• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Do I need to install CAP Profile with 13.5 beta2?

Caenlen29

New Member
Joined
May 13, 2013
Messages
42 (0.03/day)
Likes
14
Processor 2500k @ 4.6
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Video Card(s) Sapphire 7950 @ 1200 core 1500 mem
Display(s) QNIX 2560 x 1440 Samsung PLS Evolution II @ 120hz
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DG
Software Windows 8 Pro w/ Media Center
#1
I read that the beta installs of these drivers already have CAP combined within... so do I need to do that separately like with WHQL or not?
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,369 (10.18/day)
Likes
18,018
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#2
With the beta drivers, no.
 

Caenlen29

New Member
Joined
May 13, 2013
Messages
42 (0.03/day)
Likes
14
Processor 2500k @ 4.6
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Video Card(s) Sapphire 7950 @ 1200 core 1500 mem
Display(s) QNIX 2560 x 1440 Samsung PLS Evolution II @ 120hz
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DG
Software Windows 8 Pro w/ Media Center
#3
With the beta drivers, no.
Thanks for the fast response erocker! I wanted to play some Bioshock Infinite and didn't want to play until I had an answer to this question, :)

Time to rock! :toast:
 
Joined
Nov 9, 2010
Messages
5,159 (1.99/day)
Likes
1,705
Processor Intel i7 950 @ 3.2GHz
Motherboard ASUS P6X58D-E
Cooling Corsair H50 push/pull
Memory Kingston HyperX 1600 8GB
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 7970 OC
Storage Plextor M5P 128GB/WD Black 2x1TB,1x6TB/Seagate 1TB
Display(s) Panasonic TC-L32U3
Case Antec DF-85
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V371 AVR
Power Supply XFX 850w Black Edition
Mouse Logitech G402
Keyboard Logitech K120
Software W10 Pro 64 bit
#4
From what I've read, only if you're running Crossfire. The 13.4 CAP is primarily made for that, and it covers lots of games. AMD have far from fixed the Crossfire problems though. They'll need to do more work on the frame latency issue to solve that riddle.

All I really want to know right now is whether they're working on a beta for Last Light, and if so how soon we'll get it.
 
Joined
Apr 8, 2012
Messages
575 (0.28/day)
Likes
188
System Name Main rig
Processor Intel i7-4790K Devils Canyon
Motherboard Asus Z97-A
Cooling Antec Kuhler 620
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengence Pro
Video Card(s) Sapphire R9-290 Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 EVO 1TB
Case Corsair 600T
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster X-FI HD Platinum
Power Supply Corsair AX750 Gold
#5
there are actually a couple of single card profiles in the cap as well...
 

fullinfusion

Vanguard Beta Tester
Joined
Jan 11, 2008
Messages
9,600 (2.65/day)
Likes
3,354
Processor I7-7700K
Motherboard Asus Z270 Maximus IX Code
Cooling Custom water plus another cooler
Memory Corsair Vengeance LED Red 4x8GB 32GB 3200MHz kit
Video Card(s) 2 x MSI RX Vega 56 and a single MSI RX Vega 64 in test rig
Storage 960 EVO/960 Pro M.2 nvme 250/1TB, Samsumg 850 evo 256/ WD 1TB blue
Display(s) Nexius 32" freesync 2 HDR
Case Corsair Obsidion 650D/ cardboard box
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply EVGA Supernova G2 1300W
Mouse Mionix Naos 7000
Keyboard G15
Software Windows 10 Home
#6
Does it really matter if you install the cap even though the driver has them already?

Is it going to cause conflict? :confused:
 
Joined
Apr 8, 2012
Messages
575 (0.28/day)
Likes
188
System Name Main rig
Processor Intel i7-4790K Devils Canyon
Motherboard Asus Z97-A
Cooling Antec Kuhler 620
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengence Pro
Video Card(s) Sapphire R9-290 Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 EVO 1TB
Case Corsair 600T
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster X-FI HD Platinum
Power Supply Corsair AX750 Gold
#7
no, no conflict.

any cap newer in the driver will ignore external caps.

install them, always.