1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Did I do the right thing... HD2900 Pro ?

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by Sasqui, Oct 2, 2007.

  1. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    8,731 (2.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,714
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    Just pulled the trigger - ordered the 1GB Sapphire HD2900 Pro. I currently have an X1950XTX. I was reading the news on the R670 chip / HD2950 Pro and starting to wonder if I should wait.

    Also looks like my Hiper PSU is borderline - the reccommended minimum is 530W

    Buyers remorse is kicking in (gaak!). On a good note - the X1950XTX is fetching anywhere from $250 to $350 on fleabay right now.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU Crunching for Team TPU
  2. d44ve New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2007
    Messages:
    2,521 (0.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    309
    personally, I would have waited..... but you still wont be dissapointed.
     
  3. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,135 (4.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,458
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    I know I was nice to let mine go for 175USD

    You need a new used PSU Sasqui for that 2900PRO:?It has an 8pinPCIe on it;)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. Darknova

    Darknova

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5,053 (1.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    545
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom
    Exactly my point, I was going to get a 2900Pro, but I decided to wait for the 2950's..you won't be disappointed though.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. TUngsten

    TUngsten

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2006
    Messages:
    1,044 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64
    Location:
    CT, USA
    LOL DaMulta, you never miss an opportunity to hawk that PSU do ya :roll:
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  6. Fox34

    Fox34 New Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,048 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    99
    Location:
    Venice
    Even though the new chip is on the way, your card will already run everything flawlessly. And you prob will be able to Vmod yours and OC it to the new cards anyways. Dont worry abit
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    8,731 (2.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,714
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    That is a great price!!! It looks like the card comes with adaptors

    [​IMG]

    I also saw on HIS site that you could indeed plug a 6 pin PCI-E into the 8 (but probably playing with fire).
     
    10 Year Member at TPU Crunching for Team TPU
  8. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    8,731 (2.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,714
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    Ahhh a thinly veiled sales pitch ;)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU Crunching for Team TPU
  9. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,135 (4.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,458
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    :rockout:LOL
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  10. Kursah

    Kursah

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    9,758 (2.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,629
    Location:
    Missoula, MT, USA
    I am still debating getting the Sapphire HD2900 Pro 512mb 512-bit card, but lately I've had good luck with xx50 cards (x850, x1950). I dunno if I should wait or go for the 2900pro, it would be nice to get the same performance for maybe cheaper??? And running cooler..

    Should start a poll...I want the 2900pro due to it's ability to almost match 2900XT, but I like the sound of the 2950's.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  11. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    8,731 (2.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,714
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    Yea, the other thing is the GPU water block on my X19050XTX proabably wont work on the 2900 unless I get memory sinks.

    edit... and they have the 30 day return policy.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU Crunching for Team TPU
  12. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,135 (4.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,458
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    I seen that you can leave part of it on if you only have a GPU block.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  13. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    8,731 (2.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,714
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    That is the beauty of the 1950XTX - the ram sinks are seprate from the GPU cooler, and the block I have fits perfectly. Don't know about the 2900 cooler.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU Crunching for Team TPU
  14. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,135 (4.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,458
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    That's what I was talking about the HD Cooler
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  15. Bonerheimer_c New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2006
    Messages:
    70 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    From Florida, now in NY
    10 Year Member at TPU
  16. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    8,731 (2.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,714
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    Do you know if it's the same config?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU Crunching for Team TPU
  17. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,135 (4.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,458
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    10 Year Member at TPU
  18. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    23,253 (5.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,211
    Careful with tha power supply, mine failed twice with two 7900GTs wich only recommends a 450w power supply. A 530w recommendation would scare me.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  19. GLD

    GLD

    Joined:
    May 13, 2006
    Messages:
    1,533 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    285
    Location:
    City 17, California, U.S.A.
    I would say for a 1 card system your psu would be OK. ATi seems to think the same thing. They list 5 different Hiper 580w's, and even a 400w Enermax as OK. http://ati.amd.com/products/certified/powersupplies.html#pstop
     
    10 Year Member at TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)