• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

DIY custom loop/professional person?

Joined
May 4, 2013
Messages
98 (0.03/day)
I build new system now: 5900X with RTX 3080.
Maybe I want to install custom loop on my build.. but dont know if its good idea to install it diy..
or give it to professional person and I will pay him for the installation..
This person request 300$ for the work only..

Because this is a type of project and sometimes the fun is to do it alone .. on the other hand you want it to come out well because it's your new system and it's a bit of a risk ..
what do you think?
 
Joined
Nov 7, 2009
Messages
3,627 (0.88/day)
Location
Denmark
System Name The work PC /4790 fold&WCG /2700x fold&WCG/2700x full time WCG
Processor 3900X stock/ 4790K 4.4/2x2700x stock
Motherboard Gigabyte AORUS Master X570/Maximus Hero/2xMSI X470 M7 AC
Cooling Custom WC/Noctua NH-D15/ 2xNH-U12S SE
Memory G Skill Trident Z F4-4000C18D-16GTZ 3800 CL 16 /8 GB Corsair Vengance/2x16 GB XSkill Flare CL14
Video Card(s) 2070 Super X MSI/2070 Z/2060 X MSI + 2060 Ventus MSI/GTX 970 MSI
Storage 1 TB SSD / 480 GB SSD/2x250 GB SSD
Display(s) Dell UltraSharp U2518D/2408WFP
Case Corsair 800D / none/Lian test bench/NZXT 500 crap
Power Supply AX 850/AX 860/AX 860i/AX 760
Software Dual boot/Win 7/Linux for AMD
Benchmark Scores Cherry pie at one point ;)
Soft or hard tubing? When I build a new loop I use a spare PSU to power the pump and let it run a day with plenty of supervision before I connect the cables from the real PSU and start the whole PC. Soft tubing is easy, hard is for people with some skills.
 
Joined
May 4, 2013
Messages
98 (0.03/day)
I want hard because the aesthetics.. I know how to build a system but I dont tried custom loop.
Soft or hard tubing? When I build a new loop I use a spare PSU to power the pump and let it run a day with plenty of supervision before I connect the cables from the real PSU and start the whole PC. Soft tubing is easy, hard is for people with some skills.
 
Joined
Nov 7, 2009
Messages
3,627 (0.88/day)
Location
Denmark
System Name The work PC /4790 fold&WCG /2700x fold&WCG/2700x full time WCG
Processor 3900X stock/ 4790K 4.4/2x2700x stock
Motherboard Gigabyte AORUS Master X570/Maximus Hero/2xMSI X470 M7 AC
Cooling Custom WC/Noctua NH-D15/ 2xNH-U12S SE
Memory G Skill Trident Z F4-4000C18D-16GTZ 3800 CL 16 /8 GB Corsair Vengance/2x16 GB XSkill Flare CL14
Video Card(s) 2070 Super X MSI/2070 Z/2060 X MSI + 2060 Ventus MSI/GTX 970 MSI
Storage 1 TB SSD / 480 GB SSD/2x250 GB SSD
Display(s) Dell UltraSharp U2518D/2408WFP
Case Corsair 800D / none/Lian test bench/NZXT 500 crap
Power Supply AX 850/AX 860/AX 860i/AX 760
Software Dual boot/Win 7/Linux for AMD
Benchmark Scores Cherry pie at one point ;)
I want hard because the aesthetics.. I know how to build a system but I dont tried custom loop.
I agree that hard tubing look better. I´m sure that you can find a tutorial on YT. Good luck.
 

sneekypeet

Retired Super Moderator
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
28,767 (5.29/day)
System Name His
Processor Intel i9 7920X
Motherboard Asus Prime X299 Deluxe
Cooling Corsair H115i RGB Platinum
Memory G.Skill TridentZ RGB 32GB @ 3600MHz
Video Card(s) nVidia RTX 2080ti
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Samsung 55" 4K 60hz
Case Cooler Master Cosmos C700P (Inverted Layout)
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony Receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
At that $300 investment for "someone to do it" who is in charge of the leaks?

I'd say ask the guy if he would do $100 for knowledge and see if he will help you through the process.... you know, teach a man to fish and all that?
 
Joined
Nov 24, 2018
Messages
1,097 (1.33/day)
Location
south wales uk
System Name 1. The Devils Dialysis VR rig 2. intel teliscope rig 3.MSI GP72MVR Leopard Pro .
Processor 1.3900x @stock 2. i7 7700k @5. 3. i7 7700hq
Motherboard 1.aorus x570 ultra 2. z270-a asus prime
Cooling 1.Hard tube loop, cpu and gpu 2. Hard loop cpu only
Memory 1.hyperx preditor @3600 16gb 2.vengence 32gb @3000 3. 16gb hyperx @2400
Video Card(s) 1.MSI 1080 8gb with EKWB 2. Sapphire Nitro+ rx580 8gb @1450 3. gtx 1060 3gb
Storage 1 M.2 500gb , 2 3tb HDs 2. 256gb ssd, 3tbHD 3. 256 m.2. 1tb ssd
Display(s) 1.LG 50inch UHD , oculus rift S. 2 SONY bravia 1080p, oculus Rift . 3. 17 inch 120 hz display
Case 1. Thermaltake P5 2. loop
Audio Device(s) 1 Onboard 2 Onboard 3 Onboard
Power Supply 1.seasonic gx 850w 2. seasonic gx 750w
Mouse 1 ROG Gladius 2 Corsair m65 pro
Keyboard 1. ROG Strix Flare 2. Corsair F75 RBG 3. steelseries RBG
Software 1. win 10 enterpise 2. win10 pro 3, win10 home
Benchmark Scores 1.7821 cb20 ,cb15 3442 1c 204 cpu-z 1c 539 12c 8847 2. 1106 cb 3.cb 970
mate if i can do custom loops anyone can, go for it watch a few youtube vids to get the jist. it dont matter if you mess a few pipes up everybody dos. Pro Tip dont worry everythings fixable and have plenty of towels dont plug your motherboard/GPU in untill your sure theres no leaks .
 
Joined
May 4, 2013
Messages
98 (0.03/day)
mate if i can do custom loops anyone can, go for it watch a few youtube vids to get the jist. it dont matter if you mess a few pipes up everybody dos. Pro Tip dont worry everythings fixable and have plenty of towels dont plug your motherboard/GPU in untill your sure theres no leaks .

But it is new expensive system.. it is risky..
 

Knoxx29

The Power Of Intel
Joined
Feb 19, 2014
Messages
6,554 (2.56/day)
Location
Behind a VPN
System Name BlackWidow
Processor Intel i7 10700K
Motherboard Asus ROG Maximus XII Hero
Cooling Alphacool Eisbaer 360
Memory 32GB G.SKILL Trident Z RGB 3600Hz
Video Card(s) EVGA GEFORCE RTX 3080 XC3 Ultra
Storage Samsung 970 EVO PLUS 500GB - WD Blue SN550 1TB - 2 X WD Blue 1TB - 3 X WD Black 1TB
Display(s) Asus ROG PG278QR 2560x1440 144Hz (Overclocked 165Hz )/ Samsung
Case Corsair Obsidian 1000D
Audio Device(s) I prefer Gaming-Headset
Power Supply Enermax MaxTytan 1250W 80+ Titan
Mouse Logitech G502 spectrum
Keyboard Virtuis Advanced Gaming Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Enterprise
Benchmark Scores My PC runs FiFA
But it is new expensive system.. it is risky..
Risky is to build a Custom loop and no test it like i always do ( no recommended ) as other already said watch a few YouTube videos and you will be fine.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 24, 2018
Messages
1,097 (1.33/day)
Location
south wales uk
System Name 1. The Devils Dialysis VR rig 2. intel teliscope rig 3.MSI GP72MVR Leopard Pro .
Processor 1.3900x @stock 2. i7 7700k @5. 3. i7 7700hq
Motherboard 1.aorus x570 ultra 2. z270-a asus prime
Cooling 1.Hard tube loop, cpu and gpu 2. Hard loop cpu only
Memory 1.hyperx preditor @3600 16gb 2.vengence 32gb @3000 3. 16gb hyperx @2400
Video Card(s) 1.MSI 1080 8gb with EKWB 2. Sapphire Nitro+ rx580 8gb @1450 3. gtx 1060 3gb
Storage 1 M.2 500gb , 2 3tb HDs 2. 256gb ssd, 3tbHD 3. 256 m.2. 1tb ssd
Display(s) 1.LG 50inch UHD , oculus rift S. 2 SONY bravia 1080p, oculus Rift . 3. 17 inch 120 hz display
Case 1. Thermaltake P5 2. loop
Audio Device(s) 1 Onboard 2 Onboard 3 Onboard
Power Supply 1.seasonic gx 850w 2. seasonic gx 750w
Mouse 1 ROG Gladius 2 Corsair m65 pro
Keyboard 1. ROG Strix Flare 2. Corsair F75 RBG 3. steelseries RBG
Software 1. win 10 enterpise 2. win10 pro 3, win10 home
Benchmark Scores 1.7821 cb20 ,cb15 3442 1c 204 cpu-z 1c 539 12c 8847 2. 1106 cb 3.cb 970
it is risky..
so is life bro, once you have done your first loop and you run it for the first time you will think "what the hell was i worring about" and then you bask in the Glory of your loop :) . like i say if i can do it anyone can.
 
Joined
May 4, 2013
Messages
98 (0.03/day)
so is life bro, once you have done your first loop and you run it for the first time you will think "what the hell was i worring about" and then you bask in the Glory of your loop :) . like i say if i can do it anyone can.
Yeah I know.. but it was some expensive and new system so I dont know haha
and I want beautiful job on my system and because of that I in dilemma if pay for someone.
you do hard tubing?
 
Joined
Nov 24, 2018
Messages
1,097 (1.33/day)
Location
south wales uk
System Name 1. The Devils Dialysis VR rig 2. intel teliscope rig 3.MSI GP72MVR Leopard Pro .
Processor 1.3900x @stock 2. i7 7700k @5. 3. i7 7700hq
Motherboard 1.aorus x570 ultra 2. z270-a asus prime
Cooling 1.Hard tube loop, cpu and gpu 2. Hard loop cpu only
Memory 1.hyperx preditor @3600 16gb 2.vengence 32gb @3000 3. 16gb hyperx @2400
Video Card(s) 1.MSI 1080 8gb with EKWB 2. Sapphire Nitro+ rx580 8gb @1450 3. gtx 1060 3gb
Storage 1 M.2 500gb , 2 3tb HDs 2. 256gb ssd, 3tbHD 3. 256 m.2. 1tb ssd
Display(s) 1.LG 50inch UHD , oculus rift S. 2 SONY bravia 1080p, oculus Rift . 3. 17 inch 120 hz display
Case 1. Thermaltake P5 2. loop
Audio Device(s) 1 Onboard 2 Onboard 3 Onboard
Power Supply 1.seasonic gx 850w 2. seasonic gx 750w
Mouse 1 ROG Gladius 2 Corsair m65 pro
Keyboard 1. ROG Strix Flare 2. Corsair F75 RBG 3. steelseries RBG
Software 1. win 10 enterpise 2. win10 pro 3, win10 home
Benchmark Scores 1.7821 cb20 ,cb15 3442 1c 204 cpu-z 1c 539 12c 8847 2. 1106 cb 3.cb 970
if you pay someone thay can mess up too, ive built loops for customers and ive had to have them back for a fettle plus when you do it yourself you get too learn which is priceless, its not a black art its simple pluming. i will say no more let you decide buddy good luck.
 
Joined
May 4, 2013
Messages
98 (0.03/day)
if you pay someone thay can mess up too, ive built loops for customers and ive had to have them back for a fettle plus when you do it yourself you get too learn which is priceless, its not a black art its simple pluming. i will say no more let you decide buddy good luck.
Yes but the thing is that I probably want to get the new computer already with the loop .. that the computer will be new I do not think I will try a straight loop maybe only if a year passes you understand .. So that's why my dilemma ..
And is it true that hard tubing need some skill in bending and all that? What do you think?
Opinions differ.
 
Joined
Nov 24, 2018
Messages
1,097 (1.33/day)
Location
south wales uk
System Name 1. The Devils Dialysis VR rig 2. intel teliscope rig 3.MSI GP72MVR Leopard Pro .
Processor 1.3900x @stock 2. i7 7700k @5. 3. i7 7700hq
Motherboard 1.aorus x570 ultra 2. z270-a asus prime
Cooling 1.Hard tube loop, cpu and gpu 2. Hard loop cpu only
Memory 1.hyperx preditor @3600 16gb 2.vengence 32gb @3000 3. 16gb hyperx @2400
Video Card(s) 1.MSI 1080 8gb with EKWB 2. Sapphire Nitro+ rx580 8gb @1450 3. gtx 1060 3gb
Storage 1 M.2 500gb , 2 3tb HDs 2. 256gb ssd, 3tbHD 3. 256 m.2. 1tb ssd
Display(s) 1.LG 50inch UHD , oculus rift S. 2 SONY bravia 1080p, oculus Rift . 3. 17 inch 120 hz display
Case 1. Thermaltake P5 2. loop
Audio Device(s) 1 Onboard 2 Onboard 3 Onboard
Power Supply 1.seasonic gx 850w 2. seasonic gx 750w
Mouse 1 ROG Gladius 2 Corsair m65 pro
Keyboard 1. ROG Strix Flare 2. Corsair F75 RBG 3. steelseries RBG
Software 1. win 10 enterpise 2. win10 pro 3, win10 home
Benchmark Scores 1.7821 cb20 ,cb15 3442 1c 204 cpu-z 1c 539 12c 8847 2. 1106 cb 3.cb 970
we can all bend stuff buddy the skill is knowing where to bend it for a good fit and you can only learn that by doing it. my 12 year old grandson did a loop when he was 10 and this christmas hes replaced his soft tube with hard and done a fine job and i didnt show him what to do he just watched some youtube vids.
 
Joined
Jan 25, 2020
Messages
109 (0.27/day)
Start off with a soft tube loop. Then move on to a hard line loop once youve learned the basics. It wont seem as intimidating once you have your first loop under your belt.
If you can build a rig you can build a soft tube loop and make it look just as slick as a hard line ;)
 
Joined
Dec 29, 2010
Messages
1,879 (0.51/day)
Processor AMD 5900x
Motherboard Asus x570 Strix-E
Cooling Hardware Labs
Memory G.Skill 4000c17 2x16gb
Video Card(s) RTX 3090
Storage Sabrent
Display(s) Samsung G9
Case Phanteks 719
Audio Device(s) Fiio K5 Pro
Power Supply EVGA 1300 G2
Mouse Logitech G600
Keyboard Corsair K95
Clearly not everyone can do this. Maybe the OP has a clear grasp his/her limits. You can take your rig to a local MC and they'll install whatever gear you want if you can't do it yourself.
 
Joined
Nov 16, 2007
Messages
641 (0.13/day)
Location
Hampton Roads
Processor Xeon 5650
Motherboard SABERTOOTH X58
Cooling Fans
Memory 24 GB Kingston HyperX 1600
Video Card(s) gtx1060
Storage small ssd
Display(s) Dell 2001F, BenQ short throw
Case Lian Li
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply X750
Software Mint 19.2
Benchmark Scores not so fast...
I'm with the "just do it" crowd. For example, I am certifying for new welding techniques I have never done before. They gave me some practice material and some test material. I welded the test material without instruction, expecting the worst. Well, it survived a destructive test and passed visually. Then on to the next process I have never done, and so on two more times. I was shitting myself every go around, but when it came time for the results, I passed. I am now on processes that I know backward and forward, but in a way I have never done.

That's my career and livelihood on the line. What are you dealing with, a couple thousand dollar toy? You asked, we answered.

Have fun and learn something new!
 
Top