• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

DirectX and wrong amount of video RAM

KCShelby

New Member
Joined
Jan 16, 2013
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Processor Intel i7-930 2.8 GHz (@ 3.40 GHz)
Motherboard ASUS P6X58D-E
Cooling Zalman CNPS9900ALED (air)
Memory 12 GB Corsair (2 x CMX6GX3M3C1600C7 @ 1624 MHz)
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon HD 7950 (FX-795A-TDBC)
Storage 2 x Western Digital 1TB 7200 RPM (WD1002FBYS)
Display(s) 3 x ASUS VE258Q
Case Lian Li Armorsuit PC-P50
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
Power Supply SeaSonic X750 Gold 750W
Software Microsoft Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
#1
This echoes an un-answered thread I posted in the Microsoft "community"...

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

I was having problems with "running out of video memory" errors in the Aces High online flight sim, so I did a full wipe-and-reinstall of my system. I deleted all the hard disk partitions on both of my hard drives and completely reinstalled Windows 7 Pro 64-bit. I downloaded the latest video drivers from AMD and installed those, too. Here is my setup:

Motherboard: ASUS P6X58D-E
Processor: Intel i7-930 2.8 GHz (@3.4)
Memory: 12 GB Corsair (2 x CMX6GX3M3C1600C7 @ 1624)
Video Card: XFX FX-795A-TDBC Radeon HD 7950
Sound Card: Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
Hard Drive #1: Western Digital 1TB 7200 RPM (WD1002FBYS)
Hard Drive #2: Western Digital 1TB 7200 RPM (WD1002FBYS)
Optical Drive #1: Plextor PX-880SA DVD writer
Optical Drive #2: ASUS DVD-E818A6T DVD ROM
Monitor #1: ASUS VE258Q
Monitor #2: ASUS VE258Q
Monitor #3: ASUS VE258Q
Power Supply: SeaSonic X750 Gold 750W
Case: Lian Li Armorsuit PC-P50
Operating System: Microsoft Windows 7 Professional 64-bit

Dxdiag reports incorrectly that my 3 GB AMD 7950 card has less than 1 GB of video RAM:
...
Card name: AMD Radeon HD 7900 Series
Manufacturer: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc.
Chip type: AMD Radeon Graphics Processor (0x679A)
DAC type: Internal DAC(400MHz)
Device Key: Enum\PCI\VEN_1002&DEV_679A&SUBSYS_32201682&REV_00
Display Memory: 734 MB
Dedicated Memory: 3043 MB
Shared Memory: 1787 MB
Current Mode: 5760 x 1080 (32 bit) (60Hz)
...

The "msinfo32.exe" program reports exactly 1 GB of video RAM (actually 1,073,741,824 bytes).

And when I navigate to "control panel...display...screen resolution...advanced settings... adapter" it reports the following:

Total Available Graphics Memory: 4859 MB
Dedicated Video Memory: 3072 MB
System Video Memory: 0 MB
Shared System Memory: 1787 MB

The video RAM shortage errors continue to plague me, both in Aces High as well as other games. What's going on? Why does a fresh install go so very wrong?

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

I've followed this up by updating the system BIOS, then clearing the CMOS, then yet another re-install of Windows and the AMD drivers. No joy.

I just don't know what else to try, except maybe to RMA the video card.
 
Joined
Dec 6, 2005
Messages
9,806 (2.23/day)
Likes
3,788
Location
Manchester, NH
System Name Working on it ;)
Processor I7-4790K
Motherboard MSI Z97
Cooling Be Quiet Pure Rock Air
Memory 16GB 4x4 G.Skill CAS9 2133 Sniper
Video Card(s) Intel IGP (Dedicated GPU TBD)
Storage WD 320 / 500KS / 500KS / 640KS / 640LS / 640LS / 640LS / 1TBFAEX and a NAS with 2x2Tb WD Black
Display(s) 24" DELL 2405FPW
Case Rosewill Challenger
Audio Device(s) Onboard + HD HDMI
Power Supply Corsair HX750 (love it)
Mouse Logitech G5
Software Win 7 Pro
#2

KCShelby

New Member
Joined
Jan 16, 2013
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Processor Intel i7-930 2.8 GHz (@ 3.40 GHz)
Motherboard ASUS P6X58D-E
Cooling Zalman CNPS9900ALED (air)
Memory 12 GB Corsair (2 x CMX6GX3M3C1600C7 @ 1624 MHz)
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon HD 7950 (FX-795A-TDBC)
Storage 2 x Western Digital 1TB 7200 RPM (WD1002FBYS)
Display(s) 3 x ASUS VE258Q
Case Lian Li Armorsuit PC-P50
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
Power Supply SeaSonic X750 Gold 750W
Software Microsoft Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
#3

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
17,067 (3.44/day)
Likes
17,974
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
#4
Total Available Graphics Memory: 4859 MB
Dedicated Video Memory: 3072 MB
System Video Memory: 0 MB
Shared System Memory: 1787 MB
Your card has 3 GB memory, and if the card runs out of memory, it will use up to an additional 1.78 GB of main memory for graphics data.

seems accurate to me?
 

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
20,921 (6.24/day)
Likes
10,022
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Video Card(s) PowerColor PCS+ 390 8 GiB DVI + HDMI
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate 6 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T240 24" LCD (1920x1200 HDMI) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW 19" LCD (1440x900 DVI)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek Onboard, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
#5
Yeah, I'm thinking memory leak which could potentially be caused by a bad overclock or unstable card.

I think AMD recently released new drivers. You could try that.
 
Joined
Jan 18, 2012
Messages
751 (0.35/day)
Likes
218
System Name My PC
Processor i7 4790k @4.4ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte z97m-d3h
Cooling Corsair H105
Memory 4x4GB Corsair Dominator Platinum 2133-9-11-11-31-1T
Video Card(s) GTX970 Stric oc
Storage Samsung 840Pro 512GB
Display(s) Asus ROG SWIFT
Case Lian Li 359
Audio Device(s) Denon DA-300USB / Denon AH-D5000
Power Supply Corsair AX860
Mouse Roccat Kone Pure Optical
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Win10 64-bit home
#6
I have the XFX 7970. the msinfo32.exe also reports 1.073,741,824 bytes for Adapter RAM in the "Display" tab. DXdiag reports 1768MB of "Approx. Total Memory. Lastly, in "control panel...display...screen resolution...advanced settings... adapter" I get
Total Available Graphics Memory: 5887 MB
Dedicated Video Memory: 3072 MB
System Video Memory: 0 MB
Shared System Memory: 2815 MB

As you can see for both of us, what counts is the "Dedicated Video Memory" just above. The "total available" will change depending on your system's configuration. Most programs, including windows identification programs, will detect the wrong stats of resources (not just RAM) on a 7000 series GPU because that is how the GPU achieves power saving.

EDIT: since you are playing games, just use MSI AB to monitor your card. You will see that during games (modded Skyrim for eg) the card may go near the 3GB mark without issues.
 

KCShelby

New Member
Joined
Jan 16, 2013
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Processor Intel i7-930 2.8 GHz (@ 3.40 GHz)
Motherboard ASUS P6X58D-E
Cooling Zalman CNPS9900ALED (air)
Memory 12 GB Corsair (2 x CMX6GX3M3C1600C7 @ 1624 MHz)
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon HD 7950 (FX-795A-TDBC)
Storage 2 x Western Digital 1TB 7200 RPM (WD1002FBYS)
Display(s) 3 x ASUS VE258Q
Case Lian Li Armorsuit PC-P50
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
Power Supply SeaSonic X750 Gold 750W
Software Microsoft Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
#7
Your card has 3 GB memory, and if the card runs out of memory, it will use up to an additional 1.78 GB of main memory for graphics data.

seems accurate to me?
But that report is the *only* part that's accurate.

DirectX and DxDiag report and act like this card has only 734 Mb of VRAM.

And the "msinfo32.exe" windows utility reports exactly 1.0 GB of VRAM.
 
Joined
Jan 18, 2012
Messages
751 (0.35/day)
Likes
218
System Name My PC
Processor i7 4790k @4.4ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte z97m-d3h
Cooling Corsair H105
Memory 4x4GB Corsair Dominator Platinum 2133-9-11-11-31-1T
Video Card(s) GTX970 Stric oc
Storage Samsung 840Pro 512GB
Display(s) Asus ROG SWIFT
Case Lian Li 359
Audio Device(s) Denon DA-300USB / Denon AH-D5000
Power Supply Corsair AX860
Mouse Roccat Kone Pure Optical
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Win10 64-bit home
#8
The virtual RAM that you PC system sees (called Shared System Memory) is automatically configured by Windows according to the system's needs. The values will depend from system to system.
 

OneMoar

There is Always Moar
Joined
Apr 9, 2010
Messages
7,346 (2.62/day)
Likes
3,964
Location
Rochester area
System Name Kreij Lives On
Processor Intel Core i5 4670K @ 4.4Ghz 1.32V
Motherboard ASUS Maximus VI Gene Z87
Cooling Reeven Okeanos Single 140MM Fan +2 SP120 White's
Memory 16GB kingston hyper x @ 2133 @ 11 11 11 32
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1060 ACX Copper Single fan
Storage 240gb Cruical MX200SSD/WD Blue 1TB
Display(s) Samsung S24D300/HP2071D
Case Custom Full Aluminum By ST.o.CH <3
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply HX 750i
Mouse Roccat KONE
Keyboard Rocatt ISKU with ISKUFX keycaps
Software Windows 10 +startisback
#9
But that report is the *only* part that's accurate.

DirectX and DxDiag report and act like this card has only 734 Mb of VRAM.

And the "msinfo32.exe" windows utility reports exactly 1.0 GB of VRAM.
dxdiag reports the inuse vram not the 'available'
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
10,401 (4.84/day)
Likes
5,481
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Zalman CPNS9900MAX 130mm
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB @ PCI-E 3.0
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 Corsair Force GT Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 17.10
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#10
DirectX and DxDiag report...
And the "msinfo32.exe" windows utility reports...
Well there is your problem. Use GPU-Z instead! :p It also says "Display" memory and I'm willing to bet that means the maximum amount of memory that can be used as the display's frame buffer as opposed to what the maximum the GPU has is. So I think you're getting the terms "display memory" and "video memory" confused where video memory represents all dedicated memory for the GPU and "display memory" is memory accessible by the frame buffer.
gpu-z.PNG
 

qubit

Overclocked quantum bit
Joined
Dec 6, 2007
Messages
14,554 (3.97/day)
Likes
8,060
Location
Quantum Well UK
System Name Quantumville™
Processor Intel Core i7-2700K at stock (hits 5 gees+ easily)
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB (4 x 4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 PC3-12800 C9 1600MHz)
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080 AMP! Extreme Edition
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB | WD Green 4TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2720Z | Asus VG278HE (both 27", 144Hz, 3D Vision 2, 1080p)
Case Cooler Master HAF 922
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX 850W v1
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
#11
Could be a driver/bios issue, perhaps. Check that you have the latest mobo bios. Not really likely to affect it, but doesn't hurt to update it. Are you running the latest video driver?
 

KCShelby

New Member
Joined
Jan 16, 2013
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Processor Intel i7-930 2.8 GHz (@ 3.40 GHz)
Motherboard ASUS P6X58D-E
Cooling Zalman CNPS9900ALED (air)
Memory 12 GB Corsair (2 x CMX6GX3M3C1600C7 @ 1624 MHz)
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon HD 7950 (FX-795A-TDBC)
Storage 2 x Western Digital 1TB 7200 RPM (WD1002FBYS)
Display(s) 3 x ASUS VE258Q
Case Lian Li Armorsuit PC-P50
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
Power Supply SeaSonic X750 Gold 750W
Software Microsoft Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
#12
First off, I'd like to send out a hearty "thank you!" to all the folks who read and replied to this thread. Your input is most appreciated.

My problem seems to be that the Windows DirectX subsystem sees and uses the wrong amount of VRAM. Programs that should run very well on this brand-new 7950 card run out of VRAM.

Immediately after installing only Windows and the AMD drivers, I ran DxDiag and it once again reported that "Display Memory" was 734 MB. I think that is a problem. I simply cannot believe that the Windows desktop eats up over 2 GB VRAM.

Various utilities (including GPU-Z) report 3 GB VRAM, but it's not clear how they arrive at that figure: do they simply read a string somewhere in the video card BIOS, or actually *count* the number of bytes in the VRAM?

After updating my system BIOS, I then cleared the CMOS (no overclock at all), and then re-installed Windows with the latest (non-beta) AMD drivers. This did not help.

What's wrong with DirectX on my machine, and how can I fix it?
 
Joined
Jan 18, 2012
Messages
751 (0.35/day)
Likes
218
System Name My PC
Processor i7 4790k @4.4ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte z97m-d3h
Cooling Corsair H105
Memory 4x4GB Corsair Dominator Platinum 2133-9-11-11-31-1T
Video Card(s) GTX970 Stric oc
Storage Samsung 840Pro 512GB
Display(s) Asus ROG SWIFT
Case Lian Li 359
Audio Device(s) Denon DA-300USB / Denon AH-D5000
Power Supply Corsair AX860
Mouse Roccat Kone Pure Optical
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Win10 64-bit home
#13
Dude it is very simple. You didnt need to spend time with formatting...

Just install MSI Afterburner to monitor the amount of VRAM used. If during an application you run out of VRAM (an I guess the program crashes?) then you go back to MSI Afterburner and see how much Max VRAM was used. If it is 768MB then u got a problem, if you got near 3GB, you are fine!

Since you say you play Skyrim, even with no addons this game should use nearly 1.5GB VRAM at 1900*1200 (my own resolution). WIth your 5760x1080 it should be near 2GB. So it is easy to check with MSI AB.
 

Ntale

New Member
Joined
Nov 14, 2015
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#14
tho the post is old but i have just fixed mine AMD radeon hd 6550A 2Gb wich was indicating 744mb by downloading and installing Direct x 11.1 for windows 7 and 7 sp1. your welcome in advance if it helps
 
Joined
Jun 29, 2009
Messages
776 (0.25/day)
Likes
406
Location
austria
Processor 2500k
Motherboard ud4
Cooling water
Memory 4gb
Video Card(s) 560ti
Power Supply 300sfx
#15
gpu-memory-dxdiag.png
nothing wrong with my card
old thread necro sorry
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jul 17, 2011
Messages
6 (0.00/day)
Likes
3
System Name Custom build, AMD/ATi powered.
Processor AMD FX™ 8350 [8x4.6 GHz]
Motherboard AsRock 970 Extreme3 R2.0
Cooling be quiet! Dark Rock Advanced C1
Memory Crucial, Ballistix Tactical, 16 GByte, 1866, CL9
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon HD 7850 Black Edition, 2 GByte GDDR5
Storage 250/500/1500/2000 GByte, SSD: 60 GByte
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster 950p
Case CoolerMaster HAF 912 Pro
Audio Device(s) 7.1 Digital High Definition Surround
Power Supply be quiet! Straight Power E9 CM 580W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64, SP 1
#16

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
20,921 (6.24/day)
Likes
10,022
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Video Card(s) PowerColor PCS+ 390 8 GiB DVI + HDMI
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate 6 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T240 24" LCD (1920x1200 HDMI) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW 19" LCD (1440x900 DVI)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek Onboard, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
#17
That was last reviewed in 2014. Good chance they're aren't going to fix it.

R9 390: 16,342 MB (actually has 8 GiB)
R7 360: 10,198 MB (actually has 2 GiB)

System RAM: 16 GiB

So it's like splitting half of the system RAM and stacking it on each video card. It makes no sense. dxdiag is broken and Microsoft doesn't care enough to fix it.