• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Difficulty with new build

Joined
Oct 21, 2005
Messages
4,096 (0.92/day)
Likes
1,898
Location
USA
System Name Small ATX Desktop
Processor Intel i5 8600K @ 5 GHz
Motherboard Asrock Z370 Taichi
Cooling PHTC12DX CPU + MK-13 VGA, Fans: Delta, Yate Loon, Corsair
Memory G-Skill DDR4 3200 F4-3200C14D-16GTZ
Video Card(s) PNY Geforce GTX 770 XLR8 2GB
Storage Seagate 600 240GB SSD + 2xWD Caviar Blue WD10EZEX 1TB Data
Display(s) Asus PB258Q 2560x1440 + Asus VH242H 1920x1080
Case Lian Li PC A05NB (Inverted Mobo)
Audio Device(s) Audiotechnica ATH M50X, Antlion Mod Mic 4, SYBA SD-CM-UAUD
Power Supply Seasonic SS-660XP2 660 Watt Platinum
Mouse Zowie EC2A, Corsair MM600
Keyboard Filco Majestouch II Ninja TKL, Goldtouch GTC 0033 Ten Key
Software Win7 Pro 64
#1
Hello.

I just built a new computer with a Biostar NF4 SLI Mobo, a MSI ATI X800XL, 2x512 Mushkin Ram, 80 GB SATA Samsung HDD.

Computer had a lot of difficulty after a fresh reformat and install of windows. Lots of difficulty with drivers, for example, mouse fails to work occasionally after boot. The main problem I am experiencing is the Videocard fails to take any catalyst drivers. After an install of the latest drivers, I get a CLI.exe error, and the catalyst control center fails to load (which it should load every windows boot) Windows is up to date.

The error is as follows:
CLI.exe - Application error:
The application failed to initialize properly (0xc0000135). Click on OK to terminate the application.

Any suggestions? I am wondering about compatibility between this particular motherboard and the video card.

Thanks in advance.


EDIT:

Ran DXDIAG. According to direct x, I am running an x800gto. Should it say x800xl? Is it possible a prior owner (this is a possibly refurb. ebay purchase) flashed the card wrong? Any suggestions? Thanks.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 21, 2005
Messages
4,096 (0.92/day)
Likes
1,898
Location
USA
System Name Small ATX Desktop
Processor Intel i5 8600K @ 5 GHz
Motherboard Asrock Z370 Taichi
Cooling PHTC12DX CPU + MK-13 VGA, Fans: Delta, Yate Loon, Corsair
Memory G-Skill DDR4 3200 F4-3200C14D-16GTZ
Video Card(s) PNY Geforce GTX 770 XLR8 2GB
Storage Seagate 600 240GB SSD + 2xWD Caviar Blue WD10EZEX 1TB Data
Display(s) Asus PB258Q 2560x1440 + Asus VH242H 1920x1080
Case Lian Li PC A05NB (Inverted Mobo)
Audio Device(s) Audiotechnica ATH M50X, Antlion Mod Mic 4, SYBA SD-CM-UAUD
Power Supply Seasonic SS-660XP2 660 Watt Platinum
Mouse Zowie EC2A, Corsair MM600
Keyboard Filco Majestouch II Ninja TKL, Goldtouch GTC 0033 Ten Key
Software Win7 Pro 64
#2
We fixed the videocard issue by installing .NET from microsoft update. It seems really poor of ATI to require .NET and not inform you on installation. Will monitor for future problems. Is the x800gto label in dxdiag something to worry about? Thanks.

Edit: I only have 12 pixel pipelines according to ATI tool...
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 27, 2005
Messages
3,651 (0.79/day)
Likes
341
Location
Little Rock Arkansas, United States
System Name Monolith
Processor Intel Xeon E3110 Wolfdale@3.5GHz
Motherboard MSI P35-Neo
Cooling Active Air
Memory 4GB DDR2 800
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 3850 512MB PCI-E
Storage 1 x 80GB Internal, 1 x 250GB Internal, 1 x 40GB External
Display(s) Acer X203w
Case Generic black case with locking front bezel
Audio Device(s) Creative SB Audigy 2 ZS
Power Supply 500 Watt Seasonic M12
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#3
The X800 XL should have 16 ppl. Have you flashed the BIOS? That could explain the loss of pipelines. Download Sandra and see if it reports only 12 ppl also. Have you re-installled the drivers since you installed .net? I noticed that my X800 np is also being reported as a GTO since I install catalyst 5.11?
 
Joined
Oct 26, 2005
Messages
643 (0.14/day)
Likes
11
Location
Madrid, Spain
System Name Sample light
Processor AMD Phenom II 965
Motherboard MSI DKA790GX
Cooling Zalman 9500LED
Memory 2x 2GB G-skill PC8500
Video Card(s) Asus built AMD/ATI HD4850
Storage 500GB Wesern Digital green
Display(s) too ashamed to tell, but its an acer
Case Lian Li V2000
Audio Device(s) Echo Audiofire 2
Power Supply Corsair VX550
Software Windows XP pro SP3
#4
fall back to 5.10 and try again,

and ati builders should have the decency of including .net on the driver disk atleast to patch the problem untill ati makes decent drivers and gets rid of the .net frameword dependency.
 
Joined
Oct 21, 2005
Messages
4,096 (0.92/day)
Likes
1,898
Location
USA
System Name Small ATX Desktop
Processor Intel i5 8600K @ 5 GHz
Motherboard Asrock Z370 Taichi
Cooling PHTC12DX CPU + MK-13 VGA, Fans: Delta, Yate Loon, Corsair
Memory G-Skill DDR4 3200 F4-3200C14D-16GTZ
Video Card(s) PNY Geforce GTX 770 XLR8 2GB
Storage Seagate 600 240GB SSD + 2xWD Caviar Blue WD10EZEX 1TB Data
Display(s) Asus PB258Q 2560x1440 + Asus VH242H 1920x1080
Case Lian Li PC A05NB (Inverted Mobo)
Audio Device(s) Audiotechnica ATH M50X, Antlion Mod Mic 4, SYBA SD-CM-UAUD
Power Supply Seasonic SS-660XP2 660 Watt Platinum
Mouse Zowie EC2A, Corsair MM600
Keyboard Filco Majestouch II Ninja TKL, Goldtouch GTC 0033 Ten Key
Software Win7 Pro 64
#5
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 13, 2005
Messages
362 (0.08/day)
Likes
18
Location
Saskatoon, SK
Processor FX-8150
Motherboard Gigabyte 990FXA-UD3
Cooling Thermalright Ultra-120 Extreme lapped & shimmed
Memory Patriot Viper Extreme 8GB DDR3-1866 9-11-9-27 1.65V
Video Card(s) MSI 6950 2GB Twin Frozr II @ 6970 875/1375
Storage Crucial M4 0309 64GB
Display(s) Dell U2410
Case Corsair 650D
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Corsair AX750
Software Windows [8] Developer Preview
#6
Aevum said:
fall back to 5.10 and try again,

and ati builders should have the decency of including .net on the driver disk atleast to patch the problem untill ati makes decent drivers and gets rid of the .net frameword dependency.
IIRC .net is only required for catalyst control center if you download the "control panel" option you should be fine. I would direct link but it doesn't seem to work on ATI's site.