• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Do I need a new graphics card?

T

TechnicalFreak

Guest
#1
I have asked my self that question.. And now I have to ask the expert panel (all of you) the same question.

Sure some games float like heaven, some doesn't. So what to get? See my specs at the left. I'm on a tight budget, but I have no problems getting a second hand card..
 

Darren

New Member
Joined
Feb 27, 2005
Messages
1,936 (0.41/day)
Likes
338
System Name Cheap yet powerful gaming and entertainment rig!
Processor AMD Athlon 3800+ X2 Windsor, 1 MB L2 Cache (512k L2 Per Core), 65W Energy efficient, 2GHz @ 2.78 Ghz
Motherboard Asrock ALiveNF7G-HD720p Rev v5.0
Cooling Freezer 64, 2x120mm, 1x92mm
Memory 8 GB DDRII PC6400 @ 929 MHz OCZ (2GBx4) timing: 5-5-5-5-16-2T
Video Card(s) XFX ATI4830
Storage Seagate 320 GB SATA (16 MB Cache)
Display(s) 19' HannsG (1440x900 @ 75hz)
Case Coolermaster Elite 330 Black Case
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Meridian, Pioneer VSX-516 Receiver 7.1 with DD/DD EX/Prologic II/DTS/DTS-ES//DTS: Neo
Power Supply Cool Master eXtreme Power 460W PSU
Software Vista Ultimate X64 Corporate Edition
#2
I have asked my self that question.. And now I have to ask the expert panel (all of you) the same question.

Sure some games float like heaven, some doesn't. So what to get? See my specs at the left. I'm on a tight budget, but I have no problems getting a second hand card..




To see a big increase in performance you'd need a atleast the ATI 4890 or GTX 280 to make the upgrade worthwhile.
In my opinion, do not waste your money, your current Radeon HD3870X2 is the same speed as the ATI 4850 so its still very powerful! You're only running a 19' screen so you do not need anything more powerful than what you've got anything more powerful would be wasted on your native resolution.
 

crtecha

New Member
Joined
Dec 8, 2008
Messages
2,407 (0.73/day)
Likes
204
Location
ipsay meechigan
System Name Coolin Runnings
Processor AMD X4 Phenom 9950 B.E. @ 3.3ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-MA790x-DS4 BIOS Ver. F6
Cooling CM Vortex 752
Memory apacer PC6400 800mhz x 2
Video Card(s) Two ATI Radeon 4850's in xfire
Storage Seagate 7200.9 320gig+250gigx2
Display(s) Acer P191w 19' wide
Case Antec 900
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Antec Power trio 550watts
Software Windows 7 x64 Build 7100
#3
what games are you having problems with? Maybe we can help you OC your existing card to achieve the performance you desire.
 

HolyCow02

New Member
Joined
Jun 8, 2008
Messages
1,638 (0.47/day)
Likes
109
Location
New York
System Name Shredder
Processor Phenom II 955 @stock (for the time being)
Motherboard MSI 790FX-GD70
Cooling Noctua U12P
Memory 8 GB muskin DDR3 1600 @ 7-7-6-18
Video Card(s) 2x Sapphire 4870 1GB
Storage 64 GB Super Talent UltraDrive SSD | 2 x WD Caviar Black 500GB in RAID1
Display(s) Samsung 22" 2ms GTG
Case Thermaltake Spedo Advanced Package
Power Supply Corsair HX1000
Software Vista Business 64-bit
#4
To see a big increase in performance you'd need a atleast the ATI 4890 or GTX 280 to make the upgrade worthwhile.
In my opinion, do not waste your money, your current Radeon HD3870X2 is the same speed as the ATI 4850 so its still very powerful! You're only running a 19' screen so you do not need anything more powerful than what you've got anything more powerful would be wasted on your native resolution.
+1 for this. I don't see a need for you to upgrade at all. Unless you plan on getting a larger screen.
 
T

TechnicalFreak

Guest
#5
First of all - Thanks for the replies. Well I ain't much for FPS type of games anymore (CS:S, Crysis.. you name it). But I do like strategic cames like Supreme Commander, and at certain points it tends to lag slightly (animation lag, not network). Other than that it's rather ok.. Sure I could OC it via CCC, as I ain't running "hacked" drivers anymore. I tested to OC it once to half of the amount on both clock and memory, it did help.. But temps..

Maybe I should invest in better cooling instead??
 

Bo$$

Lab Extraordinaire
Joined
May 7, 2009
Messages
5,626 (1.79/day)
Likes
971
Location
London, UK
System Name Desktop | Server
Processor Intel i7 2700k @ 4.4GHZ | AMD 5350 @ 2500MHZ
Motherboard Asus P7Z77-V Pro | Asus AM1I-A
Cooling GeLID Tranquilo | Stock Air
Memory Crucial Ballistix 2x8GB CL8 1600MHZ | Corsair Vengence 2x4GB CL9 1600MHZ
Video Card(s) Gainward GTX 780 Phantom GLH | PNY GTX 750Ti
Storage Samsung 840 EVO 250GB + 4TB WD Red | 2x Seagate Barracuda 2TB
Display(s) Samsung S27D390H + Asus VE276Q | Headless
Case Fractal Design R5 | CM Elite 110
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D1 w/Otone Stilo 5.1 and Creative Fatal1ty headset
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 850 G2| Corsair CX430M
Mouse Razer Imperator 2012
Keyboard Corsair K90
Software Windows 7 SP1 X64 | Ubuntu 16.04LTS
#6
I think a new Air cooling kit would be good, then OC the hell out of that Phenom :)

and maybe a thermaltake Duorb for the ATI card
 
Joined
Feb 26, 2008
Messages
4,870 (1.36/day)
Likes
681
Location
Joplin, Mo
System Name Ultrabeast GX2
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo E8500 @ 4.0GHZ 24/7
Motherboard Gigabit P35-DS3L
Cooling Rosewill RX24, Dual Slot Vid, Fan control
Memory 2x1gb 1066mhz@850MHZ DDR2
Video Card(s) 9800GX2 @ 690/1040
Storage 750/250/250/200 all WD 7200
Display(s) 24" DCLCD 2ms 1200p
Case Apevia
Audio Device(s) 7.1 Digital on-board, 5.1 digital hooked up
Power Supply 700W RAIDMAXXX SLI
Software winXP Pro
Benchmark Scores 17749 3DM06
#7
Unfortunately, 3870x2 was their first attempt at a dual card, so it flies on some games, is slow on others. A worth upgrade is a 4850 or higher, primarily for stability and consistency.
 
Joined
Nov 9, 2008
Messages
2,191 (0.66/day)
Likes
1,068
Location
Texas
System Name Behemoth-6700k
Processor i7 6700k @ 4.7Ghz 1.37v
Motherboard Asus Sabertooth Z170 Mark 1
Cooling D5 Vario w/ EK X-Top; EK 240 PE, EK 420 PE; EK RES X3 150; HeatKiller IV Pro
Memory 32Gb (4x8Gb) GSkill Ripjaws 3000Mhz @ 15/16/16/35 1.35v
Video Card(s) Zotac 1080ti Amp Extreme
Storage Crucial M500 240GB; Mushkin 1TB SSD x 2; WD Blue 2TB; WD Black 1TB x2
Display(s) Acer XR341CK 34" 3440x1440; LG 27" 1920x1080
Case Phanteks Enthoo Primo; Phanteks F140SP Fans x 12 (6 x Top Rad); Noctua IPPC-2000 x4 (Bottom Rad)
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 1350
Mouse MS Trackball Optical
Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB; Razer Tartarus Chroma
Software Windows 10 Pro
#8
My 2 cents...4850 or 4870 for now...Then Crossfire BABY!!!! I went from 1 4850 to 2 and they scale amazingly well. Just my opinion...but truly, your 3870x2 is on par with a single 4850, but the option of crossfire would make it worth it to me. (Plus the price of the 4850 just dropped :D
 
T

TechnicalFreak

Guest
#9
Yeah, I'm looking at a 4850 right now. True, the price tag on it is very low.. So 2 of these cards would do it : MSI ATI Radeon HD 4850 512MB OC (R4850-2D512-OC) ?


EDIT: Wait a minute.. Why don't I just upgrade the rest whilst at it?? New MoBo, CPU, memory(maybe)..
I might just get out even more then, right??
 
Last edited by a moderator:
Joined
Oct 21, 2008
Messages
3,459 (1.04/day)
Likes
483
Location
95350
Processor ???
Motherboard 760
Cooling HK
Memory 3x1gb
Video Card(s) 285 Classified / EVGA 480
Display(s) 22" Acer /42" Toshiba
Case Stacker
Power Supply Toughpower 1000w / Coolmaster 650w
Software All of them
#10
Joined
Mar 18, 2008
Messages
4,475 (1.26/day)
Likes
1,025
Location
Australia
System Name Night Rider | Mini LAN PC | Workhorse
Processor AMD FX 8350 | i7 2600 | i7 970
Motherboard GA-990FXA-UD3 AM3+ | GA-H77M-D3H | Gigabyte EX58-UD5
Cooling AMD Wraith cooler| Coolermaster Gemini with Noctua 3000RPM Fan | Big shairkan B
Memory 4x2GB DDR3 G.Skill 1600 6-8-6-24| 2x4GB Corsair 1600 | 6x2GB DDR3 1300 Corsair
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 970 OC in Sli | Gainward GTX 650 TI GS | ASUS 7970 Matrix
Storage 250GB Plextor SSD Por 5 /1TB WD Black | 500GB WD ES/WD Black | WD 320/Seagate 320
Display(s) Samsung 2494hs 24" 1080P| Samsung 20" S20C300L/DELL 15" | 22" DELL/19"DELL
Case LIAN LI PC-18 | Mini ATX Case (custom) | Atrix C4 9001
Audio Device(s) Onboard | Onbaord | Onboard
Power Supply Silverstone 750 | Silverstone Mini 450W | Corsair CX-750
Mouse Gigabyte aivia krypton gaming mouse | Rapoo V900 | Gigabyte 6850X
Keyboard MAX Keyboard Nighthawk X8 | Creative Fatal1ty eluminx | Some POS Logitech
Software Windows 7 Pro 64 | Windows 7 Pro 64 | Windows 7 Pro 64/Windows 10 Home
#11
Ive run Supreme Commander on a Phenom 9950 and ATI 4850 1GB Sonic card and it ran it easy as, setting set to max never realy got below 60FPS and that was a 4-6 player game at the time. Res was 1440*900, and nothing was overclocked.

Im surprised the 3870X2 isn't handling it, but o well 4850 1GB card is pretty cheap these days try it out?
 
Joined
Oct 21, 2008
Messages
3,459 (1.04/day)
Likes
483
Location
95350
Processor ???
Motherboard 760
Cooling HK
Memory 3x1gb
Video Card(s) 285 Classified / EVGA 480
Display(s) 22" Acer /42" Toshiba
Case Stacker
Power Supply Toughpower 1000w / Coolmaster 650w
Software All of them
#12
Yeah, I'm looking at a 4850 right now. True, the price tag on it is very low.. So 2 of these cards would do it : MSI ATI Radeon HD 4850 512MB OC (R4850-2D512-OC) ?


EDIT: Wait a minute.. Why don't I just upgrade the rest whilst at it?? New MoBo, CPU, memory(maybe)..
I might just get out even more then, right??
you serious?
whats the budget?
 
Joined
Nov 17, 2007
Messages
2,227 (0.61/day)
Likes
316
Location
Larisa, Greece
System Name StarCruiser Dark Knight
Processor QX9650 @4.4GHz max OC
Motherboard DFI x48 Dark Knight
Cooling 1x custom W/C loop/ inflow:6x120 /outflow:4x120, 2x200
Memory 8 Gb Geil Esoteria rev.2
Video Card(s) Powercolor LCS 5870
Storage 2 x 500 Gb wd (ext. port), 1 x 1.500 Gb Seagate, 1 X 500GB Seagate, 1 X 500GB Seagate (AC Ryan box)
Display(s) LG M2094D-PZ 20'' HD (1920 X 1080)
Case custom MDF case (I BUILT IT) check sig.....NOW
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Tagan 900 watt
Software Win 7 RC / Open office / Games
Benchmark Scores 18509 single 4870 - 23996 3dmark06 4870 crossfire(vista ult.64@4Ghz)/ P16213 3dmark vantage
#13
if your monitors maximum resolution is 1440 x 900, there is no need for a new gfx card......for resolutions up to 1680 x 1050 your existing card will manage for one more year at the most!

I think you should be patient until mid OCT to mid NOV when holidays draw near and new products appear and the prices of older gear drop, which means that a couple of 4870s will be on the current price of one. Then you can spend you precious money :D
 
Joined
Oct 21, 2008
Messages
3,459 (1.04/day)
Likes
483
Location
95350
Processor ???
Motherboard 760
Cooling HK
Memory 3x1gb
Video Card(s) 285 Classified / EVGA 480
Display(s) 22" Acer /42" Toshiba
Case Stacker
Power Supply Toughpower 1000w / Coolmaster 650w
Software All of them
#14
all he has to do is buy a 720 or 940 and thats it

his mobo might support it with a bios update
$145-200 and your set or you can get a 955 and wait for a while then get the am3 board

remember to check you mobo support page to see if it will work first then buy
----------------------------
i checked for you and it does support 720be and the 955be!

http://usa.asus.com/products.aspx?l1=3&l2=149&l3=591&l4=0&model=1930&modelmenu=2
 
Joined
Nov 17, 2007
Messages
2,227 (0.61/day)
Likes
316
Location
Larisa, Greece
System Name StarCruiser Dark Knight
Processor QX9650 @4.4GHz max OC
Motherboard DFI x48 Dark Knight
Cooling 1x custom W/C loop/ inflow:6x120 /outflow:4x120, 2x200
Memory 8 Gb Geil Esoteria rev.2
Video Card(s) Powercolor LCS 5870
Storage 2 x 500 Gb wd (ext. port), 1 x 1.500 Gb Seagate, 1 X 500GB Seagate, 1 X 500GB Seagate (AC Ryan box)
Display(s) LG M2094D-PZ 20'' HD (1920 X 1080)
Case custom MDF case (I BUILT IT) check sig.....NOW
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Tagan 900 watt
Software Win 7 RC / Open office / Games
Benchmark Scores 18509 single 4870 - 23996 3dmark06 4870 crossfire(vista ult.64@4Ghz)/ P16213 3dmark vantage
#15
true, that is probably your best choice for now...
 
T

TechnicalFreak

Guest
#16
@Assassin48: Well the XFX HD-485X-ZDFC Radeon HD 4850 1GB 256-bit GDDR3 PCI Express 2.0 x16, I found it. It was even cheaper.

Budget? 6-800 in US$ somewhere around 6-8000:-SEK. But I ain't gonna spend all on the computer. Need a better screen.. What about an LG with 50000:1, full HD and I get it like 50 bucks cheaper..

However, the money ain't coming until July.. But I still have 30 days to pay for some of the hardware, so if I order the 25:th this month I got exactly 30 days to pay....

@Melvis: The card can handle the game "as is", but when my friends and I have a LAN party, some have their own add ons, and that's what makes it lag like crazy. It's like when I had the old P4, and we used the 1000+ unit hack and UTASP mod (Total Annihilation) . And we were like 8 people then, same shit there. Now that game runs flawless. Now this game, not all the time, but when we bring in the big war machines.. Damn it lags. I'll have to take a pic and have fraps on just to show you what I mean.

Yeah, I was thinking of getting another cpu, maybe start running Vista and get more memory.

How about cooling, was talking like 3 weeks ago into getting it watercooled (it's 30C+ in my room sometimes). Might just do it with another CPU, make the rig entirely watercooled (incl. gfx card), would that be a good option?

I know I'll have to order the parts elsewhere because here in Sweden not many companies sell it.
 

Darren

New Member
Joined
Feb 27, 2005
Messages
1,936 (0.41/day)
Likes
338
System Name Cheap yet powerful gaming and entertainment rig!
Processor AMD Athlon 3800+ X2 Windsor, 1 MB L2 Cache (512k L2 Per Core), 65W Energy efficient, 2GHz @ 2.78 Ghz
Motherboard Asrock ALiveNF7G-HD720p Rev v5.0
Cooling Freezer 64, 2x120mm, 1x92mm
Memory 8 GB DDRII PC6400 @ 929 MHz OCZ (2GBx4) timing: 5-5-5-5-16-2T
Video Card(s) XFX ATI4830
Storage Seagate 320 GB SATA (16 MB Cache)
Display(s) 19' HannsG (1440x900 @ 75hz)
Case Coolermaster Elite 330 Black Case
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Meridian, Pioneer VSX-516 Receiver 7.1 with DD/DD EX/Prologic II/DTS/DTS-ES//DTS: Neo
Power Supply Cool Master eXtreme Power 460W PSU
Software Vista Ultimate X64 Corporate Edition
#17
The Phenom 9850 BE is still powerful by today’s standards, I would attempt to overclock the CPU to around 3-3.3GHz. its definitely possible but the Agena’s need a little bit of extra love to get it overclocked but it would be cheapest alternative.

Getting the 4850 is a waste of money, its not much faster than your current 3870X2. I would look towards selling your current GPU and purchasing the GTX260 or faster. Nothing slower!
 
Joined
Mar 18, 2008
Messages
4,475 (1.26/day)
Likes
1,025
Location
Australia
System Name Night Rider | Mini LAN PC | Workhorse
Processor AMD FX 8350 | i7 2600 | i7 970
Motherboard GA-990FXA-UD3 AM3+ | GA-H77M-D3H | Gigabyte EX58-UD5
Cooling AMD Wraith cooler| Coolermaster Gemini with Noctua 3000RPM Fan | Big shairkan B
Memory 4x2GB DDR3 G.Skill 1600 6-8-6-24| 2x4GB Corsair 1600 | 6x2GB DDR3 1300 Corsair
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 970 OC in Sli | Gainward GTX 650 TI GS | ASUS 7970 Matrix
Storage 250GB Plextor SSD Por 5 /1TB WD Black | 500GB WD ES/WD Black | WD 320/Seagate 320
Display(s) Samsung 2494hs 24" 1080P| Samsung 20" S20C300L/DELL 15" | 22" DELL/19"DELL
Case LIAN LI PC-18 | Mini ATX Case (custom) | Atrix C4 9001
Audio Device(s) Onboard | Onbaord | Onboard
Power Supply Silverstone 750 | Silverstone Mini 450W | Corsair CX-750
Mouse Gigabyte aivia krypton gaming mouse | Rapoo V900 | Gigabyte 6850X
Keyboard MAX Keyboard Nighthawk X8 | Creative Fatal1ty eluminx | Some POS Logitech
Software Windows 7 Pro 64 | Windows 7 Pro 64 | Windows 7 Pro 64/Windows 10 Home
#18
@Melvis: The card can handle the game "as is", but when my friends and I have a LAN party, some have their own add ons, and that's what makes it lag like crazy. It's like when I had the old P4, and we used the 1000+ unit hack and UTASP mod (Total Annihilation) . And we were like 8 people then, same shit there. Now that game runs flawless. Now this game, not all the time, but when we bring in the big war machines.. Damn it lags. I'll have to take a pic and have fraps on just to show you what I mean.
Ok yea i see what ya mean, add ons can realy kill a game if its not done very well, i can understand it now, thanks for letting us know that :)

You don't have to run fraps as there is a inbuilt one anyway, just press this key > / and you have fraps ;)

Honestly i still think ya CPU is just fine as Supreme Commander loves Quads, just upgrade RAM and Vid card and u be set :)
 
Joined
Oct 21, 2008
Messages
3,459 (1.04/day)
Likes
483
Location
95350
Processor ???
Motherboard 760
Cooling HK
Memory 3x1gb
Video Card(s) 285 Classified / EVGA 480
Display(s) 22" Acer /42" Toshiba
Case Stacker
Power Supply Toughpower 1000w / Coolmaster 650w
Software All of them
#19
so we are looking at a 700 build with shipping this leaves 100 for a screen

Would that be ok? Or do youneed more for a screen?

I would get a simple 720 rig with a 4850 and 4gb of ram with a 650 psu maybe lower if you want to save money

That 720 is all you need for games IMO
 

Tatty_One

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2006
Messages
19,747 (4.54/day)
Likes
6,014
Location
Worcestershire, UK
Processor Skylake Core i7 6700k @ 4.6gig
Motherboard MSI Z170A Tomahawk
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 240V AIO/Viper140's
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000mhz CL14
Video Card(s) Sapphire 4gb R9 290X VaporX @1150mhz
Storage SkHynix SL308 120GB/CrucialM4/1TB WD Black
Display(s) LG 29inch 2560x1080 Curved Ultrawide IPS
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Windowed - Gunmetal
Audio Device(s) Xifi Elite Pro 7.1/VideoLogic ZXR550's
Power Supply XFX Pro Black Edition 750W Gold modular
Keyboard CM Storm Octane Combo
Software Win 10 Home x64
#20
In your situation, with your resolution I would not even contenplate an upgrade to an HD4850 since at your res in some things it is actually slower than the 3870x2.........

http://www.neoseeker.com/Articles/Hardware/Reviews/visionhd4850/7.html

The only viable upgrade path IMO is an HD4870 which will probably only see a consistent 5-10% increase, a 4890 that will see a 10-20% increase or a GTX260 or 275 but to be honest unless you want to unleash some real cash on the 4890 or GTX275 I wouldnt bother for a minimal return.
 
T

TechnicalFreak

Guest
#21
@Assassin48: No, I want a bigger screen. I have tested an LG 24". It was better than I could have imagined. So I don't know right now. But not 700 for a system, too much - overkill.
I'm sticking with AMD so far, and so far the prices are still low..even here.

@Tatty One: Well I was thinking of investing in a bigger screen, so would I then need a new graphics card? Or would I do fine with OC this card after letting it be watercooled?
 

Tatty_One

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2006
Messages
19,747 (4.54/day)
Likes
6,014
Location
Worcestershire, UK
Processor Skylake Core i7 6700k @ 4.6gig
Motherboard MSI Z170A Tomahawk
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 240V AIO/Viper140's
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000mhz CL14
Video Card(s) Sapphire 4gb R9 290X VaporX @1150mhz
Storage SkHynix SL308 120GB/CrucialM4/1TB WD Black
Display(s) LG 29inch 2560x1080 Curved Ultrawide IPS
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Windowed - Gunmetal
Audio Device(s) Xifi Elite Pro 7.1/VideoLogic ZXR550's
Power Supply XFX Pro Black Edition 750W Gold modular
Keyboard CM Storm Octane Combo
Software Win 10 Home x64
#22
@Assassin48: No, I want a bigger screen. I have tested an LG 24". It was better than I could have imagined. So I don't know right now. But not 700 for a system, too much - overkill.
I'm sticking with AMD so far, and so far the prices are still low..even here.

@Tatty One: Well I was thinking of investing in a bigger screen, so would I then need a new graphics card? Or would I do fine with OC this card after letting it be watercooled?
I would say, with a bigger screen, say 20-22inch or above then you would definatly benefit from a 4890 or GTX275 (whichever you could get cheaper as there is little or nothing in performance).
 
T

TechnicalFreak

Guest
#23
I would say, with a bigger screen, say 20-22inch or above then you would definatly benefit from a 4890 or GTX275 (whichever you could get cheaper as there is little or nothing in performance).
Where did the 4890 come from? I was thinking of 2 4850's..
 

Tatty_One

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2006
Messages
19,747 (4.54/day)
Likes
6,014
Location
Worcestershire, UK
Processor Skylake Core i7 6700k @ 4.6gig
Motherboard MSI Z170A Tomahawk
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 240V AIO/Viper140's
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000mhz CL14
Video Card(s) Sapphire 4gb R9 290X VaporX @1150mhz
Storage SkHynix SL308 120GB/CrucialM4/1TB WD Black
Display(s) LG 29inch 2560x1080 Curved Ultrawide IPS
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Windowed - Gunmetal
Audio Device(s) Xifi Elite Pro 7.1/VideoLogic ZXR550's
Power Supply XFX Pro Black Edition 750W Gold modular
Keyboard CM Storm Octane Combo
Software Win 10 Home x64
#24
Where did the 4890 come from? I was thinking of 2 4850's..
Why if you dont mind me asking, the performance is pretty similar, the 4890 is perhaps slightly cheaper and IMO a one card solution is always better.
 

Bo$$

Lab Extraordinaire
Joined
May 7, 2009
Messages
5,626 (1.79/day)
Likes
971
Location
London, UK
System Name Desktop | Server
Processor Intel i7 2700k @ 4.4GHZ | AMD 5350 @ 2500MHZ
Motherboard Asus P7Z77-V Pro | Asus AM1I-A
Cooling GeLID Tranquilo | Stock Air
Memory Crucial Ballistix 2x8GB CL8 1600MHZ | Corsair Vengence 2x4GB CL9 1600MHZ
Video Card(s) Gainward GTX 780 Phantom GLH | PNY GTX 750Ti
Storage Samsung 840 EVO 250GB + 4TB WD Red | 2x Seagate Barracuda 2TB
Display(s) Samsung S27D390H + Asus VE276Q | Headless
Case Fractal Design R5 | CM Elite 110
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D1 w/Otone Stilo 5.1 and Creative Fatal1ty headset
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 850 G2| Corsair CX430M
Mouse Razer Imperator 2012
Keyboard Corsair K90
Software Windows 7 SP1 X64 | Ubuntu 16.04LTS
#25
Why if you dont mind me asking, the performance is pretty similar, the 4890 is perhaps slightly cheaper and IMO a one card solution is always better.
+1 if game doesnt support SLI/Xfire