• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Do i need to upgrade my power supply if i...

Joined
Oct 6, 2007
Messages
8 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#1
my system right now.

500W power supply
320 gb western digital HDD
4GB Corsair DDR2 RAM
Core 2 Duo Conroe 2.13 Ghz
2x Nvidia 7600 GS 512 mb



im looking to upgrade my processor and my vid card.

processor to a 3.0 or better ghz core 2 duo
and video card to a 8600GTS i think.

i will be upgrading the processor first so, will i need to get a new power supply do you think. im going to before the vid card anyway...but im curious if i can get away with buying the processor first and not worrying about anything failing to work.

any thoughts?
 
Joined
May 10, 2007
Messages
1,396 (0.36/day)
Likes
124
Location
London, England
#2
I run my system on a 430W PSU, look at sys specs, the older Athlon X2s have higher TDPs than the C2Ds, so it should be fine.
My graphics card is also overclocked, so some OCing on both CPU and GPU should be fine with that GPU.

If anything, I think a dual 7600GS system might take more power than a single 8600GTS, they're pretty low powered (they have the PCIe power connector as an option, since it needs 71W, which is to cose for comfort to the 75W max of the PCIe slot itself)
If that 500W is a quality PSU, you may be able to power something like an 8800GTS as well.
 

btarunr

Editor & Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
34,334 (9.23/day)
Likes
17,427
Location
Hyderabad, India
System Name Long shelf-life potato
Processor Intel Core i7-4770K
Motherboard ASUS Z97-A
Cooling Xigmatek Aegir CPU Cooler
Memory 16GB Kingston HyperX Beast DDR3-1866
Video Card(s) 2x GeForce GTX 970 SLI
Storage ADATA SU800 512GB
Display(s) Samsung U28D590D 28-inch 4K
Case Cooler Master CM690 Window
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Recon3D PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX850W
Mouse Razer Abyssus 2014
Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder X4
Software Windows 10 Pro Creators Update
#3
Depends a lot on your mobo. The 3.0 GHz Core 2 Duo you're planning to buy, is the E6850. This CPU has an FSB of 1333 MHz. So if your board uses an Intel P965/G965 etc, you won't be able to use this chip. Get yourself a P35/P31 based board first. For two 8600 GTS cards you'll need at least a 550 W supply that's 80% efficient.

I agree with Ripper3 (below), the NForce 6x0i series will be able to drive a FSB 1333 CPU.

When two 8600 GTS cards in SLi are set in the 'load-balancing' mode, they draw more power than the sum of the power consumptions of two individual cards working in full-load. That explains 550 W, 80 % efficiency.
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 10, 2007
Messages
1,396 (0.36/day)
Likes
124
Location
London, England
#4
The 80% efficiency is about how much power it pulls, and outputs, it will output 550W, and if that's exactly 80% efficiency, the 550W output is 20% less than the input power.
So an 80% efficiency at 550W means it's pulling a total of 687.5W from the mains.

BTW, if 550W is the recommended minimum from NVidia, that's the recommended for using with a non-branded, or generic PSU.

The E6850 has 65W TDP, let's say the 8600GTS SLi'd, and with slight OC uses 160W total (meaning 160/12 = ~13A needed through 12V rail just for graphics). With the power requirements for the rest of the system being a rough 100-150W (I'd guess anyhow), and witha 50W minimum comfortable margin, for extra power, I'd say a minimum of 425W PSU would be fine, so his 500W, if from a good brand, would certainly suffice.

Hell, that may even be too high a calculation, my 430W supplies upto 19A on Rails 1 & 2, or 14A Rail 1, 13A rail 2 sustained, I'd be just about able to have 8600GTS (but I wouldn't really like to try).

Motherboard is fine, running SLi 7600GS means you're running an Nvidia chipset, if it's a 650i SLi board, you should be able to run a 1333MHz FSB CPU just fine.
 
Joined
Oct 1, 2007
Messages
497 (0.13/day)
Likes
22
Location
Australia
Processor AMD Athlon X2 3800+ Toledo (2.0ghz for now) (Looking for Opty)
Motherboard DFI LanParty UT NF4 Ultra-D
Cooling Zalman CNPS9700 NT + 6 120mm Zalman ZM-F3GL case fans through Zalman ZM-MFC1
Memory 2GB OCZ Platinum DDR400 + 2 GB for spare (Or Vista)!
Video Card(s) PNY 8800GTS 320MB
Storage 2x Western Digital 320GB 16MB Cache SATAII Raid 0
Display(s) 17" Philips 107S6E CRT (226BW early `08)
Case CoolerMaster Centurion 534 with upcoming modifications
Audio Device(s) SoundBlaster Audigy
Power Supply Thermaltake TR2 550W (Soon to be ToughPower 750W)
Software Windows XP SP2
#5
A good solid, and rather cheap PSU is the ThermalTake TR2. The new revision of it has the cable management. I've always seen getting a PSU that is more then my PC would ever draw in output, therefor it puts less strain on the unit, which can lower heat, lower fan speed noise, and gives heaps of upgrade headroom. Whatever wattage PSU you get, just don't get a cheap one, they make heaps of noise, heaps of heat and they are not efficient.
 

wtf8269

New Member
Joined
Apr 12, 2005
Messages
2,489 (0.54/day)
Likes
19
Location
Ohio
System Name Onus
Processor E8500 @ 3.95ghz ~1.25v
Motherboard ASUS P5E Deluxe
Cooling Scythe Orochi cpu, 5x 120mm Zalman red LED case fans, stock GPU coolers
Memory 8gb (4x2gb) G.Skill PC8000 5-5-5-15
Video Card(s) 2x ASUS 3870x2s
Storage 4x160gb RAID 0 Main, 2x 500gb RAID 0 media storage.
Display(s) LG W2600H
Case Lian Li PC-A70B, painted black and other modded aspects :)
Audio Device(s) HT Omega Striker. Klipsch RF-3II fronts, Yamaha NS-A222 rears, Klipsch RC-3II center, Klipsch SUB12
Power Supply Corsair CMPSU-750TX
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64, lots of games, photoshop n stuff.
#6
Depending on what brand your PSU is, and what the amperages are. Assuming both of those are good I think it should be fine. Keep in mind that most of the time one 12v rail with very high amperage is often better than several 12v rails with mediocre amperage. I'm sure there are people that will argue with me, and that's fine, because I can't recall the articles from which I read this information from. :D
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,108 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,538
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#7
my system in the specs on the right, uses 350W at idle and 450W at load.

Thing is, you use a 500W PSU on a rig like this for long periods of time, it'll just wear out faster than a 700W will, since its closer to its limits.

Quality brand, and a well cooled PSU matter more than the wattage :) i've ran an AM2 3800+ dual core with an x1800xl and 2GB DDR2 ram on a 200W fortron PSU for 6 months without issue, because i force fed a 120mm fan into the thing :D
 
Joined
Oct 1, 2007
Messages
497 (0.13/day)
Likes
22
Location
Australia
Processor AMD Athlon X2 3800+ Toledo (2.0ghz for now) (Looking for Opty)
Motherboard DFI LanParty UT NF4 Ultra-D
Cooling Zalman CNPS9700 NT + 6 120mm Zalman ZM-F3GL case fans through Zalman ZM-MFC1
Memory 2GB OCZ Platinum DDR400 + 2 GB for spare (Or Vista)!
Video Card(s) PNY 8800GTS 320MB
Storage 2x Western Digital 320GB 16MB Cache SATAII Raid 0
Display(s) 17" Philips 107S6E CRT (226BW early `08)
Case CoolerMaster Centurion 534 with upcoming modifications
Audio Device(s) SoundBlaster Audigy
Power Supply Thermaltake TR2 550W (Soon to be ToughPower 750W)
Software Windows XP SP2
#8
Seriously, if you want a beefy power supply that is quiet and will power pretty much anything you can chuck at it try the 750W ThermalTake Tough Power. I've always found ThermalTake to make good quality products, great tech support here and I managed to get an exception on my warranty with my TR2 after what I think was caused by my hot water heater tripping the circuit and resetting my power board I burnt 4 pins on my ATX connection. No fault of the power supply, i had mistakenly broken my warranty label whilst cleaning it and they said they would cover my warranty no problem, awesome. I can vouch for the Toughpower, there is one in a mates rig and it's holding it so easily it's like it barely needs to take a heavy breath, so to speak.
 

ghost101

New Member
Joined
Jun 3, 2006
Messages
1,328 (0.32/day)
Likes
164
Location
London
#9
Depending on what brand your PSU is, and what the amperages are. Assuming both of those are good I think it should be fine. Keep in mind that most of the time one 12v rail with very high amperage is often better than several 12v rails with mediocre amperage. I'm sure there are people that will argue with me, and that's fine, because I can't recall the articles from which I read this information from. :D
Its because two 12v rails of 20A, does not translate into combined 40A available on the 12v rail unless the rails are fully independent. Very few PSUs actually have this.

Also, 40A combined is in reality good as a single 40A rail anyway unless you believe PC PnC promotional material. The multiple rail thing was originally introduced for safety reasons but has been marketed as something amazing.

Xbitlabs have very extensive articles explaining this.
 

Namslas90

New Member
Joined
Aug 27, 2006
Messages
4,846 (1.17/day)
Likes
535
Location
Earth
Processor AMD PII 940
Motherboard Biostar TA790GXB3
Cooling Custom Air
Memory 4GB G.SKILL (2x2)
Video Card(s) ASUS Radeon HD 5970
Storage 2X32GB ST SSd R0 + WD500GB storage
Display(s) Asus 22" Widescreen
Case Thermaltake V9 BE
Power Supply PCP&C 750 Silencer
#10
Upgrading to the C2D is no issue. The issue is the 8800, and if you ever plan on going SLI.
You should look into a better PSU with the amps on the 12v Rails necessary for the 8800 (or SLI 8800's). Always buy the best quality PSU you can afford with more Watts than you need. As mentioned in previous post(s); the more power available, the less hard the PSU has to work to supply what the system needs - therefor more stable overclocks and less heat generated, less stress on PSU. If getting a dual (or more) rail PSU go for between 24-28 amp rails, if single rail PSU go for 40 or better.

:toast:
 
Joined
Oct 6, 2007
Messages
8 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#11
hey wow...thankyou for all your help guys. certainly much more than i nedded.

i did forget the mobo spec...

its an Asus p5nSli should be a 650i that Ripper was talking about.

all the info was very helpful. thanks everyone. :)
 

JC316

Knows what makes you tick
Joined
Jan 24, 2006
Messages
9,370 (2.16/day)
Likes
982
System Name Budget Gaming
Processor AMD FX6300
Motherboard Gigabyte 880GMA-USB3
Cooling Coolermaster Hyper 212+
Memory 8GB Ripjaws DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) HD7850 1GB
Storage 1TB Sata2
Display(s) Acer 24" LED
Case Generic black
Audio Device(s) Stock onboard
Power Supply FSP Aurum Gold 650W
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
#12
I was running an E4300 and 8600GTS on a 550W with ease. It was only when I got my 2900 that I needed more.
 
Joined
Jul 18, 2007
Messages
2,425 (0.64/day)
Likes
645
System Name panda
Processor 6700k
Motherboard sabretooth s
Cooling raystorm block<black ice stealth 240 rad<ek dcc 18w 140 xres
Memory 32gb ripjaw v
Video Card(s) 290x gamer<ntzx g10<antec 920
Storage 950 pro 250gb boot 850 evo pr0n
Display(s) QX2710LED@110hz lg 27ud68p
Case 540 Air
Audio Device(s) nope
Power Supply 750w superflower
Mouse g502
Keyboard shine 3 with grey, black and red caps
Software win 10
Benchmark Scores http://hwbot.org/user/marsey99/
#13
I was running an E4300 and 8600GTS on a 550W with ease. It was only when I got my 2900 that I needed more.
i know the feeling, im back with my 76gt as the 88gtx makes my 570w so hot i can fry eggs on its housing :eek:

i runs ok (just warm :laugh: ) as long as i keep my cpu under 1.4v but anything more and it crapps out on me. i guess i could drop a hd and a dvd rom and a fan or 5 but.... :slap:
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,108 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,538
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#14
i know the feeling, im back with my 76gt as the 88gtx makes my 570w so hot i can fry eggs on its housing :eek:

i runs ok (just warm :laugh: ) as long as i keep my cpu under 1.4v but anything more and it crapps out on me. i guess i could drop a hd and a dvd rom and a fan or 5 but.... :slap:
just do what i did and increase its cooling :) i had a PSU with an 80mm fan intake, and i attached an 80-92mm adaptor (and then a 92-120 lol) but the point was more airflow = cooler = more stable voltages,

I mod most of my PSU's with new fans, something like a panaflo on a 7v adaptor really gives them some kick.
 
Last edited: