• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Did i fry my graphics card??

Joined
Nov 26, 2007
Messages
9 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#1
Hi,

I got a graphics card that did not fully function (its a x800 aiw wich was flashed with a x800xt pe bios)
to get the AiW functions working again i tried to flash a AiW bios

The only thing is i did not flash the right bios i thought it was a 1.6ns samsung graphics card.
but its a samsung 2.0ns graphics card.

Now i tried 'requeing' it with a decent x800 aiw samsung 2.0 bios but still there is no picture...
but the fan is running again!!

ATiFlash does identify the graphics card with new bios, but system does not boot with this graphics card....

what i did:
i flashed the card with serveral different samsung 1.6 bioses, hopefully this did not hurt the card...


its a ATi noname x800ve AiW PAL/Secam 256MB samsung 2.0ns AGP 256MB

Tried flashing it with both atiflash and flashrom.
 

trickson

OH, I have such a headache
Joined
Dec 5, 2004
Messages
6,517 (1.36/day)
Likes
944
Location
Planet Earth.
#2
Sounds like you fried it out .
Did you save your old bios if not you have a paper weight now .
 
Joined
Mar 14, 2007
Messages
970 (0.24/day)
Likes
150
Processor Intel e2180 2.0ghz @ 2.8ghz w/ stock volts
Motherboard ASUS P5K-e Wifi-AP
Cooling Zalman 9500 w/ AS5
Memory G.Skill Black PI's DDR2 @ 896MHz 4-4-4-12 1.9v
Video Card(s) EVGA 8800GT w/ Zalman VF-900
Storage 2x Crucial C300 64GB, Samsung F3 2TB & 1TB, F1 1TB & 750GB
Display(s) ASUS VW246H 24" 16:9
Case Ultra / Chieftec Black Tower
Audio Device(s) X-fi XtremeMusic -> Z-5300e's
Power Supply PCP&C 610 Silencer
Software Windows 7 x64
#3
Hmm I had the AIW X800XT, and everything I read about it said DO NOT flash it. You can get lucky and it'll work, but most of the time it creates a lot of instabilities. Hopefully you saved your stock BIOS before you starting messing with it. Either way, you need to find the stock BIOS for your card, and try reflashing it. You've gotten it this far, so just keep going... it's not like it's going to make things any worse.
 
Joined
Nov 26, 2007
Messages
9 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#4
the problem is i got this card like this :p
bought it as a x800xt pe...
the sticker said x800ve aiw
it was not really stable so i wanted to get a x800ve aiw bios on it :p

i think i need to go edit a x800 aiw bios edit the speed and change the product id to x800ve aiw...
maybe it will take it :p
 
Joined
Oct 7, 2007
Messages
15,007 (3.99/day)
Likes
2,940
Location
In a library somewhere on this earth
System Name Haru
Processor i7 3770k @ 4.5ghz
Motherboard Biostar Tz77xme4
Cooling Koolance C370si loop
Memory 8gb G. Skill Trident X 2400mhz at 10-11-11-28
Video Card(s) XFX Double D 7950 / Zotac 620 for physx
Storage Samsung 830 128gb (os)Muskin Chronos 120gb, Pyro 120gb
Display(s) Viewsonic VX2450WM-LED 24" & Hanns G 28"
Case Cooler Master Cosmos II
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-fi Forte 7.1 Opamp modded
Power Supply Silverstone Strider Plus 1000w pp05 cables
Software Win7 Pro64
Benchmark Scores i5 750 4.62ghz pi runs // Evga FTW p55
#5
Sounds like you fried it out .
Did you save your old bios if not you have a paper weight now .
I second that... if you have the first bios then you'd might be saved....
 
Joined
Nov 26, 2007
Messages
9 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#6
I am editing bioses like a mad man :p
trying to bring it to life :p
maybe you guys know where to find where to find this bios?
ATi x800ve AiW samsung 2.0ns AGP 256MB AGP
for now ill stick with editing.. it must be braught back to life :p
 

trickson

OH, I have such a headache
Joined
Dec 5, 2004
Messages
6,517 (1.36/day)
Likes
944
Location
Planet Earth.
#7
I am editing bioses like a mad man :p
trying to bring it to life :p
maybe you guys know where to find where to find this bios?
ATi x800ve AiW samsung 2.0ns AGP 256MB AGP
for now ill stick with editing.. it must be braught back to life :p
Sorry it's dead Jim ... :nutkick:
 

Athlon2K15

HyperVtX™
Joined
Sep 27, 2006
Messages
7,848 (1.90/day)
Likes
2,305
Location
O-H-I-O
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1800x
Motherboard Asus Crosshair VI Hero
Cooling CH6 EK MonoBlock
Memory TridentZ 16GB DDR4 3600
Video Card(s) GTX 1080Ti EK Full Cover Block
Storage Samsung 960 Pro
Display(s) LG 34UC88 Curved Ultrawide
Case EVGA DG86
Power Supply Corsair RM850x
Mouse Asus Strix Evolve
Keyboard Asus Strix Claymore
#8
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 26, 2007
Messages
9 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#9
Sorry it's dead Jim ... :nutkick:
if braught more cards back to life that looked dead to me :p
only never one that ive used the wrong bios on before...
ill keep on trying...

here is the bios for your card good luck
View attachment 10913
thats the bios i am editing right now, the card i am using had samsung 2.0ns memory that bios had samsung 1.6ns memory..

just finished my meal i am going to try my edited bios in a minute...
keep u guys op to date... and thanks :p


by the way.. it looks like the card is not really completly dead, because its responding to bios upgrades (the fan)
 

Athlon2K15

HyperVtX™
Joined
Sep 27, 2006
Messages
7,848 (1.90/day)
Likes
2,305
Location
O-H-I-O
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1800x
Motherboard Asus Crosshair VI Hero
Cooling CH6 EK MonoBlock
Memory TridentZ 16GB DDR4 3600
Video Card(s) GTX 1080Ti EK Full Cover Block
Storage Samsung 960 Pro
Display(s) LG 34UC88 Curved Ultrawide
Case EVGA DG86
Power Supply Corsair RM850x
Mouse Asus Strix Evolve
Keyboard Asus Strix Claymore
#10
all you should have to do is edit the memory timings so there a little looser for the clocks there running and you should be good
 
Joined
Nov 26, 2007
Messages
9 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#11
all you should have to do is edit the memory timings so there a little looser for the clocks there running and you should be good
can u refrase that for me, my english isnt that good.
what exactly should i do with the memory timings?
maybe a example?
 
Joined
Nov 26, 2007
Messages
9 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#12
thanks guys.. :p
after screwing arrowd with rabbit and the aiw bios i finnaly got the card working again!!

its now running as a ATi x800ve All in Wonder 256MB AGP in windows XP :D

modified bios:
downloaded ATi x800 All in Wonder AGP samsung 1.6
changed timings to 2.0ns
changed speed from 500/500 to 425/400
and changed sub id from x800aiw to x800ve aiw
its working just fine.. its running a bench while we speak!

it not mend for playing games anymore by the way, just for my media center...
 
Joined
Oct 7, 2007
Messages
15,007 (3.99/day)
Likes
2,940
Location
In a library somewhere on this earth
System Name Haru
Processor i7 3770k @ 4.5ghz
Motherboard Biostar Tz77xme4
Cooling Koolance C370si loop
Memory 8gb G. Skill Trident X 2400mhz at 10-11-11-28
Video Card(s) XFX Double D 7950 / Zotac 620 for physx
Storage Samsung 830 128gb (os)Muskin Chronos 120gb, Pyro 120gb
Display(s) Viewsonic VX2450WM-LED 24" & Hanns G 28"
Case Cooler Master Cosmos II
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-fi Forte 7.1 Opamp modded
Power Supply Silverstone Strider Plus 1000w pp05 cables
Software Win7 Pro64
Benchmark Scores i5 750 4.62ghz pi runs // Evga FTW p55
#13
Glad to see it up and running. You can never go wrong with a AIW for a media Center
 
Joined
Nov 26, 2007
Messages
9 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#14
yeah well...

seems that the asus s-presso was part of the problem..
i fixed the card using a old (very old) motherboard pentium 3 1.0ghz motherboard
and after using a couple of home made bioses i got it running again.

but when i reinstalled it in my asus s-presso again, it still is not running !!!
it was running before!
still got no clue whats wrong..
the s-presso, for those who do not know what im talking about, is a HTPC barebone specially designed for media center use..
it has a touch screen and display and a IR- remote controll.

The s-presso is running just fine with a geforce 6 6600gt, but the problem with this card is that the s-presso board isnt designed for not-all in wonder cards, sow i need to power the computer with the button (cant use the remote)

The fact that i am lasy, when i am in bed, the s-presso is located in my bed-room.

Next thing i am going to do is trying to find a bios upgrade for my asus s-presso bare-bone motherboard, hopefully asus has created one..
the next thing, i dont know, the x800 aiw is running just fine! sow no need to screw with the bios again, i think!