• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Did I just bricked my MOBO with short circuit ?

Joined
Feb 15, 2024
Messages
44 (0.72/day)
System Name low-end
Processor Ryzen 5 3600(Non-K)
Motherboard MSI B450 Gaming Plus MAX
Cooling Stock Cooler
Memory 16gb (2x8gb) G skill ddr4 3200mhz
Video Card(s) MSI 1070 Ti Gaming 8GB
Storage SSD Verbatim 500GB/HDD Seagate 500gb
Display(s) Tesco monitor ''Technika'' 1920x1080
Case ATX Case from 2003 with homemade holes for vents :skull:
Audio Device(s) RGB Kogaion Speakers
Power Supply EVGA Supernova G2 650Watts Gold
Mouse Redragon RGB
Keyboard Koagion RGB
VR HMD no
Software Windows 10 64bit 22H2
Benchmark Scores ~14 300 out of 30 000max
I don't know where to begin with so....I am collecting money every month to buy new pc parts , First I bought my CPU ryzen 5 3600 second hand,then I bought my mobo and ram (mobo : MSI b450 gaming plus max) and ram ddr4 g.skill 3200mhz.And for the last part I decided to buy the case (because the case it is only aestethics and its not so importnat).So this combo used to work just fine for 1+month with my old case which case is like 2010 old. Yesterday arrived my new case which is 1st player fire dancing v4. I started building my pc case but in my friends home ,I do added the extra 3 screws that was in the spacebag,everything fine and ofcourse I wanted to try if it will run at all (the rgb fans and everything runned well but I didn't got a monitor to display and never knew there is a problem) It runned and I didn't noticed anything unfamiliar except I felt some electric shock when touched couple of times the box itself .My mobo have EZ debug lights.When I get home I tought that everything is fine and I plugged my pc to turn it on ,the CPU light stays on and can't boot and show display .I just changed the pc box and nothing else. I tried everything -GPU to another system ,PSU to another system - works fine,trying to take out the mobo and whole build out of the box that may cause problems - same problem. CMOS clear ,bios reset via JBAT1,reseating CPU couple of times,CPU don't have bent pins,applying new thermal paste 2 times,applying the cpu cooler again slightly,trying different positions for RAM , tried only 1 stick ram in DIMM2,tried to run the system without a CPU (i don't know what i was thinking :D ),tried to run the system without the ram sitcks(same) tried to flash new bios with USB trought the usb 2.0 on the mobo and the flashbutton It didin't worked too, only flash the light of the flashback option 3 times and then nothing ,the only thing I get is CPU red light I don't have spare MOBO to try if the CPU is fried or another CPU. There are no visual damage to the motherboard itself or the CPU ,Can it be bricked mobo by short circuit , or a CPU .GPU and PSU works in another mobo build just fine. The mobo have 3 years of guarantee and It's just 1 month old since I bought it but I don't believe they will replace it because of the reason I am returning it. In my town there is no one I can speak with to diagnose this mobo there are no such a shops or people that do this job .What should I do , should I buy new mobo or new CPU , or could it be just the RAM ? Can this be caused because of the wall socket and is there a chance to happen again when I buy the same mobo when I try to install it in the same box ?
 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 7, 2017
Messages
1,462 (0.62/day)
Location
Ibiza, Spain.
System Name Main
Processor R7 5950x
Motherboard MSI x570S Unify-X Max
Cooling D5 clone, 280 rad, two F14 + three F12S bottom/intake, two P14S + F14S (Rad) + two F14 (top)
Memory 2x8 GB Corsair Vengeance bdie 3600@CL16 1.35v
Video Card(s) GB 2080S WaterForce WB
Storage six M.2 pcie gen 4
Display(s) Sony 50X90J
Case Tt Level 20 HT
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar AE, modded Sennheiser HD 558, Klipsch 2.1 THX
Power Supply Corsair RMx 750w
Mouse Logitech G903
Keyboard GSKILL Ripjaws
VR HMD NA
Software win 10 pro x64
Benchmark Scores TimeSpy score Fire Strike Ultra SuperPosition CB20
i would remove the mb, put it on a flat non/metal surface (wooden desk),
and use the basic stuff to see if it works then, as you might have some "short" between mb and the case.

having the bios button flash 3 times is usually telling you the drive/file wont work,
could be the wrong format, and/or the bios file has to be renamed, to be able to work with flash-back.
e.g. i have to rename my bios file from E7D51AMS.180 to MSI.ROM, and the stick has to be 2GB or less,
formatted in fat32.

fill out your hw specc on your profile so we can help better.
 
Joined
Feb 15, 2024
Messages
44 (0.72/day)
System Name low-end
Processor Ryzen 5 3600(Non-K)
Motherboard MSI B450 Gaming Plus MAX
Cooling Stock Cooler
Memory 16gb (2x8gb) G skill ddr4 3200mhz
Video Card(s) MSI 1070 Ti Gaming 8GB
Storage SSD Verbatim 500GB/HDD Seagate 500gb
Display(s) Tesco monitor ''Technika'' 1920x1080
Case ATX Case from 2003 with homemade holes for vents :skull:
Audio Device(s) RGB Kogaion Speakers
Power Supply EVGA Supernova G2 650Watts Gold
Mouse Redragon RGB
Keyboard Koagion RGB
VR HMD no
Software Windows 10 64bit 22H2
Benchmark Scores ~14 300 out of 30 000max
i would remove the mb, put it on a flat non/metal surface (wooden desk),
and use the basic stuff to see if it works then, as you might have some "short" between mb and the case.

having the bios button flash 3 times is usually telling you the drive/file wont work,
could be the wrong format, and/or the bios file has to be renamed, to be able to work with flash-back.
e.g. i have to rename my bios file from E7D51AMS.180 to MSI.ROM, and the stick has to be 2GB or less,
formatted in fat32.

fill out your hw specc on your profile so we can help better.
Ì did it , I have wooden surface .Same problem
Used only CPU without RAM and with RAM.Same problem
bios button flash 3 times even if there is no USB drive in it.
It is the FAT32 format , the file is named MSI.ROM and the USB is 16gb or 8gb ,Don't have one from 2gb
Also I updated my system specs but they are not showing up here for some reason ... ;x
 
Joined
Nov 7, 2017
Messages
1,462 (0.62/day)
Location
Ibiza, Spain.
System Name Main
Processor R7 5950x
Motherboard MSI x570S Unify-X Max
Cooling D5 clone, 280 rad, two F14 + three F12S bottom/intake, two P14S + F14S (Rad) + two F14 (top)
Memory 2x8 GB Corsair Vengeance bdie 3600@CL16 1.35v
Video Card(s) GB 2080S WaterForce WB
Storage six M.2 pcie gen 4
Display(s) Sony 50X90J
Case Tt Level 20 HT
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar AE, modded Sennheiser HD 558, Klipsch 2.1 THX
Power Supply Corsair RMx 750w
Mouse Logitech G903
Keyboard GSKILL Ripjaws
VR HMD NA
Software win 10 pro x64
Benchmark Scores TimeSpy score Fire Strike Ultra SuperPosition CB20
is it a usb 2.0 stick?

unplug all power cables, remove the cmos battery, press power button for 10s, reinsert battery, plug in psu, and try flashback again.
as long as its flashing 3 times, its a procedure "problem"..

make sure you fill in your hw info on your profile, so we can help a bit better..
 
Joined
Feb 15, 2024
Messages
44 (0.72/day)
System Name low-end
Processor Ryzen 5 3600(Non-K)
Motherboard MSI B450 Gaming Plus MAX
Cooling Stock Cooler
Memory 16gb (2x8gb) G skill ddr4 3200mhz
Video Card(s) MSI 1070 Ti Gaming 8GB
Storage SSD Verbatim 500GB/HDD Seagate 500gb
Display(s) Tesco monitor ''Technika'' 1920x1080
Case ATX Case from 2003 with homemade holes for vents :skull:
Audio Device(s) RGB Kogaion Speakers
Power Supply EVGA Supernova G2 650Watts Gold
Mouse Redragon RGB
Keyboard Koagion RGB
VR HMD no
Software Windows 10 64bit 22H2
Benchmark Scores ~14 300 out of 30 000max
is it a usb 2.0 stick?

unplug all power cables, remove the cmos battery, press power button for 10s, reinsert battery, plug in psu, and try flashback again.
as long as its flashing 3 times, its a procedure "problem"..
it is 2.0

is it a usb 2.0 stick?

unplug all power cables, remove the cmos battery, press power button for 10s, reinsert battery, plug in psu, and try flashback again.
as long as its flashing 3 times, its a procedure "problem"..

make sure you fill in your hw info on your profile, so we can help a bit better..
I did this already, as I said I filled my HW info but it doesn't show up here.I did this since the creation of my account here :) Now when I try to flash the bios , there is no indicator flashing but only starts up the fans and nothing.Update: now it doesn't even start , it start only when i touch the jumper for power sw. There are no beeping sounds,nothing but this CPU red constant light.

Anyway :
MOBO: MSI B450 GAMING PLUS MAX
CPU:Ryzen 5 3600
RAM G.Skill 3200mhz ripjaws V
PSU: EVGA G2 Supernova 650wats 80+gold
GPU:MSI 1070Ti 8gb
1 SSD Verbatim 2.5 500gb
1 HDD Seagate 500gb
 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 7, 2017
Messages
1,462 (0.62/day)
Location
Ibiza, Spain.
System Name Main
Processor R7 5950x
Motherboard MSI x570S Unify-X Max
Cooling D5 clone, 280 rad, two F14 + three F12S bottom/intake, two P14S + F14S (Rad) + two F14 (top)
Memory 2x8 GB Corsair Vengeance bdie 3600@CL16 1.35v
Video Card(s) GB 2080S WaterForce WB
Storage six M.2 pcie gen 4
Display(s) Sony 50X90J
Case Tt Level 20 HT
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar AE, modded Sennheiser HD 558, Klipsch 2.1 THX
Power Supply Corsair RMx 750w
Mouse Logitech G903
Keyboard GSKILL Ripjaws
VR HMD NA
Software win 10 pro x64
Benchmark Scores TimeSpy score Fire Strike Ultra SuperPosition CB20
check if you allowed that your sys specs are shown.
go to profile/specss and check the first line.
make sure not to power on the pc, only insert the stick and press the flashback button until it starts up.
 
Joined
Feb 15, 2024
Messages
44 (0.72/day)
System Name low-end
Processor Ryzen 5 3600(Non-K)
Motherboard MSI B450 Gaming Plus MAX
Cooling Stock Cooler
Memory 16gb (2x8gb) G skill ddr4 3200mhz
Video Card(s) MSI 1070 Ti Gaming 8GB
Storage SSD Verbatim 500GB/HDD Seagate 500gb
Display(s) Tesco monitor ''Technika'' 1920x1080
Case ATX Case from 2003 with homemade holes for vents :skull:
Audio Device(s) RGB Kogaion Speakers
Power Supply EVGA Supernova G2 650Watts Gold
Mouse Redragon RGB
Keyboard Koagion RGB
VR HMD no
Software Windows 10 64bit 22H2
Benchmark Scores ~14 300 out of 30 000max
check if you allowed that your sys specs are shown.
go to profile/specss and check the first line.
make sure not to power on the pc, only insert the stick and press the flashback button until it starts up.
Yes,this is what I am doing . I do it by manual of the motherboard
 
Joined
Nov 7, 2017
Messages
1,462 (0.62/day)
Location
Ibiza, Spain.
System Name Main
Processor R7 5950x
Motherboard MSI x570S Unify-X Max
Cooling D5 clone, 280 rad, two F14 + three F12S bottom/intake, two P14S + F14S (Rad) + two F14 (top)
Memory 2x8 GB Corsair Vengeance bdie 3600@CL16 1.35v
Video Card(s) GB 2080S WaterForce WB
Storage six M.2 pcie gen 4
Display(s) Sony 50X90J
Case Tt Level 20 HT
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar AE, modded Sennheiser HD 558, Klipsch 2.1 THX
Power Supply Corsair RMx 750w
Mouse Logitech G903
Keyboard GSKILL Ripjaws
VR HMD NA
Software win 10 pro x64
Benchmark Scores TimeSpy score Fire Strike Ultra SuperPosition CB20
did you quick format the drive before use?
are there any other files on the stick? if so, remove
 
Joined
Feb 15, 2024
Messages
44 (0.72/day)
System Name low-end
Processor Ryzen 5 3600(Non-K)
Motherboard MSI B450 Gaming Plus MAX
Cooling Stock Cooler
Memory 16gb (2x8gb) G skill ddr4 3200mhz
Video Card(s) MSI 1070 Ti Gaming 8GB
Storage SSD Verbatim 500GB/HDD Seagate 500gb
Display(s) Tesco monitor ''Technika'' 1920x1080
Case ATX Case from 2003 with homemade holes for vents :skull:
Audio Device(s) RGB Kogaion Speakers
Power Supply EVGA Supernova G2 650Watts Gold
Mouse Redragon RGB
Keyboard Koagion RGB
VR HMD no
Software Windows 10 64bit 22H2
Benchmark Scores ~14 300 out of 30 000max
did you quick format the drive before use?
are there any other files on the stick? if so, remove
No , I quick and slow formatted it ,As I said I do it by the manual instructions which are very detailed :)
 
Joined
Nov 7, 2017
Messages
1,462 (0.62/day)
Location
Ibiza, Spain.
System Name Main
Processor R7 5950x
Motherboard MSI x570S Unify-X Max
Cooling D5 clone, 280 rad, two F14 + three F12S bottom/intake, two P14S + F14S (Rad) + two F14 (top)
Memory 2x8 GB Corsair Vengeance bdie 3600@CL16 1.35v
Video Card(s) GB 2080S WaterForce WB
Storage six M.2 pcie gen 4
Display(s) Sony 50X90J
Case Tt Level 20 HT
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar AE, modded Sennheiser HD 558, Klipsch 2.1 THX
Power Supply Corsair RMx 750w
Mouse Logitech G903
Keyboard GSKILL Ripjaws
VR HMD NA
Software win 10 pro x64
Benchmark Scores TimeSpy score Fire Strike Ultra SuperPosition CB20
i did too, but had trouble myself, but cant remember what exactly did the trick, too long ago..
 
Joined
Feb 15, 2024
Messages
44 (0.72/day)
System Name low-end
Processor Ryzen 5 3600(Non-K)
Motherboard MSI B450 Gaming Plus MAX
Cooling Stock Cooler
Memory 16gb (2x8gb) G skill ddr4 3200mhz
Video Card(s) MSI 1070 Ti Gaming 8GB
Storage SSD Verbatim 500GB/HDD Seagate 500gb
Display(s) Tesco monitor ''Technika'' 1920x1080
Case ATX Case from 2003 with homemade holes for vents :skull:
Audio Device(s) RGB Kogaion Speakers
Power Supply EVGA Supernova G2 650Watts Gold
Mouse Redragon RGB
Keyboard Koagion RGB
VR HMD no
Software Windows 10 64bit 22H2
Benchmark Scores ~14 300 out of 30 000max
i did too, but had trouble myself, but cant remember what exactly did the trick.
The thing is I don't even think its because of the flashing bios or bios at all...Now it doesn't even turn on when I try to flashbios it. It turn on but there is not flashback indicator light and only powers on the mobo again with that CPU light
 
Joined
Nov 7, 2017
Messages
1,462 (0.62/day)
Location
Ibiza, Spain.
System Name Main
Processor R7 5950x
Motherboard MSI x570S Unify-X Max
Cooling D5 clone, 280 rad, two F14 + three F12S bottom/intake, two P14S + F14S (Rad) + two F14 (top)
Memory 2x8 GB Corsair Vengeance bdie 3600@CL16 1.35v
Video Card(s) GB 2080S WaterForce WB
Storage six M.2 pcie gen 4
Display(s) Sony 50X90J
Case Tt Level 20 HT
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar AE, modded Sennheiser HD 558, Klipsch 2.1 THX
Power Supply Corsair RMx 750w
Mouse Logitech G903
Keyboard GSKILL Ripjaws
VR HMD NA
Software win 10 pro x64
Benchmark Scores TimeSpy score Fire Strike Ultra SuperPosition CB20
unplug power, remove batt, press power button for 10s, let it sit for a few hours, better 6h.
 
Joined
Feb 15, 2024
Messages
44 (0.72/day)
System Name low-end
Processor Ryzen 5 3600(Non-K)
Motherboard MSI B450 Gaming Plus MAX
Cooling Stock Cooler
Memory 16gb (2x8gb) G skill ddr4 3200mhz
Video Card(s) MSI 1070 Ti Gaming 8GB
Storage SSD Verbatim 500GB/HDD Seagate 500gb
Display(s) Tesco monitor ''Technika'' 1920x1080
Case ATX Case from 2003 with homemade holes for vents :skull:
Audio Device(s) RGB Kogaion Speakers
Power Supply EVGA Supernova G2 650Watts Gold
Mouse Redragon RGB
Keyboard Koagion RGB
VR HMD no
Software Windows 10 64bit 22H2
Benchmark Scores ~14 300 out of 30 000max
unplug power, remove batt, press power button for 10s, let it sit for a few hours, better 6h.
It stayed all night like that.I even putted it in the box and this morrning I took it out for another try.
 
Joined
Nov 7, 2017
Messages
1,462 (0.62/day)
Location
Ibiza, Spain.
System Name Main
Processor R7 5950x
Motherboard MSI x570S Unify-X Max
Cooling D5 clone, 280 rad, two F14 + three F12S bottom/intake, two P14S + F14S (Rad) + two F14 (top)
Memory 2x8 GB Corsair Vengeance bdie 3600@CL16 1.35v
Video Card(s) GB 2080S WaterForce WB
Storage six M.2 pcie gen 4
Display(s) Sony 50X90J
Case Tt Level 20 HT
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar AE, modded Sennheiser HD 558, Klipsch 2.1 THX
Power Supply Corsair RMx 750w
Mouse Logitech G903
Keyboard GSKILL Ripjaws
VR HMD NA
Software win 10 pro x64
Benchmark Scores TimeSpy score Fire Strike Ultra SuperPosition CB20
with the cmos battery removed?
 
Joined
Feb 15, 2024
Messages
44 (0.72/day)
System Name low-end
Processor Ryzen 5 3600(Non-K)
Motherboard MSI B450 Gaming Plus MAX
Cooling Stock Cooler
Memory 16gb (2x8gb) G skill ddr4 3200mhz
Video Card(s) MSI 1070 Ti Gaming 8GB
Storage SSD Verbatim 500GB/HDD Seagate 500gb
Display(s) Tesco monitor ''Technika'' 1920x1080
Case ATX Case from 2003 with homemade holes for vents :skull:
Audio Device(s) RGB Kogaion Speakers
Power Supply EVGA Supernova G2 650Watts Gold
Mouse Redragon RGB
Keyboard Koagion RGB
VR HMD no
Software Windows 10 64bit 22H2
Benchmark Scores ~14 300 out of 30 000max
Joined
Nov 7, 2017
Messages
1,462 (0.62/day)
Location
Ibiza, Spain.
System Name Main
Processor R7 5950x
Motherboard MSI x570S Unify-X Max
Cooling D5 clone, 280 rad, two F14 + three F12S bottom/intake, two P14S + F14S (Rad) + two F14 (top)
Memory 2x8 GB Corsair Vengeance bdie 3600@CL16 1.35v
Video Card(s) GB 2080S WaterForce WB
Storage six M.2 pcie gen 4
Display(s) Sony 50X90J
Case Tt Level 20 HT
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar AE, modded Sennheiser HD 558, Klipsch 2.1 THX
Power Supply Corsair RMx 750w
Mouse Logitech G903
Keyboard GSKILL Ripjaws
VR HMD NA
Software win 10 pro x64
Benchmark Scores TimeSpy score Fire Strike Ultra SuperPosition CB20
unplug power, remove batt, press power button for 10s, let it sit for a few hours,
 
Joined
Jan 18, 2024
Messages
326 (3.66/day)
Location
Mile High City
System Name Keds
Processor 5600X3D
Motherboard Gigabyte X470 AORUS ULTRA GAMING
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 32 GB Team Force DDR4 3200 CL16
Video Card(s) Power Color RX 7900 XT Red Devil
Storage 2x 1TB SSD / NVME
Display(s) AOpen 27in 1440p 170hz (27HC5UR)
Case Modified Corsair 540 Air
Audio Device(s) Logitech G35 / Corsair HS80
Power Supply EVGA 850GQ
Mouse Corsair M65
Keyboard Corsair Strafe Silent
Software Win 11 Home (Modded)
Benchmark Scores It will beat a snail in a down hill race.
Does the bios atleast display?
 
Joined
Feb 15, 2024
Messages
44 (0.72/day)
System Name low-end
Processor Ryzen 5 3600(Non-K)
Motherboard MSI B450 Gaming Plus MAX
Cooling Stock Cooler
Memory 16gb (2x8gb) G skill ddr4 3200mhz
Video Card(s) MSI 1070 Ti Gaming 8GB
Storage SSD Verbatim 500GB/HDD Seagate 500gb
Display(s) Tesco monitor ''Technika'' 1920x1080
Case ATX Case from 2003 with homemade holes for vents :skull:
Audio Device(s) RGB Kogaion Speakers
Power Supply EVGA Supernova G2 650Watts Gold
Mouse Redragon RGB
Keyboard Koagion RGB
VR HMD no
Software Windows 10 64bit 22H2
Benchmark Scores ~14 300 out of 30 000max
Does the bios atleast display?
I have no display at all... Only cpu red light with no other indications , and also what does the 6hours cooldown has to do with this , what does it matter if its 6 hours or 6 years ... I guess 5 minutes is enough if its something related to the cmos battery ,Also i tried to change the cmos battery with another that is working ,and used this one to another mobo which also showed that the current CMOS is working too..The question here is wheter it is fried CPU or bricked/fried motherboard.I don't think its even close to some ''bios '' stuff .As I said there was electric shock coming out of the box when I tried to run the computer in my friend's house.That's why I think it may be some short circuit or smth... Right now I am using my old mobo with old ram and cpu(MSI gaming z87 g45 intel i5 4690*non-k* , 4x4gb ddr3 2400mhz) with my evga PSU ,msi 1070ti the new case (which I think caused short circuit) and my hard drives(ssd drives).I wanted to upgrade from this mobo to the one that is b450 and am4 socket ryzen 5 3600 + gskill but instead something happened and now I am using again the old ones..... I downgraded actually..And don't know what is the reason this to happen when It has worked fine only just with older case.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 18, 2024
Messages
326 (3.66/day)
Location
Mile High City
System Name Keds
Processor 5600X3D
Motherboard Gigabyte X470 AORUS ULTRA GAMING
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 32 GB Team Force DDR4 3200 CL16
Video Card(s) Power Color RX 7900 XT Red Devil
Storage 2x 1TB SSD / NVME
Display(s) AOpen 27in 1440p 170hz (27HC5UR)
Case Modified Corsair 540 Air
Audio Device(s) Logitech G35 / Corsair HS80
Power Supply EVGA 850GQ
Mouse Corsair M65
Keyboard Corsair Strafe Silent
Software Win 11 Home (Modded)
Benchmark Scores It will beat a snail in a down hill race.
Pull cooler, and reseat the the CPU, would be better if you had another AMD AM4 cpu to place into it to verify the mother board is working.

I know you have completed alot of steps that you listed above.

2 sticks of ram, have you tried one stick at a time? In different slots, to rule our a bad memory slot or bad stick?

Try a different graphics card, or use the bottom slot on the motherboard?

the CPU light on the MB would have me worried about the CPU.

also, just a nit pick here. You system specs say 3600(non-K).. that would be non-X, since K is Intel and X is AMD.. :fear:
 
Joined
Feb 15, 2024
Messages
44 (0.72/day)
System Name low-end
Processor Ryzen 5 3600(Non-K)
Motherboard MSI B450 Gaming Plus MAX
Cooling Stock Cooler
Memory 16gb (2x8gb) G skill ddr4 3200mhz
Video Card(s) MSI 1070 Ti Gaming 8GB
Storage SSD Verbatim 500GB/HDD Seagate 500gb
Display(s) Tesco monitor ''Technika'' 1920x1080
Case ATX Case from 2003 with homemade holes for vents :skull:
Audio Device(s) RGB Kogaion Speakers
Power Supply EVGA Supernova G2 650Watts Gold
Mouse Redragon RGB
Keyboard Koagion RGB
VR HMD no
Software Windows 10 64bit 22H2
Benchmark Scores ~14 300 out of 30 000max
Pull cooler, and reseat the the CPU, would be better if you had another AMD AM4 cpu to place into it to verify the mother board is working.

I know you have completed alot of steps that you listed above.

2 sticks of ram, have you tried one stick at a time? In different slots, to rule our a bad memory slot or bad stick?

Try a different graphics card, or use the bottom slot on the motherboard?

the CPU light on the MB would have me worried about the CPU.

also, just a nit pick here. You system specs say 3600(non-K).. that would be non-X, since K is Intel and X is AMD.. :fear:
Unfortunately I don't have another CPU , I have only intel cpu's as spare parts
It would be good to place another cpu but I don't have one , there is no one of my friends that ''understand'' anything from PC and they can't give me spare parts to try
I tried one stick using both of them sticks that I have in 4 of them different slots , no change.I tried different GPU's and all of them are working fine in other mobos .I didn't tried to use the bottom slot for gpu on the mobo , but I don't think that will solve the problem because CPU red light is there no matter what physical changes I do to the mobo. Sorry for the confusion , I am new to AMD cpu's and that's why I missnamed it for K instead of X . :D Until now I used only intel cpu's and tbh I was very impressed by the AMD's when it comes up to gaming and unrotunately now I can't use my new configuration .
 
Joined
Jan 18, 2024
Messages
326 (3.66/day)
Location
Mile High City
System Name Keds
Processor 5600X3D
Motherboard Gigabyte X470 AORUS ULTRA GAMING
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 32 GB Team Force DDR4 3200 CL16
Video Card(s) Power Color RX 7900 XT Red Devil
Storage 2x 1TB SSD / NVME
Display(s) AOpen 27in 1440p 170hz (27HC5UR)
Case Modified Corsair 540 Air
Audio Device(s) Logitech G35 / Corsair HS80
Power Supply EVGA 850GQ
Mouse Corsair M65
Keyboard Corsair Strafe Silent
Software Win 11 Home (Modded)
Benchmark Scores It will beat a snail in a down hill race.
I am new to AMD cpu's and that's why I missnamed it for K instead of X . :D Until now I used only intel cpu's and tbh I was very impressed by the AMD's when it comes up to gaming and unrotunately now I can't use my new configuration .

No worries, that was more of a job and a joke.

Sadly, the only way to check if its MB or CPU is by changing them. The CPU is light ussually mean the CPU is not reporting or responding correctly.

You have taken the cooler of the CPU and pulled and replaced it?
 
Joined
Jan 2, 2024
Messages
169 (1.61/day)
Location
Seattle
System Name DevKit
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 3600 ↗4.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF Gaming X570-Plus WiFi
Cooling Koolance CPU-300-H06, Koolance GPU-180-L06, SC800 Pump
Memory 4x16GB Ballistix 3200MT/s ↗3600
Video Card(s) PowerColor RX 580 Red Devil 8GB ↗1380MHz ↘1105mV, PowerColor RX 7900 XT Hellhound 20GB
Storage 240GB Corsair MP510, 120GB KingDian S280
Display(s) Nixeus VUE-24 (1080p144)
Case Koolance PC2-601BLW + Koolance EHX1020CUV Radiator Kit
Audio Device(s) Oculus CV-1
Power Supply Antec Earthwatts EA-750 Semi-Modular
Mouse Easterntimes Tech X-08, Zelotes C-12
Keyboard Logitech 106-key, Romoral 15-Key Macro, Royal Kludge RK84
VR HMD Oculus CV-1
Software Windows 10 Pro Workstation, VMware Workstation 16 Pro, MS SQL Server 2016, Fan Control v120, Blender
Benchmark Scores Cinebench R15: 1590cb Cinebench R20: 3530cb (7.83x451cb) CPU-Z 17.01.64: 481.2/3896.8 VRMark: 8009
You do know that during the X570 launch there was a chart floating aroud that aluded to the idea that some B450 boards (a lot of them) aren't compatible with Ryzen 3000 series out of box?
Looks something like this:
1711887751438.png


My first priority would be getting the BIOS flash out of the way, before the rest of this. Ryzen 3000 was a VERY new thing even to B450 boards at launch. I believe there's a runoff item that shows up in lists like B450M and I'm guessing that's the out of box compatible set of boards where this combination just works. I went X570 as my introduction to Ryzen so I have no idea what other weird issues out there exist but it definitely sounds like that board needs some work done before you get to a POST screen.
 
Joined
Jan 18, 2024
Messages
326 (3.66/day)
Location
Mile High City
System Name Keds
Processor 5600X3D
Motherboard Gigabyte X470 AORUS ULTRA GAMING
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 32 GB Team Force DDR4 3200 CL16
Video Card(s) Power Color RX 7900 XT Red Devil
Storage 2x 1TB SSD / NVME
Display(s) AOpen 27in 1440p 170hz (27HC5UR)
Case Modified Corsair 540 Air
Audio Device(s) Logitech G35 / Corsair HS80
Power Supply EVGA 850GQ
Mouse Corsair M65
Keyboard Corsair Strafe Silent
Software Win 11 Home (Modded)
Benchmark Scores It will beat a snail in a down hill race.
It was working, but he was getting zapped when he touched the case. Sounds more like there was a bad ground somewhere. I think it shorted, might not be the CPU, but a resistor or something on the MB.
 
Joined
Feb 15, 2024
Messages
44 (0.72/day)
System Name low-end
Processor Ryzen 5 3600(Non-K)
Motherboard MSI B450 Gaming Plus MAX
Cooling Stock Cooler
Memory 16gb (2x8gb) G skill ddr4 3200mhz
Video Card(s) MSI 1070 Ti Gaming 8GB
Storage SSD Verbatim 500GB/HDD Seagate 500gb
Display(s) Tesco monitor ''Technika'' 1920x1080
Case ATX Case from 2003 with homemade holes for vents :skull:
Audio Device(s) RGB Kogaion Speakers
Power Supply EVGA Supernova G2 650Watts Gold
Mouse Redragon RGB
Keyboard Koagion RGB
VR HMD no
Software Windows 10 64bit 22H2
Benchmark Scores ~14 300 out of 30 000max
You do know that during the X570 launch there was a chart floating aroud that aluded to the idea that some B450 boards (a lot of them) aren't compatible with Ryzen 3000 series out of box?
Looks something like this:
View attachment 341438

My first priority would be getting the BIOS flash out of the way, before the rest of this. Ryzen 3000 was a VERY new thing even to B450 boards at launch. I believe there's a runoff item that shows up in lists like B450M and I'm guessing that's the out of box compatible set of boards where this combination just works. I went X570 as my introduction to Ryzen so I have no idea what other weird issues out there exist but it definitely sounds like that board needs some work done before you get to a POST screen.
It worked just fine ,I mean I used it for month+ with this CPU with absolutely no problems , also on the box of mobo is a sign that says Ryzen 3000 desktop ready series .Also I downloaded and flashed the last bios before all of that happen and it used to work just fine with that , I don't think its anything related to bios.Also how I can do anything about it , when I don't have a post and display at all ...As I said I tried many times using the USB drive to flash bios from the flashback button...It doesnt work , sometimes only the flashback bios indicator light show up 3 times and then shuts off(the light) while the system continiue to run without any sign
 
Joined
Jan 18, 2024
Messages
326 (3.66/day)
Location
Mile High City
System Name Keds
Processor 5600X3D
Motherboard Gigabyte X470 AORUS ULTRA GAMING
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 32 GB Team Force DDR4 3200 CL16
Video Card(s) Power Color RX 7900 XT Red Devil
Storage 2x 1TB SSD / NVME
Display(s) AOpen 27in 1440p 170hz (27HC5UR)
Case Modified Corsair 540 Air
Audio Device(s) Logitech G35 / Corsair HS80
Power Supply EVGA 850GQ
Mouse Corsair M65
Keyboard Corsair Strafe Silent
Software Win 11 Home (Modded)
Benchmark Scores It will beat a snail in a down hill race.
Sadly, with none of friends having an AMD board or AMD CPU, you wont be able to check to see which one is dead. If you can find a really cheap AM4 cpu, that will be your best bet to see which it is. board or cpu.
 
Top