• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Do I need to upgrade from 8GB to 16GB of RAM?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Apr 4, 2013
Messages
93 (0.05/day)
Likes
11
System Name My rig
Processor i7 3770k 3.5
Motherboard Gigabyte UD4H
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 120M Push/Pull
Memory 8GB G.SKILL Ares Series (2 x 4GB) 1866 Mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX780 GDDR5-3GB 2xDVI/HDMI/DP OC Graphics Card - GV-N780GHZ-3GD
Storage Corsair Neutron 256 GB SSD/Western Digital 1TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache
Display(s) ASUS 24" IPS 60Hz
Case Corsair Vengeance Series C70 Arctic White
Audio Device(s) N/A
Power Supply Corsair Professional Series AX 850 Watt ATX/EPS Modular 80 PLUS Gold
Software Windows 8.1/Adobe Creative Cloud/Steam/Origin/UPlay
#1
Hello,

I currently have 8GB of 1866 MHz in my rig. I was wondering if I should maybe look into upgrading it to 16GB. I mostly use my rig for gaming. I do not really use it for work anymore. Is it worth upgrading or is 8 GB still enough for gaming? I mean, I am running games fine now, but I guess it is more of a future thing.

Thanks in advance for your response!
 
Joined
Dec 18, 2008
Messages
1,833 (0.56/day)
Likes
523
System Name Computer
Processor 1700X
Motherboard CH6
Cooling Custom Loop
Memory G.Skill 32GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1070
Storage 500GB Samsung 850 Evo Msata
Display(s) LG 23" IPS
Power Supply Seasonic 760 Platinum
Software Windows 8.1 64-Bit
#2
Are you running out of memory now?
 
Joined
Apr 4, 2013
Messages
93 (0.05/day)
Likes
11
System Name My rig
Processor i7 3770k 3.5
Motherboard Gigabyte UD4H
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 120M Push/Pull
Memory 8GB G.SKILL Ares Series (2 x 4GB) 1866 Mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX780 GDDR5-3GB 2xDVI/HDMI/DP OC Graphics Card - GV-N780GHZ-3GD
Storage Corsair Neutron 256 GB SSD/Western Digital 1TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache
Display(s) ASUS 24" IPS 60Hz
Case Corsair Vengeance Series C70 Arctic White
Audio Device(s) N/A
Power Supply Corsair Professional Series AX 850 Watt ATX/EPS Modular 80 PLUS Gold
Software Windows 8.1/Adobe Creative Cloud/Steam/Origin/UPlay
#3
Are you running out of memory now?
No, I don't think so. I was just wondering because I have been using 8GB of RAM since I built it in 2012. I am just looking to upgrade stuff and RAM is the last thing on my list, but now I am thinking that I don't really need it. I guess I just wanted a second opinion lol.
 

peche

Thermaltake fanboy
Joined
Nov 7, 2014
Messages
6,228 (5.51/day)
Likes
5,078
Location
San Jose, Costa Rica
System Name Athenna
Processor intel i7 3770 *Dellided*
Motherboard GIGABYTE GA-Z68X-UD3H-B3 Rev. 1.1
Cooling Thermaltake Water 3.0 Pro + Tt Riing12 x2 / Tt ThunderBlade / Gelid Slim 120UV fans
Memory 16GB DRR3 Kingoston with Custom Tt spreaders + HyperX Fan
Video Card(s) GeForce GTX 980 4GB Nvidia Sample
Storage Crucial M4 SSD 64GB's / Seagate Barracuda 2TB / Seagate Barracuda 320GB's
Display(s) 22" LG FLATRON 1920 x 1280p
Case Thermaltake Commander G42 Window
Audio Device(s) On-board Dolby 5.1+ Kingston HyperX Cloud 1
Power Supply Themaltake TR2 700W 80plus bronce & APC Pro backup 1000Va
Mouse Tt eSports Level 10M Rev 1.0 Diamond Black & Tt Conkor "L" mouse pad
Keyboard Tt eSports KNUCKER
Software windows 10x64Pro
Benchmark Scores well I've fried a 775' P4 12 years ago, that counts?
#4
It's not necessary, also 16GB won't make any notable difference on gaming, but at this moment DDR3 is pretty cheap so you can make the upgrade if you want, get decent 1600mhz DDR3, beyond that frequency is a waste of money,

PD: for working, tasks and other jobs memory its pretty important,
:D
 
Joined
Sep 6, 2013
Messages
748 (0.48/day)
Likes
227
Location
Oceania
#5
Hello,

I currently have 8GB of 1866 MHz in my rig. I was wondering if I should maybe look into upgrading it to 16GB. I mostly use my rig for gaming. I do not really use it for work anymore. Is it worth upgrading or is 8 GB still enough for gaming? I mean, I am running games fine now, but I guess it is more of a future thing.

Thanks in advance for your response!
Up to you....lol If you're happy atm why upgrade? :p

You'll need to eventually tho, 8GB isn't going to cut it with a 4GB GPU, some of the RAM is reserved for paging in DX11/12.

So yeah I would go 16GB if u have the cash. I need more myself, I got 8GB and for the first time in years I had to turn my pagefile back on, GTAV was eating 6GB of RAM. That was just the game .exe Total memory use was over 8GB...
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 25, 2008
Messages
502 (0.14/day)
Likes
108
System Name His - Hers - Guest - Guest - Guest
Processor i7 5960x - i7 990x -930 -i7 870 - i7 870
Motherboard Evga X99 - X58 - x58 - P55 FTW 200's
Cooling Frio Frio Frio Frio
Memory Gskills 4GB 1866 all slots
Video Card(s) Evga 970GTX - 770GTXx6
Storage 500GB evo 850 SSDx2 Raid 0, 120GB SSDx2, 120GB SSDx2, 1TB HDD
Display(s) 1920x1080
Case Antec 1200, 1200, 900, 900
Power Supply Antec 1200 watt
Software Windows 7 Windows 10
Benchmark Scores Who cares
#6
When I play GTA V I use about 11GB.
 
Joined
Apr 4, 2013
Messages
93 (0.05/day)
Likes
11
System Name My rig
Processor i7 3770k 3.5
Motherboard Gigabyte UD4H
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 120M Push/Pull
Memory 8GB G.SKILL Ares Series (2 x 4GB) 1866 Mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX780 GDDR5-3GB 2xDVI/HDMI/DP OC Graphics Card - GV-N780GHZ-3GD
Storage Corsair Neutron 256 GB SSD/Western Digital 1TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache
Display(s) ASUS 24" IPS 60Hz
Case Corsair Vengeance Series C70 Arctic White
Audio Device(s) N/A
Power Supply Corsair Professional Series AX 850 Watt ATX/EPS Modular 80 PLUS Gold
Software Windows 8.1/Adobe Creative Cloud/Steam/Origin/UPlay
#7
Up to you....lol If you're happy atm why upgrade? :p But you'll need to eventually, 8GB isn't going to cut it with a 4GB GPU, some of the RAM is reserved for paging in DX11/12.

So yeah I would go 16GB if u have the cash. I need more myself, I got 8GB and for the first time in years I had to turn my pagefile back on, GTAV was eating 6GB of RAM. That was just the game .exe Total memory use was over 8GB...
I have a 6GB G1 980 ti on the way. Will that make a difference?
 

rtwjunkie

PC Gaming Enthusiast
Joined
Jul 25, 2008
Messages
9,365 (2.73/day)
Likes
12,989
Location
Louisiana -Laissez les bons temps rouler!
Processor Core i7-3770k 3.5Ghz, O/C to 4.2Ghz fulltime @ 1.19v
Motherboard ASRock Fatal1ty Z68 Pro Gen3
Cooling All air: 2x140mm Fractal exhaust; 3x 140mm Cougar Intake; Enermax T40F CPU cooler
Memory 2x 8GB Mushkin Redline DDR-3 1866
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 980 Ti Gaming 6G LE
Storage 1x 250GB MX200 SSD; 2x 2TB WD Black; 1x4TB WD Black;1x 2TB WD Green (eSATA)
Display(s) HP 25VX 25" IPS @ 1920 x 1080
Case Fractal Design Define R4 Black w/Titanium front -windowed
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Z
Power Supply Seasonic X-850
Mouse Logitech G500
Keyboard Logitech G610 Orion mechanical (Cherry Brown switches)
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit (Start10 & Fences 3.0 installed)
#8
More and more games are using 8GB of RAM or more. Dbiggs9 said 11GB for GTA V. I've see Dragon Age Iquisition easily use 7. The 6GB VRAM frame buffer on the 980Ti you are getting will mostly make use of texture memory. Some of these games have alot more than textures to load up, containing mammoth amounts of data in the RAM.
We are almost at the end of the "8GB is enough" days.

EDIT: I've said this several times in the last few months, and I think it's time for all of us to stop advising people that 8GB is all they need. We're a tech site, and it should be obvious which direction games are going, so we should be adapting as well.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Apr 29, 2014
Messages
3,688 (2.79/day)
Likes
2,106
Location
Texas
System Name Alucard / The Reinforcer / Portable?
Processor i7 5930K @ 4.5ghz (24/7) / 2x Intel Xeon X5670 / Intel i7 3610QM
Motherboard MSI X99S Gaming 9 AC / Dell Dual Socket (R710) / MSI Stock Gaming Laptop
Cooling RX 360mm + 140mm Custom Loop in Push Pull Config. / Dell Stock / MSI Stock
Memory Corsair Vengeance DDR4 2666 16gb (4x4gb) CL 16 / 1333mhz DDR3 96gb 12 x 8gb / 12gb DDR3 3 x 4gb
Video Card(s) GTX Titan XP (2025mhz) / Asus GTX 950 (No Power Connector) / GTX 880m
Storage Samsung 840/850 512gb Raid 0, WD Velociraptor 600gb x 5 Raid 5 / 300gb 15k RPM x 8 / 2x 240gb Adata
Display(s) Acer XG270HU 1440p 144hz Freesync, Acer B286HK 4K UHD Monitor, 1 Hanns-G 27inch 1920x1080p Monitor
Case Corsair Obsidian 800D / Dell Poweredge R710 Rack Mount Case / MSI Gaming 17inch
Audio Device(s) Realtec ALC1150 (On board)
Power Supply Rosewill Lightning 1300Watt
Mouse Logitech G5
Keyboard Logitech G19S
Software Windows 10 Pro / Windows Server 2008 R2 / Windows 10 Pro
#9
Hello,

I currently have 8GB of 1866 MHz in my rig. I was wondering if I should maybe look into upgrading it to 16GB. I mostly use my rig for gaming. I do not really use it for work anymore. Is it worth upgrading or is 8 GB still enough for gaming? I mean, I am running games fine now, but I guess it is more of a future thing.

Thanks in advance for your response!
Well in my experience 8gb for gaming will hold just about any game out there without a difference. For me having 16gb on my system is a bit overkill for the gaming aspect (not for some of the work I end up doing) compared to when I had 8gb on my previous system. I tried an 8gb kit on my old system then a 16gb kit and it really made no difference in games at all that I could see. My current system will sometime exceed 9gb usage during gaming but even that is pretty rare.

Is it worth it, no I doubt you would see any difference. However if you want to just future proof that system and keep it for a very long time, you can get a kit for pretty cheap as far as ram goes.
 
Joined
Mar 26, 2010
Messages
7,642 (2.71/day)
Likes
1,984
Location
Jakarta, Indonesia
System Name micropage7
Processor Intel G4400
Motherboard MSI B150M Bazooka D3
Cooling Stock ( Lapped )
Memory 16 Gb Team Xtreem DDR3
Video Card(s) Nvidia GTX460
Storage Seagate 1 TB, 5oo Gb and SSD A-Data 128 Gb
Display(s) LG 19 inch LCD Wide Screen
Case HP dx6120 MT
Audio Device(s) Stock
Power Supply Be Quiet 600 Watt
Software Windows 7 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Classified
#10
just no. it might be cool has 16 gig ram but if wont affect much
better save it for something else
 
Joined
Jan 8, 2014
Messages
149 (0.10/day)
Likes
63
System Name maipc
Processor 4790k @ 4Ghz / 1.03v
Motherboard Asus vii hero
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB (2x8GB) Hyperx fury 1866 / CL10
Video Card(s) MSI GTX1060 Gaming X 6GB
Storage 512GB 840PRO + 1TB Seagate 7200.12 + 2TB WD Green
Display(s) Samsung 2243BW 22'' 1680x1050
Case Cooler Master Centurion 6
Power Supply Seasonic G series 550w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW + Razer DeathAdder 3.5G
Keyboard CM Storm Quickfire Rapid-i
Software Win 7 64bit
#11
Generally 8GB is enough for games.

But you can monitor your memory usage from the task manager. Then you should be able to figure out if you need an upgrade by yourself.
 
Joined
Jul 22, 2015
Messages
3 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
Location
Doncaster
Processor Intel Core i5 i5-4690K
Motherboard Asus Maximus VII Formula Intel Z97
Cooling Corsair h100i
Memory 16 gig corsair vengeance pro
Video Card(s) Msi gtx 980 oc 5g
Storage Samsung 840 EVO 250GB
Case Corsair air 540
Power Supply Corsair RM750
Software Windows 8.1
#12
To be fair there isn't many games out ar the moment that require more than 4gb, but I recently upgraded from 8 to 16gb and I haven't noticed any difference at all
 

peche

Thermaltake fanboy
Joined
Nov 7, 2014
Messages
6,228 (5.51/day)
Likes
5,078
Location
San Jose, Costa Rica
System Name Athenna
Processor intel i7 3770 *Dellided*
Motherboard GIGABYTE GA-Z68X-UD3H-B3 Rev. 1.1
Cooling Thermaltake Water 3.0 Pro + Tt Riing12 x2 / Tt ThunderBlade / Gelid Slim 120UV fans
Memory 16GB DRR3 Kingoston with Custom Tt spreaders + HyperX Fan
Video Card(s) GeForce GTX 980 4GB Nvidia Sample
Storage Crucial M4 SSD 64GB's / Seagate Barracuda 2TB / Seagate Barracuda 320GB's
Display(s) 22" LG FLATRON 1920 x 1280p
Case Thermaltake Commander G42 Window
Audio Device(s) On-board Dolby 5.1+ Kingston HyperX Cloud 1
Power Supply Themaltake TR2 700W 80plus bronce & APC Pro backup 1000Va
Mouse Tt eSports Level 10M Rev 1.0 Diamond Black & Tt Conkor "L" mouse pad
Keyboard Tt eSports KNUCKER
Software windows 10x64Pro
Benchmark Scores well I've fried a 775' P4 12 years ago, that counts?
#13
Generally 8GB is enough for games.
pretty much .... im seeing here some posts about GTA V, in dont play and like those games, but i have a friend that plays 24/7 that game, with a single GTX 760 and 8GB ram on a core i5 without problems...
 
Joined
Aug 10, 2007
Messages
4,058 (1.07/day)
Likes
1,122
Location
Geneva, FL, USA
Processor Intel i5-6600
Motherboard ASRock H170M-ITX
Cooling Cooler Master Geminii S524
Memory G.Skill DDR4-2133 16GB (8GB x 2)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte R9-380X 4GB
Storage Samsung 950 EVO 250GB (mSATA)
Display(s) LG 29UM69G-B 2560x1080 IPS
Case Lian Li PC-Q25
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892
Power Supply Seasonic SS-460FL2
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard Logitech G110
Software Windows 10 Pro
#14
It's on the line, what would make the difference is everyone's personal situation. I could make do with 8GB, but it's a lot nicer experience when I alt-tab out of a game to do something and it didn't have load that 'something' back into memory. With 16GB I'm up around 11-12GB usage and things are pretty fluid.
 
Joined
Jan 31, 2012
Messages
1,583 (0.74/day)
Likes
513
Location
Bulgaria
System Name HyperMainframe
Processor G4560
Motherboard Asus PRIME H270M-PLUS
Cooling Kraken X31
Memory 1x 8GB 2400 mhz DDR4 Adata XPG CL16
Video Card(s) RX 560 2 GB Gigabyte Gaming Edition
Storage Cruicial M.2 275GB drive + WD black 500 GB + WD Blue 640 GB
Display(s) 2560x1080 LG 29" + LG 22mp67vq-p
Case Deepcool D-Shield
Audio Device(s) Creative Recon 3D
Power Supply Cooler Master Silent Pro M500W
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Dell Somethin wireless
Software Windows 10 x 64 bits
Benchmark Scores Superposition benchmark : 1080p Medium - 4270 pts.
#15
I wouldn't bother. Life goes fast, I'd spend the money somewhere else.
 

peche

Thermaltake fanboy
Joined
Nov 7, 2014
Messages
6,228 (5.51/day)
Likes
5,078
Location
San Jose, Costa Rica
System Name Athenna
Processor intel i7 3770 *Dellided*
Motherboard GIGABYTE GA-Z68X-UD3H-B3 Rev. 1.1
Cooling Thermaltake Water 3.0 Pro + Tt Riing12 x2 / Tt ThunderBlade / Gelid Slim 120UV fans
Memory 16GB DRR3 Kingoston with Custom Tt spreaders + HyperX Fan
Video Card(s) GeForce GTX 980 4GB Nvidia Sample
Storage Crucial M4 SSD 64GB's / Seagate Barracuda 2TB / Seagate Barracuda 320GB's
Display(s) 22" LG FLATRON 1920 x 1280p
Case Thermaltake Commander G42 Window
Audio Device(s) On-board Dolby 5.1+ Kingston HyperX Cloud 1
Power Supply Themaltake TR2 700W 80plus bronce & APC Pro backup 1000Va
Mouse Tt eSports Level 10M Rev 1.0 Diamond Black & Tt Conkor "L" mouse pad
Keyboard Tt eSports KNUCKER
Software windows 10x64Pro
Benchmark Scores well I've fried a 775' P4 12 years ago, that counts?
#16
Joined
Jan 25, 2014
Messages
1,659 (1.17/day)
Likes
1,068
System Name AMD Black Widow
Processor AMD FX-6100 3.3GHz
Motherboard GIGABYTE GA-780T-D3L (rev. 4.0)
Cooling Cooler master hyper 212 EVO
Memory Kingston HyperX DDR3 2x4GB 1600MHz KHX1600C9D3B1K2/8GX
Video Card(s) MSI Radeon HD 7850 2GB OC GDDR5 Twin Frozr 3
Storage WESTERN DIGITAL 1TB 64MB 7k SATA600 Blue WD10EZEX
Display(s) LG W2453SQ-PF
Case Thermaltake Chaser A31 Black
Power Supply Cooler Master Extreme Power plus 460w
Software Windows 7 64bit
#17
I don't think you need 16 gb.
I wouldn't bother. Life goes fast, I'd spend the money somewhere else.
Potatoes right?
 
Joined
Jan 31, 2012
Messages
1,583 (0.74/day)
Likes
513
Location
Bulgaria
System Name HyperMainframe
Processor G4560
Motherboard Asus PRIME H270M-PLUS
Cooling Kraken X31
Memory 1x 8GB 2400 mhz DDR4 Adata XPG CL16
Video Card(s) RX 560 2 GB Gigabyte Gaming Edition
Storage Cruicial M.2 275GB drive + WD black 500 GB + WD Blue 640 GB
Display(s) 2560x1080 LG 29" + LG 22mp67vq-p
Case Deepcool D-Shield
Audio Device(s) Creative Recon 3D
Power Supply Cooler Master Silent Pro M500W
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Dell Somethin wireless
Software Windows 10 x 64 bits
Benchmark Scores Superposition benchmark : 1080p Medium - 4270 pts.
#18
Joined
Sep 6, 2013
Messages
748 (0.48/day)
Likes
227
Location
Oceania
#19
I have a 6GB G1 980 ti on the way. Will that make a difference?
Yeah it will, but are u upgrading to W10?

Atm when you run DX11 in 8.1 the driver looks at your available vram then tells WDM (OS) that's how much RAM is needed for GPU paging (aka Tiled Resources etc).
Windows then allocates that RAM to the GPU and it cannot be used for anything else. Whether the allocated amount is actually used or even needed makes no difference, lol.

So if you got 16GB of RAM and 8GB VRAM, 8GB of RAM is sliced of before you start the game, leaving you with....yep, 8GB. It's take it or leave it and a huge waste of resources
Partly why 8.1 users with 16GB RAM ran out of memory or had stutter/lag issues in DX11 games after upgrading to 4GB GPU's or better.


Anyway this is one of the things WDDM 2.0/DX12 is meant to address. Memory management will be handled by the game, atm in W10 it's the drivers since there are no DX12 apps.
Features like dynamic resource allocation, memory reclaim and residency will mean any VRAM/RAM space tagged by the game or drivers for textures or whatever must be in use.
If not then that space has to be given up to the OS for other resources. Basically just means the game can't sit on 8GB of RAM (or VRAM) and not use it.
 
Joined
Apr 4, 2013
Messages
93 (0.05/day)
Likes
11
System Name My rig
Processor i7 3770k 3.5
Motherboard Gigabyte UD4H
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 120M Push/Pull
Memory 8GB G.SKILL Ares Series (2 x 4GB) 1866 Mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX780 GDDR5-3GB 2xDVI/HDMI/DP OC Graphics Card - GV-N780GHZ-3GD
Storage Corsair Neutron 256 GB SSD/Western Digital 1TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache
Display(s) ASUS 24" IPS 60Hz
Case Corsair Vengeance Series C70 Arctic White
Audio Device(s) N/A
Power Supply Corsair Professional Series AX 850 Watt ATX/EPS Modular 80 PLUS Gold
Software Windows 8.1/Adobe Creative Cloud/Steam/Origin/UPlay
#20
Yeah it will, but are u upgrading to W10?

Atm when you run DX11 in 8.1 the driver looks at your available vram then tells WDM (OS) that's how much RAM is needed for GPU paging (aka Tiled Resources etc).
Windows then allocates that RAM to the GPU and it cannot be used for anything else. Whether the allocated amount is actually used or even needed makes no difference, lol.

So if you got 16GB of RAM and 8GB VRAM, 8GB of RAM is sliced of before you start the game, leaving you with....yep, 8GB. It's take it or leave it and a huge waste of resources
Partly why 8.1 users with 16GB RAM ran out of memory or had stutter/lag issues in DX11 games after upgrading to 4GB GPU's or better.


Anyway this is one of the things WDDM 2.0/DX12 is meant to address. Memory management will be handled by the game, atm in W10 it's the drivers since there are no DX12 apps.
Features like dynamic resource allocation, memory reclaim and residency will mean any VRAM/RAM space tagged by the game or drivers for textures or whatever must be in use.
If not then that space has to be given up to the OS for other resources. Basically just means the game can't sit on 8GB of RAM (or VRAM) and not use it.
Thanks!

Yes, I will be updating to Windows 10.
 
Joined
Feb 19, 2014
Messages
4,951 (3.56/day)
Likes
3,464
Location
Behind a VPN
System Name Black Widow/Red Queen X3
Processor i7 8700K 5.0GHz 1.296V/ Xeon X5690 4.5 GHz 1.377
Motherboard Asus Rog Maximus X Hero / Evga X58 Classified 3
Cooling WaterChiller - both Machines looped
Memory G.SKILL Ripjaws V 3000MHz 32GB/ G.SKILL RIPJAWSX 2133Hz 12GB
Video Card(s) EVGA GEFORCE GTX 1080 CLASSIFIED/ Zotac 210
Storage Samsung 960 EVO - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - WD Blue 1TB - WD Black 1TB/ Samsung EVO 250GB
Display(s) Asus PG278Q ROG/ Samsung
Case Cougar Panzer Max/ Lian Li
Audio Device(s) On Board
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 1000W 80plus platinum Super Overclock Edition ATX2
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Virtuis Advanced Gaming Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Pro.
#21
I've said this several times in the last few months, and I think it's time for all of us to stop advising people that 8GB is all they need. We're a tech site, and it should be obvious which direction games are going, so we should be adapting as well.
Wise words:respect::respect::respect::respect:
It's the end of 8GB are Overkill.
 
Joined
Mar 26, 2014
Messages
5,163 (3.80/day)
Likes
3,839
Location
Washington, USA
System Name Volt
Processor i7-4790k
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z97X Gaming 5
Cooling NZXT Kraken X60
Memory G.Skill Ripjaws 4x8GB
Video Card(s) MSI GTX1080 Ti Gaming X
Storage 250GB SSD / 3x1TB + 2x2TB HDD
Display(s) 3x AOC 2425W + ViewSonic VA2855Smh + 2x Dell E178FP
Case Phantec Enthoo Pro
Audio Device(s) LucidSound LS30
Power Supply Rosewill Fortress 750w
Mouse G.Skill MX780 RGB
Keyboard G.Skill KM780 RGB (Brown switches)
Software Windows 10 Professional
Benchmark Scores Technical term is PEBCAK issue, which stands for Problem Exists Between Chair And Keyboard
#22
Iunno about you guys, but the reason I had to go with 16GB is because I was filling up on 8GB, and sometimes I still hit 11-12GB usages. It all depends on what you do really.

Then again my laptop has 8GB and it barely touches 4GB usage. Silly me.
 
Joined
Nov 29, 2011
Messages
5,975 (2.71/day)
Likes
5,278
Location
Hi! I'm from the Internet
System Name Selene / Yoda
Processor Fx 8350 @ 4.4 / Phenom II x6 1090t @ 3.6
Motherboard Gigabyte 990FXA-UD3 r4.0 / Gigabyte 890XA-UD3
Cooling H100i / Xig Dark Knight
Memory 4x 8gb G.Skill Snipers / 4x 4gb G.Skill Ares
Video Card(s) Gigabyte R9 290x / XfX DD & VisionTek HD6850's C'fired
Storage 256gb ssd, 2x 2tb Wd Blacks & 1x 1tb Wd black / 1x 1tb
Display(s) Dell Ultra Sharp 2408 WFp / Hp w2207
Case Raidmax Vampire / Chieftec Alum. Dragon Blue
Audio Device(s) Onboard Hd Audio / Onboard Hd Audio
Power Supply Corsair TX 850 watt / Corsair TX 750 watt
Mouse Logitech G500s
Keyboard Corsair Strafe
Software Win 10 pro / Win Vista Home prem. 64 bit
Benchmark Scores What are benchmarks anyway?
#23
Well I am thinking of moving up from 16gb to 32gb as the last upgrade for my main rig.
 
Joined
Feb 19, 2014
Messages
4,951 (3.56/day)
Likes
3,464
Location
Behind a VPN
System Name Black Widow/Red Queen X3
Processor i7 8700K 5.0GHz 1.296V/ Xeon X5690 4.5 GHz 1.377
Motherboard Asus Rog Maximus X Hero / Evga X58 Classified 3
Cooling WaterChiller - both Machines looped
Memory G.SKILL Ripjaws V 3000MHz 32GB/ G.SKILL RIPJAWSX 2133Hz 12GB
Video Card(s) EVGA GEFORCE GTX 1080 CLASSIFIED/ Zotac 210
Storage Samsung 960 EVO - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - WD Blue 1TB - WD Black 1TB/ Samsung EVO 250GB
Display(s) Asus PG278Q ROG/ Samsung
Case Cougar Panzer Max/ Lian Li
Audio Device(s) On Board
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 1000W 80plus platinum Super Overclock Edition ATX2
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Virtuis Advanced Gaming Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Pro.
#24
Well I am thinking of moving up from 16gb to 32gb as the last upgrade for my main rig.
Nice move:toast:
When I built my Machine around one year and a few months ago I did installed 32GB.

Note: I have thought that what was overkill at that time it wasn't going to be in a future.
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
11,471 (3.95/day)
Likes
6,245
Location
Ohio
System Name Daily Driver
Processor 7900X 4.5GHz 10c/10t 1.15V.
Motherboard ASUS Prime X299 Deluxe
Cooling MCR320 + Kuplos Kryos NEXT CPU block
Memory GSkill Trident Z 4x8 GB DDR4 3600 MHz CL16
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080 FTW3
Storage 512GB Patriot Hellfire, 512GB OCZ RD400, 640GB Caviar Black, 2TB Caviar Green
Display(s) Yamakasi 27" 2560x1440 IPS
Case Thermaltake P5
Power Supply EVGA 750W Supernova G2
Benchmark Scores Faster than most of you! Bet on it! :)
#25
EDIT: I've said this several times in the last few months, and I think it's time for all of us to stop advising people that 8GB is all they need. We're a tech site, and it should be obvious which direction games are going, so we should be adapting as well.
Sure.. I won't call 8GB overkill. I will call it standard. 16GB is overkill for most users. 8GB is 'all *most* need'. And until a specific use is mentioned that would put that 8GB limit in jeopardy, it is what I will continue to recommend.

Like was said earlier, it all depends on the OP's use. If he is pusing 6-7GB use at times, then I would say go for it. If the OP is under 6-7GB, save your money. There isn't a point to add ram if you are not going to use it (for the most part).
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.