• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

DIY linux router questions

Joined
Jun 27, 2011
Messages
5,627 (2.38/day)
Likes
2,986
Processor Intel I7 4790k (stock)
Motherboard ASRock H97M-ITX/ac LGA 1150 Intel H97
Cooling Prolimatech megahalem
Memory Crucial 2x4gb 1600mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA 1060 3gb
Storage OWC Mercury SSD 240 GB
Display(s) Asus 144hz
Case Raijintek Metis
Power Supply Corsair SF600 600w psu
Software Windows 10 64 Bit
#1
I recently out about these. There is a myriad of linux router distros out there. Since I found out I find the idea really cool on the pretty shallow basis MOAR POWAR, although I do not need it. My current router is a netgear 3700. I have an intel core 2 duo 6300 1.86ghz little system that does not do much right now. Say I were to put a nice wireless card for wireless internet and a couple dual port gigabit cards I would have something a heck of a lot more powerful than my netgear 3700. I would imagine the OS I would choose out of the many out there would have more features than my current router. I imagine I could make an all in one wireless router, nas, and media server.

I feel I might be imagining too much so please feel free to burst my bubble.
 
Last edited:

Frick

Fishfaced Nincompoop
Joined
Feb 27, 2006
Messages
14,886 (3.45/day)
Likes
5,416
System Name A dancer in your disco of fire
Processor i3 4130 3.4Ghz
Motherboard MSI B85M-E45
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo
Memory 4 x 4GB Crucial Ballistix Sport 1400Mhz
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 760 DCU2OC 2GB
Storage Crucial BX100 120GB | WD Blue 1TB x 2
Display(s) BenQ GL2450HT
Case AeroCool DS Cube White
Power Supply Cooler Master G550M
Mouse Intellimouse Explorer 3.0
Keyboard Dell SK-3205
Software Windows 10 Pro
#2
Aye it's totally possible. I built a router a bunch of years ago using Freesco running from a floppy. It was kinda slow. :p

I can't be of much help though as many moons has passed since then.. So I'm interested too. My biggest worry (if it is a worry) is that a router is often your first connection at home, so I imagine you would have to think about security, especially if you have it as a media server as well. But again this is only what I imagine, I don't actually know. Will follow thread. :)
 
Joined
Dec 6, 2012
Messages
172 (0.09/day)
Likes
38
Processor 4GHz intel i7 950
Motherboard GA X58-USB3 F5
Cooling Noctua C12P
Memory 48GB G.Skill RipjawsZ
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 480 873/1746/1848
Storage Intel 520 Series
Display(s) HP 2210m
Case Antec 300
Power Supply Antec True Power New 750
Software Windows 8 Pro
#3
This is what I used last time. However routers these days are powerful enough to do everything anyway (with either Atom or ARM CPUs).
http://www.clarkconnect.com/
 
Joined
Jun 27, 2011
Messages
5,627 (2.38/day)
Likes
2,986
Processor Intel I7 4790k (stock)
Motherboard ASRock H97M-ITX/ac LGA 1150 Intel H97
Cooling Prolimatech megahalem
Memory Crucial 2x4gb 1600mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA 1060 3gb
Storage OWC Mercury SSD 240 GB
Display(s) Asus 144hz
Case Raijintek Metis
Power Supply Corsair SF600 600w psu
Software Windows 10 64 Bit
#4
Aye it's totally possible. I built a router a bunch of years ago using Freesco running from a floppy. It was kinda slow. :p

I can't be of much help though as many moons has passed since then.. So I'm interested too. My biggest worry (if it is a worry) is that a router is often your first connection at home, so I imagine you would have to think about security, especially if you have it as a media server as well. But again this is only what I imagine, I don't actually know. Will follow thread. :)
I honestly would not use it as a media server or nas if I were to even make one but those are features often talked about. Security wise, I have only read good things.

This is what I used last time. However routers these days are powerful enough to do everything anyway (with either Atom or ARM CPUs).
http://www.clarkconnect.com/
I know todays routers are powerful enough; my 3700 is a great router. My reasons as stated are shallow, those and it would be fun to do which I did not say.

You may of used that but there is a lot more.
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_router_or_firewall_distributions
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 12, 2009
Messages
1,042 (0.33/day)
Likes
153
Location
SCOTLAND!
System Name Machine XII
Processor Phenom II 1155T
Motherboard Asus M4A88TD-M EVO/USB3
Cooling Custom Water Cooling
Memory 8Gb ddr3 1600mhz XMS 3
Video Card(s) HD5970 2Gb
Storage 128Gb Sandisk SATAIII 6G/s
Display(s) 19" + 23" + 17"
Case micro atx case
Audio Device(s) XFi xtreme OEM
Power Supply 750W
Software Windows 7 x64 Ultimate
#5
I run x86 on my esxi server but I would rather it was a stand alone box so the net doesn't go down when I reboot the server I was looking at a via or pentium m itx board. They have better single thread performance than an atom.
 
Joined
Oct 13, 2007
Messages
7,693 (2.07/day)
Likes
1,772
Location
Chicago
System Name DarkStar
Processor i5 3570K 4.4Ghz
Motherboard Asrock Z77 Extreme 3
Cooling Apogee HD White/XSPC Razer blocks
Memory 8GB Samsung Green 1600
Video Card(s) 2 x GTX 670 4GB
Storage 2 x 120GB Samsung 830
Display(s) 27" QNIX
Case Enthoo Pro
Power Supply Seasonic Platinum 760
Mouse Steelseries Sensei
Keyboard Ducky Pro MX Black
Software Windows 8.1 x64

brandonwh64

Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!
Joined
Sep 6, 2009
Messages
19,517 (6.45/day)
Likes
6,937
Location
Chatsworth, GA
System Name The StarCrunch Defender! | X58 Cruncher!
Processor I7 6700K @ STOCK | Intel I7-920
Motherboard Gigabyte Z170X-UD5 | Alienware MS-7543 X58
Cooling Corsair A70 Push/Pull | Corsair H50
Memory Crucial Ballistix DDR4 2400 MHz | Pereema 3x2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Gaming G1 GTX 1070 | Gigabyte 7970 3GB
Storage 2x Samsung Pro 256GB M.2 SSD's in Raid 0 | 4TB Western Digital SATA drive
Display(s) ViewSonic VG2227wm 1080P | OLD viewsonics
Case NZXT Tempest 410 Elite | NZXT Source 210
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 750TX | Enermax Liberty 500W
Mouse MX518 | MX502
Keyboard TESORO Mechanical | ANZO Mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro on both
#7
I run a P4 S478 with 512MB DDR, IPfire OS, and a Intel Pro/1000 MT Dual Port Server Adapter. This setup has been rock solid for the past two months of 24/7 operation without a single reboot or glitch. The options in the web based interface is endless!
 
Joined
Oct 13, 2007
Messages
7,693 (2.07/day)
Likes
1,772
Location
Chicago
System Name DarkStar
Processor i5 3570K 4.4Ghz
Motherboard Asrock Z77 Extreme 3
Cooling Apogee HD White/XSPC Razer blocks
Memory 8GB Samsung Green 1600
Video Card(s) 2 x GTX 670 4GB
Storage 2 x 120GB Samsung 830
Display(s) 27" QNIX
Case Enthoo Pro
Power Supply Seasonic Platinum 760
Mouse Steelseries Sensei
Keyboard Ducky Pro MX Black
Software Windows 8.1 x64
#8
Cool something like that is on my list to check out and try to learn; probably on a VM at least at first. Think I may get bite on that AMD deal above but could benefit more from running AD and MS DNS on it right now.
 

brandonwh64

Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!
Joined
Sep 6, 2009
Messages
19,517 (6.45/day)
Likes
6,937
Location
Chatsworth, GA
System Name The StarCrunch Defender! | X58 Cruncher!
Processor I7 6700K @ STOCK | Intel I7-920
Motherboard Gigabyte Z170X-UD5 | Alienware MS-7543 X58
Cooling Corsair A70 Push/Pull | Corsair H50
Memory Crucial Ballistix DDR4 2400 MHz | Pereema 3x2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Gaming G1 GTX 1070 | Gigabyte 7970 3GB
Storage 2x Samsung Pro 256GB M.2 SSD's in Raid 0 | 4TB Western Digital SATA drive
Display(s) ViewSonic VG2227wm 1080P | OLD viewsonics
Case NZXT Tempest 410 Elite | NZXT Source 210
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 750TX | Enermax Liberty 500W
Mouse MX518 | MX502
Keyboard TESORO Mechanical | ANZO Mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro on both
#9
Cool something like that is on my list to check out; probably on a VM at least at first. Think I may get bite on that AMD deal above but could benefit more from running AD and MS DNS on it right now.
Yes that combo from MC would be good if you plan to do say HTPC and router in a VM
 
Joined
Oct 13, 2007
Messages
7,693 (2.07/day)
Likes
1,772
Location
Chicago
System Name DarkStar
Processor i5 3570K 4.4Ghz
Motherboard Asrock Z77 Extreme 3
Cooling Apogee HD White/XSPC Razer blocks
Memory 8GB Samsung Green 1600
Video Card(s) 2 x GTX 670 4GB
Storage 2 x 120GB Samsung 830
Display(s) 27" QNIX
Case Enthoo Pro
Power Supply Seasonic Platinum 760
Mouse Steelseries Sensei
Keyboard Ducky Pro MX Black
Software Windows 8.1 x64
#10
Well actually on that I would probably run bare metal Windows server install for domain controller and dns box, at least at first. Have my old P55 box too for running VMs with lots of 150GB Raptors and a couple smaller SSDs on an IBM M1015 (LSI) RAID card.
 
Joined
Apr 16, 2010
Messages
2,884 (1.03/day)
Likes
881
Location
Portugal
System Name _JP_'s Daily Driver
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1700
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming Plus
Cooling Noctua NH-C12P SE14 + NM-AM4 + NF-P14r
Memory 2x 8GB G.Skill Trident Z (F4-3200C16D-16GTZB)(Hynix)
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 280X Gaming
Storage HyperX Savage 240GB + KC300 240GB + 750EVO 500GB
Display(s) LG Flatron W2361V 23'' FHD
Case NOX Blaze
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DX
Power Supply Corsair TX650M
Mouse Microsoft Comfort Mouse 4500
Keyboard Logitech Media Keyboard (PS/2)
Software Windows 10 x86-64 (1703)
#11
I'm interested about this too. It's one of those project I actually can get the hardware to do it. I've been looking for a distro that didn't require a 1GHz CPU, but would benefit from 2 threads.
 

brandonwh64

Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!
Joined
Sep 6, 2009
Messages
19,517 (6.45/day)
Likes
6,937
Location
Chatsworth, GA
System Name The StarCrunch Defender! | X58 Cruncher!
Processor I7 6700K @ STOCK | Intel I7-920
Motherboard Gigabyte Z170X-UD5 | Alienware MS-7543 X58
Cooling Corsair A70 Push/Pull | Corsair H50
Memory Crucial Ballistix DDR4 2400 MHz | Pereema 3x2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Gaming G1 GTX 1070 | Gigabyte 7970 3GB
Storage 2x Samsung Pro 256GB M.2 SSD's in Raid 0 | 4TB Western Digital SATA drive
Display(s) ViewSonic VG2227wm 1080P | OLD viewsonics
Case NZXT Tempest 410 Elite | NZXT Source 210
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 750TX | Enermax Liberty 500W
Mouse MX518 | MX502
Keyboard TESORO Mechanical | ANZO Mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro on both
#12
IPfire only requires "Intel Pentium I (i586), 128MB RAM and 2GB hard drive space"
 
Joined
Mar 12, 2009
Messages
1,042 (0.33/day)
Likes
153
Location
SCOTLAND!
System Name Machine XII
Processor Phenom II 1155T
Motherboard Asus M4A88TD-M EVO/USB3
Cooling Custom Water Cooling
Memory 8Gb ddr3 1600mhz XMS 3
Video Card(s) HD5970 2Gb
Storage 128Gb Sandisk SATAIII 6G/s
Display(s) 19" + 23" + 17"
Case micro atx case
Audio Device(s) XFi xtreme OEM
Power Supply 750W
Software Windows 7 x64 Ultimate
#13
For basic use you could probably get away with a pentium 1 just like you could run vista on 512mb ram. It will work but as soon as you try and do anything it will slow down. The main reason I started to run ddwrt on my server was it has all the power it needed to run VPN and a few people running bit torrent without lagging. Most routers only have the performance of a mobile phone so when you start hammering it it will just die. My wndr3300 net gear tops out at 2mbit on VPN and 500connections where as the vm could max out my 8mb upload with ease and handle 4000+ connections.

You could use pretty much any pc as a router I would just prefer the pentium M and via chips for their low power consumption. I tried to use an Atom CPU before but it's single threaded performance is about equivalent to a 700 p3 so it would just max out one HT core.
 
Joined
Jun 27, 2011
Messages
5,627 (2.38/day)
Likes
2,986
Processor Intel I7 4790k (stock)
Motherboard ASRock H97M-ITX/ac LGA 1150 Intel H97
Cooling Prolimatech megahalem
Memory Crucial 2x4gb 1600mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA 1060 3gb
Storage OWC Mercury SSD 240 GB
Display(s) Asus 144hz
Case Raijintek Metis
Power Supply Corsair SF600 600w psu
Software Windows 10 64 Bit
#14
So you can brodcast a wireless network?
 
Joined
Apr 18, 2010
Messages
499 (0.18/day)
Likes
114
Processor AMD 1300X
Motherboard ASRock AB350 Gaming K4
Cooling TR Macho Rev. A
Memory 16GB Corsair 3200 MHz
Video Card(s) Sapphire RX 560
Storage 250 GB 850 EVO, 2x6 TB WD Ae
Case Fractal R4
Audio Device(s) Aune MK2 DAC
Power Supply SeaSonic X650
Mouse Logitech G702
Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder
Software Win 10
#15
I like the idea of setting up a couple VM's with one running something like pfsense or ipfire and the other running your media center. If you are doing this to learn something and go way overboard for a home network, I think you can even run pfsense as a trunked router on a stick with vlans and all that good stuff.
 
Joined
Jun 27, 2011
Messages
5,627 (2.38/day)
Likes
2,986
Processor Intel I7 4790k (stock)
Motherboard ASRock H97M-ITX/ac LGA 1150 Intel H97
Cooling Prolimatech megahalem
Memory Crucial 2x4gb 1600mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA 1060 3gb
Storage OWC Mercury SSD 240 GB
Display(s) Asus 144hz
Case Raijintek Metis
Power Supply Corsair SF600 600w psu
Software Windows 10 64 Bit
#16
I just read a lot of stuff the last few hours. It seems I would just have to install the distro and attach a spare wireless router as an access point. I am not sure if this would be any better than say my netgear 3700 performance wise.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 13, 2007
Messages
7,693 (2.07/day)
Likes
1,772
Location
Chicago
System Name DarkStar
Processor i5 3570K 4.4Ghz
Motherboard Asrock Z77 Extreme 3
Cooling Apogee HD White/XSPC Razer blocks
Memory 8GB Samsung Green 1600
Video Card(s) 2 x GTX 670 4GB
Storage 2 x 120GB Samsung 830
Display(s) 27" QNIX
Case Enthoo Pro
Power Supply Seasonic Platinum 760
Mouse Steelseries Sensei
Keyboard Ducky Pro MX Black
Software Windows 8.1 x64
#17
Oh well I didn't know you wanted this "DIY Router" to be wireless but I guess I am kind of surprised it can't do it provided the box has an 802.11 NIC.
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
10,403 (4.84/day)
Likes
5,481
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Zalman CPNS9900MAX 130mm
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB @ PCI-E 3.0
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 Corsair Force GT Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 17.10
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#18
I think if I built a gateway I would opt for something that didn't use a whole lot of power. VIA has an x86 quad-core at 1.2Ghz. The only one I've found for sale so far is here but I don't quite like the price. At idle this thing sips only 20 watts for the entire system with a 32gb SSD. For something that's on all the time I don't think I would want something that would eat a lot of power.
 
Joined
Mar 12, 2009
Messages
1,042 (0.33/day)
Likes
153
Location
SCOTLAND!
System Name Machine XII
Processor Phenom II 1155T
Motherboard Asus M4A88TD-M EVO/USB3
Cooling Custom Water Cooling
Memory 8Gb ddr3 1600mhz XMS 3
Video Card(s) HD5970 2Gb
Storage 128Gb Sandisk SATAIII 6G/s
Display(s) 19" + 23" + 17"
Case micro atx case
Audio Device(s) XFi xtreme OEM
Power Supply 750W
Software Windows 7 x64 Ultimate
#19
Dont get a quad for a router especially if it's just for home use. Like I said
Before an efficient single core itx board with dual lan goes for about £30 on eBay ~$55 USD combine that will a passive pico psu and you have a router that sips power and can take any firewall/router os you want.
 

hat

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
18,528 (4.58/day)
Likes
3,161
Location
Ohio
System Name Starlifter :: Dragonfly
Processor i5 2400 :: Athlon II x4 630
Motherboard MSI H67-G43-B3 :: GIgabyte GA-770T-USB3
Cooling Corsair H70 :: Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 4x2GB DDR3 1333 :: 2x1GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) 2x PNY GTX1070 :: GT720
Storage Plextor M5s 128GB, WDC Black 500GB :: Mushkin Enhanced 60GB SSD, WD RE3 1TB
Display(s) Acer P216HL HDMI :: None
Case Antec SOHO 1030B :: Old White Full Tower
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro - iLive IT153B Soundbar (optical) :: None
Power Supply Corsair CX600w :: Unknown
Software Windows 10 Pro - Plex Server on Dragonfly
Benchmark Scores >9000
#20
You could even make a Raspberri Pi into a router, though you would need USB NICs... one for wired and one for wireless.
 
Joined
Mar 12, 2009
Messages
1,042 (0.33/day)
Likes
153
Location
SCOTLAND!
System Name Machine XII
Processor Phenom II 1155T
Motherboard Asus M4A88TD-M EVO/USB3
Cooling Custom Water Cooling
Memory 8Gb ddr3 1600mhz XMS 3
Video Card(s) HD5970 2Gb
Storage 128Gb Sandisk SATAIII 6G/s
Display(s) 19" + 23" + 17"
Case micro atx case
Audio Device(s) XFi xtreme OEM
Power Supply 750W
Software Windows 7 x64 Ultimate
#21
since you already have VT compatible hardware (e6300) i think you should install ESXI on it and run your router OS from that along with another operating system and use it as a media center back end then all you have to do is fill it with hard drives. mine streams to the 3 xbox's, 2 iphones, ipad and couple of android phones.
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
10,403 (4.84/day)
Likes
5,481
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Zalman CPNS9900MAX 130mm
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB @ PCI-E 3.0
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 Corsair Force GT Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 17.10
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#22
Dont get a quad for a router especially if it's just for home use.
This. Unless its a quad-core made by VIA, in that case you know that it will sip power. People bash VIA for having slow processors but if you consider how much power they use versus how fast they are, it's a good deal if you're looking for low power x86.

I feel very strongly for the low power market, modern VIA CPUs should not be discounted.
 
Joined
Mar 12, 2009
Messages
1,042 (0.33/day)
Likes
153
Location
SCOTLAND!
System Name Machine XII
Processor Phenom II 1155T
Motherboard Asus M4A88TD-M EVO/USB3
Cooling Custom Water Cooling
Memory 8Gb ddr3 1600mhz XMS 3
Video Card(s) HD5970 2Gb
Storage 128Gb Sandisk SATAIII 6G/s
Display(s) 19" + 23" + 17"
Case micro atx case
Audio Device(s) XFi xtreme OEM
Power Supply 750W
Software Windows 7 x64 Ultimate
#23
The problem i have with them is the same as the dual core atoms and the amd FX chips. they will work fine if its a finely multi-threaded program but they suck at single threaded performance.
The via 1.8ghz dual core chips are marginally faster clock for clock than the Intel atom in multi-threaded benchmarks. in single threaded they are about 40% faster but via clocks the cores at just 1.2ghz on the quad so you so you could just undervolt a 45nm E8500 to 1v@2ghz and have more performance for the same power and a huge selection of boards. either that or a mobile quadcore.


but for a dedicated router OS a 1+ghz single core via would be fine or any other chip that was not an atom.

another thing if your building a computer that will be on 24/7 invest in a good 80+ power supply so its not acting like a heater and using up power at double the rate.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 13, 2007
Messages
7,693 (2.07/day)
Likes
1,772
Location
Chicago
System Name DarkStar
Processor i5 3570K 4.4Ghz
Motherboard Asrock Z77 Extreme 3
Cooling Apogee HD White/XSPC Razer blocks
Memory 8GB Samsung Green 1600
Video Card(s) 2 x GTX 670 4GB
Storage 2 x 120GB Samsung 830
Display(s) 27" QNIX
Case Enthoo Pro
Power Supply Seasonic Platinum 760
Mouse Steelseries Sensei
Keyboard Ducky Pro MX Black
Software Windows 8.1 x64
#24
This. Unless its a quad-core made by VIA, in that case you know that it will sip power. People bash VIA for having slow processors but if you consider how much power they use versus how fast they are, it's a good deal if you're looking for low power x86.

I feel very strongly for the low power market, modern VIA CPUs should not be discounted.
Agreed; you don't have to some zealot environmentalist to know such matters and will only get more important going forward. I also like lower power bills.
 
Joined
Mar 12, 2009
Messages
1,042 (0.33/day)
Likes
153
Location
SCOTLAND!
System Name Machine XII
Processor Phenom II 1155T
Motherboard Asus M4A88TD-M EVO/USB3
Cooling Custom Water Cooling
Memory 8Gb ddr3 1600mhz XMS 3
Video Card(s) HD5970 2Gb
Storage 128Gb Sandisk SATAIII 6G/s
Display(s) 19" + 23" + 17"
Case micro atx case
Audio Device(s) XFi xtreme OEM
Power Supply 750W
Software Windows 7 x64 Ultimate
#25
Agreed; you don't have to some zealot environmentalist to know such matters and will only get more important going forward. I also like lower power bills.

I agree I just mean for the home server/media center you don't want to go the route of lots if slow cores you will start running into performance problems as soon as one core is running at 100%. That's why I went the route of consolidating my servers into one box.