• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Display Driver atikmdag

Donny5000

New Member
Joined
Aug 20, 2008
Messages
6 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#1
Whenever I am in a game or watching a movie my screen goes blank and then says that the display driver atikmdag has stopped responding and has recovered. it has recently gotten to the point that 5 minutes of playing a video will cause it. please help does anyone know how to fix this?
 

sneekypeet

Unpaid Babysitter
Staff member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
24,627 (5.77/day)
Likes
9,352
System Name His
Processor Intel i7 5930K
Motherboard Asus Maximus V Extreme
Cooling Thermalright True Spirit 140 BW Rev.A
Memory Corsair Dominator Platinum ROG
Video Card(s) nVidia GTX 1080 SLI with EVGA Hybrid coolers.
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Sony 43" 4K 60hz
Case SilverStone Temjin TJ11
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
#2

Donny5000

New Member
Joined
Aug 20, 2008
Messages
6 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#3
Before I start do I need a disc or anything? I don't have one so that would be problem. Also I have vista and for some reason I can't find the recycle bin... my brother had this computer for a while he must have hidden it? where can i find?
 

sneekypeet

Unpaid Babysitter
Staff member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
24,627 (5.77/day)
Likes
9,352
System Name His
Processor Intel i7 5930K
Motherboard Asus Maximus V Extreme
Cooling Thermalright True Spirit 140 BW Rev.A
Memory Corsair Dominator Platinum ROG
Video Card(s) nVidia GTX 1080 SLI with EVGA Hybrid coolers.
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Sony 43" 4K 60hz
Case SilverStone Temjin TJ11
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
#4
start...control pannel...look at the left side it should be there towards the bottom


All you need to do is go to ATI/AMD and download the latest driver for your card.
http://ati.amd.com/support/driver.html
 

Donny5000

New Member
Joined
Aug 20, 2008
Messages
6 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#5
Didn't work. Did exactly as it said and I still have same problem =/ Appreciate the help though any other ideas? I think I am taking my computer in tomorrow but they like to overcharge just to look at it you know? And i especially don't want to pay them to tell me I need to buy a new one. How much would I good one cost and what is a good driver to buy if I do have to go that route?
 

sleepsus

New Member
Joined
Aug 10, 2008
Messages
36 (0.01/day)
Likes
2
Location
Manila
System Name PEANUT
Processor AMD Athlon 7750 BE @3.1Hz
Motherboard EMMAX EMX-AMD790GX-XTRM
Cooling Thermalright, Antec, Silverstone, Nidec
Memory Xtreem Dark 1066C6 1GB X2
Video Card(s) HIS HD 4850 IceQ 4 Turbo @700/1200
Storage Seagate Barracuda, WD Caviar Blue
Display(s) Samsung Sync Master SW2233
Case Antec Three-Hundred
Audio Device(s) Realtek HD ALC888
Power Supply HEC Raptor R500
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 32bit
#6
Is your card Over Clocked?
 

Donny5000

New Member
Joined
Aug 20, 2008
Messages
6 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#7
No it's not. I don't know if it's relevent but ATITool isn't working anymore... keeps telling me the kernel mode isn't working(?).
 

regan1985

New Member
Joined
Jun 7, 2006
Messages
1,450 (0.34/day)
Likes
23
Location
Coventry UNI England
Processor yorkfield core 2 quad Q8200 3.2ghz 1.26v
Motherboard asus p5Q SE
Cooling akasa ak965
Memory Kingston 1066 2x2gb 1104mhz 2.2v
Video Card(s) SAPPHIRE HD 2600 XT DDR3 857/1078
Storage 2X Samsung spinpoint 500GB 7200 4x 1tb samsung eco 5400
Display(s) 2xSamsung P2270 22" Widescreen
Case NZXT Hush Quiet Case in Black
Power Supply OCZ StealthXStream 500w Silent Power Supply
Software windows 7 64
#8
i had the same problem but only in gaming and infact it was only when i played NFS i tried all the latest drivers and a different vista and still had the same problem..... what card are you using and what OS?
 

JC316

Knows what makes you tick
Joined
Jan 24, 2006
Messages
9,370 (2.16/day)
Likes
982
System Name Budget Gaming
Processor AMD FX6300
Motherboard Gigabyte 880GMA-USB3
Cooling Coolermaster Hyper 212+
Memory 8GB Ripjaws DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) HD7850 1GB
Storage 1TB Sata2
Display(s) Acer 24" LED
Case Generic black
Audio Device(s) Stock onboard
Power Supply FSP Aurum Gold 650W
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
#10
card is ati radeon 2600 pro
i dunno what OS is
OS= Operating System. Windows Xp, Vista? Are the ati2evxxx items both in your task manager? Check by hitting Crtl Alt delete, then select task manager, then processes.
 

onyx1974

New Member
Joined
Aug 29, 2008
Messages
2 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#12
Psu

Hey Donny,

I had this same problem for nearly two weeks now. I was driving myself insane with trying to figure it out.

It turned out that the issue was my PSU, I removed one of my optical drives and put in an external VGA PSU. I ran my system last night for 3 hours with no problem.

Also, here is an AMAZING tweak guide for Vista: http://www.tweakguides.com/TGTC.html
 

phantom8

New Member
Joined
Aug 22, 2008
Messages
18 (0.01/day)
Likes
2
Processor Intel E8400 @3GHz
Motherboard Asus P5K-E/WiFi
Cooling PC Cooler
Memory A-Data DDR2 800MHz (1x2GB + 2x2GB)
Video Card(s) Powercolor 4850 + Asus 3650
Storage 2xWD640GB + 1xSeagate 500GB + 1xSeagate 250GB
Display(s) Benq FP241W + Philips 170B4
Case Coolermaster Elite 332
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Acbel E2 470W
Software Windows 32Bit Ultimate
#13
I purchased a new ATI 3850 for my friend and he had the same GPU recovery problem while in games. We took it back to the dealer and exchanged another one (same brand and model), and this one is working perfectly.
 

onyx1974

New Member
Joined
Aug 29, 2008
Messages
2 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#14
It could be Donny's partiular GPU. It could be that the drivers need a clean install. Look on any forum this has been a hot topic for a while, one that is very hard to diagnose. IF it is the PSU work fast on fixing this issue becuase if that card is sucking up to much juice you could be headed for a very serious problem.
 
Joined
Sep 25, 2007
Messages
5,822 (1.56/day)
Likes
618
Processor Core I7 3770K@4.3Ghz
Motherboard AsRock Z77 Extreme
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 120M
Memory 12Gb G.Skill Sniper
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1070
Storage Sandisk SSD + 1TB Seagate Barracuda 7200
Display(s) IPS Asus 26inch
Case Antec 300
Audio Device(s) Xonar DG
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 650 G2
Software Windows 10/Windows 7
#15
I had that problem with a 3850 and it turned out to be powerplay, but what you can do is uninstall ccc and install atitraytools, that fixes it for me when I use powerplay on my 3850

but your issue sounds bad, its might be the card