• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Displayport to HDMI Adapter

Joined
May 23, 2008
Messages
1,391 (0.40/day)
Likes
216
Processor i5 4670K @ 4.5GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte z87x-UD3H
Cooling Cooler Master Glacier 240l
Memory 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance
Video Card(s) Powercolor 7870xt Tahiti
Storage 2Tb Seagate Barracuda + 30GB OCZ Vertex
Display(s) HP 23" 1080p
Case Rosewill Thor
Audio Device(s) on board w/ JVC HA-RX700 (modded) + harmon/kardon 2.1
Power Supply Enermax Revolution 85+ 1050w
Software Win7
#1
Will this Displayport to HDMI adaptor work for Eyefinity? I want to run 3 1080p monitors at a total resalution of 5760x1080. From the discription it appears that it will work but can anyone confirm?
 
Joined
May 23, 2008
Messages
1,391 (0.40/day)
Likes
216
Processor i5 4670K @ 4.5GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte z87x-UD3H
Cooling Cooler Master Glacier 240l
Memory 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance
Video Card(s) Powercolor 7870xt Tahiti
Storage 2Tb Seagate Barracuda + 30GB OCZ Vertex
Display(s) HP 23" 1080p
Case Rosewill Thor
Audio Device(s) on board w/ JVC HA-RX700 (modded) + harmon/kardon 2.1
Power Supply Enermax Revolution 85+ 1050w
Software Win7
#3

shevanel

New Member
Joined
Jul 27, 2009
Messages
3,464 (1.13/day)
Likes
396
Location
Leesburg, FL
#4
I see what you're are saying.. it is hard to tell whether or not it mans the individual adapter itself could be uses over the spec'd res...

Now I'm starting to think that it means per display not combined and thinking yes it should work.

Single link is 1920x1200 max so you should be good
 
Joined
Oct 21, 2008
Messages
3,459 (1.03/day)
Likes
483
Location
95350
Processor ???
Motherboard 760
Cooling HK
Memory 3x1gb
Video Card(s) 285 Classified / EVGA 480
Display(s) 22" Acer /42" Toshiba
Case Stacker
Power Supply Toughpower 1000w / Coolmaster 650w
Software All of them
#5
no it will not work, you need an active display port adapter.

Sapphire has one that uses a usb to power the adapter
 
Joined
Oct 21, 2008
Messages
3,459 (1.03/day)
Likes
483
Location
95350
Processor ???
Motherboard 760
Cooling HK
Memory 3x1gb
Video Card(s) 285 Classified / EVGA 480
Display(s) 22" Acer /42" Toshiba
Case Stacker
Power Supply Toughpower 1000w / Coolmaster 650w
Software All of them
#7

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,130 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,564
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#9
that is an active adaptor, so it *will* work.

Since its not powered, its capped at 1920x1200@60Hz


Its as simple as that, no ifs or buts.
 
Joined
Oct 21, 2008
Messages
3,459 (1.03/day)
Likes
483
Location
95350
Processor ???
Motherboard 760
Cooling HK
Memory 3x1gb
Video Card(s) 285 Classified / EVGA 480
Display(s) 22" Acer /42" Toshiba
Case Stacker
Power Supply Toughpower 1000w / Coolmaster 650w
Software All of them
#10
that is an active adaptor, so it *will* work.

Since its not powered, its capped at 1920x1200@60Hz


Its as simple as that, no ifs or buts.
You sure?
I thought you needed a power source for dp - dvi , since most were buying that apple adapter

I'm a little confused by this
* They are not powered adapters so they will not work with some cards with three or more Displayport connectors or at resolutions higher than Single link cpability (1920x1200@60Hz).
looks like they are coming out in a few days
http://www.pixmania.co.uk/uk/uk/4291727/art/sapphire-technology/displayport-to-dual-link.html
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,130 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,564
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#11
There is nothing to be confused about.

Displayport doesnt have the signals neccesary for DVI/HDMI operation - but some video cards provide those signals as an 'optional extra'

On those cards, a passive adaptor will do the trick.

For eyefinity, that signal isnt there. So you need an active adaptor.


The only reason everyone uses the powered adaptors, is because people seem to think active = powered. Thats not the case, as this things page clearly states - its active, but due to no power it has a resolution limit.
 
Joined
May 23, 2008
Messages
1,391 (0.40/day)
Likes
216
Processor i5 4670K @ 4.5GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte z87x-UD3H
Cooling Cooler Master Glacier 240l
Memory 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance
Video Card(s) Powercolor 7870xt Tahiti
Storage 2Tb Seagate Barracuda + 30GB OCZ Vertex
Display(s) HP 23" 1080p
Case Rosewill Thor
Audio Device(s) on board w/ JVC HA-RX700 (modded) + harmon/kardon 2.1
Power Supply Enermax Revolution 85+ 1050w
Software Win7
#13
I hate being a Ginny-pig. The above mentioned adapter does NOT work. Can't get more then 2 displays to register at one time.
 
Joined
Mar 9, 2009
Messages
471 (0.15/day)
Likes
77
System Name AMD Black Dragon
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 940 Black Edition
Motherboard Gigabyte MA790X-UD4P
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212+
Memory 4GB OCZ PC2-6400 Platinum (2x2GB)
Video Card(s) ATi Radeon HD4870 512MB GDDR5 w AC Twin Turbo
Storage Crucial C300 64GB SSD, 500GB and 2TB Drives
Display(s) Samsung 2494hm, Dell (Samsung?) 1907FP
Case Lancool (Lian-Li on a budget) K7
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek ALC889A, M-Audio Fast Tracks
Power Supply OCZ Mod-X-Stream Pro 600W
Software Windows 7 Home Premium x64, XP Pro
#14
I have a question.

What the hell do we even need DP for in the first place? I mean isn't DVI and HDMI enough standards for this industry?

Remember when we used DE-15 VGA ports? From ~1987 to 200x that was the one and only video port on the back of virtually every PC out there! We used that baby for nearly 20 years! Now okay I understand the limitations of the Analog RGB vs Digital signals and we needed a change.

It was time to go digital!

But DVI hasn't really been used for that long. What it's been mainstream for 5 years? HDMI hasn't even fully caught on yet and here comes DP? New monitors and shit like this. I would rather have 3 HDMI ports on the back of my Radeon than this DP crap!

Who's with me? 3 HDMI ports anyone?

I mean sure I've heard DP has more bandwidth and blah blah blah.

But my question is...

Do we really need it?

...REALLY?

If the answer is no than why has it even become something on our video cards? Why is anyone supporting it at all?

/rant
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,130 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,564
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#15
DVI and HDMI might as well be the same standard. They are when it comes to visuals.


We're already pushing DVI/HDMI to its limits, and HDMI has a crappy audio implementatio - so DP comes along to fix it.
 
Joined
Mar 9, 2009
Messages
471 (0.15/day)
Likes
77
System Name AMD Black Dragon
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 940 Black Edition
Motherboard Gigabyte MA790X-UD4P
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212+
Memory 4GB OCZ PC2-6400 Platinum (2x2GB)
Video Card(s) ATi Radeon HD4870 512MB GDDR5 w AC Twin Turbo
Storage Crucial C300 64GB SSD, 500GB and 2TB Drives
Display(s) Samsung 2494hm, Dell (Samsung?) 1907FP
Case Lancool (Lian-Li on a budget) K7
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek ALC889A, M-Audio Fast Tracks
Power Supply OCZ Mod-X-Stream Pro 600W
Software Windows 7 Home Premium x64, XP Pro
#16
Yeah I realize DVI-D and HDMI are basically the same thing with a different shape and size port.

You said HDMI has crappy audio implementation but do you think DP will take into the CES/Home Theater market or is it strictly going to stay in the PC world? From what I've seen only PC companies like Dell are pushing it. Plus they would have to start selling receivers with DP on them and I can just see the people who just bought HDMI receivers complaining about that!

Ultimately couldn't the audio issues with other things be upgraded in the HDMI interface and remain backwards compatible? If you buy equipment that has HDMI on it, but your source only supports the lower standards for audio (or video) at least it would still work, you could still plug in from your source and use the same cable. No different than USB 1.1 and USB 2.0 or SATA 150 and SATA 300. At least you can use SATA 300 drives on an old motherboard and use the same cable too. You shouldn't have to buy a new motherboard every few years just because someone says we need to update the specs on Hard Drives. Heck they could simply implement an optical line into the HDMI jack and if your equipment has that option it uses it. I always thought they were going to do that anyway.

I think it has more to do with separate companies backing separate brands. I understand we live in a democracy but sometimes I just hate it when this happens. Sometimes I want someone to step in and say "no only one standard for now!" someone like Intel who has enough pull to get the majority behind them. They do it with many other standards in the PC world don't they?
 
Last edited:

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,130 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,564
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#17
HDMI for example, can send 5.1 sound to a TV/screen - but only 2.0 can come out. Yeah. go figure.

I believe DP fixes that.
 
Joined
Mar 9, 2009
Messages
471 (0.15/day)
Likes
77
System Name AMD Black Dragon
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 940 Black Edition
Motherboard Gigabyte MA790X-UD4P
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212+
Memory 4GB OCZ PC2-6400 Platinum (2x2GB)
Video Card(s) ATi Radeon HD4870 512MB GDDR5 w AC Twin Turbo
Storage Crucial C300 64GB SSD, 500GB and 2TB Drives
Display(s) Samsung 2494hm, Dell (Samsung?) 1907FP
Case Lancool (Lian-Li on a budget) K7
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek ALC889A, M-Audio Fast Tracks
Power Supply OCZ Mod-X-Stream Pro 600W
Software Windows 7 Home Premium x64, XP Pro
#18
That's weird I always just figured HDMI used the same SPDIF signal as anything else. The ATi cards claim they output 7.1 and that's even over DVI on many cards like NVidia cards that actually just take the SPDIF signal off the motherboard or sound card to pass through the HDMI port. Why should the jack matter in the end? Know what I mean?

Or does this have something to do with copy protection/encryption? Like the audio is encrypted (like the video is with HDCP) and down-converted to 2.0 if it's converted to analog or the encryption isn't supported. That would kinda make sense.
 
Joined
Oct 6, 2009
Messages
2,793 (0.93/day)
Likes
835
Location
Midwest USA
System Name My Gaming System
Processor Intel i7 4770k @ 4.4 Ghz
Motherboard Asus Maximus VI Impact (ITX)
Cooling Custom Full System Water cooling Loop
Memory G.Skill 1866 Mhz Sniper 8 Gb
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 780 ti SC
Storage Samsung SSD EVO 120GB - Samsung SSD EVO 500GB
Display(s) ASUS W246H - 24" - widescreen TFT active matrix LCD
Case Bitfenix Prodigy
Power Supply Corsair AX760 Modular PSU
Software Windows 8.1 Home Primeum
#19
From what I understand it has to be a powered Display port if it's not native to work. So No I don't think it will work.

But if it does let us all know. I would love to have Eyfinity .... I have enough monitors for the setup..... just none of them are Native Display port.... and don't feel like spending 100 bucks for a cable to make it work. Damn Display port!
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,130 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,564
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#20
That's weird I always just figured HDMI used the same SPDIF signal as anything else. The ATi cards claim they output 7.1 and that's even over DVI on many cards like NVidia cards that actually just take the SPDIF signal off the motherboard or sound card to pass through the HDMI port. Why should the jack matter in the end? Know what I mean?

Or does this have something to do with copy protection/encryption? Like the audio is encrypted (like the video is with HDCP) and down-converted to 2.0 if it's converted to analog or the encryption isn't supported. That would kinda make sense.
you need some kind of speaker system PRIOR to the TV.

As an example of where the HDCP screws up: HDTV's are allowed to output compressed audio (DD, DTS, etc) over SPDIF if it comes from their built in TV tuner. They are NOT allowed (by the HDMI standard) to allow 5.1 (or anything other than 2.0 uncompressed PCM audio) out of their outputs, if HDMI is used as the input.
 

Wile E

Power User
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
24,318 (5.94/day)
Likes
3,682
System Name The ClusterF**k
Processor 980X @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5 BIOS F12
Cooling MCR-320, DDC-1 pump w/Bitspower res top (1/2" fittings), Koolance CPU-360
Memory 3x2GB Mushkin Redlines 1600Mhz 6-8-6-24 1T
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 580
Storage Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB, 2xSeagate 320GB RAID0; 2xSeagate 3TB; 2xSamsung 2TB; Samsung 1.5TB
Display(s) HP LP2475w 24" 1920x1200 IPS
Case Technofront Bench Station
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Forte into Onkyo SR606 and Polk TSi200's + RM6750
Power Supply ENERMAX Galaxy EVO EGX1250EWT 1250W
Software Win7 Ultimate N x64, OSX 10.8.4
#21
That's weird I always just figured HDMI used the same SPDIF signal as anything else. The ATi cards claim they output 7.1 and that's even over DVI on many cards like NVidia cards that actually just take the SPDIF signal off the motherboard or sound card to pass through the HDMI port. Why should the jack matter in the end? Know what I mean?

Or does this have something to do with copy protection/encryption? Like the audio is encrypted (like the video is with HDCP) and down-converted to 2.0 if it's converted to analog or the encryption isn't supported. That would kinda make sense.
HDMI can output 7.1 channel at 24bit 192khz PCM. More than anyone is capable of hearing the difference of, even with the world's best possible audio setup.

But, DP's extra bandwidth does enable other benefits, like daisy-chaining monitors.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,130 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,564
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#22
HDMI can output 7.1 channel at 24bit 192khz PCM. More than anyone is capable of hearing the difference of, even with the world's best possible audio setup.

But, DP's extra bandwidth does enable other benefits, like daisy-chaining monitors.
he was referring to my badly worded post. i'll make a silly diagram.




HDMI source ------ > TV -----------> 2.0 sound only
HDMI source ------- > decoder/speakers (upto whatever input was) ------> TV

"screens" for lack of a better word, are not allowed to output more than 2.0 audio from HDMI inputs. The decoder has to be BEFORE the screen (stupid, but true)
 

Wile E

Power User
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
24,318 (5.94/day)
Likes
3,682
System Name The ClusterF**k
Processor 980X @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5 BIOS F12
Cooling MCR-320, DDC-1 pump w/Bitspower res top (1/2" fittings), Koolance CPU-360
Memory 3x2GB Mushkin Redlines 1600Mhz 6-8-6-24 1T
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 580
Storage Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB, 2xSeagate 320GB RAID0; 2xSeagate 3TB; 2xSamsung 2TB; Samsung 1.5TB
Display(s) HP LP2475w 24" 1920x1200 IPS
Case Technofront Bench Station
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Forte into Onkyo SR606 and Polk TSi200's + RM6750
Power Supply ENERMAX Galaxy EVO EGX1250EWT 1250W
Software Win7 Ultimate N x64, OSX 10.8.4
#23
he was referring to my badly worded post. i'll make a silly diagram.




HDMI source ------ > TV -----------> 2.0 sound only
HDMI source ------- > decoder/speakers (upto whatever input was) ------> TV

"screens" for lack of a better word, are not allowed to output more than 2.0 audio from HDMI inputs. The decoder has to be BEFORE the screen (stupid, but true)
Oh, yeah, pretty much. That's why I just broke down and bought an HDMI capable receiver.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,130 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,564
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#24
i'm pretty sure (but not 100%) that display port does away with this silly problem. at the very least, you can get a receiver with displayport inputs (when they exist, lol) and use it before, OR after the screen due to its 'hub' like nature.
 
Joined
Jul 10, 2009
Messages
467 (0.15/day)
Likes
89
Location
TR
Processor C2duo e6750@ 2800mhz
Motherboard GA-P43T-ES3G
Cooling Xigmatek S1283
Memory 2x2Gb Kingstone HyperX DDR3 1600 (KHX1600C9D3K2/4GX )
Video Card(s) HIS HD 6870
Storage samsung HD103SJ
Case Xigmatek Utgard
Audio Device(s) X-FI Titanium Pci-e
Power Supply Xigmatek NRP-PC702 700W
Software win7 ultimate -64bit
#25
It is all about clock signals on 5*** cards ,they only have output for 2 dvi/hdmi /vga , DP gives 3rd output because it does not need clock signal (but you need a monitor with DP input or an active adapter to translate signals for dvi/hdmi/vga monitors)
Ati may add needed clock signal for 3rd monitor at future until than our choose is limited ,get a monitor with DP input or use an active adapter.
I have a question.

What the hell do we even need DP for in the first place? I mean isn't DVI and HDMI enough standards for this industry?
I would rather have 3 HDMI ports on the back of my Radeon than this DP crap!

Who's with me? 3 HDMI ports anyone?

Do we really need it?