• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Dell Workstation Owners Club

Joined
Jul 5, 2013
Messages
16,516 (5.38/day)
Location
USA
System Name GPD-Q9
Processor Rockchip RK-3288 1.8ghz quad core
Motherboard GPD Q9_V6_150528
Cooling Passive
Memory 2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Mali T764
Storage 16GB Samsung NAND
Display(s) IPS 1024x600
Software Android 4.4.4R5 Custom
UPDATE: Hmmm, still no display. It makes 2 beeps and is showing green lights for 3 ,2 ,1 with green power light and stays on from there.
Weird. So it booted with the cap in the other position but wouldn't get into Windows?
 
Joined
Oct 3, 2021
Messages
38 (0.68/day)
Processor Ryzen 2600
Motherboard ASUS B450 Prime Plus
Cooling Factory AMD Cooler
Memory 16GB Corsair LPX
Video Card(s) 2060 ASUS OC
Power Supply Corsair CS650M
Mouse Steel Series
Weird. So it booted with the cap in the other position but wouldn't get into Windows?
Yep, Im not sure what to do. Sometimes when I turn it on it blinks LED 1 one time then the HDD LED , 4 , 3 stays on then just 4,3 loops restarting the computer by itself until it reaches 3,2,1 at the end and stays on Locked in like that. No display on any of the restarts. One stick of 8GB DDr3 1333 REG Ram in, 5680 In, and a Radeon HD 2400 PRO for a video card

Any solutions?
 
Joined
Jul 5, 2013
Messages
16,516 (5.38/day)
Location
USA
System Name GPD-Q9
Processor Rockchip RK-3288 1.8ghz quad core
Motherboard GPD Q9_V6_150528
Cooling Passive
Memory 2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Mali T764
Storage 16GB Samsung NAND
Display(s) IPS 1024x600
Software Android 4.4.4R5 Custom
Joined
Mar 8, 2018
Messages
315 (0.23/day)
Location
U.S.A.
System Name Dell T3500
Processor Xeon X5687
Motherboard Dell - 9KPNV
Cooling Dell U016F
Memory 12gb ECC 1333
Video Card(s) MSI rx480 gaming X
Storage 1tb WD blue
Case Dell T3500
Is this memory configuration fine? Just got the memory today. Wondering if the slots i put them in are fine.
Lex's question- "Have you checked for any bent pins in the CPU socket?"- got me thinking so took a look at image in post #2,006 above.
That second pin above red dot appears out of alignment. Possibly making contact with pin next to it when clamping pressure is applied.
 

Attachments

  • pin.jpg
    pin.jpg
    89.3 KB · Views: 15
Joined
Jul 5, 2013
Messages
16,516 (5.38/day)
Location
USA
System Name GPD-Q9
Processor Rockchip RK-3288 1.8ghz quad core
Motherboard GPD Q9_V6_150528
Cooling Passive
Memory 2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Mali T764
Storage 16GB Samsung NAND
Display(s) IPS 1024x600
Software Android 4.4.4R5 Custom
Lex's question- "Have you checked for any bent pins in the CPU socket?"- got me thinking so took a look at image in post #2,006 above.
That second pin above red dot appears out of alignment. Possibly making contact with pin next to it when clamping pressure is applied.
Good catch!! Yeah I just looked as well. That's a problem.
@MrJunez
Can you get a pair of tweezers all straighten that pin, being very gentle and careful of course? If you can that my solve your problem, or at least part of it..
 
Joined
Oct 3, 2021
Messages
38 (0.68/day)
Processor Ryzen 2600
Motherboard ASUS B450 Prime Plus
Cooling Factory AMD Cooler
Memory 16GB Corsair LPX
Video Card(s) 2060 ASUS OC
Power Supply Corsair CS650M
Mouse Steel Series
Lex's question- "Have you checked for any bent pins in the CPU socket?"- got me thinking so took a look at image in post #2,006 above.
That second pin above red dot appears out of alignment. Possibly making contact with pin next to it when clamping pressure is applied.
Good catch!! Yeah I just looked as well. That's a problem.
@MrJunez
Can you get a pair of tweezers all straighten that pin, being very gentle and careful of course? If you can that my solve your problem, or at least part of it.
I am going to check and take a picture of the whole socket maybe you guys can help me out point out any pins. As for the cap issue and Ram I'm going to try fixing the cap again and also try a 2gb or 4gb ram stick. Sorry I didn't reply yesterday. It was my birthday and didn't want to spend it doing something that will get be upset (if it didn't work)
 
Joined
Jul 5, 2013
Messages
16,516 (5.38/day)
Location
USA
System Name GPD-Q9
Processor Rockchip RK-3288 1.8ghz quad core
Motherboard GPD Q9_V6_150528
Cooling Passive
Memory 2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Mali T764
Storage 16GB Samsung NAND
Display(s) IPS 1024x600
Software Android 4.4.4R5 Custom
As for the cap issue and Ram I'm going to try fixing the cap again and also try a 2gb or 4gb ram stick. Sorry I didn't reply yesterday. It was my birthday and didn't want to spend it doing something that will get be upset (if it didn't work)
No worries, but I think it's important to mention that the bent pin in question might be the reason why the system was failing to boot except for that one time. Straighten that pin and it might easier to solve any other issues.

And Happy Birthday!! Hope you had a great day!
 
Joined
Oct 3, 2021
Messages
38 (0.68/day)
Processor Ryzen 2600
Motherboard ASUS B450 Prime Plus
Cooling Factory AMD Cooler
Memory 16GB Corsair LPX
Video Card(s) 2060 ASUS OC
Power Supply Corsair CS650M
Mouse Steel Series
No worries, but I think it's important to mention that the bent pin in question might be the reason why the system was failing to boot except for that one time. Straighten that pin and it might easier to solve any other issues.

And Happy Birthday!! Hope you had a great day!
Thank you for the Bday cheers. it was a good day, turned 23 I took a picture of the whole socket maybe I can get help point out anymore pins
 

Attachments

  • SOCKETREVIEW.jpg
    SOCKETREVIEW.jpg
    1.6 MB · Views: 16
Joined
Jul 5, 2013
Messages
16,516 (5.38/day)
Location
USA
System Name GPD-Q9
Processor Rockchip RK-3288 1.8ghz quad core
Motherboard GPD Q9_V6_150528
Cooling Passive
Memory 2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Mali T764
Storage 16GB Samsung NAND
Display(s) IPS 1024x600
Software Android 4.4.4R5 Custom
Thank you for the Bday cheers. it was a good day, turned 23 I took a picture of the whole socket maybe I can get help point out anymore pins
From that angle it looks like you might have already fixed it, yes? We're talking about the following pin;
SOCKETREVIEW02.jpg
Couldn't see any other pins out of place.
 
Joined
Oct 3, 2021
Messages
38 (0.68/day)
Processor Ryzen 2600
Motherboard ASUS B450 Prime Plus
Cooling Factory AMD Cooler
Memory 16GB Corsair LPX
Video Card(s) 2060 ASUS OC
Power Supply Corsair CS650M
Mouse Steel Series
From that angle it looks like you might have already fixed it, yes? We're talking about the following pin;
View attachment 221579
Couldn't see any other pins out of place.
This is scary to fix. I tried today and no luck. maybe I need to bend the pin more... as for the cap, I can't manage to get the negative pin through so I'm having a tough time. I am thinking about just taking a wire and solder it from both top and bottom to get both connections, sounds janky but it might help if its a cap problem
 
Joined
Jul 5, 2013
Messages
16,516 (5.38/day)
Location
USA
System Name GPD-Q9
Processor Rockchip RK-3288 1.8ghz quad core
Motherboard GPD Q9_V6_150528
Cooling Passive
Memory 2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Mali T764
Storage 16GB Samsung NAND
Display(s) IPS 1024x600
Software Android 4.4.4R5 Custom
This is scary to fix. I tried today and no luck. maybe I need to bend the pin more...
There's not need to rush. Just be careful and bend it just a little bit at a time.
I am thinking about just taking a wire and solder it from both top and bottom to get both connections, sounds janky but it might help if its a cap problem
Bodge wires are always a valid solution if they get the job done. It does not have to be pretty as long as it works.
 
Joined
Aug 25, 2021
Messages
787 (8.20/day)
Location
Thailand
System Name Shoebox
Processor 3600x
Motherboard Msi b550m Mortar +WiFi
Cooling Cryorig m9
Memory Hyperx c16 3200 2x8gb
Video Card(s) Powercolor rx570 4gb
Storage WD black sn750 256gb (OS), crucial mx500 1tb(storage),Hitatchi ?? 7200rpm 500gb(Temp files)
Display(s) Samsung 65" TU7100
Case Zzaw b3
Audio Device(s) Yamaha rx-v363
Power Supply Corsair sf750
Mouse Logitech g300s
Keyboard Custom Skyloong sk64s
Software Windows 10 Pro
Hey everyone so I'm not quite a member here but my r210ii arrives in a few days.

I asked the question earlier but didn't really get a answer, I have a months warranty to iron out any issues so I'm wondering how good the dell health check is? I read in the manual it has a hardware diagnosis option built into the bios or something along those lines, how in depth is it?
I will of course run some synthetic loads on it as well as some other checks but I'd like to try find any issues asap as I don't want to waste time setting up a dud unit.
 
Joined
Jul 5, 2013
Messages
16,516 (5.38/day)
Location
USA
System Name GPD-Q9
Processor Rockchip RK-3288 1.8ghz quad core
Motherboard GPD Q9_V6_150528
Cooling Passive
Memory 2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Mali T764
Storage 16GB Samsung NAND
Display(s) IPS 1024x600
Software Android 4.4.4R5 Custom
The builtin diags, AFAIK, will test the baseline hardware(motherboard/CPU/RAM) and report any errors. Addin cards, drives and such are only tested by the extended Dell diags which run from the diag partition on a host drive.
 

Karlos

New Member
Joined
Oct 26, 2021
Messages
5 (0.15/day)
Previously had a hp z600, my dad has a dell t7500, brought one myself currently debating whether to upgrade my dual xeon x5670s to x5687's or 5690's, I know the 5687 have less cores but slightly higher performance but im not sure which one would be better for me. I mostly play games so im thinking of the 5687's as they're cheaper and have slightly better performance but would love to hear some input
 
Joined
Jul 5, 2013
Messages
16,516 (5.38/day)
Location
USA
System Name GPD-Q9
Processor Rockchip RK-3288 1.8ghz quad core
Motherboard GPD Q9_V6_150528
Cooling Passive
Memory 2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Mali T764
Storage 16GB Samsung NAND
Display(s) IPS 1024x600
Software Android 4.4.4R5 Custom
I know the 5687 have less cores but slightly higher performance but im not sure which one would be better for me.
The loss of 2cores/4threads will not be offset by the extra speed of X5687. Stay with a 6core model. A pair of X5675's would be an excellent balance of performance, price and power/heat, especially for a T7500. However, a pair of X5680's or W3680's would be great choices as well. The X5690's and W3690's are really pricey and not worth the extra expense for all of an extra 133mhz of speed.

And Welcome to TPU!
 
Joined
Mar 8, 2018
Messages
315 (0.23/day)
Location
U.S.A.
System Name Dell T3500
Processor Xeon X5687
Motherboard Dell - 9KPNV
Cooling Dell U016F
Memory 12gb ECC 1333
Video Card(s) MSI rx480 gaming X
Storage 1tb WD blue
Case Dell T3500
This is scary to fix. I tried today and no luck. maybe I need to bend the pin more... as for the cap, I can't manage to get the negative pin through so I'm having a tough time. I am thinking about just taking a wire and solder it from both top and bottom to get both connections, sounds janky but it might help if its a cap problem
You might try a mechanical pencil or similar. Slide pin into hole on end. Perfect for that one which looked like it needed to be rotated counter-clockwise a bit.
 
Joined
Aug 25, 2021
Messages
787 (8.20/day)
Location
Thailand
System Name Shoebox
Processor 3600x
Motherboard Msi b550m Mortar +WiFi
Cooling Cryorig m9
Memory Hyperx c16 3200 2x8gb
Video Card(s) Powercolor rx570 4gb
Storage WD black sn750 256gb (OS), crucial mx500 1tb(storage),Hitatchi ?? 7200rpm 500gb(Temp files)
Display(s) Samsung 65" TU7100
Case Zzaw b3
Audio Device(s) Yamaha rx-v363
Power Supply Corsair sf750
Mouse Logitech g300s
Keyboard Custom Skyloong sk64s
Software Windows 10 Pro
So the rack sever came today considering the price and the initial frustration of it lacking a Cpu shroud the unit seems ok.

Some dust inside, but I would tend to prefer that than some super clean one that could have been suffocated all its life. Components don't seem bad either, Samsung ram and Seagate Barracuda drives. Initial scan over the system and the board looks in good shape. Will check the PSU caps and power it up if all is well.

Going to take a while it seems.
IMG_20211027_153545.jpg


So it passed everything I threw at it I've installed Ubuntu server and spent the last 4hours relearning terminal, I haven't typed this much in years....
 

Attachments

  • IMG_20211027_142137.jpg
    IMG_20211027_142137.jpg
    5.1 MB · Views: 8
  • IMG_20211027_141532.jpg
    IMG_20211027_141532.jpg
    5.6 MB · Views: 9
Joined
Jul 5, 2013
Messages
16,516 (5.38/day)
Location
USA
System Name GPD-Q9
Processor Rockchip RK-3288 1.8ghz quad core
Motherboard GPD Q9_V6_150528
Cooling Passive
Memory 2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Mali T764
Storage 16GB Samsung NAND
Display(s) IPS 1024x600
Software Android 4.4.4R5 Custom
spent the last 4hours relearning terminal, I haven't typed this much in years....
Welcome to the wonderful world of system admins.
 
Joined
Aug 25, 2021
Messages
787 (8.20/day)
Location
Thailand
System Name Shoebox
Processor 3600x
Motherboard Msi b550m Mortar +WiFi
Cooling Cryorig m9
Memory Hyperx c16 3200 2x8gb
Video Card(s) Powercolor rx570 4gb
Storage WD black sn750 256gb (OS), crucial mx500 1tb(storage),Hitatchi ?? 7200rpm 500gb(Temp files)
Display(s) Samsung 65" TU7100
Case Zzaw b3
Audio Device(s) Yamaha rx-v363
Power Supply Corsair sf750
Mouse Logitech g300s
Keyboard Custom Skyloong sk64s
Software Windows 10 Pro
Welcome to the wonderful world of system admins.
Yes wonderful I've spent 10 hours or so on terminal and just barely got SSH working secure via key rather than password and started loading up docker.
I could have loaded a GUI but it feels more foreign to me Unless gnome is especially bad, I seem to understand more via terminal
Anyway bed time now another day of it tomorrow, if I get zoneminder loaded and working with my IP cameras I'll be happy.
 
Joined
Jul 5, 2013
Messages
16,516 (5.38/day)
Location
USA
System Name GPD-Q9
Processor Rockchip RK-3288 1.8ghz quad core
Motherboard GPD Q9_V6_150528
Cooling Passive
Memory 2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Mali T764
Storage 16GB Samsung NAND
Display(s) IPS 1024x600
Software Android 4.4.4R5 Custom
Yes wonderful I've spent 10 hours or so on terminal and just barely got SSH working secure via key rather than password and started loading up docker.
Not laughing AT you, just laughing because I've been there..
 

Karlos

New Member
Joined
Oct 26, 2021
Messages
5 (0.15/day)
The loss of 2cores/4threads will not be offset by the extra speed of X5687. Stay with a 6core model. A pair of X5675's would be an excellent balance of performance, price and power/heat, especially for a T7500. However, a pair of X5680's or W3680's would be great choices as well. The X5690's and W3690's are really pricey and not worth the extra expense for all of an extra 133mhz of speed.

And Welcome to TPU!
Are you able to dual run w3690's? is there a massive difference from the w3690's to the x5690s, I know that the "W" chips are unlocked but i'm unsure if that even matters for the t7500.
 
Joined
Jul 5, 2013
Messages
16,516 (5.38/day)
Location
USA
System Name GPD-Q9
Processor Rockchip RK-3288 1.8ghz quad core
Motherboard GPD Q9_V6_150528
Cooling Passive
Memory 2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Mali T764
Storage 16GB Samsung NAND
Display(s) IPS 1024x600
Software Android 4.4.4R5 Custom
Are you able to dual run w3690's? is there a massive difference from the w3690's to the x5690s
The W3680/W3690 being unlocked CPU's, means that you can overclock them, even on a Dell, with a utility called ThrottleStop. If that's not important to you, than stick with the X56xx CPU's

Just an FYI, You don't need X5690 or W3690. The extra 133mhz of the 90 versions over the 80 version will not make a difference in overall performance and does not justify the extra cost, unless you can get them for cheap.
 

Karlos

New Member
Joined
Oct 26, 2021
Messages
5 (0.15/day)
The W3680/W3690 being unlocked CPU's, means that you can overclock them, even on a Dell, with a utility called ThrottleStop. If that's not important to you, than stick with the X56xx CPU's

Just an FYI, You don't need X5690 or W3690. The extra 133mhz of the 90 versions over the 80 version will not make a difference in overall performance and does not justify the extra cost, unless you can get them for cheap.
Alright cheers for the info, Ill likely go with the x5690s as they're virtually the same price here in the UK as the x5680s :)
 
Joined
Jul 5, 2013
Messages
16,516 (5.38/day)
Location
USA
System Name GPD-Q9
Processor Rockchip RK-3288 1.8ghz quad core
Motherboard GPD Q9_V6_150528
Cooling Passive
Memory 2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Mali T764
Storage 16GB Samsung NAND
Display(s) IPS 1024x600
Software Android 4.4.4R5 Custom
Alright cheers for the info, Ill likely go with the x5690s as they're virtually the same price here in the UK as the x5680s :)
Fair enough. On this side of the pond pricing is different. So yeah, no reason not too!
 
Top