• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

disk boot failure

t260g

New Member
Joined
Aug 12, 2006
Messages
142 (0.03/day)
Likes
0
Processor AMD64 X2 3600+ @ 2.6ghz
Motherboard BIOSTAR TFORCE 550
Cooling 5x120mm fans, 3d rocket II
Memory GeIL ddr2 800 2gb 4-4-4-12
Video Card(s) GeCube x1950pro
Case Sunbeam freezing storm
Power Supply xion 500w (38a on 12v rail)
#1
my hard drive died recently, and i ordered a new one. this new drive is a western digital se16 500gb. i need to format this drive, but when i try to boot from cd in post, there is a disk boot failure message: disk boot failure insert system disk and press enter. i have the XP cd in the drive, yet it will not recognize it. if you continue to press enter, the same message appears over and over again. could it be a defective HDD? would jumpers have anything to do with this?
 

BullGod

New Member
Joined
Nov 3, 2007
Messages
412 (0.11/day)
Likes
31
Location
Medias City
#2
Well, did you change the boot sequence in BIOS? It seems to me your computer is trying to boot from the HDD, you gotta set it to boot from the DVD-ROM...
 

t260g

New Member
Joined
Aug 12, 2006
Messages
142 (0.03/day)
Likes
0
Processor AMD64 X2 3600+ @ 2.6ghz
Motherboard BIOSTAR TFORCE 550
Cooling 5x120mm fans, 3d rocket II
Memory GeIL ddr2 800 2gb 4-4-4-12
Video Card(s) GeCube x1950pro
Case Sunbeam freezing storm
Power Supply xion 500w (38a on 12v rail)
#3
yeah, priority: 1. cdrom 2. hdd
 

t260g

New Member
Joined
Aug 12, 2006
Messages
142 (0.03/day)
Likes
0
Processor AMD64 X2 3600+ @ 2.6ghz
Motherboard BIOSTAR TFORCE 550
Cooling 5x120mm fans, 3d rocket II
Memory GeIL ddr2 800 2gb 4-4-4-12
Video Card(s) GeCube x1950pro
Case Sunbeam freezing storm
Power Supply xion 500w (38a on 12v rail)
#5
i have 2. one is genuine, one is not. they have always worked for me, about 2 years running now, i just reformatted another computer yesterday with the genuine copy. i dont have any removable media attached to the pc, just an unformatted drive... its either an incorrect boot priority, which ive personally checked 3 times, or a defective drive
 

t260g

New Member
Joined
Aug 12, 2006
Messages
142 (0.03/day)
Likes
0
Processor AMD64 X2 3600+ @ 2.6ghz
Motherboard BIOSTAR TFORCE 550
Cooling 5x120mm fans, 3d rocket II
Memory GeIL ddr2 800 2gb 4-4-4-12
Video Card(s) GeCube x1950pro
Case Sunbeam freezing storm
Power Supply xion 500w (38a on 12v rail)
#6
i tried an old 5gb 5200 rpm hdd, and it booted fine. however, i cant boot from cd, ive set the priority but it wont boot...
 
Last edited:

BullGod

New Member
Joined
Nov 3, 2007
Messages
412 (0.11/day)
Likes
31
Location
Medias City
#7
Open the case. Unplug the CD-ROM, and insert the cables again. BTW does it sound like it's running or not? That must be the problem, when you switched the HDD you probably unplugged the CD-ROM. They are on the same IDE cable no?
 

t260g

New Member
Joined
Aug 12, 2006
Messages
142 (0.03/day)
Likes
0
Processor AMD64 X2 3600+ @ 2.6ghz
Motherboard BIOSTAR TFORCE 550
Cooling 5x120mm fans, 3d rocket II
Memory GeIL ddr2 800 2gb 4-4-4-12
Video Card(s) GeCube x1950pro
Case Sunbeam freezing storm
Power Supply xion 500w (38a on 12v rail)
#8
its sata, tried all that stuff already...
bios recognizes the drive, its on IDE channel 4, so its not completely dead. however, with my other hdd that this one is supposed to replace, it was also recognized.