• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Dell Workstation Owners Club

PenX

New Member
Joined
Apr 4, 2019
Messages
3 (0.03/day)
You can upgrade with riser for a second cpu ;)
For that is the second 8pin

Your psu handle it easy when Alu habe only 1 cpu i Think

Ive a t3500 but my solution for my only 1x6pin was a cable
1x6pin to 2x6/8 pin
Links for Cable
And with it my only 525 psuWi handle a x5680 and a gtx 1070oc :)
I Think ist np for your psu
Thanks mate, i was thinking of buying that cable just 8pin cpu to 8 pin gpu. I just find out there is such cable or il go with 6pin to 8pin option
 

XerXen

New Member
Joined
Apr 3, 2019
Messages
8 (0.08/day)
Location
Germany
The 8 Pin is for the riser (second cpu)
XD when you not plan it to add a second cpu ok

:') i have no knowelege about it
(My t3500 dont Support this Great riser :( )
Buy the cable for the pocket money and Wave the Otter 8pin for the riser Later
XD its a bit expensive but a great addon

8pin on 4 and 6 picture
The Riser with 8 Pin and the pictures on ebay

I Think its your choise how xD
 
Last edited:

PenX

New Member
Joined
Apr 4, 2019
Messages
3 (0.03/day)
None of the risers i found online does not ship to my country so im screwed with that, ill just ask people in GPU store when im buying my card what is the best option CPU to GPU or 6pin to 8pin. Thanks for help. I was more of concern can my PSU handle RX580 because it is 875W but some people said to me you must have enough amps on that rail pins to provide enough power for specific card. I hope it will all go down smmootly, if nothing ill return damn thing and stick to 1050ti 4GB.
 

olddatsunfan

New Member
Joined
Apr 10, 2019
Messages
21 (0.21/day)
Hi, I'm new here and just spent the evening reading this thread. I've somehow managed to acquire a T3400, 2xT3500 and an M4500 in the past month and I wish I found this forum sooner.

So far I've upgraded the T3400 to 8gb of memory and a Q9550 along with an old Nvidia Geoforce 8400gs. I've upgraded both of the T3500's with X5650 cpu's and I'm awaiting 24gb of memory from ebay. I've also upgraded the M4500 to 10gb of memory. These old machines have been fascinating thus far and very inexpensive, I've only spent $415 so far!
 
Last edited:

olddatsunfan

New Member
Joined
Apr 10, 2019
Messages
21 (0.21/day)
Welp, I went and bought a Z400 workstation for $80 today, it's got a W3503, 8gb of ram and a Quadro 4000 in it. Here's a new toy to play with!

I'd like to upgrade the CPU, will I have to change out the "Mainstream", 2 copper pipe heatsink, fan with the "Performance" one? I'm thinking about trying out the W3680 as an upgrade.
 
Last edited:

Jeffro80

New Member
Joined
Apr 16, 2019
Messages
4 (0.04/day)
Has anyone managed to get a USB 3.0 expansion card to work on a T5500? I have tried two different Orico expansion cards and neither worked (both work fine in another computer with an ASUS P6X58D-E motherboard). I've tried different PCI-E slots, using Sata and Molex power from the PSU, installing drivers etc. but no luck.

Problems include:

  • USB unable to start due to power issue (when checked in device manager)
  • Computer freezing
  • BSOD with clock_watchdog_timeout and "IRQL_NOT_GREATER_OR_EQUAL" messages etc.

Bios version A11
Dual X5670's
Windows 10

Any suggestions would be appreciated!
 
Joined
Mar 8, 2018
Messages
186 (0.38/day)
Location
USA
System Name Dell T3500
Processor Xeon X5687
Motherboard Dell - 9KPNV
Cooling Dell U016F
Memory 12gb ECC 1333
Video Card(s) MSI rx480 gaming X
Storage 1tb WD blue
Case Dell T3500
Been a while since I have posted. Systems in my signature have been working great. Nothing new to report until now. Have wanted more RAM for the T3500 but could not stomach the cost. Found a good deal on a matched set of six used 1,600mhz Micron 4gb 1Rx8 non-ECC modules. Passed all tests with the W3680 at 4.0ghz. Doubling to 24gb even shortened load times on games, which I did not expect.

>> https://valid.x86.fr/ryds0z

Knew that non-ECC would be a no go in the T5500 but popped them in just for confirmation. Got the following error.
 

Attachments

Joined
Jul 5, 2013
Messages
6,568 (2.98/day)
Location
USA
Apart from Dell Workstations 3500/5500/7500 ......... other option include Dell servers like Poweredge R410 ....... which can be Modded and converted into a Gaming and/or Productivity PC.
That's a bit unwieldy. But hey, if it works... :toast:

At the moment its round the back hidden between the cat5 cable and the usb keyboard cable.
IIRC, the T7500 mobo has a bootable internal USB port, does it not? The T3500's and T5500's do.
 
Joined
Oct 25, 2018
Messages
179 (0.68/day)
Welp, I went and bought a Z400 workstation for $80 today, it's got a W3503, 8gb of ram and a Quadro 4000 in it. Here's a new toy to play with!

I'd like to upgrade the CPU, will I have to change out the "Mainstream", 2 copper pipe heatsink, fan with the "Performance" one? I'm thinking about trying out the W3680 as an upgrade.
Check the boot block date; before you buy a cpu, the older one doesn't support W3600's or X5600's cpus that I know of....

Easy way to tell is the newer boot block BIOS will have 6 RAM slots and usually come in 2x2x2 RAM configuration.
I have still found the newer one on Ebay for like $45 plus Shipping with a CPU, 6GB of ram and a old HD.
you may be maxed at a 3500's series CPU

This is a good read:

https://h30434.www3.hp.com/t5/Business-PCs-Workstations-and-Point-of-Sale-Systems/HP-Z400-CPU-upgrade/td-p/5048908

W3580 may be as far as you can go if you have the high performance cooler...

https://ark.intel.com/content/www/us/en/ark/products/39723/intel-xeon-processor-w3580-8m-cache-3-33-ghz-6-40-gt-s-intel-qpi.html

http://browser.geekbench.com/v4/cpu/search?dir=desc&q=Hp+Z400+Xeon+W3580&sort=multicore_score

There is a pin mod to fix that if not; or just deal with the bios post message......no big deal.
 
Last edited:

olddatsunfan

New Member
Joined
Apr 10, 2019
Messages
21 (0.21/day)
Check the boot block date; before you buy a cpu, the older one doesn't support W3600's or X5600's cpus that I know of....

Easy way to tell is the newer boot block BIOS will have 6 RAM slots and usually come in 2x2x2 RAM configuration.
I have still found the newer one on Ebay for like $45 plus Shipping with a CPU, 6GB of ram and a old HD.
you may be maxed at a 3500's series CPU
Hi juiseman, I've checked the boot block and the dimm configuration, I have 6 dimms and it seems a later boot block so the X series Xeons should work, I shall test it by installing a X5650 from my T3500. My prices are all in Canadian fiat dollars, it's only worth 3/4 of that of the US dollar these days and dropping, plus shopping locally means no shipping charges ... I've temporarily installed a W3565 and I get the irritating message that I need a high performance cooler, I can try the pin mod, I believe to connect pin 1 to pin 5 to fool the bios, but, the message disappears after I boot into windows :)! I did run into a problem with a password protected bios, but, after a bit of searching I found out how to reset the bios and clear it so I could access the options. I've read that thread you kindly posted on Sunday after I purchased the Z400, it's very good information!

I've managed to acquire enough memory that I now have 12gb or 24gb in each machine. Everything seems to work pretty well thus far. I'm fairly new to working with computers and it's been very interesting so far! I think my favourite one is the T3400 which I started off with first, that's a reasonable machine with the Q9550 installed.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jul 5, 2013
Messages
6,568 (2.98/day)
Location
USA
I've managed to acquire enough memory that I now have 12gb or 24gb in each machine. Everything seems to work pretty well thus far. I'm fairly new to working with computers and it's been very interesting so far! I think my favourite one is the T3400 which I started off with first, that's a reasonable machine with the Q9550 installed.
Nice! And welcome to the TPU Forums!
 
Joined
Apr 17, 2019
Messages
13 (0.14/day)
System Name XENOS
Processor 6-core Xeon W3680 3.60Ghz
Motherboard Dell Precision T3500 09KPNV BIOS A17
Cooling Dell Front-Dual Fans 0HW856 and x2 Insignia Fans 80mm
Memory 24GB DDR3 1600Mhz PC3-12800U Unbuffered 3x8GB Crucial
Video Card(s) ZOTAC GeForce GTX 1080 Ti Mini 11GB GDDR5X
Storage x2 512GB Kingston KC400 SSD and 2TB Seagate Mobile HDD
Display(s) x3 Dell Ultrasharp 2407WFPB (1920x1200)
Case Dell Precision T5550 Case
Audio Device(s) On-Board Sound (High Definition Audio Device)
Power Supply Dell 875W PSU
Mouse Rosewill NEON M62 (10000 DPI)
Keyboard Rosewill NEON K85 RGB (Kailh brown key switches)
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
Hi. I'm new here. I have a Dell Precision WorkStation T5500 (0CRH6C) with x2 Xeon x5675s and i was wondering if it can be overclocked in SetFSB and if it is, what "clock generator" do i choose? (not very familiar sorry) Thanks.
 
Joined
Jul 5, 2013
Messages
6,568 (2.98/day)
Location
USA
Hi. I'm new here. I have a Dell Precision WorkStation T5500 (0CRH6C) with x2 Xeon x5675s and i was wondering if it can be overclocked in SetFSB and if it is, what "clock generator" do i choose? (not very familiar sorry) Thanks.
Not sure it'll work as SetFSB is unsupported at this point. Someone correct me if I'm wrong.
 
Joined
Apr 17, 2019
Messages
13 (0.14/day)
System Name XENOS
Processor 6-core Xeon W3680 3.60Ghz
Motherboard Dell Precision T3500 09KPNV BIOS A17
Cooling Dell Front-Dual Fans 0HW856 and x2 Insignia Fans 80mm
Memory 24GB DDR3 1600Mhz PC3-12800U Unbuffered 3x8GB Crucial
Video Card(s) ZOTAC GeForce GTX 1080 Ti Mini 11GB GDDR5X
Storage x2 512GB Kingston KC400 SSD and 2TB Seagate Mobile HDD
Display(s) x3 Dell Ultrasharp 2407WFPB (1920x1200)
Case Dell Precision T5550 Case
Audio Device(s) On-Board Sound (High Definition Audio Device)
Power Supply Dell 875W PSU
Mouse Rosewill NEON M62 (10000 DPI)
Keyboard Rosewill NEON K85 RGB (Kailh brown key switches)
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
Dang, guess i have to play around with the settings. Thanks though :)
 
Joined
Oct 25, 2018
Messages
179 (0.68/day)
Hi juiseman, I've checked the boot block and the dimm configuration, I have 6 dimms and it seems a later boot block so the X series Xeons should work, I shall test it by installing a X5650 from my T3500. My prices are all in Canadian fiat dollars, it's only worth 3/4 of that of the US dollar these days and dropping, plus shopping locally means no shipping charges ... I've temporarily installed a W3565 and I get the irritating message that I need a high performance cooler, I can try the pin mod, I believe to connect pin 1 to pin 5 to fool the bios, but, the message disappears after I boot into windows :)! I did run into a problem with a password protected bios, but, after a bit of searching I found out how to reset the bios and clear it so I could access the options. I've read that thread you kindly posted on Sunday after I purchased the Z400, it's very good information!

I've managed to acquire enough memory that I now have 12gb or 24gb in each machine. Everything seems to work pretty well thus far. I'm fairly new to working with computers and it's been very interesting so far! I think my favourite one is the T3400 which I started off with first, that's a reasonable machine with the Q9550 installed.
Great! you have the later boot block date!

2 options you can do.

In the Z400 that I still run; I just went with Xeon 5675. I didn't feel like doing pin mod. I have the 95w cooler also....
https://ark.intel.com/content/www/us/en/ark/products/52577/intel-xeon-processor-x5675-12m-cache-3-06-ghz-6-40-gt-s-intel-qpi.html
The performance is not much different than a 5680 or 5690. And they are a lot cheaper most of the time...


Or you can buy this:
Performance" 463981-001 heatsink/fans that can handle the 130W max TDP processors
https://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=9SIAJCJ8HH3781&Description=Performance" 463981-001&cm_re=Performance"_463981-001-_-9SIAJCJ8HH3781-_-Product

Here is some info from HP:

https://h30434.www3.hp.com/t5/Business-PCs-Workstations-and-Point-of-Sale-Systems/Z400-X5690-W3690-Fastest-Processors/td-p/5683601

update the bios to 3.61 before you install the new CPU

https://support.hp.com/us-en/drivers/selfservice/hp-z400-workstation/3718668

HP Z400 Workstation Product Specifications:

https://support.hp.com/us-en/document/c01709672

The PSU is 475W 85% keep that in mind if your upgrading the GPU. that is fine for most current GPU's

One reason my favorite is the Z420's (boot block date2013) they have a 600W PSU at 90%
look into those for your next build. you can get them around $150-$175 USD. Look for any that come
with the V2 Xeon; then you will know its the later boot block date. Not all sellers post that info.


Hope all goes well!!
 
Last edited:

olddatsunfan

New Member
Joined
Apr 10, 2019
Messages
21 (0.21/day)
The PSU is 475W 85% keep that in mind if your upgrading the GPU. that is fine for most current GPU's

One reason my favorite is the Z420's (boot block date2013) they have a 600W PSU at 90%
look into those for your next build. you can get them around $150-$175 USD. Look for any that come
with the V2 Xeon; then you will know its the later boot block date. Not all sellers post that info.
I've been peeking through the lists of processors and I've come to the same conclusion as you had that going with the X5675 with the "mainstream" heatsink rather than upgrading is my best option going forward for the Z400. I now see them priced at $42 Canadian on ebay and aliexpress. I have ordered the HDD mounting screws and SSD adapters from aliexpress already and I think I'm going to noodle about for awhile with the current hardware I have. The Z400 that I purchased does indeed have a 475 watt power supply. I currently have bios version 3.57 and do plan on updating the bios this week.

I'm also planning on trying out throttlestop (it's how I ended up on this forum) so help with the temperatures on the Dell M4500 I acquired, I've replaced the thermal paste on the GPU and CPU on it and it still seems to run quite warm with the I7 940xm that came with it so I think the next step is to try out throttlestop to help lower the temperatures a bit more.

I've acquired an NVS 290, an FX 580, a Quadro 2000 and a Quadro 4000 in these machines. The Quadro 4000 seems to be the most powerful, however, it draws 145 watts! Not very efficient for what it does. I may upgrade the GPU to a GTX 1050ti in the future, but, that can wait. I have installed a GTX 750 ti into one of the T3500's at my nephew's insistence, he told me I would need it to help play 1080p video which was why I started in on this upgrade path, (I think he wants to try out games on it)!

I have discovered the local not for profit computer recycling shop in my area, they are called "Free Geek". Very nice people and very helpful, they have a Z420 in stock at the moment which can be had for $350 Canadian complete without a graphics card installed. I'm not sure if it has the later bios boot block to allow V2 Xeons, I've thought about it, but, I now have the T3400 as the spare computer and I'm not convinced I need another spare! As a side note, the folks at Free Geek have told me if I volunteerer with them, they will teach me how to use Linux, that seems like a fair trade to me as they want me to sort through their pile of pulled CPU's and memory as they somehow think I know enough to help them, oh boy!
 
Last edited:

olddatsunfan

New Member
Joined
Apr 10, 2019
Messages
21 (0.21/day)
Define mainstream? Are you referring to the full aluminum block or the one with 4 copper heatpipes?
I believe the "mainstream" heatsink and fan with the Z400 is the 2 copper pipe version, the "performance" version that Juise mentioned is a 3 copper pipe version that is slightly larger. Aside from that, it seems that the fan connector is but 4 pins on the "mainstream" and 5 pin on the "performance" ...

The Dell difference is a bit more pronounced, the T3400 I have has that "U" shaped, aluminium heatsink and the T3500's both have the 3 copper pipe "tower" heatsink which seems to be the same as the HP "performance" heatsink sans cooling fan.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 25, 2018
Messages
179 (0.68/day)
he has the 4 pin ver. (or 4 wires.. on a 5 pin plug I forget )
I have the same in my Z400. It does get a little loud running prime95, but the temps were under control when I
had a w3580 installed.... the x5675 I have in there now is fine.
 

olddatsunfan

New Member
Joined
Apr 10, 2019
Messages
21 (0.21/day)
he has the 4 pin ver. (or 4 wires.. on a 5 pin plug I forget )
I have the same in my Z400. It does get a little loud running prime95, but the temps were under control when I
had a w3580 installed.... the x5675 I have in there now is fine.
The "mainstream" heatsink fan does indeed have a 5 pin connector, but, only 4 wires are actually connected.

So, after thinking things over, I re allocated the resources that I have amongst the T3500 and the Z400. I've installed 18gb of memory (3x4gb and 3x2gb) into each of them, installed the X5650 into the Z400 and the W3565 into the T3500. Everything is working better than before, no more irritating 517 bios warning from the Z400! The other T3500 I left with a X5650 and 12gb of memory. I suspect that the 2 workstations with the X5650's will be adequate for my wife and daughter so I'm going to leave them as they are until the SSD adapters and drive rails I've ordered from aliexpress arrive. As an interesting side note, I've discovered that the heatsink on the T3500 is better at cooling the W3565 than the one in the Z400, it's running about 20 degrees f cooler in the T3500 than it was in the Z400. The X5650 runs about 10 degrees f hotter in the Z400 than in the T3500 ...

I can now consider ordering a new CPU to replace the W3565 in the T3500. I'm thinking that since I will only be ordering 1 CPU then I shall order the W3680 to install into the T3500. That should give me some flexibility in trying out throttlestop on it also! I'm guessing that I should install a fan on the heatsink for the W3680 before doing anything rash.
 
Last edited:

XerXen

New Member
Joined
Apr 3, 2019
Messages
8 (0.08/day)
Location
Germany
VS The 5pin problem because that is no t rly a problem :)

MY Water Cooling Solution with no error XD (+ need 2 Cablle!!! 1x for pump + 1x for FAN) h45 is cheap
my x5680 never rly break the 50C on Far Cry 5 or shadow of Tomb Raider (information....its a 130w TPD and never rly hot )
(only on stress test but there also never rly hot :) i can add pictures when any want to see ;P )

I have spend only 35€ for this Upgrade :*
Here some Pics XD
20190419_013339.jpg


20190419_013348.jpg

WITH HDD BTX CLOSED
20190419_013358.jpg


It RLY COOL and GREAT Solution for Overheat Problem

YA Need 2x Cable (PumP on Case_FAN and Fan on CPU_FAN connector)
The Corsair H45 (AIO is rly easy to handle and silent......The Fan never becomes much RPM on stress test XD)
Important are the 4 screw that i grab From any saved :) Its For The Backplate To Corsair Connection That have Dell rly make spcly ...... here a pic what i grab from old lga socked

Unbenannt.png


The Rest is only a bit skill ya need :p

Only First boot come fan error
after then never comes again :*



( SRY FOR THE BIG SAMSUNG S8 PICTURES :p )
 
Top