• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Diamond HD 4870 overclocking(bored and overclocking)

My89SHO

New Member
Joined
Nov 6, 2008
Messages
122 (0.04/day)
Likes
2
#1
:cool: Overclocking my Diamond 4870. got it up to: 860 on the core so far bench test is: 36174.73. Is that good? i have two HIS 4870's too. The Diamond is more overclockable than them. Don't know why. Give me some advice and I will keep overclocking the core!
 

CH@NO

New Member
Joined
May 24, 2007
Messages
901 (0.23/day)
Likes
59
Location
Toluca, Mexico
System Name Thank God you're back!!!
Processor Intel Core i3 2100 @ 3.1GHz (stock)
Motherboard ECS H67H2-M3
Cooling Stock + 1 X 80mm Thermaltake red LED
Memory 1 X 4 GB Kingston 1333MHz DDR3
Video Card(s) coming soon
Storage 1TB Seagate SATAII + 500GB Hitachi USB (External)
Display(s) Samsung 20" LED Widescreen
Case coming soon
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek HD 6ch Audio
Power Supply Generic 450W with 20A on the 12v+ rail
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Benchmark Scores coming soon
#2
some chips are better than others (even if they're of the same series), or It could be the quality of the components of the card (HSF, energy phases, if they're reference design or not, etc.)

You can OC 'till you start to see artifacts, then if the cooling and card lets you can increase the Vcore and still OC.

If you want to keep that 4870 for long then OC it on a range that the temps are descent without touching any volt settings.

For me OC this new 4800 series using Catalyst Overdrive it's more than enough.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 25, 2008
Messages
2,036 (0.59/day)
Likes
113
Location
Dundalk, Maryland
System Name Xeon 2017
Processor Intel® Xeon® Processor X3360 12M Cache, 2.83 GHz, 1333 MHz
Motherboard Dell Inc. 0200DY (CPU)
Cooling Speed Fan
Memory 4.00GB Single-Channel DDR3
Video Card(s) Dell 1GB GDDR5 ATI FirePro V4800 (FireGL V)
Storage WD 500GB + 465GB TOSHIBA External USB 3.0
Display(s) Acer 21inch Monitor LCD
Case Dell Optiplex 780 SFF
Audio Device(s) SoundMAX Integrated Digital HD
Power Supply Thermaltake TR2 W0070RUC ATX 430W Power Supply
Mouse Dynex Grey and Black
Keyboard HP Wireless
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64 SP1
#3
Off topic, but may i see the stock GPU-Z ?
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,381 (10.17/day)
Likes
18,023
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#5
What bench test are you using? 860 core is very good and definitely above average on a 4870. Most likely the Diamond has a better core than your two HIS cards.
 
Joined
Apr 14, 2008
Messages
1,777 (0.50/day)
Likes
163
Location
South Australia
System Name QUACK
Processor Intel i7 2600K (3.4 GHz, 8 threads)
Motherboard Asus P67P8-V3
Cooling Xigmatek Balder 120mm (4x120,1x140mm case)
Memory Patriot 2 Viper Sector 5, 8GB DDR3 1600 MHz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GeForce GTX 960 G1 4GB
Storage 1x Samsung EVO 850 (500GB) SSD, 1x Fujitsu 256GB SSD
Display(s) Dell Ultrasharp U2311h 23" (so sexy)
Case CoolerMaster Gladiator RC-600
Audio Device(s) Onboard 5.1
Power Supply Antec 850w with yellow racing stripes
Software Windows 7 HP 64 bit
#6

My89SHO

New Member
Joined
Nov 6, 2008
Messages
122 (0.04/day)
Likes
2
#8
how do i set a higher voltage in rbe. it only goes to: 1.263v. and increasing the v will make it clock higher and more stable?
 

My89SHO

New Member
Joined
Nov 6, 2008
Messages
122 (0.04/day)
Likes
2
#9
you cannot change voltages outside what is programed into the card because they are hard wired into the card and therefore cannot be ajusted. my HIS 4870 has a max voltage of 1.263 and my Diamond has a max of 1.276 that is why it can be clocked higher than the other. therefore the Diamond is a better card as I thought. thanks for all the replyies on this.
 
Joined
Nov 27, 2006
Messages
2,106 (0.52/day)
Likes
371
System Name Norfree
Processor i5 3570k @4.4
Motherboard Gigabyte UD5H
Cooling 212 Evo
Memory 4x4GB Kingston 1600 @ 1833 9cl
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro Fury
Storage Corsair SSD, WD Black
Display(s) 1080p TV
Case Corsair 300-R
Audio Device(s) Auzentech Prelude > Fidelio X2s and AD-700s
Power Supply PCP&C Silent 950w
Software Win 10 Pro 64
#10
yep my Diamond (GeCube chip says GPU-Z) also does about 850 core. it'll run stable @ 860 but it has artifacts. also it can hit close to 1200 memory.
 

Iarwain

New Member
Joined
Jun 30, 2009
Messages
28 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
Processor AMD 720x3 BE at 3.7Ghz
Motherboard DFI Lanparty DK M2RS
Cooling Scythe Mugen 2
Memory 4GB A-Data DDR2
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 4890 at 990/1000 with Scythe Mushashi
Storage 150GB Raptor
Display(s) Samsung
Case Raidmax Katana
Audio Device(s) XtremeGamer
Power Supply Corsair 650w
Software Windows 7
#12
I got 850 core with my Asus DK which also came with the slightly higher stock voltage.