• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Disk boot failure!!!

Joined
Apr 18, 2009
Messages
10 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#1
I just built my new computer. I can post and go to bios, but that's it. It recognizes my keyboard, dvd drive and harddrive, but everytime it normal boots, it has the DISK BOOT failure, INSERT SYSTEM DISK AND PRESS ENTER... I'm trying to load up ubuntu from the disk drive, but it doesn't work even though i set the mobo to boot from dvd drive first.


This is a new oem HDD, does it need to be formated?
Is there a way to format it then without an OS?
 
Joined
Sep 25, 2007
Messages
5,822 (1.56/day)
Likes
618
Processor Core I7 3770K@4.3Ghz
Motherboard AsRock Z77 Extreme
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 120M
Memory 12Gb G.Skill Sniper
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1070
Storage Sandisk SSD + 1TB Seagate Barracuda 7200
Display(s) IPS Asus 26inch
Case Antec 300
Audio Device(s) Xonar DG
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 650 G2
Software Windows 10/Windows 7
#2
well, you can start by making sure they're both not on master and most hdd's come with a bootable disc to format them but it should already be

did you buy it used
 
Joined
Nov 18, 2006
Messages
2,964 (0.73/day)
Likes
397
Location
your local vending machine
System Name HTPC||Lenovo IBM ThinkPad
Processor AMD Phenom II x4 965 stock 3.4GHz||Intel C2D T9300 @ 2.5GHz
Motherboard Zotac 890GX-ITX WiFi||Lenovo 8918CTO
Cooling Stock 3x 120's||Stock stuff
Memory 8GB (2x4GB) DDR3 6-6-6-15||3GB DDR2
Video Card(s) Asus 3870x2||nVidia Quadro NVS 140M
Storage 1TB Seagate Barracuda, 1x 2TB WD EARX ||Hitachi 160GB 7200RPM
Display(s) Samsung T260HD||
Case SilverStone Grandia GD05||
Audio Device(s) on-board||on-board
Power Supply Cooler Master 450W||6-cell
Software Windows 7 Pro x64||Windows 7 Pro x64/Linux Mint x64
#3
Since it is set to boot from the DVD drive first, does it, at any point say "To boot from cd or dvd press any key..."?
 
Joined
Apr 18, 2009
Messages
10 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#4
well i bought it new (oem) so it came w/ nothing... is there a way for me to make a bootable disk right now... i can't really format it on this comp cause sadly it is soo old it has no sata ports available... um also "a cheese danish" it doesn't way that "to boot from cd or dvd press any key" i'm using a gigabtye ma78gm-s2h btw.
 
Joined
Mar 13, 2009
Messages
817 (0.26/day)
Likes
93
Location
Bannock County
Processor AMD FX-8320 4.1Ghz
Motherboard Asus Aura
Cooling Corsair H60
Memory Crucial Ballistix Sport 32GB
Video Card(s) EVGA 1060 SC
Storage Intel 535 Series SSD + Seagate FireCuda 2TB
Case NZXT
Power Supply EVGA 650 Watt
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
#5
You need to go into your bios and correct the boot order
 

p_o_s_pc

F@H&WCG addict
Joined
May 2, 2007
Messages
13,002 (3.35/day)
Likes
2,156
Location
Newark ohio
System Name el'lappy|Cruncher | Cruncher 2
Processor intel C2D T6400 | i7 3770k @4.2ghz | AII X2 220 @3.4ghz
Motherboard some Acer | Asus P8Z77-V Pro |Gigabyter GA-M61p-S3
Cooling dual 80mm cooling fan | WC'ing ) |cheapo
Memory 2x2gb ddr3 | 2x2gb Ripjaws 1600 |4x512mb D9s
Video Card(s) onboard | 60 1GB(hd7770 ) |8800GTS
Storage Momuntus xt 320gb |Kingston Hyper X 120gb SATA III|500gb WD
Display(s) 17in | 42" 1080P HD 3D TV
Case lappy case | CM HAF XB |none yet
Audio Device(s) onboard | onboard | onboard
Power Supply Dell brick w/ acer end end | Antec EW 650w |Antec SP 350w(upg.soon)
Software Windows 7 Ult. 64bit---->------->
#6
well i bought it new (oem) so it came w/ nothing... is there a way for me to make a bootable disk right now... i can't really format it on this comp cause sadly it is soo old it has no sata ports available... um also "a cheese danish" it doesn't way that "to boot from cd or dvd press any key" i'm using a gigabtye ma78gm-s2h btw.
format the drive and try again. I had the same problem and formatting it took care of it
 
Joined
Mar 13, 2009
Messages
817 (0.26/day)
Likes
93
Location
Bannock County
Processor AMD FX-8320 4.1Ghz
Motherboard Asus Aura
Cooling Corsair H60
Memory Crucial Ballistix Sport 32GB
Video Card(s) EVGA 1060 SC
Storage Intel 535 Series SSD + Seagate FireCuda 2TB
Case NZXT
Power Supply EVGA 650 Watt
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
#8
You can create a boot disk... but if you have access to another pc, just connect that drive and format it. You shouldnt have to format a oem drive. Are you sure your boot order is correct?
 
Joined
Oct 16, 2006
Messages
2,560 (0.63/day)
Likes
271
Location
N.Ireland
Processor Core I5 750
Motherboard MSI P55-A FUZION
Cooling Titan Fenrir
Memory 8 gb Mushkin and 4 gb Hyper X
Video Card(s) Radeon 7850 Xfire
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 250 gb / Kingston 128 gb ssd / 3x1 terabyte hdds
Display(s) Technika 32" / Asus 24` ips
Case Xigmatek midgard
Audio Device(s) X-fi Titanium
Power Supply Corsair 950 w (Hur Hur !)
Software Windows 7
#9
You can format the disk with like fdisk or something. A linux disk would make more sense but you say it won`t boot....
 
Joined
Oct 16, 2006
Messages
2,560 (0.63/day)
Likes
271
Location
N.Ireland
Processor Core I5 750
Motherboard MSI P55-A FUZION
Cooling Titan Fenrir
Memory 8 gb Mushkin and 4 gb Hyper X
Video Card(s) Radeon 7850 Xfire
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 250 gb / Kingston 128 gb ssd / 3x1 terabyte hdds
Display(s) Technika 32" / Asus 24` ips
Case Xigmatek midgard
Audio Device(s) X-fi Titanium
Power Supply Corsair 950 w (Hur Hur !)
Software Windows 7
#11
Gr8.GL !