1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Dirtiest Computer I have Ever Worked on

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by MxPhenom 216, Jun 28, 2012.

  1. CaptainFailcon New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2012
    Messages:
    194 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    41
    depends on where you live
    here in Ny we drain about a quart of water out of our 100Gallon shop compressor every 3 weeks
     
  2. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    11,682 (5.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,433
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    what? Not when you route the cables as tightly as I do.
     
  3. theonedub

    theonedub habe fidem

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    7,762 (2.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,923
    :laugh:

    I also noticed the cables haven't moved an inch in the two pictures, but what that other guy is saying about the two pics is one heck of a stretch- who would even bother to do something like that, and why?

    For cleaning I use a DataVac Blower. I did occasionally use my 30gal compressor but the hassle of dragging it out the garage, filling it to pressure, setting it up, then draining it, rolling the hose back up, etc is a little much :eek:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. SnoopKatt

    SnoopKatt

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    203 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    Location:
    SoCal
    I would use my air compressor if it worked lol. Compressed air for me!
     
  5. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    11,682 (5.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,433
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Yeah no the cables moved as they were being blown but after a while settled back to there normal positions. I blew the case out for close to 10 minutes so.
     
  6. theonedub

    theonedub habe fidem

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    7,762 (2.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,923
    It looks good, I would have liked to see the massive dust cloud that came out that thing the moment the air hit it (that's probably the most entertaining part :D).
     
    cadaveca says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,987 (1.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,649
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    I like using air compressors whenever possible to clean my PCs. "Canned air" is NOT canned air, but rather a can of difluoroethane (compressed into a liquid state) that is rather toxic and can kill you, possibly instantly, if you breathe in a sufficient amount. When you reduce the pressure of the liquid difluoroethane by pulling the trigger on your can, the liquid becomes a gas and evaporates, absorbing the heat around it and "freezing" the can. Technically, using one of those is pretty much how part of an air conditioner works, hence the existence of the "evaporator coil."

    Physics aside, an air compressor at 60 PSI pretty much obliterates the toughest dust problems, while the wimpy, nauseating difluoroethane cans don't work to well on larger dust problems.
     
    nleksan says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  8. GLD

    GLD

    Joined:
    May 13, 2006
    Messages:
    1,525 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    272
    Location:
    City 17, California, U.S.A.
    That is not that bad for 3 years of operation. I have seen worse.

    Air compressor is what I use.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  9. micropage7

    micropage7

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    7,225 (3.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,831
    Location:
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    i usually using paint brush and big fan :toast:
    simple and effective
     
  10. nleksan

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2012
    Messages:
    239 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    36
    Location:
    Ohio
    CaptainFailcon - Wow! That's crazy!

    Also, 60psi will do the trick, but you should try 300psi... It actually scares dust from returning ;)
     
  11. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    11,682 (5.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,433
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    im just glad the CPU can breathe now haha.
     
  12. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    11,802 (3.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,063
  13. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    23,115 (6.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,695
    t_ski says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  14. CaptainFailcon New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2012
    Messages:
    194 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    41
    carefull not to overspeed the fan and explode it I did that once :banghead:
     
  15. CrackerJack

    CrackerJack

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    Messages:
    2,754 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    466
    Location:
    East TN
    I did that once also... damn cheap OEM coolers :banghead:
     
  16. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    45,086 (10.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,287
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    ^


    ALWAYS wedge the fans so they cant spin! even if they dont break, they always end up noisier if you over rev them, or spin them backwards.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  17. HammerON

    HammerON The Watchful Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    7,034 (2.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,191
    Crunching for Team TPU
  18. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    8,093 (3.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,212
    Location:
    Pune
    this thread needs this.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 20, 2013
    TRWOV says thanks.
  19. scaminatrix

    scaminatrix

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3,583 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    798
    Location:
    By the Channel Tunnel, Kent, England
    My brother's PC is worse, I keep on telling him to clean it but it runs 24/7 :p I'll get a pic of it next time I'm there.

    Static again :laugh: I've been hoovering motherboards, GPU's and everything else for years, and I'm not gentle. I go all over the hardware, in RAM and PCI slots, everywhere except the CPU socket. I've never broken anything while hoovering. I know the difference between static from a human and static from a hoover, but it certainly doesn't matter in my case.
    Look at it like this - if you blow a computer with static then you're going to keep on blowing them as you are "prone" to static charges. But like most other people, I'm normal :laugh: I think you shouldn't waste your life worrying about static unless you have problems with randomly dying hardware...
    Static will just never affect some people ;)
     
  20. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    45,086 (10.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,287
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    static is just the excuse for "i smacked off a capacitor with the vacuum, but didnt notice"
     
    Yo_Wattup, Jetster and dark2099 say thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  21. Melvis

    Melvis

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,830 (1.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    627
    Location:
    Australia
    I hate to say it but ive had worse, like when you pull the side panel off dust literally falls out :laugh: and there is a spider web right in-front of you of dust that you need to break through before even getting to the dusty components :shadedshu Some have been that dusty that the dust is even forming outside the computer at the vents, crazy :laugh:
     
  22. OnePostWonder

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2008
    Messages:
    588 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    108
    Is that case the PC-7B Plus II? It's the closest thing I could find to OPs pic (after looking for 5 minutes), but I'm hesitant to say for certain because the expansion slot covers are different. Then again, I'm sure you can buy ventilated expansion slot covers.

    If anyone knows, lemme know. Thanks.
     
  23. naraku

    naraku

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2011
    Messages:
    196 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    25
    Location:
    Porterville, CA
    I always use this to clean my computer.
    Datavac Electric Duster
    Does it create static electricity too?

    It blows good amount of air but it gets loud as vacuum does. lol
     
  24. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    8,093 (3.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,212
    Location:
    Pune
    not sure how you produce static electricity with blowers and vaccums. most of the caps are sheilded.
     
  25. SnoopKatt

    SnoopKatt

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    203 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    Location:
    SoCal
    Hmm, I was wondering why it felt like there was liquid in the can. Thanks for the explanation! As a summer project maybe I can get my compressor working again.

    I wish I took pictures of my sister's laptop when I took it apart. I was astounded that the fan could even spin.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)