• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

DirectStorage API Works Even with PCIe Gen3 NVMe SSDs

btarunr

Editor & Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
40,984 (8.26/day)
Location
Hyderabad, India
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 2700X
Motherboard ASUS ROG Strix B450-E Gaming
Cooling AMD Wraith Prism
Memory 2x 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) Palit GeForce RTX 2080 SUPER GameRock
Storage Western Digital Black NVMe 512GB
Display(s) BenQ 1440p 60 Hz 27-inch
Case Corsair Carbide 100R
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Recon3D PCIe
Power Supply Cooler Master MWE Gold 650W
Mouse ASUS ROG Strix Impact
Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder X4
Software Windows 10 Pro
Microsoft on Tuesday, in a developer presentation, confirmed that the DirectStorage API, designed to speed up the storage sub-system, is compatible even with NVMe SSDs that use the PCI-Express Gen 3 host interface. It also confirmed that all GPUs compatible with DirectX 12 support the feature. A feature making its way to the PC from consoles, DirectStorage enables the GPU to directly access an NVMe storage device, paving the way for GPU-accelerated decompression of game assets.

This works to reduce latencies at the storage sub-system level, and offload the CPU. Any DirectX 12-compatible GPU technically supports DirectStorage, according to Microsoft. The company however recommends DirectX 12 Ultimate GPUs "for the best experience." The GPU-accelerated game asset decompression is handled via compute shaders. In addition to reducing latencies; DirectStorage is said to accelerate the Sampler Feedback feature in DirectX 12 Ultimate.



More slides from the presentation follow.



View at TechPowerUp Main Site
 
Joined
Feb 11, 2009
Messages
3,276 (0.73/day)
System Name Cyberline
Processor Intel Core i7 2600k
Motherboard Asus P8P67 LE Rev 3.0
Cooling Tuniq Tower 120
Memory Corsair (4x2) 8gb 1600mhz
Video Card(s) AMD RX480
Storage Samsung 750 Evo 250gb SSD + WD 1tb x 2 + WD 2tb
Display(s) Philips 32inch LPF5605H (television)
Case antec 600
Audio Device(s) Focusrite 2i4 (USB)
Power Supply Seasonic 620watt 80+ Platinum
Mouse Elecom EX-G
Keyboard Rapoo V700
Software Windows 10 Pro 64bit
"PCIe Gen3 NVMe SSD"
you were a poet but you didnt even know it
 
Last edited by a moderator:
Joined
Jul 16, 2014
Messages
4,918 (1.98/day)
Location
SE Michigan
System Name Dumbass
Processor AMD-9370BE @4.6
Motherboard ASUS SABERTOOTH 990FX R2.0 +SB950
Cooling CM Nepton 280L
Memory G.Skill Sniper 16gb DDR3 2400
Video Card(s) GreenTeam 1080 Gaming X 8GB
Storage C:\SSD (240GB), D:\Seagate (2TB), E:\Western Digital (1TB)
Display(s) 1x Nixeus NX_EDG27, 2x Dell S2440L (16:9)
Case Phanteks Enthoo Primo w/8 140mm SP Fans
Audio Device(s) onboard (realtek?) SPKRS:Logitech Z623 200w 2.1
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard Logitech G910 Orion Spark
Software windows 10
Benchmark Scores https://i.imgur.com/aoz3vWY.jpg?2
Last edited by a moderator:
Joined
Oct 17, 2014
Messages
6,442 (2.69/day)
Location
USA
System Name Paladius Tacet
Processor Ryzen 5600x
Motherboard MSI X570 Tomahawk + SAM Enabled
Cooling Arctic Freezer 34 DUO (aggressive fan curve)
Memory G.Skill 2x16 3600 14-14-14-34 Dual Rank
Video Card(s) Navi 6800 + Rage Mode + OC
Storage 2TB SSD
Display(s) Acer Nitro XF243Y 23.8" IPS 12-Bit 165hz 1080p + Viewsonic VX2768-2KPC-MHD 27" 1440p 144hz VA
Case Corsair 110Q Silent + NZXT Aer-P exhaust fan
Audio Device(s) SennHD58X, Custom Tube AMP, Modi 3 DAC
Power Supply EVGA 700w Gold
Mouse Razer Naga X (2021 Edition)
Keyboard Kingston Hyperx Cherry Mx Blue
Software Linux Ubuntu, Libreoffice, Steam
Joined
Feb 11, 2009
Messages
3,276 (0.73/day)
System Name Cyberline
Processor Intel Core i7 2600k
Motherboard Asus P8P67 LE Rev 3.0
Cooling Tuniq Tower 120
Memory Corsair (4x2) 8gb 1600mhz
Video Card(s) AMD RX480
Storage Samsung 750 Evo 250gb SSD + WD 1tb x 2 + WD 2tb
Display(s) Philips 32inch LPF5605H (television)
Case antec 600
Audio Device(s) Focusrite 2i4 (USB)
Power Supply Seasonic 620watt 80+ Platinum
Mouse Elecom EX-G
Keyboard Rapoo V700
Software Windows 10 Pro 64bit
Joined
Feb 12, 2021
Messages
35 (0.42/day)
Will this work on non DX12 titles, there are plenty of DX9, 10 and 11 titles that would benefit from this boost.

Also, when MicroShaft says "current GPU's" are compatible, what does "current" mean.? Does this only apply tos DX12 GPU's or DX11 GPU's as well.?
 
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 16, 2017
Messages
1,658 (1.34/day)
Location
Buenos Aires, Argentina
System Name System V
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 3600
Motherboard Asus Prime X570-P
Cooling AMD Wraith Stealth // a bunch of 120 mm Xigmatek 1500 RPM fans (2 ins, 3 outs)
Memory 2x8GB Ballistix Sport LT 3200 MHz (BLS8G4D32AESCK.M8FE) (CL16-18-18-36)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte AORUS Radeon RX 580 8 GB
Storage SHFS37A240G / DT01ACA200 / WD20EZRX / MKNSSDTR256GB-3DL / LG BH16NS40 / ST10000VN0008
Display(s) LG 22MP55 IPS Display
Case NZXT Source 210
Audio Device(s) Logitech G430 Headset
Power Supply Corsair CX650M
Mouse Microsoft Trackball Optical 1.0
Keyboard HP Vectra VE keyboard (Part # D4950-63004)
Software Whatever build of Windows 10 is being served in Dev channel at the time.
Benchmark Scores Corona 1.3: 3120620 r/s Cinebench R20: 3355 FireStrike: 12490 TimeSpy: 4624
Will this work on non DX12 titles, there are plenty of DX9, 10 and 11 titles that would benefit from this boost.

Also, when MicroShaft says "current GPU's" are compatible, what does "current" mean.? Does this only apply tos DX12 GPU's or DX11 GPU's as well.?
Looks to me like it's DX12 exclusive. Besides, it must be implemented by the developer, it's not the user's decision whether you can use it or not.
 
Joined
Oct 17, 2014
Messages
6,442 (2.69/day)
Location
USA
System Name Paladius Tacet
Processor Ryzen 5600x
Motherboard MSI X570 Tomahawk + SAM Enabled
Cooling Arctic Freezer 34 DUO (aggressive fan curve)
Memory G.Skill 2x16 3600 14-14-14-34 Dual Rank
Video Card(s) Navi 6800 + Rage Mode + OC
Storage 2TB SSD
Display(s) Acer Nitro XF243Y 23.8" IPS 12-Bit 165hz 1080p + Viewsonic VX2768-2KPC-MHD 27" 1440p 144hz VA
Case Corsair 110Q Silent + NZXT Aer-P exhaust fan
Audio Device(s) SennHD58X, Custom Tube AMP, Modi 3 DAC
Power Supply EVGA 700w Gold
Mouse Razer Naga X (2021 Edition)
Keyboard Kingston Hyperx Cherry Mx Blue
Software Linux Ubuntu, Libreoffice, Steam
Looks to me like it's DX12 exclusive. Besides, it must be implemented by the developer, it's not the user's decision whether you can use it or not.

it probably will be implemented on future ps5/xbox series x ports.
 
Joined
Sep 28, 2012
Messages
738 (0.23/day)
System Name Potato PC
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 3600
Motherboard ASRock B550M Steel Legend
Cooling ID Cooling SE 224XT Basic
Memory 32GB Team Dark Alpha DDR4 3600Mhz
Video Card(s) MSI RX 5700XT Mech OC
Storage Kingston A2000 1TB + 8 TB Toshiba X300
Display(s) Mi Gaming Curved 3440x1440 144Hz
Case Cougar MG120-G
Audio Device(s) Plantronic RIG 400
Power Supply Seasonic X650 Gold
Mouse Logitech G903
Keyboard Logitech G613
Benchmark Scores Who need bench when everything already fast?
From my brief understanding, these only works with storage that direct to the CPU, so it has its limitations. Anything attach to motherboard south bridge that runs on SATA mode will not get same treatment or I just misread graph above?
 

Panther_Seraphin

New Member
Joined
Mar 13, 2021
Messages
4 (0.07/day)
From my brief understanding, these only works with storage that direct to the CPU, so it has its limitations. Anything attach to motherboard south bridge that runs on SATA mode will not get same treatment or I just misread graph above?

Looking at the graphs it basically takes the CPU out of the equation in regards to decompressing data and relies on the GPU to do it.

So depending on implementation it could increase framerates etc by removing CPU cycles being used in the main game thread to decompress assets for the GPU. This could also impact loading times etc as instead of the CPU having to decompress assets to then pass onto the GPU the GPU can take care of that while the CPU is doing things like Level building, AI creation etc etc etc.
 
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
4,574 (0.86/day)
Location
Hong Kong
Processor Ryzen Threadripper 1950X
Motherboard X399 Fatal1ty Professional Gaming
Cooling Custom loop water, 3x 420 Rad
Memory Team T-FORCE XCALIBUR RGB 4000 @3400 CL14
Video Card(s) Zotac RTX 2080 Ti
Storage Samsung 960 Evo 500GB 3-way Raid 0
Display(s) Samsung C27HG70
Case Thermaltake Level 20 XT
Audio Device(s) EVGA Nu Audio
Power Supply FSP Aurum PT 1200W
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
From my brief understanding, these only works with storage that direct to the CPU, so it has its limitations. Anything attach to motherboard south bridge that runs on SATA mode will not get same treatment or I just misread graph above?
Requiring nvme means that drives running in AHCI / SATA mode are out of the question by default.
Now the question is for drives running in NVME mode through the PCH.
My gut feeling is most likely no since going through the PCH naturally causes a latency penalty which nullify the benefits.
Also this might cause security issues, as the PCH is connected to a lot of external IO that could potentially be attacked.
So most likely it just works on drives connected directly to the "northbridge"/uncore/soc/IO die.
 
Last edited:

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
49,736 (8.21/day)
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Rainbow Sparkles
Processor Ryzen R7 5800X
Motherboard Asus x570 Gaming-F
Cooling EK 240mm RGB AIO | Custom 280mm EK loop
Memory 64GB DDR4 3600 Corsair Vengeance RGB @ 3800 C16
Video Card(s) Galax RTX 3090 SG 24GB (0.8v 1.8GHz) - EK ARGB block
Storage 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + 500GB 850 Evo
Display(s) Gigabyte G32QC + Phillips 328m6fjrmb (32" 1440p 165Hz/144Hz curved )
Case Fractal Design R6
Audio Device(s) Razer Leviathan + Corsair Void pro RGB, Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G Pro wireless + Steelseries Prisma XL
Keyboard Razer Huntsman TE
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Lots of RGB, so you know it's fast.
It's gunna let compressed data go from NVME -> GPU VRAM without needing the CPU to decompress it first (GPU's are pretty good at that sort of multi threaded workload these days)

So it should let textures stream across fast, get decompressed and smashed open fast, and generally make load times and texture pop in go away
 
Joined
Feb 21, 2006
Messages
1,070 (0.19/day)
Location
Toronto, Ontario
System Name The Expanse
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 5800X
Motherboard Asus Prime X570-Pro BIOS 3603 AM4 AGESA V2 PI 1.2.0.1 Patch A
Cooling Corsair H150i Pro
Memory 16GB Gskill Trident RGB DDR4-3200 14-14-14-34-1T
Video Card(s) GIGABYTE Radeon RX 580 GAMING 8GB
Storage Corsair MP600 1TB PCIe 4 / Samsung 860Evo 1TB x2 Raid 0 / Asus NAS AS1004T V2 14TB
Display(s) HP ZR24w + LG 24MB35 on Neo-Flex® Dual Monitor Lift Stand
Case Fractal Design Meshify S2
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi + Logitech Z-5500
Power Supply Corsair AX850 Titanium
Mouse Corsair Dark Core RGB
Keyboard Logitech G810
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 20H2
Benchmark Scores 3800X https://valid.x86.fr/1zr4a5 5800X https://valid.x86.fr/1bigrn
Requiring nvme means that drives running in AHCI / SATA mode are out of the question by default.
Now the question is for drives running in NVME mode through the PCH.
My gut feeling is most likely no since going through the PCH naturally causes a latency penalty which nullify the benefits.
Also this might cause security issues, as the PCH is connected to a lot of external IO that could potentially be attacked.
So most likely it just works on drives connected directly to the "northbridge"/uncore/soc/IO die.

They also didn't specify which version of nvme
  • 1.0e (January 2013)
  • 1.1b (July 2014)
  • 1.2 (November 2014)
    • 1.2a (October 2015)
    • 1.2b (June 2016)
    • 1.2.1 (June 2016)
  • 1.3 (May 2017)
    • 1.3a (October 2017)
    • 1.3b (May 2018)
    • 1.3c (May 2018)
    • 1.3d (March 2019)
  • 1.4 (June 2019)
    • 1.4a (March 2020)
    • 1.4b (September 2020)
I'm going to assume they are starting it at 1.2

Will this work on non DX12 titles, there are plenty of DX9, 10 and 11 titles that would benefit from this boost.

Also, when MicroShaft says "current GPU's" are compatible, what does "current" mean.? Does this only apply tos DX12 GPU's or DX11 GPU's as well.?

Dev's will not go back to implement this on older titles not worth spending the resources on that.
 
Joined
Dec 24, 2020
Messages
978 (7.30/day)
Location
Austria
System Name Silent Beast
Processor AMD Ryzen 9 3900X
Motherboard ASUS ROG Strix B550-F
Cooling Noctua NH-D15S Chromax Black @ 950 RPM | Noctua NT-H2 10g
Memory 4x 8 GB G.Skill Trident Z Neo 3600 16-16-16-36
Video Card(s) MSI RTX 3070 Gaming X Trio
Storage 1x Samsung 980 PRO 500 GB | 1x SanDisk X400 512 GB | 2x Crucial MX500 1 TB
Display(s) 1440p 144Hz ASUS TUF VG27AQ | 1080p 72Hz LG 22MP68VQ-P
Case be quiet! Pure Base 500DX Black | 3x Silent Wings 3 140mm PWM High-Speed @ 900 RPM
Audio Device(s) AAF DCH Optimus Sound - Legacy
Power Supply Seasonic Prime PX-750 80+ Platinum Fully Modular
Mouse ASUS ROG Chakram
Keyboard ASUS ROG Strix Flare Cherry MX Red RGB
Software Windows 10 Pro 20H2
Benchmark Scores System produces only ~20 dBa under load while keeping CPU & GPU temps under 65C
Well, the only NVMe that I have is my 500 GB boot drive. Not putting any games there. Gonna wait and see if it's worth to buy an extra 2 TB NVMe just for this.
 
Joined
Feb 12, 2021
Messages
35 (0.42/day)
Looks to me like it's DX12 exclusive. Besides, it must be implemented by the developer, it's not the user's decision whether you can use it or not.
Dev's will not go back to implement this on older titles not worth spending the resources on that.

I think I misunderstood how it functions, I read it as being separate from the games itself and at the DX level, and as such seems to be unlikely that it will work on DX11 of older hardware, or DX11 or older games.


Well, the only NVMe that I have is my 500 GB boot drive. Not putting any games there. Gonna wait and see if it's worth to buy an extra 2 TB NVMe just for this.

I have a 250GB "boot" drive attached to my SB, and a 2TB "games" drive attached directly to my Ryzen CPU, so it looks like I hit the luck jackpot already as I am already ideally configured from the looks of things.
___

It will be interesting to see how this pans out over time and is certainly a boon that AMD has created the APU's for the XBONE and PS5 so us PC gamers will also get the rewards of simple (and better) game ports and this DX12/DirectStorage/XBONE updatewill likely also pass through as the XBONE is of course essentially now just a PC, the future is bright.
 
Joined
Dec 24, 2020
Messages
978 (7.30/day)
Location
Austria
System Name Silent Beast
Processor AMD Ryzen 9 3900X
Motherboard ASUS ROG Strix B550-F
Cooling Noctua NH-D15S Chromax Black @ 950 RPM | Noctua NT-H2 10g
Memory 4x 8 GB G.Skill Trident Z Neo 3600 16-16-16-36
Video Card(s) MSI RTX 3070 Gaming X Trio
Storage 1x Samsung 980 PRO 500 GB | 1x SanDisk X400 512 GB | 2x Crucial MX500 1 TB
Display(s) 1440p 144Hz ASUS TUF VG27AQ | 1080p 72Hz LG 22MP68VQ-P
Case be quiet! Pure Base 500DX Black | 3x Silent Wings 3 140mm PWM High-Speed @ 900 RPM
Audio Device(s) AAF DCH Optimus Sound - Legacy
Power Supply Seasonic Prime PX-750 80+ Platinum Fully Modular
Mouse ASUS ROG Chakram
Keyboard ASUS ROG Strix Flare Cherry MX Red RGB
Software Windows 10 Pro 20H2
Benchmark Scores System produces only ~20 dBa under load while keeping CPU & GPU temps under 65C
I have a 250GB "boot" drive attached to my SB, and a 2TB "games" drive attached directly to my Ryzen CPU, so it looks like I hit the luck jackpot already as I am already ideally configured from the looks of things.
Does it need to be attached to the CPU? My boot drive is set up that way, and I can't even get to the slot without removing my chonky CPU cooler.
 

r9

Joined
Jul 28, 2008
Messages
2,850 (0.61/day)
System Name PC1| PC2|Poweredge r410
Processor i7 9700k| Ryzen 1600| 2 x E5620 @2.4GHz
Memory 16GB DDR4 |16GB DDR4 | 32GB ECC DDR3
Video Card(s) GTX 1070|2 x RX570 |On-Board
Storage 512GB SSD+1TB SSD|512GB SSD+1TB|2x256GBSSD 2x2TBGB
Display(s) 50" 4k TV | 27" + 2 x 24" LCD Setup
Software Windows 10 |Windows 10| Server 2012 r2
"A feature making its way to the PC from consoles" that's just wrong.
 
Joined
Dec 16, 2017
Messages
1,658 (1.34/day)
Location
Buenos Aires, Argentina
System Name System V
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 3600
Motherboard Asus Prime X570-P
Cooling AMD Wraith Stealth // a bunch of 120 mm Xigmatek 1500 RPM fans (2 ins, 3 outs)
Memory 2x8GB Ballistix Sport LT 3200 MHz (BLS8G4D32AESCK.M8FE) (CL16-18-18-36)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte AORUS Radeon RX 580 8 GB
Storage SHFS37A240G / DT01ACA200 / WD20EZRX / MKNSSDTR256GB-3DL / LG BH16NS40 / ST10000VN0008
Display(s) LG 22MP55 IPS Display
Case NZXT Source 210
Audio Device(s) Logitech G430 Headset
Power Supply Corsair CX650M
Mouse Microsoft Trackball Optical 1.0
Keyboard HP Vectra VE keyboard (Part # D4950-63004)
Software Whatever build of Windows 10 is being served in Dev channel at the time.
Benchmark Scores Corona 1.3: 3120620 r/s Cinebench R20: 3355 FireStrike: 12490 TimeSpy: 4624
"A feature making its way to the PC from consoles" that's just wrong.
Eh, not really. With consoles, manufacturers can change everything every gen, so they don't have to keep old code around and can go bonkers innovating how they do things. PCs could actually be held back by the need for backwards compatibility (it's just never really measured until someone comes with a new idea that needs to do away with the old ones).
 
Joined
Sep 28, 2012
Messages
738 (0.23/day)
System Name Potato PC
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 3600
Motherboard ASRock B550M Steel Legend
Cooling ID Cooling SE 224XT Basic
Memory 32GB Team Dark Alpha DDR4 3600Mhz
Video Card(s) MSI RX 5700XT Mech OC
Storage Kingston A2000 1TB + 8 TB Toshiba X300
Display(s) Mi Gaming Curved 3440x1440 144Hz
Case Cougar MG120-G
Audio Device(s) Plantronic RIG 400
Power Supply Seasonic X650 Gold
Mouse Logitech G903
Keyboard Logitech G613
Benchmark Scores Who need bench when everything already fast?
Looking at the graphs it basically takes the CPU out of the equation in regards to decompressing data and relies on the GPU to do it.

So depending on implementation it could increase framerates etc by removing CPU cycles being used in the main game thread to decompress assets for the GPU. This could also impact loading times etc as instead of the CPU having to decompress assets to then pass onto the GPU the GPU can take care of that while the CPU is doing things like Level building, AI creation etc etc etc.

Requiring nvme means that drives running in AHCI / SATA mode are out of the question by default.
Now the question is for drives running in NVME mode through the PCH.
My gut feeling is most likely no since going through the PCH naturally causes a latency penalty which nullify the benefits.
Also this might cause security issues, as the PCH is connected to a lot of external IO that could potentially be attacked.
So most likely it just works on drives connected directly to the "northbridge"/uncore/soc/IO die.

Kinda hope this new technology more flexible just like implementation in PS5 and XSX consoles, they support expansion even though its "proprietary". I guess this piece still in its infancy, let just wait and see what future could bring.
 
Joined
Dec 26, 2006
Messages
684 (0.13/day)
Location
Northern Ontario Canada
System Name Just another PC
Processor Ryzen 1700
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-AX370-K3
Cooling Noctua NH-C12P SE14
Memory DDR4-2133 2x16GB
Video Card(s) XFX RX480 8GB
Storage Samy 960 EVO 500GB m.2, 1TB SSD & a 2TB spinner
Display(s) LG 27UL550-W
Case Be Quiet Pure Base 600 (no window)
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1220
Power Supply EVGA Supernova G2 550W
Mouse Mionix Naos 8200
Keyboard Corsair Strafe with browns
Software W10 Pro x64 v2004
Benchmark Scores Wife says it's fast
MS you know what would be nice. A 24" 4k monitor that doesn't need 300% scaling to see stuff ;)
 
Joined
Dec 16, 2017
Messages
1,658 (1.34/day)
Location
Buenos Aires, Argentina
System Name System V
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 3600
Motherboard Asus Prime X570-P
Cooling AMD Wraith Stealth // a bunch of 120 mm Xigmatek 1500 RPM fans (2 ins, 3 outs)
Memory 2x8GB Ballistix Sport LT 3200 MHz (BLS8G4D32AESCK.M8FE) (CL16-18-18-36)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte AORUS Radeon RX 580 8 GB
Storage SHFS37A240G / DT01ACA200 / WD20EZRX / MKNSSDTR256GB-3DL / LG BH16NS40 / ST10000VN0008
Display(s) LG 22MP55 IPS Display
Case NZXT Source 210
Audio Device(s) Logitech G430 Headset
Power Supply Corsair CX650M
Mouse Microsoft Trackball Optical 1.0
Keyboard HP Vectra VE keyboard (Part # D4950-63004)
Software Whatever build of Windows 10 is being served in Dev channel at the time.
Benchmark Scores Corona 1.3: 3120620 r/s Cinebench R20: 3355 FireStrike: 12490 TimeSpy: 4624
MS you know what would be nice. A 24" 4k monitor that doesn't need 300% scaling to see stuff ;)
Blame the madmen that want and push for those.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
49,736 (8.21/day)
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Rainbow Sparkles
Processor Ryzen R7 5800X
Motherboard Asus x570 Gaming-F
Cooling EK 240mm RGB AIO | Custom 280mm EK loop
Memory 64GB DDR4 3600 Corsair Vengeance RGB @ 3800 C16
Video Card(s) Galax RTX 3090 SG 24GB (0.8v 1.8GHz) - EK ARGB block
Storage 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + 500GB 850 Evo
Display(s) Gigabyte G32QC + Phillips 328m6fjrmb (32" 1440p 165Hz/144Hz curved )
Case Fractal Design R6
Audio Device(s) Razer Leviathan + Corsair Void pro RGB, Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G Pro wireless + Steelseries Prisma XL
Keyboard Razer Huntsman TE
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Lots of RGB, so you know it's fast.
It's possible devs could implement this seperate to DX12 - but its for new games only
The key is that it requires a DX12 GPU to have support for the feature, not that it requires the game to be running in DX12 mode
(At this stage no one knows if the feature will get rolled back to older GPU's, we've only got a few vague clues)
 
Joined
Dec 26, 2006
Messages
684 (0.13/day)
Location
Northern Ontario Canada
System Name Just another PC
Processor Ryzen 1700
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-AX370-K3
Cooling Noctua NH-C12P SE14
Memory DDR4-2133 2x16GB
Video Card(s) XFX RX480 8GB
Storage Samy 960 EVO 500GB m.2, 1TB SSD & a 2TB spinner
Display(s) LG 27UL550-W
Case Be Quiet Pure Base 600 (no window)
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1220
Power Supply EVGA Supernova G2 550W
Mouse Mionix Naos 8200
Keyboard Corsair Strafe with browns
Software W10 Pro x64 v2004
Benchmark Scores Wife says it's fast
Blame the madmen that want and push for those.
I'm really enjoying my 4k 27" screen. Looking at a 24" 1080p screen now is like looking at an 8-bit video game. However I do find it a bit big for the desk, 23-24" would be about perfect size, I mean this is 2021 after all, and whats the typical resolution on a smart phone these days...................
 
Joined
Dec 16, 2017
Messages
1,658 (1.34/day)
Location
Buenos Aires, Argentina
System Name System V
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 3600
Motherboard Asus Prime X570-P
Cooling AMD Wraith Stealth // a bunch of 120 mm Xigmatek 1500 RPM fans (2 ins, 3 outs)
Memory 2x8GB Ballistix Sport LT 3200 MHz (BLS8G4D32AESCK.M8FE) (CL16-18-18-36)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte AORUS Radeon RX 580 8 GB
Storage SHFS37A240G / DT01ACA200 / WD20EZRX / MKNSSDTR256GB-3DL / LG BH16NS40 / ST10000VN0008
Display(s) LG 22MP55 IPS Display
Case NZXT Source 210
Audio Device(s) Logitech G430 Headset
Power Supply Corsair CX650M
Mouse Microsoft Trackball Optical 1.0
Keyboard HP Vectra VE keyboard (Part # D4950-63004)
Software Whatever build of Windows 10 is being served in Dev channel at the time.
Benchmark Scores Corona 1.3: 3120620 r/s Cinebench R20: 3355 FireStrike: 12490 TimeSpy: 4624
I'm really enjoying my 4k 27" screen. Looking at a 24" 1080p screen now is like looking at an 8-bit video game. However I do find it a bit big for the desk, 23-24" would be about perfect size, I mean this is 2021 after all, and whats the typical resolution on a smart phone these days...................
Smartphones are not comparable. They're controlled with what is the equivalent of a giant mouse pointer. They need massive pixel density so that a large amount of content can fit in a tiny 6 inch screen at best, if not smaller, and massive scaling for the user to control the UI and other stuff relatively easily, like tapping on links or selecting content. Take out the pixel density and everything will be big. Take out the scaling and you can try to fine control things when your finger is area bombardment for your touch screen (and provided I have somewhat average fingers for the sample there, I know people with way thicker fingers than mine, and the scaling on my phone can't go to 100%, 125% is the minimum, which is what I used here).

For the reference: 1080p screen at 21.5 inches (so, around 102 PPI, a bit above the 92 PPI of a 1080p 24 inch screen), my phone's 1280x720p 5.7 inch screen scaled to match in real-world size against my display at the upper right and Firefox Responsive Design mode on the lower right to show what it would be like if phones didn't have high pixel density displays. The giant black/white circles are the size of my finger tip on the screen.
20210421-220959.png


Your issue is that you need or want to be able to see a massive amount of content (otherwise you wouldn't have a 4K screen), have a small desk and want to use normal size scales. You can't have all three. Something's gotta give. You gotta step down your resolution, or get a bigger desk or get used to scaling.
 

Panther_Seraphin

New Member
Joined
Mar 13, 2021
Messages
4 (0.07/day)
Ever wondered why the BAR size suddenly got brought up even though its been in the PCI-e spec for years?

I can honestly see the theory of this working on DX11 cards but as with anything in the tech world. Unless its pushing something new or shiny you will pretty much never see it back ported en mass.
 
Top