• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

DFI Bloodirons - any good?

Ketxxx

Heedless Psychic
Joined
Mar 4, 2006
Messages
11,507 (2.14/day)
Location
Kingdom of gods
System Name Prowler. V9.
Processor Intel i5 3570k @ 4.6GHz 1.2v
Motherboard Asrock Z77 Extreme6
Cooling Modded CoolIT ECO ALC, 3x 120mm Coolermaster Sickleflow fans
Memory 2x4GB G.Skill Ripjaws @ 2133MHz 10-10-10-25 1N (T)
Video Card(s) HD7950 Vapor-X @ 1.25GHz 1.05v, 6GHz 1.5v
Storage WD Caviar Black 640GB, 32MB cache, SATA
Display(s) 22" LG Flatron W2242S
Case NZXT Apollo
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DX 7.1 PCI-E
Power Supply Corsair HX850w modular
Software Windows 7 x64
Their good boards, but there are better boards available. If you have the funds for one a Asus P5Q series would be a better choice, newer chipset, PCI-E 2.0, official 1600FSB+ support, plenty of BIOS options, etc. Gigabytes P45 offerings are also pretty good. Probably the biggest difference between the Asus and Gigabyte offerings is the BIOS, asus use AMI where Gigabyte use AWARD.
 
Joined
Sep 22, 2007
Messages
3,526 (0.73/day)
Location
UK
System Name Dream Weaver
Processor Ryzen 2600x
Motherboard B450 MSI Gaming Pro Carbon AC
Cooling NH-D14
Memory 16GB Flare X @ 3200MHz CL14
Video Card(s) Sapphire Vega 64 Nitro+
Storage 500GB evo 970 m.2 + 4TB HDDs
Display(s) ASUS 27" 1440p 144hz FreeSync
Case Fractal Design Define R3
Power Supply Corsair 850W
Software Windows 10 x64
Bit off topic but I've heard FSB 1600 support on motherboards but what CPUs run at 400FSB by default? The Wolfdale/Yorkdales are all 1333FSB and I didn't think Intel were gonna even realease 1600FSb chips :confused:
 

ShadowFold

New Member
Joined
Dec 23, 2007
Messages
16,918 (3.58/day)
Location
Omaha, NE
System Name The ShadowFold Draconis (Ordering soon)
Processor AMD Phenom II X6 1055T 2.8ghz
Motherboard ASUS M4A87TD EVO AM3 AMD 870
Cooling Stock
Memory Kingston ValueRAM 4GB DDR3-1333
Video Card(s) XFX ATi Radeon HD 5850 1gb
Storage Western Digital 640gb
Display(s) Acer 21.5" 5ms Full HD 1920x1080P
Case Antec Nine-Hundred
Audio Device(s) Onboard + Creative "Fatal1ty" Headset
Power Supply Antec Earthwatts 650w
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
Benchmark Scores -❶-❸-❸-❼-
Bit off topic but I've heard FSB 1600 support on motherboards but what CPUs run at 400FSB by default? The Wolfdale/Yorkdales are all 1333FSB and I didn't think Intel were gonna even realease 1600FSb chips :confused:
They aren't lol The E8600 and Q9400 are the LAST 775 chips released. 1600FSB is just a confirmation that the board can run 400fsb(and a way for noobs to go "WHOA 1600 THATS HIGHER THAN 1333!"
 

Ketxxx

Heedless Psychic
Joined
Mar 4, 2006
Messages
11,507 (2.14/day)
Location
Kingdom of gods
System Name Prowler. V9.
Processor Intel i5 3570k @ 4.6GHz 1.2v
Motherboard Asrock Z77 Extreme6
Cooling Modded CoolIT ECO ALC, 3x 120mm Coolermaster Sickleflow fans
Memory 2x4GB G.Skill Ripjaws @ 2133MHz 10-10-10-25 1N (T)
Video Card(s) HD7950 Vapor-X @ 1.25GHz 1.05v, 6GHz 1.5v
Storage WD Caviar Black 640GB, 32MB cache, SATA
Display(s) 22" LG Flatron W2242S
Case NZXT Apollo
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DX 7.1 PCI-E
Power Supply Corsair HX850w modular
Software Windows 7 x64
Yup, 1600FSB is basically a manufacturer saying "we guarantee this board has headroom"
 
Joined
Sep 22, 2007
Messages
3,526 (0.73/day)
Location
UK
System Name Dream Weaver
Processor Ryzen 2600x
Motherboard B450 MSI Gaming Pro Carbon AC
Cooling NH-D14
Memory 16GB Flare X @ 3200MHz CL14
Video Card(s) Sapphire Vega 64 Nitro+
Storage 500GB evo 970 m.2 + 4TB HDDs
Display(s) ASUS 27" 1440p 144hz FreeSync
Case Fractal Design Define R3
Power Supply Corsair 850W
Software Windows 10 x64

aCid888*

New Member
Joined
May 19, 2008
Messages
2,754 (0.60/day)
Location
In a state of flux...
Yup, 1600FSB is basically a manufacturer saying "we guarantee this board has headroom"
Not exactly ;) Xeon X5272 :toast::cool:

Also the QX9770 did have a 1600fsb when it was still ES, but I see now its back down to 1333, maybe due to stability? who knows
 

Attachments

pepsi71ocean

New Member
Joined
Nov 7, 2007
Messages
1,471 (0.31/day)
Location
The Peoples Republic of New South Jersey
System Name The Grand Phoenix Clusterflop
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 965 Black Edition Deneb @3.4GHz
Motherboard ASRock 870 EXTREME3
Cooling Xigmatec S1284 (Lapped)1x200mm, 4x120mm
Memory Muskin Silverline 4GB DDR3 1333 (PC3 10666) 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) eVGA GTX 470 SC Edition 1280mb RAM (C/S/M)(640/1280/1705)
Storage 2x500GB Seagate, 32MB Cache 1xWD 40GB UMD IDE Hdd.
Display(s) SAMSUNG 22" LCDTV HD Monitor and Samsung 24"
Case COOLER MASTER RC-690
Audio Device(s) USB 2.0 Sound (USB out to my Stero System)
Power Supply Thermaltake XT TPX-775M 775W
Software Windows XP Home SP3
I got to 3.6Stable with my new cooling. and im working on going higher. 450x8. will post back with more in a few days
 

p_o_s_pc

F@H&WCG addict
Joined
May 2, 2007
Messages
13,005 (2.62/day)
Location
Newark ohio
System Name el'lappy|Cruncher | Cruncher 2
Processor intel C2D T6400 | i7 3770k @4.2ghz | AII X2 220 @3.4ghz
Motherboard some Acer | Asus P8Z77-V Pro |Gigabyter GA-M61p-S3
Cooling dual 80mm cooling fan | WC'ing ) |cheapo
Memory 2x2gb ddr3 | 2x2gb Ripjaws 1600 |4x512mb D9s
Video Card(s) onboard | 60 1GB(hd7770 ) |8800GTS
Storage Momuntus xt 320gb |Kingston Hyper X 120gb SATA III|500gb WD
Display(s) 17in | 42" 1080P HD 3D TV
Case lappy case | CM HAF XB |none yet
Audio Device(s) onboard | onboard | onboard
Power Supply Dell brick w/ acer end end | Antec EW 650w |Antec SP 350w(upg.soon)
Software Windows 7 Ult. 64bit---->------->
cheers haha - can i ask, what does "p35 chipset" actually mean? im used to nvidia boards :D
P35 is a chipset made by Intel. it has a 1333mhz bus speed supports 45nm dual and quad also uses DDR2 800. I would say it is comparable to a Nvidia 680i or 780i but WITHOUT THE SLI SUPPORT! the P35 may clock alittle better too.
hope you found this info helpful
 
K

kyle2020

Guest
P35 is a chipset made by Intel. it has a 1333mhz bus speed supports 45nm dual and quad also uses DDR2 800. I would say it is comparable to a Nvidia 680i or 780i but WITHOUT THE SLI SUPPORT! the P35 may clock alittle better too.
hope you found this info helpful
i did, completely what i needed - in a nutshell. The blood iron is what im getting anyway, probably ordering next week or the week after in celebration of my GCSE results :D
 

pepsi71ocean

New Member
Joined
Nov 7, 2007
Messages
1,471 (0.31/day)
Location
The Peoples Republic of New South Jersey
System Name The Grand Phoenix Clusterflop
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 965 Black Edition Deneb @3.4GHz
Motherboard ASRock 870 EXTREME3
Cooling Xigmatec S1284 (Lapped)1x200mm, 4x120mm
Memory Muskin Silverline 4GB DDR3 1333 (PC3 10666) 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) eVGA GTX 470 SC Edition 1280mb RAM (C/S/M)(640/1280/1705)
Storage 2x500GB Seagate, 32MB Cache 1xWD 40GB UMD IDE Hdd.
Display(s) SAMSUNG 22" LCDTV HD Monitor and Samsung 24"
Case COOLER MASTER RC-690
Audio Device(s) USB 2.0 Sound (USB out to my Stero System)
Power Supply Thermaltake XT TPX-775M 775W
Software Windows XP Home SP3
i did, completely what i needed - in a nutshell. The blood iron is what im getting anyway, probably ordering next week or the week after in celebration of my GCSE results :D
Do you know what the VID is on your Q6600? Also what kind of Aftermarket Cooling are you looking at? Quads put out a lot of heat.
 
K

kyle2020

Guest
Do you know what the VID is on your Q6600? Also what kind of Aftermarket Cooling are you looking at? Quads put out a lot of heat.
the VID?

Oh, and ill purchase another Freezer Pro. Might have to ask ket to lap it for me :D
 

pepsi71ocean

New Member
Joined
Nov 7, 2007
Messages
1,471 (0.31/day)
Location
The Peoples Republic of New South Jersey
System Name The Grand Phoenix Clusterflop
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 965 Black Edition Deneb @3.4GHz
Motherboard ASRock 870 EXTREME3
Cooling Xigmatec S1284 (Lapped)1x200mm, 4x120mm
Memory Muskin Silverline 4GB DDR3 1333 (PC3 10666) 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) eVGA GTX 470 SC Edition 1280mb RAM (C/S/M)(640/1280/1705)
Storage 2x500GB Seagate, 32MB Cache 1xWD 40GB UMD IDE Hdd.
Display(s) SAMSUNG 22" LCDTV HD Monitor and Samsung 24"
Case COOLER MASTER RC-690
Audio Device(s) USB 2.0 Sound (USB out to my Stero System)
Power Supply Thermaltake XT TPX-775M 775W
Software Windows XP Home SP3
When did you buy your Q6600, around like what month. You'll have to tell me how the Freezer pro stacks up on cooling against my S1284.

Lapping it should be easy tho.
 
K

kyle2020

Guest
i havent bought it yet, it will get purchased in a weeks time though :D :D :D i cant wait :laugh:
 

CyberDruid

New Member
Joined
Sep 23, 2007
Messages
2,887 (0.60/day)
Location
On top of a mountain
System Name Shop Dog
Processor E8400
Motherboard Asus Blitz Formula SE
Cooling d-Tek FuZion
Memory 2 x 2GB DDR2 800 G Skill
Video Card(s) EVGA 7900 GTX
Storage 150GB VelociRaptor
Display(s) Acer 21.5 1080p LED Back Lit Monitor
Case Working on it
Audio Device(s) PCI SoundMax
Power Supply Silverstone 750 Modular
Software XP Pro SP2
Benchmark Scores Super Pi 11.56s 1M at 4050mhz
Glad I caught you before you purchased.

As a Blood Iron Owner I want to let you lknow you can do MUCH MUCH better than that.

I was Folding with a B3 Q6600 on mine and was not at all imnpressed. The board cannot provide the clean voltage that a quad needs for a good OC. Maybe with a G0 you might get bnetter results than I did. A lot of issues rebooting too. The board loved to play dead for no discernable reason. Considering how much you will reboot when OCing or trying for a max stable OC under load it is really a PITA. I tried different RAM and that was not it. It worked much better with my E6600 than my Q6600 but still would play dead sometimes.

Unless you need a mATX formfactor with onboard true HDMI I would go with the Asus P45 boards.

I've got great love for the DFI mark...but the highly touted Blood Iron is not an OC-friendly board.

Yes I know a few people have reported high FSB clocks and so on but these appear to be the exception...not the rule.

The very same Q6600 G0 I could not clock past 3 ghz on the Blood Iron reliably would run 3.6 on my P5K dlx Folding at 100% load.

This is from direct experience.

Hope that helps.
 
K

kyle2020

Guest
Glad I caught you before you purchased.

As a Blood Iron Owner I want to let you lknow you can do MUCH MUCH better than that.

I was Folding with a B3 Q6600 on mine and was not at all imnpressed. The board cannot provide the clean voltage that a quad needs for a good OC. Maybe with a G0 you might get bnetter results than I did. A lot of issues rebooting too. The board loved to play dead for no discernable reason. Considering how much you will reboot when OCing or trying for a max stable OC under load it is really a PITA. I tried different RAM and that was not it. It worked much better with my E6600 than my Q6600 but still would play dead sometimes.

Unless you need a mATX formfactor with onboard true HDMI I would go with the Asus P45 boards.

I've got great love for the DFI mark...but the highly touted Blood Iron is not an OC-friendly board.

Yes I know a few people have reported high FSB clocks and so on but these appear to be the exception...not the rule.

The very same Q6600 G0 I could not clock past 3 ghz on the Blood Iron reliably would run 3.6 on my P5K dlx Folding at 100% load.

This is from direct experience.

Hope that helps.
cheers for the heads up. I was going to have a look for an ASUS board, but didnt know what to look for.

Can you drop me a few links to some boards you suggest?

Cheers mate!
 

MoeDaKilla

New Member
Joined
Jun 27, 2008
Messages
84 (0.02/day)
Processor Intel Q9450 @ 3.53 GHz
Motherboard Asus P5E (modded to Rampage Formula)
Cooling Zerotherm Nirvana NV120
Memory Corsair XMS2 DHX (2x2 GB) @ 445 MHZ 5-5-5-12
Video Card(s) NVIDIA Geforce 9800 GTX @ 800-2000-1200
Storage Samsung Spinpoint F1 750 GB
Display(s) Samsung 245BW
Case Antec 900
Power Supply Silverstone Strider ST75F
Benchmark Scores 3dMark06: 16812
Referring to one of your earlier posts, I actually have an ASUS P5E and I love it. Thats with an X38 chipset, and probably much more useful if you plan to Crossfire and want a full-featured mobo. Sure P35's and some P45's overclock higher, but you will not get the same feature set. As far as FSB, I couldn't get higher than 450 with my Q9450, but with a Q6600, your CPU will probably overheat after 450X9 unless you use watercooling. If you have a big budget though go for the ASUS P5E. That's my two cents.
 

pepsi71ocean

New Member
Joined
Nov 7, 2007
Messages
1,471 (0.31/day)
Location
The Peoples Republic of New South Jersey
System Name The Grand Phoenix Clusterflop
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 965 Black Edition Deneb @3.4GHz
Motherboard ASRock 870 EXTREME3
Cooling Xigmatec S1284 (Lapped)1x200mm, 4x120mm
Memory Muskin Silverline 4GB DDR3 1333 (PC3 10666) 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) eVGA GTX 470 SC Edition 1280mb RAM (C/S/M)(640/1280/1705)
Storage 2x500GB Seagate, 32MB Cache 1xWD 40GB UMD IDE Hdd.
Display(s) SAMSUNG 22" LCDTV HD Monitor and Samsung 24"
Case COOLER MASTER RC-690
Audio Device(s) USB 2.0 Sound (USB out to my Stero System)
Power Supply Thermaltake XT TPX-775M 775W
Software Windows XP Home SP3
Glad I caught you before you purchased.

As a Blood Iron Owner I want to let you lknow you can do MUCH MUCH better than that.

I was Folding with a B3 Q6600 on mine and was not at all imnpressed. The board cannot provide the clean voltage that a quad needs for a good OC. Maybe with a G0 you might get bnetter results than I did. A lot of issues rebooting too. The board loved to play dead for no discernable reason. Considering how much you will reboot when OCing or trying for a max stable OC under load it is really a PITA. I tried different RAM and that was not it. It worked much better with my E6600 than my Q6600 but still would play dead sometimes.

Unless you need a mATX formfactor with onboard true HDMI I would go with the Asus P45 boards.

I've got great love for the DFI mark...but the highly touted Blood Iron is not an OC-friendly board.

Yes I know a few people have reported high FSB clocks and so on but these appear to be the exception...not the rule.

The very same Q6600 G0 I could not clock past 3 ghz on the Blood Iron reliably would run 3.6 on my P5K dlx Folding at 100% load.

This is from direct experience.

Hope that helps.
what revision Q6600 did you have, you have both the b3 and g0 listed, its confiusing. Also the T2rl fixed the voltage issues, my G0 is running fine at 3.6, and currently im testing 460x8fsb, which is pushing the heat IMO, but if you have one of the older Q6600's from novemeber of 07 it is rock solid, Heat issues can be solved with a good cooler, my Quad is lapped, and i also lapped my S1284 even before i put it on the cpu, Also i used the back brace for the heat sink. in my room under 100% load my cores just touch 60c. IMO 9x450 would be suicide on air anyways, and if you wanted to push that then you would need water cooling reguardless.

im not trying to flame, im just trying to figure out
 

Wayward

New Member
Joined
May 23, 2007
Messages
235 (0.05/day)
Processor Core 2 Q9450 775/Yorkfield @ 3.2Ghz
Motherboard DFI Lanparty DK P35-T2RS
Cooling Zalman CNPS 9700 NT
Memory 4x2GB Corsair XMS2-DDR2-800 4-4-4-12
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon HD4870 1024MB GDDR5
Storage Seagate 7200.10 500GB SATA2
Display(s) 2x 19" LG LCD
Case Raidmax Scorpio (modified)
Audio Device(s) Audigy2 ZS Platinum
Power Supply Kingwin Mach 1 1220w
I'll vouch for the DFI DK P35-T2RS. I've got one and it overclocks very well. It's only ~$20 more than the BloodIron, and worth it IMHO. I've got my Q9450 oc'd to 3.2ghz on stock volts, but it can go much higher with a little boost here and there.

Very stable, lots of options in the BIOS, well planned layout, and it looks really nice in a window case.

I have heard mostly good things about the BloodIron, but I don't have one so I can't comment myself.
 
K

kyle2020

Guest
I might have to splash out on something nice, that lanparty looks gorgeous.
 

pepsi71ocean

New Member
Joined
Nov 7, 2007
Messages
1,471 (0.31/day)
Location
The Peoples Republic of New South Jersey
System Name The Grand Phoenix Clusterflop
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 965 Black Edition Deneb @3.4GHz
Motherboard ASRock 870 EXTREME3
Cooling Xigmatec S1284 (Lapped)1x200mm, 4x120mm
Memory Muskin Silverline 4GB DDR3 1333 (PC3 10666) 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) eVGA GTX 470 SC Edition 1280mb RAM (C/S/M)(640/1280/1705)
Storage 2x500GB Seagate, 32MB Cache 1xWD 40GB UMD IDE Hdd.
Display(s) SAMSUNG 22" LCDTV HD Monitor and Samsung 24"
Case COOLER MASTER RC-690
Audio Device(s) USB 2.0 Sound (USB out to my Stero System)
Power Supply Thermaltake XT TPX-775M 775W
Software Windows XP Home SP3
yea the blood iron board has a ton of BIOS options, the BIOS IMO is very mature and stable. Im still learning how to overlcock my q6600 on the Blood Iron, If you need help SneekyPeet knows alot about blood irons. I have fund out that the blood iron has alot of small changes in bios that can help stabalise the rig, and i think that the BI can man handle the 680i boards i used to use.

I would second what Wayward says and check that board out.
 

CyberDruid

New Member
Joined
Sep 23, 2007
Messages
2,887 (0.60/day)
Location
On top of a mountain
System Name Shop Dog
Processor E8400
Motherboard Asus Blitz Formula SE
Cooling d-Tek FuZion
Memory 2 x 2GB DDR2 800 G Skill
Video Card(s) EVGA 7900 GTX
Storage 150GB VelociRaptor
Display(s) Acer 21.5 1080p LED Back Lit Monitor
Case Working on it
Audio Device(s) PCI SoundMax
Power Supply Silverstone 750 Modular
Software XP Pro SP2
Benchmark Scores Super Pi 11.56s 1M at 4050mhz
The Blood Iron does have a lot of great BIOS options to be sure. But I found that the LanParty (P35) was better for me. Pushed the same G0 Q6600 to 4 ghz (I have the screenshot). My guess is the Dark is as good.
 
Joined
Mar 15, 2008
Messages
402 (0.09/day)
Location
California USA
System Name MSI
Processor Intel 4790k@ stock for now
Motherboard MSI z97 gaming 7
Cooling H100i
Memory 16 gb of patriot viperx ddr3 1866
Video Card(s) RTX 2080
Storage Crucial c300 128g, wd cavier black 1tb, seagate baracuda 2gb (for storage)
Display(s) Asus VG248QE 24"
Case Haf x 942
Audio Device(s) ac 1150 onboard sound
Power Supply Roswell 1200
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Velocifire mechanical keyboard red switches
Software Windows 10 pro
I don't know anything but I would hold out for a pcie 2.0 board p45, x38 or x48, get more bandwidth usage out of your video card I have seen increase in performance with my card going from p35 to x48
 

CyberDruid

New Member
Joined
Sep 23, 2007
Messages
2,887 (0.60/day)
Location
On top of a mountain
System Name Shop Dog
Processor E8400
Motherboard Asus Blitz Formula SE
Cooling d-Tek FuZion
Memory 2 x 2GB DDR2 800 G Skill
Video Card(s) EVGA 7900 GTX
Storage 150GB VelociRaptor
Display(s) Acer 21.5 1080p LED Back Lit Monitor
Case Working on it
Audio Device(s) PCI SoundMax
Power Supply Silverstone 750 Modular
Software XP Pro SP2
Benchmark Scores Super Pi 11.56s 1M at 4050mhz
I put together an Asus P5Q a few weeks ago with an E6700 and without changing anything except the bus speed got 3.9 ghz. The auto settings work very well on this board. Besides the usual tweaks it adds GTL values which can help fine tuniing.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813131299

Not a flashy board...but very solid.
 
Top