizing the T7500 as it s my main workstation). For reference the T5500 is running a single Intel SSD5 545s 256gb off the motherboard sata controller. The T7500 disk setup is in my signature. The T5500 could be setup identically though I dont know if there is enough room for all the disks lol. Either way the systems end up about equal when the parts are the same.

I also just notices the 1060 (though 1 less star) scored 1000 points higher than the 1070ti on 3D??? I'll have to upgrade the T5500 to the latest version of 3DMark and run again...really wierd!
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 8, 2018
Messages
205 (0.35/day)
Location
USA
System Name Dell T3500
Processor Xeon X5687
Motherboard Dell - 9KPNV
Cooling Dell U016F
Memory 12gb ECC 1333
Video Card(s) MSI rx480 gaming X
Storage 1tb WD blue
Case Dell T3500
Would you jump directly from A02 to A17?
The T5500 board I'm using to post this is same early model as yours - D883F. Went from BIOS 'A02' to 'A16' without issue. The utility will tell you if the upgrade is supported or not .
A17 was not out yet. Just updated a few minutes ago. Dell utility makes it very easy. Not like the old days flashing from floppy in DOS.

Recommend installing latest Intel chipset driver too. Seems they are often overlooked. Newest for T5500 is 'A06' ... 'A23' for T3500. Given that chipset is the I/O hub between CPU & RAM, and rest of the system (SATA, USB, PCI, etc ...) it makes sense to me to update for maximum compatability and optimization.
 

Attachments

Joined
Jan 19, 2016
Messages
555 (0.41/day)
Location
South Florida
System Name BTXTREME
Processor QX6800 SLACP Core2 Extreme
Motherboard Dell 0WG864 LGA775 BTX
Cooling Dell T9303 heatpipe cooler, Delta GFB1212VHG 2 motor fan.
Memory 8GB Dell DDR2@800
Video Card(s) Sapphire Dual BIOS R9-285 ITX O/C 2GB DDR5
Storage Crucial M500 240GB SSD
Display(s) Dell 22" LCD
Case Dell Dimension E 520 MT
Audio Device(s) onboard sound with Logitech Z523 speakers
Power Supply EVGA B2 750W semi modular
Mouse Logitech wireless (two installed)
Keyboard Logitech wireless backlit
Software Win7-64, Throttlestop 6.00 overclock
Benchmark Scores 3DMark 11 P7644 (52% )In Win7 64, Firestrike 6892 ( 58% ) http://valid.x86.fr/l2j5p1
Joined
Jul 3, 2018
Messages
692 (1.46/day)
Location
Haswell, USA
System Name Matrexx 55 | Clevo P770ZM
Processor i7 8700K 5GHZ 1.35v | 4790K 4.6ghz 1.3V |
Motherboard Z390 Gaming X | Z97 Clevo |
Cooling Macho Rev B | Laptop heatsinks
Memory 64GB | 32GB 2400MHZ SODIMM
Video Card(s) Vega 56 | GTX 980M
Storage 512GB MX100 + 1.5TB Spinpoint HDD | 256GB MX300 + 1TB HDD|
Display(s) 1080P 144HZ/1200 66HZ (2)/ 1440P 60HZ | 1080P 75HZ 15.4 |
Case Matrexx 55 | Laptop shells
Audio Device(s) Various sound cards
Power Supply 750W | 330W |
Mouse too many
Keyboard K552 | Acer and Dell OEM KB's |
Software Windows 8.1/Windows 10/OSX "Mojave"
Can you actually use a T7500 1.1KW PSU on a normal desktop? Spray it black and add a few logos, and it would look decent if so
 
Joined
Jan 19, 2016
Messages
555 (0.41/day)
Location
South Florida
System Name BTXTREME
Processor QX6800 SLACP Core2 Extreme
Motherboard Dell 0WG864 LGA775 BTX
Cooling Dell T9303 heatpipe cooler, Delta GFB1212VHG 2 motor fan.
Memory 8GB Dell DDR2@800
Video Card(s) Sapphire Dual BIOS R9-285 ITX O/C 2GB DDR5
Storage Crucial M500 240GB SSD
Display(s) Dell 22" LCD
Case Dell Dimension E 520 MT
Audio Device(s) onboard sound with Logitech Z523 speakers
Power Supply EVGA B2 750W semi modular
Mouse Logitech wireless (two installed)
Keyboard Logitech wireless backlit
Software Win7-64, Throttlestop 6.00 overclock
Benchmark Scores 3DMark 11 P7644 (52% )In Win7 64, Firestrike 6892 ( 58% ) http://valid.x86.fr/l2j5p1
It's thicker. All Dell PSUs are. It allows a bigger fan in the front. The more Watts the longer they get. After that's sorted out. Dell makes the wires just the length they need to be for each system. But it's "100% modular" in that the whole harness comes off in one piece ( 100% as in all or nothing). They did use the 1.1KW in some big Alienware and XPS systems with Aftermarket compatible ATX motherboards. But that doesn't mean you won't find proprietary connectors for SLI or Crossfire adapters, or H2C Peltier coolers with light shows built in. The PSU itself is just fine. It's the harness that you need to get right.
 
Joined
Mar 8, 2018
Messages
205 (0.35/day)
Location
USA
System Name Dell T3500
Processor Xeon X5687
Motherboard Dell - 9KPNV
Cooling Dell U016F
Memory 12gb ECC 1333
Video Card(s) MSI rx480 gaming X
Storage 1tb WD blue
Case Dell T3500
Best thing would be to measure your aftermarket system and see how the 1,100 watt unit fits. Dimensions are 6 inch x 4 inch x 9 inch. I believe the technical term for Dell units is "semi-modular". Wiring harness all one large connector. As opposed to "full modular" where they are separate and only connect ones needed. With that in mind, you will be bundling up a lot of wiring since the Dell harness has extra connectors you don't need. Second EPS for instance. Plus extra long SATA power, to name a few.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 28, 2005
Messages
856 (0.17/day)
Location
Calgary Alberta, Canada
System Name PussySlayer
Processor Intel Core i7 4770
Motherboard Asrock Z87E-ITX
Cooling Some crappy Silverstone ITX Cooler
Memory 2x8GB Gskill RipjawsX 1600
Video Card(s) GTX 1070
Storage 1x500gb Crucial SSD
Display(s) BenQ 24" 1080P
Case Couger QBX
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply 650W EVGA BR - Coil Whine Issue
Software Windows 10 64bit Pro
Harnesses can be adjusted via using adapters like I have witnessed. So the Dell PSU's that are not proprietary 24pin and what not, are fine.
 
Joined
Oct 13, 2018
Messages
44 (0.12/day)
Processor i7-8086k
Motherboard ASUS ROG MAXIMUS X CODE
Cooling EVGA 240 WATERCOOLER
Memory G.SKILL DDR4 3200MHZ CL14
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForece 1070ti SC Hybrid
Storage WD Black M.2 NVMe 4x 500gb
Power Supply Dell 1100w (T7500)
Benchmark Scores https://valid.x86.fr/uwqpn1
Harnesses can be adjusted via using adapters like I have witnessed. So the Dell PSU's that are not proprietary 24pin and what not, are fine.
Just make sure the wire guage on the feed and converter >= draw and pinouts are the same. For instance I wouldnt convert the SATA power ports, their wire guage is too small for most other peripherals. Also dont try an connect the cpu cable to a GPU as the pinouts are different.
The t7500 power supply is nice though as it has separate electical busses so if you do know what you are doing, it can be very flexible/useful.
 
Joined
Jan 19, 2016
Messages
555 (0.41/day)
Location
South Florida
System Name BTXTREME
Processor QX6800 SLACP Core2 Extreme
Motherboard Dell 0WG864 LGA775 BTX
Cooling Dell T9303 heatpipe cooler, Delta GFB1212VHG 2 motor fan.
Memory 8GB Dell DDR2@800
Video Card(s) Sapphire Dual BIOS R9-285 ITX O/C 2GB DDR5
Storage Crucial M500 240GB SSD
Display(s) Dell 22" LCD
Case Dell Dimension E 520 MT
Audio Device(s) onboard sound with Logitech Z523 speakers
Power Supply EVGA B2 750W semi modular
Mouse Logitech wireless (two installed)
Keyboard Logitech wireless backlit
Software Win7-64, Throttlestop 6.00 overclock
Benchmark Scores 3DMark 11 P7644 (52% )In Win7 64, Firestrike 6892 ( 58% ) http://valid.x86.fr/l2j5p1
Best thing would be to measure your aftermarket system and see how the 1,100 watt unit fits. Dimensions are 6 inch x 4 inch x 9 inch. I believe the technical term for Dell units is "semi-modular". Wiring harness all one large connector. As opposed to "full modular" where they are separate and only connect ones needed. With that in mind, you will be bundling up a lot of wiring since the Dell harness has extra connectors you don't need. Second EPS for instance. Plus extra long SATA power, to name a few.
Add 2" for the harness at one end. My EVGA 850 is Semi Modular. The 24 pin and a couple other wires are permanently attached. Extra CPU, and GPU can be added individually. But the aftermarkets concerns, and Dells concerns are entirely different. Dell workstation PSU are designed to be swapped out quickly without disturbing any other connections or components.
Other than that you're on your own.

The t7500 power supply is nice though as it has separate electical busses so if you do know what you are doing, it can be very flexible/useful.
Except for the smallest EPA low powered PSUs Dell used multiple bus designs. The 305W Optiplex PSU had 2-18A. 12V. rails. Yes it would actually produce 400W if you intentionally overloaded it on a test bench.
https://www.hardwareinsights.com/dell-h305p-01-power-supply-review/
Delll doesn't sell PSUs by the Watt. Their ratings are continuos, not peak power like most aftermarket. There are a lot of reasons to use them if you pay attention to what you're doing.
 
Joined
Oct 13, 2018
Messages
44 (0.12/day)
Processor i7-8086k
Motherboard ASUS ROG MAXIMUS X CODE
Cooling EVGA 240 WATERCOOLER
Memory G.SKILL DDR4 3200MHZ CL14
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForece 1070ti SC Hybrid
Storage WD Black M.2 NVMe 4x 500gb
Power Supply Dell 1100w (T7500)
Benchmark Scores https://valid.x86.fr/uwqpn1
Delll doesn't sell PSUs by the Watt. Their ratings are continuos, not peak power like most aftermarket. There are a lot of reasons to use them if you pay attention to what you're doing.
I used the T7500 power supplies for powering my ASUS B250 mining rigs and can confirm they can handle beyond 1100w continuous in a 80F environment - 24x7x365. Before I optimized, I had one rig running about 3500w off 3x PSU, and one PSU meter showed a peak of around 1350w. I later optimized and ran the GPUs off breakout boards and HP gold rated PSUs, but the T7500 PSU did the work with no problems.
 
Joined
Sep 27, 2014
Messages
539 (0.29/day)
I have replaced the PS in my T3500 with one from T5500 (875W). Sure, I had to take the MB out to route neatly the new harness, but it looks "factory".
 
Joined
May 13, 2010
Messages
4,956 (1.44/day)
System Name RemixedBeast-NX
Processor Intel Xeon E5-2650 @ 2.2Ghz (8C/16T)
Motherboard Dell Inc. 08HPGT (CPU 1)
Cooling Dell Standard
Memory 32GB ECC
Video Card(s) EVGA Nvidia GTX 650 Ti SSC 1GB
Storage 500GB Samsung 850//2TB WD Black
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster P2350 23in @ 1920x1080 + Dell E2013H 20 in @1600x900
Case Dell Precision T3600 Chassis
Audio Device(s) Beyerdynamic DT770 Pro 80 // Fiio E7 Amp/DAC
Power Supply 630w Dell T3600 PSU
Mouse Logitech G700s/G502
Keyboard Logitech K740
Software Windows Server 2012 x64 Standard
Benchmark Scores Network: APs: Cisco Meraki MR32, Ubiquiti Unifi AP-AC-LR and Lite Router/Sw:Meraki MX64 MS220-8P
X post from the Xeon club (Just posting the speccy and CPU-Z)
Dell Precision T3600// Xeon E5-2650 // 32GB ECC RAM Other specs same as my prev. main)

Xeon-MOARCOARS-2.PNG

MOARCOARS-RMXCAT.PNG
 
Top