• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Do DX9 games play well on Vista?

Joined
Feb 12, 2008
Messages
693 (0.19/day)
Likes
122
Processor AMD 8350
Motherboard Asus M5A99FX PRO R2.0
Cooling Xigmatek Dark Night Night Hawk Edition
Memory 4x4GB DDR3 1600 GSkill Ripjaws CL7
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 980 Ti Xtreme Gaming OC Ed
Storage Samsung 850 Evo 500gb + WD Black 5Tb
Display(s) ASUS VG248QE 144Hz
Case White Corsair 500r
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Corsair AX860i 860W
Software Win 10 Pro 64bit
#1
I don't recall reading anywhere about this. I know they wouldn't look any better on Vista, but are the playable? Or should I just dual boot?
 

DrPepper

The Doctor is in the house
Joined
Jan 16, 2008
Messages
7,482 (2.07/day)
Likes
799
Location
Scotland (It rains alot)
System Name Rusky
Processor Intel Core i7 D0 3.8Ghz
Motherboard Asus P6T
Cooling Thermaltake Dark Knight
Memory 12GB Patriot Viper's 1866mhz 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) GTX470 1280MB
Storage OCZ Summit 60GB + Samsung 1TB + Samsung 2TB
Display(s) Sharp Aquos L32X20E 1920 x 1080
Case Silverstone Raven RV01
Power Supply Corsair 650 Watt
Software Windows 7 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DMark06 - 18064 http://img.techpowerup.org/090720/Capture002.jpg
#2
I don't recall reading anywhere about this. I know they wouldn't look any better on Vista, but are the playable? Or should I just dual boot?
I find my games play very well in vista :D and only using 2gb of ram. I prefer running them on vista because they turn on faster and you can use dx10
 

pbmaster

New Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2006
Messages
2,588 (0.62/day)
Likes
288
Location
Savannah, GA
Processor AMD Phenom II 955
Motherboard Asus Crosshair III Formula
Cooling Cooler Master V8 CPU cooler, 120 mm and 200 mm exhaust, 3 x 120 mm intake
Memory 4 GB OCZ DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon HD 4890
Storage Western Digital 500 GB Blacks in RAID 0/ Wesdtern Digital SE16 250 GB
Display(s) Acer 19" widescreen
Case Antec Nine Hundred
Audio Device(s) Supreme X-Fi
Power Supply Seasonic M12 SS-700HM
Software Windows Vista Home Premium x64 SP2
Benchmark Scores 3dMark 03-~62k 3dMark 05-~22k 3dMark 06-18268
#3
They are quite playable. Only thing I noticed was a little longer load times, but that was on my old rig with one 1 GB of RAM. With your system you won't have any problems. Only thing I had to do for Call of Duty 2 was tell it to run in XP SP2 compatibility mode. All is fine.
 

DaMulta

My stars went supernova
Joined
Aug 3, 2006
Messages
16,159 (3.89/day)
Likes
1,416
Location
Oklahoma T-Town
System Name Work in progress
Processor AMD 955---4Ghz
Motherboard MSi GD70
Cooling OcZ Phase/water
Memory Crucial2GB kit (1GBx2), Ballistix 240-pin DIMM, DDR3 PC3-16000
Video Card(s) CrossfireX 2 X HD 4890 1GB OCed to 1000Mhz
Storage SSD 64GB
Display(s) Envision 24'' 1920x1200
Case Using the desk ATM
Audio Device(s) Sucky onboard for now :(
Power Supply 1000W TruePower Quattro
#4
99% of all games are in dx9. So yes they run well, in almost all cases
 

JC316

Knows what makes you tick
Joined
Jan 24, 2006
Messages
9,370 (2.16/day)
Likes
982
System Name Budget Gaming
Processor AMD FX6300
Motherboard Gigabyte 880GMA-USB3
Cooling Coolermaster Hyper 212+
Memory 8GB Ripjaws DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) HD7850 1GB
Storage 1TB Sata2
Display(s) Acer 24" LED
Case Generic black
Audio Device(s) Stock onboard
Power Supply FSP Aurum Gold 650W
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
#5
No difference from XP to vista, my DX9 games run great with Vista X64
 
Joined
Apr 3, 2008
Messages
3,047 (0.86/day)
Likes
295
Location
Pontaic Michigan
System Name The Netbook
Processor Intel Atom n270
Memory 1GB DDR2 533mhz
Video Card(s) Intel G945
Storage 250GB
Display(s) 10.1" LCD
Software Microsoft Windows 7 Starter x86
#6
I've noticed no difference between XP x64 and Vista x64 in running dx9 games.
 
Joined
Dec 10, 2007
Messages
7,185 (1.97/day)
Likes
769
Location
Adelaide Australia
System Name Becca 2
Processor AMD A10 4600m quad core @ 2.3 ghz
Motherboard dunno
Cooling Logitech alto connect
Memory 16 Gig ddr3 1600mhz
Video Card(s) Ati HD 7660G + & 7470M
Storage 1 TB
Audio Device(s) onboard crap
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit with sp1
#7
All my games run fine under Vista cant run dx10 cus of the gpu.
 
Joined
Feb 12, 2008
Messages
693 (0.19/day)
Likes
122
Processor AMD 8350
Motherboard Asus M5A99FX PRO R2.0
Cooling Xigmatek Dark Night Night Hawk Edition
Memory 4x4GB DDR3 1600 GSkill Ripjaws CL7
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 980 Ti Xtreme Gaming OC Ed
Storage Samsung 850 Evo 500gb + WD Black 5Tb
Display(s) ASUS VG248QE 144Hz
Case White Corsair 500r
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Corsair AX860i 860W
Software Win 10 Pro 64bit
#8
Great, thanks for the answers.
 
Joined
Oct 19, 2007
Messages
888 (0.24/day)
Likes
69
Location
Lancs,UK
System Name xubidoo
Processor Intel Q6600 G0 2.4ghz
Motherboard ASUS P5K Premium:Black Pearl Edition
Cooling Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro + MX2
Memory 4gb Corsair XMS2 DDR2 6400 2x 2gb 5-5-5-18 @854
Video Card(s) MSI nVidia GTX260 896mb or GeForce GTX 750Ti 2048mb
Storage WD 640gb / Samsung 750gb / WD 500gb
Display(s) Hanns-G 23"
Case Thermaltake Armour VA8003BWS/1x250mm/2x120mm/2x92mm
Audio Device(s) Logitech Z-10 2.0 Speakers
Power Supply Antec 550w
Mouse Razer Deathadder
Keyboard Standard
Software Windows 7 Professional x64
#9
are there any games that are known "not" to work in Vista ?

a compatibility list of some kind anywhere?
 

ChromeDome

New Member
Joined
May 31, 2008
Messages
670 (0.19/day)
Likes
50
System Name Super Budget Gamer Thing lol
Processor AMD 5600+ Windsor @3.0ghz
Motherboard ASUS M3N78-VM AM2/AM2+ Micro ATX
Cooling Thermaltake TR2-R1 Ultra Silence CPU heatsink+fan / 3 exhaust case fans
Memory 3 Gigs Kingston DDR2@800mhz
Video Card(s) PNY 8800GT 512mb OC'd 710/1740/950 - 178.24
Storage 2X 320 gig Seagate Barracuda's @7200rpm - SATA
Display(s) 22in Dell LCD 1680X1050 / 21.6in AOC LCD / Hauppauge TV Tuner
Case Antec Three Hundred
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster X-Fi Xtreme Audio
Power Supply Antec Earthwatts EA500D 500w
Software Vista, bby <3
Benchmark Scores yay it works! =]
#10
all mine play great. FEAR is truly beautiful on my current set up. runs great :)
 

Kreij

Senior Monkey Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Feb 6, 2007
Messages
13,817 (3.49/day)
Likes
5,524
Location
Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad QX9650 Extreme @ 3.0 GHz
Motherboard Asus Rampage Formula
Cooling ZeroTherm Nirvana NV120 Premium
Memory 8GB (4 x 2GB) Corsair Dominator PC2-8500
Video Card(s) 2 x Sapphire Radeon HD6970
Storage 2 x Seagate Barracuda 320GB in RAID 0
Display(s) Dell 3007WFP 30" LCD (2560 x 1600)
Case Thermaltake Armor w/ 250mm Side Fan
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX 8ch Audio
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower 750W Modular
Software Win8 Pro x64 / Cat 12.10
#11
All of the games I've tried on Vista, run fine.
All the older demos I've tried work well too.
 
Joined
Aug 16, 2007
Messages
7,181 (1.90/day)
Likes
720
#12
Most games run just as good, i think that a fwe might run a few frames slower but nothing drastic.

Only real Frames Per Second junkies would care about it.
After 60fps humans apparently cant tell the difference, 60fps at heavy load is good enuf for me.
 

ChromeDome

New Member
Joined
May 31, 2008
Messages
670 (0.19/day)
Likes
50
System Name Super Budget Gamer Thing lol
Processor AMD 5600+ Windsor @3.0ghz
Motherboard ASUS M3N78-VM AM2/AM2+ Micro ATX
Cooling Thermaltake TR2-R1 Ultra Silence CPU heatsink+fan / 3 exhaust case fans
Memory 3 Gigs Kingston DDR2@800mhz
Video Card(s) PNY 8800GT 512mb OC'd 710/1740/950 - 178.24
Storage 2X 320 gig Seagate Barracuda's @7200rpm - SATA
Display(s) 22in Dell LCD 1680X1050 / 21.6in AOC LCD / Hauppauge TV Tuner
Case Antec Three Hundred
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster X-Fi Xtreme Audio
Power Supply Antec Earthwatts EA500D 500w
Software Vista, bby <3
Benchmark Scores yay it works! =]
#13
i want to try to run far cry on mine soon. the demo won't go. horrible tearing, etc
 
Joined
Oct 19, 2007
Messages
888 (0.24/day)
Likes
69
Location
Lancs,UK
System Name xubidoo
Processor Intel Q6600 G0 2.4ghz
Motherboard ASUS P5K Premium:Black Pearl Edition
Cooling Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro + MX2
Memory 4gb Corsair XMS2 DDR2 6400 2x 2gb 5-5-5-18 @854
Video Card(s) MSI nVidia GTX260 896mb or GeForce GTX 750Ti 2048mb
Storage WD 640gb / Samsung 750gb / WD 500gb
Display(s) Hanns-G 23"
Case Thermaltake Armour VA8003BWS/1x250mm/2x120mm/2x92mm
Audio Device(s) Logitech Z-10 2.0 Speakers
Power Supply Antec 550w
Mouse Razer Deathadder
Keyboard Standard
Software Windows 7 Professional x64
#14
on XP Far Cry requires a Patch otherwise u get the horrible tearing u mentioned. probably the same on Vista with sounds of it.

get the 1.3 or 1.4 patch ,it should fix it.
 

Oliver_FF

New Member
Joined
Oct 15, 2006
Messages
544 (0.13/day)
Likes
65
Processor Intel q9400 @ stock
Motherboard Lanparty P45-T2RS
Cooling Zalman CNPS-9500
Memory 8GB OCZ PC2-6400
Video Card(s) BFG Nvidia GTX285 OC
Storage 1TB, 500GB, 500GB
Display(s) 20" Samsung T200HD
Case Antec Mini P180
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster X-Fi Elite Pro
Power Supply 700w Hiper
Software Ubuntu x64 virtualising Vista
#15
Most games i've tried work fine on Vista - Metal Gear Solid 2 doesn't work though :cry:
 

UnkAsn93

New Member
Joined
May 13, 2008
Messages
445 (0.13/day)
Likes
29
Location
My house.
System Name Mediocre
Processor AMD Athlon 64 3500+ @ 2.32GHz
Motherboard ECS RD480-A939
Cooling Stock AMD
Memory 512MB DDR400
Video Card(s) Nvidia GeForce4 MX4000 (going to get 2 3850's and crossfire soon)
Storage 160GB WD
Display(s) 20" Widescreen
Case Generic
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Powmax 450watt
Software XP Pro
#16
Unless you play BF2...

Its been nothing but trouble for me on Vista.
 

mikek75

New Member
Joined
Aug 28, 2006
Messages
1,370 (0.33/day)
Likes
116
Location
Chippenham, Wilts, United Kingdom
System Name As easy as falling off a lorry
Processor Core I5 2500K auto tuned to 4.2ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z68XP-UD3P
Cooling Corsair H80 sealed water cooler
Memory 16gb Gskill Ripjawz 1600mhz
Video Card(s) XFX 6970 2GB
Storage Corsair 120GB Force 3 SSD, OCZ 60 GB Agility 3 SSD, Seagate 500GB, 2x80gb Maxtors
Display(s) DELL 2309w 23" Widescreen 1920x1080+ LG M2294D 22" 1680x1050 LCDtv/monitor
Case Zalman Z9 Plus
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Xtreme Gamer Fatal1ty Pro
Power Supply PC Power&Cooling 750w Silencer Quad PCIe
Software Windows 7 x64 Home Premium
#17
Agreed, Vista 64 runs almost all my games fine. Couple of issues I've found, FEAR's benchmarking tool reports FPS much lower than XP, Min 24 Max 45 Avg 35 as opposed to 90+ Avg with everything maxed inc Soft shadows. Its perfectly playable though, and the framerate is around 90% between 25-40 so quite stable.

Also, any game that uses the old Direct X game controller configuration window won't work, for example MotoGP 2 and 3. The game will play but you can't configure the controller.

Apart from that, Vista 64 FTW!
 
Joined
May 15, 2007
Messages
752 (0.19/day)
Likes
108
System Name Daedalus | ZPM Hive Mini
Processor Core i7 4700MQ @ 3.4Ghz (QC) | Core i7 8700K @ ??
Motherboard Intel H87m | MSI Z370i Pro Carbon AC
Cooling AC MX-2 & 2 x Exhaust Fans | Kuhler 620
Memory 16GB (2x8) Corsair Ven-X 1600MT/s | 16GB T-Group 8Pack 3200 C14
Video Card(s) GTX780m 4GB @ 950/6000 (-25 mV) | GTX1070 @ ??
Storage OCZ Arc 100 240GB Boot/ 1TB HD | Samsung 960 Evo Boot / 2TB HD
Display(s) 17.3" matte 1080p | Dell 1440p 144Hz G-Sync
Case Clevo P170SM | Corsair 250D
Audio Device(s) Onboard w/ 2.1 Onkyo Speakers | Onboard w/ Edifier 980T
Power Supply 230w Adaptor | Thermaltake Toughpower XT 675w
Mouse R.A.T 3
Keyboard Vengeance K70 w/ Cherry Red
Software Win 10 x64 | Win 10 x64
Benchmark Scores Daedalus - 3DMark11 - 8912 (+135/+500)
#19
All of my games play pretty much identically on vista SP1 (laptop w/8800mGTX) as they do on my desktop with XP Home SP3 (8800GS) In fact thanks to the slightly more powerful GPU they run slightly better on my laptop (unless I overclock my 8800GS to game).
 
Joined
Dec 10, 2007
Messages
7,185 (1.97/day)
Likes
769
Location
Adelaide Australia
System Name Becca 2
Processor AMD A10 4600m quad core @ 2.3 ghz
Motherboard dunno
Cooling Logitech alto connect
Memory 16 Gig ddr3 1600mhz
Video Card(s) Ati HD 7660G + & 7470M
Storage 1 TB
Audio Device(s) onboard crap
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit with sp1
#20

ChromeDome

New Member
Joined
May 31, 2008
Messages
670 (0.19/day)
Likes
50
System Name Super Budget Gamer Thing lol
Processor AMD 5600+ Windsor @3.0ghz
Motherboard ASUS M3N78-VM AM2/AM2+ Micro ATX
Cooling Thermaltake TR2-R1 Ultra Silence CPU heatsink+fan / 3 exhaust case fans
Memory 3 Gigs Kingston DDR2@800mhz
Video Card(s) PNY 8800GT 512mb OC'd 710/1740/950 - 178.24
Storage 2X 320 gig Seagate Barracuda's @7200rpm - SATA
Display(s) 22in Dell LCD 1680X1050 / 21.6in AOC LCD / Hauppauge TV Tuner
Case Antec Three Hundred
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster X-Fi Xtreme Audio
Power Supply Antec Earthwatts EA500D 500w
Software Vista, bby <3
Benchmark Scores yay it works! =]
#21
on XP Far Cry requires a Patch otherwise u get the horrible tearing u mentioned. probably the same on Vista with sounds of it.

get the 1.3 or 1.4 patch ,it should fix it.
yeah i think i'll order it today and give it a go

i love that game....love it. i used to say its my all time fave and if i play again i'll prolly fall in love with it again

i never got to experience it "maxed out." may sound silly bcuz its got older graphics now, but i still want to. full AA, native res, and in "Paradise" mode.

when i got the game i had an FX5200. medium and low all the way. then with a 6600GT....High, for the most part with my old p4 2.8a (a non hyperthreaded Prescott :( ) but no AA and still below native res. and no "Paradise" mode.

i gotta have it! :cry: