• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Details of the First Fusion Derivative Called 'Shrike' Surface

btarunr

Editor & Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
34,515 (9.18/day)
Likes
17,525
Location
Hyderabad, India
System Name MRE-grade Potato
Processor Intel Core i7-4770K
Motherboard ASUS Z97-A
Cooling Xigmatek Aegir CPU Cooler
Memory 2x 8GB Kingston HyperX Beast DDR3-1866
Video Card(s) 2x ZOTAC GeForce GTX 970
Storage ADATA SU800 512GB + Intel SSD320 120GB + Patriot WildFire 120GB
Display(s) Samsung U28D590 28-inch 4K UHD
Case Cooler Master CM690 1st Gen
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Recon3D PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX850W
Mouse Razer Abyssus
Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder X4
Software Windows 10 Pro
#1
AMD Fusion, the latest buzzword in the industry, simply put is a complex chip called Accelerated Processing Unit (APU), with a dual-core CPU, graphics processor, a PCI-Express switch and a DDR3 memory controller all rolled into one. This level of integration helps reduce system-level latencies, thereby improving performance and more importantly, reducing overall power-consumption and heat output, bringing it into the ultra-low power niche. AMD claims performance increments scaling up to 20 per cent for the CPU and up to 35 per cent for the GPU. Its compact package allows manufacturers to use it in building less than 1 inch thick notebooks.

The platform codenamed 'Shrike' is the first implementation of this design methodology. This industry schematic shows the various components of it. Shrike is slated for a H2, 2009 release. While it's not aimed to compete directly with the Intel Centrino Atom or VIA Isiah, it could just become a competitive platform for portable computing. Shrike consists of an APU codenamed "Swift" that connects to an external southbridge chip.



Source: GottaBeMobile
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 6, 2005
Messages
2,786 (0.60/day)
Likes
435
Location
Tre, Suomi Finland
Processor i7 4770K Haswell, watercooled
Motherboard Asus Z87-C2 Maximus VI Formula
Cooling Fuzion V1, MCW60/R2, DDC1/DDCT-01s top, PA120.3, EK200, 3× D12SL-12, liquid metal TIM
Memory 2× 8GB Crucial Ballistix Tactical LP DDR3-1600
Video Card(s) between GPUs
Storage Samsung 840Pro 256@178GB + 4× WD Red 2TB in RAID10 + LaCie Blade Runner 4TB
Display(s) HP ZR30w 30" 2560×1600 (WQXGA) H2-IPS
Case Lian Li PC-A16B
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair AX860i
Mouse Logitech PM MX / Contour RollerMouse Red+
Keyboard Logitech diNovo Edge / Logitech Elite Keyboard from 2006
Software W10 x64
Benchmark Scores yes
#2
This might be perfect for a HTPC...
Too bad it's still a K10 and not Bulldozer.
 

btarunr

Editor & Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
34,515 (9.18/day)
Likes
17,525
Location
Hyderabad, India
System Name MRE-grade Potato
Processor Intel Core i7-4770K
Motherboard ASUS Z97-A
Cooling Xigmatek Aegir CPU Cooler
Memory 2x 8GB Kingston HyperX Beast DDR3-1866
Video Card(s) 2x ZOTAC GeForce GTX 970
Storage ADATA SU800 512GB + Intel SSD320 120GB + Patriot WildFire 120GB
Display(s) Samsung U28D590 28-inch 4K UHD
Case Cooler Master CM690 1st Gen
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Recon3D PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX850W
Mouse Razer Abyssus
Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder X4
Software Windows 10 Pro
#3
Yes, HTPC, more importantly notebooks.
 

hat

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
18,580 (4.55/day)
Likes
3,194
Location
Ohio
System Name Starlifter :: Dragonfly
Processor i5 2400 :: Athlon II x4 630
Motherboard MSI H67-G43-B3 :: GIgabyte GA-770T-USB3
Cooling Corsair H70 :: Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 4x2GB DDR3 1333 :: 2x1GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) 2x PNY GTX1070 :: GT720
Storage Plextor M5s 128GB, WDC Black 500GB :: Mushkin Enhanced 60GB SSD, WD RE3 1TB
Display(s) Acer P216HL HDMI :: None
Case Antec SOHO 1030B :: Old White Full Tower
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro - iLive IT153B Soundbar (optical) :: None
Power Supply Corsair CX600w :: Unknown
Software Windows 10 Pro - Plex Server on Dragonfly
Benchmark Scores >9000
#4
If this comes out in desktop form can I use this with my 8600gts to gain graphics performance?
 
Joined
Apr 14, 2008
Messages
1,777 (0.50/day)
Likes
163
Location
South Australia
System Name QUACK
Processor Intel i7 2600K (3.4 GHz, 8 threads)
Motherboard Asus P67P8-V3
Cooling Xigmatek Balder 120mm (4x120,1x140mm case)
Memory Patriot 2 Viper Sector 5, 8GB DDR3 1600 MHz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GeForce GTX 960 G1 4GB
Storage 1x Samsung EVO 850 (500GB) SSD, 1x Fujitsu 256GB SSD
Display(s) Dell Ultrasharp U2311h 23" (so sexy)
Case CoolerMaster Gladiator RC-600
Audio Device(s) Onboard 5.1
Power Supply Antec 850w with yellow racing stripes
Software Windows 7 HP 64 bit
#5
If this comes out in desktop form can I use this with my 8600gts to gain graphics performance?
If you mean SLI/Crossfire, then no. If you mean use the 8600 as the main card, then most likely.
This'll really give AMD a boost, they're a little down on sales lately.:(
 
Joined
Apr 8, 2008
Messages
134 (0.04/day)
Likes
15
#6
DDR3 ha

so this will come sometime in 2H09


and the core will be K10 based, I hope they move quickly to better core like the upcoming shanghai core for servers/desktop, ofcourse with the same focus on mobile redesign like this shrike
 
Joined
Nov 26, 2007
Messages
305 (0.08/day)
Likes
44
Processor AMD Ryzen R7 1800X
Motherboard Gigabyte AX370 Gaming 5
Cooling 2x ML140, 1x AF140, 2x SP120, 1x AF120 / Cryorig H5 Universal
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengence RGB DDR4 (3466 kit @ 3333)
Video Card(s) Sapphire RX Vega 64 (undervolted)
Storage x1 SanDisk X400 256GB, 1x Samsung 840 EVO 120GB, RAID0: 2x WD 1TB
Display(s) Samsung CF27F398
Case Corsair 760T White
Audio Device(s) Realtek (ALC1120)
Power Supply Corsair AX860
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard Logitech G510s
Software Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
#7
I don't see a connection for the Northbridge in the picture, just the Southbridge. Does this new chip eliminate it?
 

panchoman

Sold my stars!
Joined
Jul 16, 2007
Messages
9,595 (2.50/day)
Likes
1,148
Processor Amd Athlon X2 4600+ Windsor(90nm) EE(65W) @2.9-3.0 @1.45
Motherboard Biostar Tforce [Nvidia] 550
Cooling Thermaltake Blue Orb-- bunch of other fans here and there....
Memory 2 gigs (2x1gb) of patriot ddr2 800 @ 4-4-4-12-2t
Video Card(s) Sapphire X1950pro Pci-E x16 @stock@stock on stock
Storage Seagate 7200.11 250gb Drive, WD raptors (30/40) in Raid 0
Display(s) ANCIENT 15" sony lcd, bought it when it was like 500 bucks
Case Apevia X-plorer blue/black
Audio Device(s) Onboard- Why get an sound card when you can hum??
Power Supply Antec NeoHe 550-manufactured by seasonic -replacement to the discontinued smart power series
Software Windows XP pro SP2 -- vista is still crap
#8
i hope these will socketed, so we can swap out the shrikes and upgrade our lappys
 

btarunr

Editor & Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
34,515 (9.18/day)
Likes
17,525
Location
Hyderabad, India
System Name MRE-grade Potato
Processor Intel Core i7-4770K
Motherboard ASUS Z97-A
Cooling Xigmatek Aegir CPU Cooler
Memory 2x 8GB Kingston HyperX Beast DDR3-1866
Video Card(s) 2x ZOTAC GeForce GTX 970
Storage ADATA SU800 512GB + Intel SSD320 120GB + Patriot WildFire 120GB
Display(s) Samsung U28D590 28-inch 4K UHD
Case Cooler Master CM690 1st Gen
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Recon3D PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX850W
Mouse Razer Abyssus
Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder X4
Software Windows 10 Pro
#9
I don't see a connection for the Northbridge in the picture, just the Southbridge. Does this new chip eliminate it?
Yes. All components of the NB (PCI-E switch, Memory controller, Hypertransport, A-Link) are all in the APU. The NB is completely eliminated. All that remains is an A-Link (PCI-E 2.0 x4 link) between the APU and the southbridge.

i hope these will socketed, so we can swap out the shrikes and upgrade our lappys
Too bad you can't upgrade the current Turion lappies with these. These feature a DDR3 memory controller, and major architectural differences over the current Turion Ultra.
 

panchoman

Sold my stars!
Joined
Jul 16, 2007
Messages
9,595 (2.50/day)
Likes
1,148
Processor Amd Athlon X2 4600+ Windsor(90nm) EE(65W) @2.9-3.0 @1.45
Motherboard Biostar Tforce [Nvidia] 550
Cooling Thermaltake Blue Orb-- bunch of other fans here and there....
Memory 2 gigs (2x1gb) of patriot ddr2 800 @ 4-4-4-12-2t
Video Card(s) Sapphire X1950pro Pci-E x16 @stock@stock on stock
Storage Seagate 7200.11 250gb Drive, WD raptors (30/40) in Raid 0
Display(s) ANCIENT 15" sony lcd, bought it when it was like 500 bucks
Case Apevia X-plorer blue/black
Audio Device(s) Onboard- Why get an sound card when you can hum??
Power Supply Antec NeoHe 550-manufactured by seasonic -replacement to the discontinued smart power series
Software Windows XP pro SP2 -- vista is still crap
#10
Yes. All components of the NB (PCI-E switch, Memory controller, Hypertransport, A-Link) are all in the APU. The NB is completely eliminated. All that remains is an A-Link (PCI-E 2.0 x4 link) between the APU and the southbridge.



Too bad you can't upgrade the current Turion lappies with these. These feature a DDR3 memory controller, and major architectural differences over the current Turion Ultra.
i like how some ati graphics chips on lappys are socketed.. too bad the only way to upgrade those would be to obtain a chip from another laptop as you cant just go on newegg and order a gpu core for your lappy :(
 

btarunr

Editor & Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
34,515 (9.18/day)
Likes
17,525
Location
Hyderabad, India
System Name MRE-grade Potato
Processor Intel Core i7-4770K
Motherboard ASUS Z97-A
Cooling Xigmatek Aegir CPU Cooler
Memory 2x 8GB Kingston HyperX Beast DDR3-1866
Video Card(s) 2x ZOTAC GeForce GTX 970
Storage ADATA SU800 512GB + Intel SSD320 120GB + Patriot WildFire 120GB
Display(s) Samsung U28D590 28-inch 4K UHD
Case Cooler Master CM690 1st Gen
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Recon3D PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX850W
Mouse Razer Abyssus
Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder X4
Software Windows 10 Pro
#11
i like how some ati graphics chips on lappys are socketed.. too bad the only way to upgrade those would be to obtain a chip from another laptop as you cant just go on newegg and order a gpu core for your lappy :(
The reason I feel they're socketed is not that you change the GPU at will but that it becomes easy for manufacturers to draw variants for models. Say you have a model of a lappy, they'll make it have three (or so) variants, the cheapest one, there's no GPU, the IGP runs graphics, in the second one, a decent GPU is simply installed into the socket, in the highest variant, a 1337 GPU is installed.
 

WarEagleAU

Bird of Prey
Joined
Jul 9, 2006
Messages
10,809 (2.56/day)
Likes
529
Location
Gurley, AL
System Name Boddha Getta Boddha Getta Bah!
Processor AMD FX 6100 @ 4.432Ghz @1.382
Motherboard ASUS M5A99X EVO AMD 990X AMD SB950
Cooling Custom Water. EK 240MM Kit, Supreme HSF - Runs 35C
Memory 2 x 4GB Corsair Vengeance White LP @ 1.35V
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon HD 6870 980/1100
Storage WD Caviar Black 1.0TB, WD Caviar Green 1.0TB, WD 160GB
Display(s) Asus VH222/S 22: (21.5" Viewable) 1920x1080p HDMI LCD Monitor
Case NZXT White Switch 810
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek 5.1
Power Supply NZXT Hale 90 Gold Cert 750W Modular PSU
Software Windows 8.1 Profession 64 Bit
#12
I always thought this was AMDs cpu/gpu mix into one. Now I find out its something totally different. Still pretty damn awesome though.
 

btarunr

Editor & Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
34,515 (9.18/day)
Likes
17,525
Location
Hyderabad, India
System Name MRE-grade Potato
Processor Intel Core i7-4770K
Motherboard ASUS Z97-A
Cooling Xigmatek Aegir CPU Cooler
Memory 2x 8GB Kingston HyperX Beast DDR3-1866
Video Card(s) 2x ZOTAC GeForce GTX 970
Storage ADATA SU800 512GB + Intel SSD320 120GB + Patriot WildFire 120GB
Display(s) Samsung U28D590 28-inch 4K UHD
Case Cooler Master CM690 1st Gen
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Recon3D PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX850W
Mouse Razer Abyssus
Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder X4
Software Windows 10 Pro
#13
I always thought this was AMDs cpu/gpu mix into one. Now I find out its something totally different. Still pretty damn awesome though.
It is a CPU + GPU + NB mix :)
 

panchoman

Sold my stars!
Joined
Jul 16, 2007
Messages
9,595 (2.50/day)
Likes
1,148
Processor Amd Athlon X2 4600+ Windsor(90nm) EE(65W) @2.9-3.0 @1.45
Motherboard Biostar Tforce [Nvidia] 550
Cooling Thermaltake Blue Orb-- bunch of other fans here and there....
Memory 2 gigs (2x1gb) of patriot ddr2 800 @ 4-4-4-12-2t
Video Card(s) Sapphire X1950pro Pci-E x16 @stock@stock on stock
Storage Seagate 7200.11 250gb Drive, WD raptors (30/40) in Raid 0
Display(s) ANCIENT 15" sony lcd, bought it when it was like 500 bucks
Case Apevia X-plorer blue/black
Audio Device(s) Onboard- Why get an sound card when you can hum??
Power Supply Antec NeoHe 550-manufactured by seasonic -replacement to the discontinued smart power series
Software Windows XP pro SP2 -- vista is still crap
#14
The reason I feel they're socketed is not that you change the GPU at will but that it becomes easy for manufacturers to draw variants for models. Say you have a model of a lappy, they'll make it have three (or so) variants, the cheapest one, there's no GPU, the IGP runs graphics, in the second one, a decent GPU is simply installed into the socket, in the highest variant, a 1337 GPU is installed.
yup, but wouldn't it be awesome if we buy the igp version due to budget and later want to upgrade the 1337 gpu version and we could just order the chip and pop it in?
 

btarunr

Editor & Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
34,515 (9.18/day)
Likes
17,525
Location
Hyderabad, India
System Name MRE-grade Potato
Processor Intel Core i7-4770K
Motherboard ASUS Z97-A
Cooling Xigmatek Aegir CPU Cooler
Memory 2x 8GB Kingston HyperX Beast DDR3-1866
Video Card(s) 2x ZOTAC GeForce GTX 970
Storage ADATA SU800 512GB + Intel SSD320 120GB + Patriot WildFire 120GB
Display(s) Samsung U28D590 28-inch 4K UHD
Case Cooler Master CM690 1st Gen
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Recon3D PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX850W
Mouse Razer Abyssus
Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder X4
Software Windows 10 Pro
#15
It would be awesome, fo-sho! But the reason being having a socketted GPU is more of logistic than from an upgradability POV. A socket alone lets them draw multiple SKU's out of the same thing.