• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Do you plan on using DirectX 12 mixed GPU in the future?

Do you plan on using DirectX 12 mixed GPU in the future?

  • Yes, using a single GPU vendor

    Votes: 1,566 16.3%
  • Yes, mixing GPU vendors

    Votes: 1,327 13.8%
  • I have no hope for this feature

    Votes: 1,518 15.8%
  • I prefer to just upgrade to one faster card

    Votes: 5,212 54.2%

  • Total voters
    9,623
  • Poll closed .
Joined
Mar 29, 2012
Messages
411 (0.15/day)
Location
brčko dc/bosnia and herzegovina
System Name windows 10 pro 64bit
Processor i5 6600k 4.6ghz 1.37v
Motherboard asus maximus viii gene
Cooling Fractal Design Kelvin S24
Memory 2x8(16)GB 2860mhz
Video Card(s) gtx 970 4gb MSI
Storage ssd crusial 128gb 6gb/s
Display(s) dell E248WFP 24" 1200p
Case Aerocool DS Cube
Audio Device(s) asus motherboard intergrated
Power Supply be Quiet pure power L8 600w
Software my favorite World of Tanks :) is that a software?? :)
well i gues most of you guys have fancy intel cpu...,well you can yuse igpu as second gpu..any performance gain is performance gain!!that goes same for the ppl who was on a budget and had to buy amd apu....i truly hope developers takes full advantage over that mixing gpu stuff.. :)
 
Joined
Sep 10, 2014
Messages
601 (0.32/day)
Single beefy GPU, I think it will stay the choice.
 
Joined
Feb 20, 2007
Messages
366 (0.08/day)
Location
Where the beer is good
System Name Karl Arsch v. u. z. Abgewischt
Processor i5 3770K @5GHz delided
Motherboard ASRock Z77 Professional
Cooling Arctic Liquid Freezer 240
Memory 4x 4GB 1866 MHz DDR3
Video Card(s) GTX 970
Storage Samsung 830 - 512GB; 2x 2TB WD Blue
Display(s) Samsung T240 1920x1200
Case Bitfenix Shinobie XL
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Cougar G600
Mouse Logitech G500
Keyboard CMStorm Ultimate QuickFire (CherryMX Brown)
Software Win7 Pro 64bit
I trust in Nvidia and amd to find a way to screw that up somehow.
 
Joined
Jul 24, 2008
Messages
514 (0.12/day)
Processor 2500k
Motherboard Asrock Extreme3 Gen3
Cooling CM Hyper 212 EVO
Memory 16G Corsair Vengence
Video Card(s) XFX 390 DD BE
Storage OCZ Agility3 / F1 1tb
Display(s) Hazro HZ27WC 2560x1440 / x3 BenQ G2222HDL Eyefinity - 5760x1080
Case Fractal Design Define XL
Audio Device(s) Onboard / Edifier RT1600
Power Supply Cooler Master Silent Pro Gold 700W
Not long since i purchased a 390. When upgrade time comes i don't see any reason not to run multiple Gpu's
 
Joined
Apr 18, 2015
Messages
214 (0.13/day)
For very long time I preferred one GPU only.
I mostly upgrade because the components are old. What's the purpose to add another old card.
It's better to get a new one which will mostly have the same performance as the 2 old cards.

Technology is amazing, but it must be included in the driver and work in all applications, not just one game, and then maybe we'll use some resources from the iGPU and both the old and the new GPU :)
 
Joined
Mar 26, 2010
Messages
8,390 (2.38/day)
Location
Jakarta, Indonesia
System Name micropage7
Processor Intel Xeon X3470
Motherboard Gigabyte Technology Co. Ltd. P55A-UD3R (Socket 1156)
Cooling Enermax ETS-T40F
Memory Samsung 8.00GB Dual-Channel DDR3
Video Card(s) NVIDIA Quadro FX 1800
Storage V-GEN03AS18EU120GB, Seagate 2 x 1TB and Seagate 4TB
Display(s) Samsung 21 inch LCD Wide Screen
Case Icute Super 18
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Forte
Power Supply Silverstone 600 Watt
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Sades Excalibur + Taihao keycaps
Software Win 7 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Classified
i think better upgrade for one better card, for compability and lower power consumption
but so far im not too interested on changing GPU
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
47,461 (8.59/day)
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Big Fella
Processor Ryzen R7 2700X (stock/XFR OC)
Motherboard Asus B450-i ITX
Cooling Corsair H110 W/ Corsair ML RGB fans
Memory 16GB DDR4 3200 Corsair Vengeance RGB Pro
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS mod to Gaming Z) w/ Corsair H55 AIO
Storage 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + 1TB Intel 6000 Pro NVME
Display(s) Phillips 328m6fjrmb (32" 1440p 144hz curved) + Sony KD-55X8500F (55" 4K HDR)
Case Fractal Design Nano S
Audio Device(s) Razer Leviathan + Corsair Void pro RGB, Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G903 + PowerPlay mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
depending on how its implemented in games, i'll use it.

as an example:

I've got a
290 4GB
7970 3GB
7750 4GB (it was free. stop laughing)
Geforce 550ti 1GB

if a game can use the extra ram, i'd throw the 7750 in. If it had Nvidia exclusives - the 550ti makes a showing.

If i just need regular old crossfire but dont have matching cards, i'll either use 290 + 7970, or my 6570 2GB crossfire setup :p
 
Joined
Jul 9, 2015
Messages
1,956 (1.22/day)
System Name My all round PC
Processor i5 750
Motherboard ASUS P7P55D-E
Memory 8GB
Video Card(s) Sapphire 380 OC... sold, waiting for Navi
Storage 256GB Samsung SSD + 2Tb + 1.5Tb
Display(s) Samsung 40" A650 TV
Case Thermaltake Chaser mk-I Tower
Power Supply 425w Enermax MODU 82+
Software Windows 10
Does that even make sense, unless you bring NV into the mix?
I mean, crossfire is faster than that, isn't it? (best scaling I've seen with DX12 multi GPU was like 60%, with average closer to half of that, unless I"m misreading it)
AMD allows you to do that without any links between cards.
AMD allows you to do that with DIFFERENT cards too (even to utilize those, integrated with CPU)

So what gives?
 
Joined
Jun 13, 2012
Messages
1,109 (0.41/day)
System Name desktop
Processor i7-4770k
Motherboard Asus z87-plus
Cooling Corsair h80
Memory 32gb G.Skill Ares @ 2400mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 SC (ACX 3.0)
Storage 2x Samsung 1tb 850evo SSD, 3x WD drives, 2 seagate
Display(s) Acer Predator XB271HU 27inch IPS G-Sync 165hz
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster x-FI Platium, Turtle beach Elite pro 2 + superamp.
Power Supply OCZ Z Series 850W
Mouse Razer Deathadder Elite
Keyboard Logitch G710+
Does that even make sense, unless you bring NV into the mix?
I mean, crossfire is faster than that, isn't it? (best scaling I've seen with DX12 multi GPU was like 60%, with average closer to half of that, unless I"m misreading it)
AMD allows you to do that without any links between cards.
AMD allows you to do that with DIFFERENT cards too (even to utilize those, integrated with CPU)

So what gives?
with DX12 don't think it matters anymore about that SLI bridge so much since in theory can use amd card and nvidia card. Best SLI/CF scaled game was sniper elite 3, it scales like 90-95% and it was DX11
 

Frick

Fishfaced Nincompoop
Joined
Feb 27, 2006
Messages
15,961 (3.18/day)
Location
Piteå
System Name Black MC in Tokyo
Processor Ryzen 3 1200
Motherboard Asrock B450M-HDV
Cooling AMD Wraith Stealth
Memory 2 x 8GB G-skill Aegis 3000 or somesuch
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 760 DCU2OC 2GB
Storage Kingston A400 240GB | WD Blue 1TB x 2
Display(s) BenQ GL2450HT
Case Some old Antec
Audio Device(s) Line6 UX1 + slightly modded Sony DR-ZX302
Power Supply Fractal Design Effekt 400W
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Cherry MX-Board 3.0
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores I once had +100 dorfs in DF, so yeah pretty great
depending on how its implemented in games, i'll use it.

as an example:

I've got a
290 4GB
7970 3GB
7750 4GB (it was free. stop laughing)
Geforce 550ti 1GB

if a game can use the extra ram, i'd throw the 7750 in. If it had Nvidia exclusives - the 550ti makes a showing.

If i just need regular old crossfire but dont have matching cards, i'll either use 290 + 7970, or my 6570 2GB crossfire setup :p
Isn't this a DX12 feature?
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
47,461 (8.59/day)
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Big Fella
Processor Ryzen R7 2700X (stock/XFR OC)
Motherboard Asus B450-i ITX
Cooling Corsair H110 W/ Corsair ML RGB fans
Memory 16GB DDR4 3200 Corsair Vengeance RGB Pro
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS mod to Gaming Z) w/ Corsair H55 AIO
Storage 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + 1TB Intel 6000 Pro NVME
Display(s) Phillips 328m6fjrmb (32" 1440p 144hz curved) + Sony KD-55X8500F (55" 4K HDR)
Case Fractal Design Nano S
Audio Device(s) Razer Leviathan + Corsair Void pro RGB, Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G903 + PowerPlay mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
Isn't this a DX12 feature?
isn't that what this threads about :p

how game devs implement it is entirely up to them, so without knowing how it'll divide up the work, the possible combinations are wild guesses right now.
 
Joined
Apr 16, 2015
Messages
305 (0.18/day)
System Name 2016
Processor intel i7-6700K
Motherboard ASUS Maximus VIII Impact
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory G.Skill Ripjaws V DDR4 2x16GB 3200MHz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 1070 mini (3rd from RMA; 2 burned)
Storage Samsung EVO 850 + 24TB NAS
Display(s) AOC 31.5" ips freesync; Oculus Rift CV1
Case Raijintek Metis Classic Black
Power Supply Silverstone SX500-LG (with Scythe fan!!)
Mouse Aula Killing The Soul
Keyboard Logitech K290
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores upgrade: www.3dmark.com/compare/fs/9798108/fs/5598299 www.3dmark.com/compare/spy/285676/spy/64550
My choice for future builds comes in the ITX format... thus only single PCIe slot and solo GPU.
 
Joined
Apr 15, 2013
Messages
1,101 (0.46/day)
System Name Some computer stuff
Processor Mostly Intel or AMD
Motherboard ATX or mATX
Cooling Bong Cooler
Memory DDR2-4
Video Card(s) A few
Storage Plenty Platters or SSDs or USBs
Display(s) Samsung 23"
Case 5 on the floor
Audio Device(s) There's one for my M7 Gene, Oh I have 3-4 PCI 5.1 ones.Sabrent! lol
Power Supply 750-1000W
Mouse cheap
Keyboard Used ps2 from garage sales
Software Yeah
Benchmark Scores http://hwbot.org/user/schmuckley/#Hardware_Library http://valid.canardpc.com/rbjpbg
If there's a good game that supports it and I don't have to use Windows Dataminer 10.
 
Joined
Apr 16, 2015
Messages
305 (0.18/day)
System Name 2016
Processor intel i7-6700K
Motherboard ASUS Maximus VIII Impact
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory G.Skill Ripjaws V DDR4 2x16GB 3200MHz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 1070 mini (3rd from RMA; 2 burned)
Storage Samsung EVO 850 + 24TB NAS
Display(s) AOC 31.5" ips freesync; Oculus Rift CV1
Case Raijintek Metis Classic Black
Power Supply Silverstone SX500-LG (with Scythe fan!!)
Mouse Aula Killing The Soul
Keyboard Logitech K290
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores upgrade: www.3dmark.com/compare/fs/9798108/fs/5598299 www.3dmark.com/compare/spy/285676/spy/64550
If there's a good game that supports it and I don't have to use Windows Dataminer 10.
You don't get DX12 without windows 10. You gotta hope Vulkan has the same functionality about multi-GPU setups.
 
Joined
Apr 15, 2013
Messages
1,101 (0.46/day)
System Name Some computer stuff
Processor Mostly Intel or AMD
Motherboard ATX or mATX
Cooling Bong Cooler
Memory DDR2-4
Video Card(s) A few
Storage Plenty Platters or SSDs or USBs
Display(s) Samsung 23"
Case 5 on the floor
Audio Device(s) There's one for my M7 Gene, Oh I have 3-4 PCI 5.1 ones.Sabrent! lol
Power Supply 750-1000W
Mouse cheap
Keyboard Used ps2 from garage sales
Software Yeah
Benchmark Scores http://hwbot.org/user/schmuckley/#Hardware_Library http://valid.canardpc.com/rbjpbg
If it was was me,i'd copy the api and translate to various forms of Linux.
Linux:The new gaming OS :D
One can dream,right?
 
Joined
Oct 2, 2015
Messages
2,385 (1.58/day)
Location
Argentina
System Name Ciel / Yukino
Processor AMD Ryzen R3 1200 @ 3875MHz / Intel Core i3 5005U
Motherboard MSI B350M PRO-VDH / HP 240 G5
Cooling Wraith Stealth / Stock
Memory 2x 8GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4 3200MHz @ 3333MHz / 2x 4GB Hynix + Kingston DDR3L 1600MHz
Video Card(s) Sapphire R9 270X Toxic 2GB / Intel HD 5500
Storage SSD WD Green 240GB M.2 + HDD Toshiba 2TB / SSD Kingston A400 120GB SATA
Display(s) HP w17e 1440x900 @ 75 Hz / Integrated 1366x768 @ 94Hz
Case Generic / Stock
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892 / Realtek ALC282
Power Supply Sentey XPP 525W / Power Brick
Mouse Logitech G203 / Elan Touchpad
Keyboard Generic / Stock
Software Windows 10 LTSC x64 + Arch Linux
Vulkan supports multi-gpu, it's up to the developer. Most probably only Source 2 (DotA 2) will use it.
 
Joined
Sep 28, 2012
Messages
289 (0.11/day)
System Name 12 Wheeler Dump Truck
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 2600
Motherboard Gigabyte x470 Aorus Ultra
Cooling All stocks
Memory 32 GB Team Delta DDR4 3000Mhz
Video Card(s) XFX RX Vega 56 CrossfireX
Storage Samsung 960 Evo 500GB + 12TB Toshiba
Display(s) Viewsonic XG3240C
Case Phanteks Eclipse P400
Audio Device(s) crappy onboard to heavily modded Logitech z5500
Power Supply Seasonic Prime Ultra Titanium 650TR
Mouse Logitech G 304 wireless
Keyboard Logitech G710+
Software running many VM's
Benchmark Scores Who need bench when everything already fast?
Will and always use multi GPU setups :D
 
Joined
Aug 10, 2007
Messages
4,223 (0.94/day)
Location
Geneva, FL, USA
Processor Intel i5-6600
Motherboard ASRock H170M-ITX
Cooling Cooler Master Geminii S524
Memory G.Skill DDR4-2133 16GB (8GB x 2)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte R9-380X 4GB
Storage Samsung 950 EVO 250GB (mSATA)
Display(s) LG 29UM69G-B 2560x1080 IPS
Case Lian Li PC-Q25
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892
Power Supply Seasonic SS-460FL2
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard Logitech G110
Software Windows 10 Pro
I prefer to upgrade to one single card, but that also means when my wife and I upgrade there will be both an R9-380X and GTX 960/4GB available for some inter-brand coexistence in the kids computer. It still has an ATX board so it could happen but not a big deal if it doesn't. The more likely benefit for me is if they can utilize the IGP in some way.
 
Joined
Sep 7, 2012
Messages
164 (0.06/day)
Location
New Delhi, India
The Question Should have been Multi-Select with "Or" Condition, A friend of mine want to sell his 960, I already have 270x, would it be possible to combine these, if yes then sure I will, if not then Single powerful card will be enough :-D
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
47,461 (8.59/day)
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Big Fella
Processor Ryzen R7 2700X (stock/XFR OC)
Motherboard Asus B450-i ITX
Cooling Corsair H110 W/ Corsair ML RGB fans
Memory 16GB DDR4 3200 Corsair Vengeance RGB Pro
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS mod to Gaming Z) w/ Corsair H55 AIO
Storage 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + 1TB Intel 6000 Pro NVME
Display(s) Phillips 328m6fjrmb (32" 1440p 144hz curved) + Sony KD-55X8500F (55" 4K HDR)
Case Fractal Design Nano S
Audio Device(s) Razer Leviathan + Corsair Void pro RGB, Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G903 + PowerPlay mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
The Question Should have been Multi-Select with "Or" Condition, A friend of mine want to sell his 960, I already have 270x, would it be possible to combine these, if yes then sure I will, if not then Single powerful card will be enough :-D
yes, you can combine any DX12 cards. its up to the game itself how well it scales, without identical cards. 4x 980ti + 2x fury nano + 4x intel IGP (assuming you have a magic server board with four CPU sockets) - in *theory* its all possible.
 
Joined
Oct 2, 2015
Messages
2,385 (1.58/day)
Location
Argentina
System Name Ciel / Yukino
Processor AMD Ryzen R3 1200 @ 3875MHz / Intel Core i3 5005U
Motherboard MSI B350M PRO-VDH / HP 240 G5
Cooling Wraith Stealth / Stock
Memory 2x 8GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4 3200MHz @ 3333MHz / 2x 4GB Hynix + Kingston DDR3L 1600MHz
Video Card(s) Sapphire R9 270X Toxic 2GB / Intel HD 5500
Storage SSD WD Green 240GB M.2 + HDD Toshiba 2TB / SSD Kingston A400 120GB SATA
Display(s) HP w17e 1440x900 @ 75 Hz / Integrated 1366x768 @ 94Hz
Case Generic / Stock
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892 / Realtek ALC282
Power Supply Sentey XPP 525W / Power Brick
Mouse Logitech G203 / Elan Touchpad
Keyboard Generic / Stock
Software Windows 10 LTSC x64 + Arch Linux
What would be great is some way to configure the load distribution of the game engine (for example a slider going from 10%/90% to 90%/10% on dual configs), that way it doesn't matter what combination you're using as long as you take the time to tweak it.
 
Joined
May 1, 2010
Messages
44 (0.01/day)
System Name Dricast
Processor Intel Core i7 2600k
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD3H
Cooling Corsair A70
Memory 12GB Mushkin DDR3
Video Card(s) 2x EVGA Geforce GTX460@GTX560 Clocks in SLI
Storage SanDisk 120GB SSD, Hitatchi 1TB, Hitatchi 2TB
Display(s) Dell 24"
Case Antec 902
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 750TX
Software Windows 7 Ultimate
Sure, I can't wait to run my GTX980-Ti and R9-290 together in more games!
 
Joined
Dec 16, 2012
Messages
3,491 (1.38/day)
Location
Jyväskylä, Finland
System Name Classified
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 2600
Motherboard Asus TUF B450 Plus Gaming
Cooling Custom loop by Alphacool
Memory G.Skill Value 16GB DDR4-2400
Video Card(s) Radeon R9 290 @ 1100/1325
Storage 2x256GB, 240GB & 480GB SSDs, 500GB & 2TB HDDs
Display(s) 2x 1920x1080 (23" & 22")
Case Corsair Carbide Air 740
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Z
Power Supply Seasonic Focus+ Gold 750W
Mouse Logitech G400s
Keyboard Dell keyboard
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores 19545 in Fire Strike with 290 Crossfire OC
Probably just getting a twin brother to my existing R9 290.
 
Top