1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

DiRT only gets about 12FPS

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by cdawall, Aug 17, 2007.

  1. Lopez0101

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    878 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    201
    Location:
    Overseas
    Airborne runs a lot better than DiRT for me, constant 60FPS and that's with VSync on. Everything maxed, 1280x1024 4xAA. Runs much better than DiRT actually.
     
  2. Casheti

    Casheti New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    4,422 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    29
    Even at 640x400 I got unplayable fps on X1300 Crossfire lol!
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. Lopez0101

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    878 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    201
    Location:
    Overseas
    I didn't even know you could Crossfire X1300's. . . Might as well get one X1900 and get better performance, lol.
     
  4. VeDz New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2006
    Messages:
    70 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    I would like to think it is quite graphic intensive.

    As there is no other game that has heated my card up to 89c. Not the 3dmark03 torture test, 05, 06. Not oblivion. I believe it is graphically intensive as well as being more cpu intensive. Intensive on the whole comp maybe? But my C2D's never went above 45 and I don't have the greatest cooling system running at 3.76.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. KennyT772

    KennyT772 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2005
    Messages:
    3,584 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    103
    C2D's run cooler than you think man. With the settings your playing at you are video limited which is why it heats your video card up so much, not to mention the nonstop AA and HDR.

    Everyone is just bitching and complaining because they have a cpu or ram bottleneck.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  6. Casheti

    Casheti New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    4,422 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    29
    Or they have all bottlenecks known to man :shadedshu
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (3.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,189
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    i am not bitching because of a bottleneck i can play the game just fine with my set-up if i don't max everything out.I just think it sucks.
     
    cdawall and jjnissanpatfan say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. cdawall

    cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    23,902 (6.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,043
    Location:
    Houston
    i can play it @1024X768 just fine it just is not a good game the gfx look good but gameplay is subpar it must have the same phsyx engine as NFS high stakes which is what circa '99? cause i swear they play exactly the same; DiRT just looks prettier


    MOH aibourne is a much better game IMO it play 1024X768 at 2x the framerate and settings are high, med, med, simple on my set up screen
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  9. KennyT772

    KennyT772 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2005
    Messages:
    3,584 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    103
    I agree with you on that note, once its modded it plays much better. The grip is just way to high on everything, and the brakes too powerful. I've been on the DiRT forums a few times and their modded files make everything much more fun.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  10. Lopez0101

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    878 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    201
    Location:
    Overseas
    That was the first thing I noticed about DiRT. Not even rally cars can go from 100 to 20 in two seconds on gravel, just not gonna happen. I agree on the cars having too much grip to. At 60 no matter the turn I should be sliding on gravel, even on most of the paved roads in the game except maybe for the long turns. RalliSport Challenge 2 did a better job of making the cars feel more real.
     
  11. Casheti

    Casheti New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    4,422 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    29
    Do the mods affect online handling too?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  12. cdawall

    cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    23,902 (6.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,043
    Location:
    Houston
    lol how is it that dual X1300s cant keep up with my 7800GS? you also have dual core and better/more of everything than my rig
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  13. Casheti

    Casheti New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    4,422 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    29
    It's cos they just fucking suck.

    And netburst is horrible.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  14. [I.R.A]_FBi

    [I.R.A]_FBi

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,664 (2.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    540
    Location:
    c:\programs\kitteh.exe
    i feel this game is lame ... i get 20 fps with my specs
     
  15. cdawall

    cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    23,902 (6.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,043
    Location:
    Houston
    my dads 930 outscores my a64 in every test and benchie regardless. cpu way out scores mine in AQ3 though i have a better vid card (FX5700 VS 7800GS)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  16. Casheti

    Casheti New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    4,422 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    29
    Everyone gets low fps with it cos it was done badly..

    Just ask Sonasmo. (or Sonosmo.. can't remember)

    7950GT SLi and an E6600.. still lags sometimes on 1024x768.

    Just a badly coded game.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  17. cdawall

    cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    23,902 (6.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,043
    Location:
    Houston
    lol no kidding wonder what my uncle gets with his e6850+sli'd8800GTS 640s
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  18. [I.R.A]_FBi

    [I.R.A]_FBi

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,664 (2.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    540
    Location:
    c:\programs\kitteh.exe
    getting 24 fps now
     
  19. cdawall

    cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    23,902 (6.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,043
    Location:
    Houston
    i got to about 20fps after tweaking
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  20. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,642 (5.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,745
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    20 fps here: Here are my settings.

    Shadows and HDR disabled @ low on 800x600. I wonder why they took a dump while coding this game???
     
  21. Ketxxx

    Ketxxx Heedless Psychic

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,510 (2.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    Kingdom of gods
    I would experiment an see if I can get it running nice like I done for STALKER, but I'm not buying it or downloading a crummy demo thats almost 1GB. Sorry, your all out of luck :p
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  22. Casheti

    Casheti New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    4,422 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    29
    Pirate it.. doofus.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  23. cdawall

    cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    23,902 (6.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,043
    Location:
    Houston
    would think you would get better than that seeing how you kill mark card in benchmarks..all of them though i must admit it still looks ok @1024X768 HDR off no AA/AF
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  24. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,642 (5.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,745
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Yeah, I dunno though, it may just be more cpu/ram dependent than grfx card feature dependent who knows :confused:
     
  25. [I.R.A]_FBi

    [I.R.A]_FBi

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,664 (2.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    540
    Location:
    c:\programs\kitteh.exe
    well i play toca 3 which is another "codemasters" game and i get 180 fps on that with everything on.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)