• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Do we have a TPU DD-WRT Firmware Club?

Joined
Sep 29, 2004
Messages
878 (0.18/day)
Likes
166
Location
Palm Desert, CA
System Name The Shroomiest One!
Processor AMD FX 8320
Motherboard Asus 990FX Sabertooth R2.0
Cooling Corsair H60
Memory 4x4GB Samsung 1600 Low Profile
Video Card(s) MSI GTX660ti PE OC
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB / Western Digital 2Tb Black
Display(s) LG W2361VG 23" 1080p
Case Corsair Carbide Series 400R Graphite Grey
Audio Device(s) X-FI Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
Power Supply Corsair AX850
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
#1
Do we have a clue for the DD-WRT users here. seems alot of you guys have alot of knawledge about it and it would be kinda cool to get it all consolidated in one place.
 
Joined
Oct 10, 2007
Messages
1,540 (0.41/day)
Likes
173
System Name :3
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 - 3ghz
Motherboard GIGABYTE GA-EP35-DS3R LGA 775 Intel P35 ATX Dynamic Energy Saver Ultra Durable II Intel Motherboard
Cooling cm 212 EVO
Memory G.SKILL 8GB (4 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 1000 (PC2 8000) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory Model
Video Card(s) BFG GTX 275
Storage WD black 500gb Samsung 1tb
Display(s) 27" 1366x768 Olevia 527v
Case Antec Three Hundred
Audio Device(s) ALC889
Power Supply CORSAIR TX Series CMPSU-750TX 750W ATX12V v2.3 SLI Ready CrossFire Ready 80 PLUS BRONZE Certified Ac
Software Windows 8 pro
#2
maybe openWRT too? btw that reminds me, in DD-WRT do you still have to reboot every time you change something?
 
Joined
Sep 29, 2004
Messages
878 (0.18/day)
Likes
166
Location
Palm Desert, CA
System Name The Shroomiest One!
Processor AMD FX 8320
Motherboard Asus 990FX Sabertooth R2.0
Cooling Corsair H60
Memory 4x4GB Samsung 1600 Low Profile
Video Card(s) MSI GTX660ti PE OC
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB / Western Digital 2Tb Black
Display(s) LG W2361VG 23" 1080p
Case Corsair Carbide Series 400R Graphite Grey
Audio Device(s) X-FI Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
Power Supply Corsair AX850
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
#3
sorry for the late reply. The router resets its wireless signal whenever I change something. so my wireless connection looses signal for about 15secs when it happens. besides that no reboot is needed.
 

BUCK NASTY

F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust
Staff member
Joined
Aug 8, 2007
Messages
4,968 (1.31/day)
Likes
4,624
Location
Port St Lucie, FL. U.S.A.
System Name Main Rig
Processor AMD FX-4130 @ 4.8Ghz
Motherboard ASUS M5A99X Evo
Cooling Coolermaster Hyper 212+
Memory 8GB GSkill DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 970 Strix @ 1503Mhz Core
Storage Corsair Force 90gb SSD/ WD Caviar Blue 750gb
Display(s) ASUS 24" IPS
Case Coolermaster Centurion 590
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Antec TP750 80+
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64
#4
Joined
Sep 29, 2004
Messages
878 (0.18/day)
Likes
166
Location
Palm Desert, CA
System Name The Shroomiest One!
Processor AMD FX 8320
Motherboard Asus 990FX Sabertooth R2.0
Cooling Corsair H60
Memory 4x4GB Samsung 1600 Low Profile
Video Card(s) MSI GTX660ti PE OC
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB / Western Digital 2Tb Black
Display(s) LG W2361VG 23" 1080p
Case Corsair Carbide Series 400R Graphite Grey
Audio Device(s) X-FI Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
Power Supply Corsair AX850
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
#5

BUCK NASTY

F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust
Staff member
Joined
Aug 8, 2007
Messages
4,968 (1.31/day)
Likes
4,624
Location
Port St Lucie, FL. U.S.A.
System Name Main Rig
Processor AMD FX-4130 @ 4.8Ghz
Motherboard ASUS M5A99X Evo
Cooling Coolermaster Hyper 212+
Memory 8GB GSkill DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 970 Strix @ 1503Mhz Core
Storage Corsair Force 90gb SSD/ WD Caviar Blue 750gb
Display(s) ASUS 24" IPS
Case Coolermaster Centurion 590
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Antec TP750 80+
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64
#6
theres a thread on it at dd-wrt forum
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=62942

why dont you try the dd-wrt firmware on the wrt54g you got? If its taking a crap, the firmware might fix it.
I have already upgraded to the latest Linksys firmware and it's a little better, but i'm getting tired of resetting it every couple of hours. I'll try dd-wrt install this weekend when i have the time.

Edit: Looks like my V5 router is a neutered version and the dd-wrt flash is not recommended. It appears that I have this router utilized beyond it's means(7 rigs/5 VM's). Rosewill it is!
 
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 30, 2004
Messages
500 (0.10/day)
Likes
42
Processor dual G34 6128he
Motherboard h8dg6
Cooling OEM
Memory 48gb DDR3 ECC REG
Video Card(s) onboard
Storage 12x 3tb 4x 15k sas
Display(s) crappy lcd
Case chenbro rackmouunt
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply seasonic 3x redundant
Software ProxMox
#7
openwrt is my preference. that said, i a m running dd-wrt for compatibility on my new router. and even it only installed after i soldered in a com cable.
 
Joined
Feb 20, 2007
Messages
1,140 (0.29/day)
Likes
63
Location
Baltimore, Maryland
System Name Cozad (Asus G60JX)
Processor Core i5 M 430
Memory 8 GB DDR3 1066
Video Card(s) nVidia GeForce 360M
Storage 500GB
Display(s) 16 inch LED LCD
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64 SP1
#8
DD-WRT rocks. I've been using it on my router for nearly 2 years.
 
Joined
Oct 10, 2007
Messages
1,540 (0.41/day)
Likes
173
System Name :3
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 - 3ghz
Motherboard GIGABYTE GA-EP35-DS3R LGA 775 Intel P35 ATX Dynamic Energy Saver Ultra Durable II Intel Motherboard
Cooling cm 212 EVO
Memory G.SKILL 8GB (4 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 1000 (PC2 8000) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory Model
Video Card(s) BFG GTX 275
Storage WD black 500gb Samsung 1tb
Display(s) 27" 1366x768 Olevia 527v
Case Antec Three Hundred
Audio Device(s) ALC889
Power Supply CORSAIR TX Series CMPSU-750TX 750W ATX12V v2.3 SLI Ready CrossFire Ready 80 PLUS BRONZE Certified Ac
Software Windows 8 pro
#9
i like openWRT + X-Wrt about a million times better than DD-Wrt, everything works in it and you dont have to reboot every time you change settings. [by everything works i mean literly, DD-WRT came from openWRT and not everything works in it yet, while everything works in openWRT]

i use whiterussian still cuz every time i go to use kamikaze the X-Wrt for it isnt as polished but its been a really long time since i tried it out, like maybe 2 years even HEH

uhh, beyond its capibilitys? man... my WRT54G v2.0 with 32mb of ram could handle that EASILY, i would go for one with 32mb of ram, you can get a whole lot more connections going that way, but cpu side, you can route enough traffic to handle alot more boxes than that, i can handle 2 boxes running torrents no problem over here, torrents set to go wild and try to abuse the connection as much as possible, QoS keeps them from ruining everything else yay, good luck trying to find something better, the only thing i think thats really any better is the stuff from avila gateworks

5953 connections at once with 16mb of ram [after that it will start cutting connections, most idle first, not crash]
 

Polaris573

Senior Moderator
Joined
Feb 26, 2005
Messages
4,268 (0.91/day)
Likes
672
Location
Little Rock, USA
Processor LGA 775 Intel Q9550 2.8 Ghz
Motherboard MSI P7N Diamond - 780i Chipset
Cooling Arctic Freezer
Memory 6GB G.Skill DDRII 800 4-4-3-5
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 7850 2 GB PCI-E
Storage 1 TB Seagate 32MB Cache, 250 GB Seagate 16MB Cache
Display(s) Acer X203w
Case Coolermaster Centurion 5
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Xtreme Music
Power Supply OCZ StealthXStream 600 Watt
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#10
I'm in! My Linksys WRT54G is taking a crap on me and I'm going open source on the next router. Anyone in the know have an opinion about this router on Newegg? I guess it's a rebranded Netcore product. Also, is anyone running Tomato?

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16833166032
I've stayed away from Rosewill products ever since I had to RMA an ATI 9800 pro three times. That was a long time ago though, maybe they're better now.

I'm running DD-WRT on a WRT150N, so you can add me to the head count.