• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Does 1.76 VCore harmful for i7 4790

phill

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jun 8, 2011
Messages
7,013 (2.14/day)
Location
Somerset, UK
System Name Not so complete or overkill
Processor Ryzen 3900X
Motherboard Asus Crosshair 8 Hero (Non Wi-Fi)
Cooling Air :(
Memory Patriot 3200MHz 64GB
Video Card(s) 2 x EVGA GTX 1080 Ti SC Black Edition
Storage 1 250GB Crucial SSD for OS/Programs, 2 500GB Crucial SSD for Steam and Epic stores
Display(s) 3 x 23" LG IPS panels (can't remember model!!)
Case 10mm thick MDF on plastic risers.. It's kinda a case??
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply EVGA T2 1200w
Mouse Corsair thingy
Keyboard Logitec K120......
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores I've actually never benched it!! Too busy with WCG and FAH and not gaming!! :( :(
I did it, nothing changed. I use latest version.
As previously mentioned, go into the boards bios, go to the monitor tab where you can view voltages and temperatures and show us a picture from that. It looks like from the screens shots you've posted apart from some slightly high temps (HD's for example) everything looks ok but this would confirm it :)
 
Joined
Dec 16, 2017
Messages
818 (0.91/day)
Location
Buenos Aires, Argentina
System Name System V
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 3600
Motherboard Asus Prime X570-P
Cooling AMD Wraith Stealth // a bunch of 120 mm Xigmatek 1500 RPM fans (2 ins, 3 outs)
Memory 2x8GB Ballistix Sport LT 3200 MHz (BLS8G4D32AESCK.M8FE) (CL16-18-18-36)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte AORUS Radeon RX 580 8 GB
Storage SHFS37A240G / DT01ACA200 / WD20EZRX / MKNSSDTR256GB-3DL / LG BH16NS40
Display(s) LG 22MP55 IPS Display
Case NZXT Source 210
Audio Device(s) Logitech G430 Headset
Power Supply Corsair CX650M
Mouse Microsoft Trackball Optical 1.0
Keyboard HP Vectra VE keyboard (Part # D4950-63004)
Software Windows 10
Seems pretty normal to me. What happens here is CPU-Z grabbing the wrong value, for some reason.

Curiously, the DIMM voltage looks way high (should be around 1.5 V), but the sensor may not be correct on that one (otherwise the RAM would be fried).

If what AIDA64 shows you more or less matches with whatever voltages you get in the BIOS pages, I think the system is fine.
 
Joined
Dec 18, 2005
Messages
7,212 (1.37/day)
System Name money pit..
Processor Intel 9900K 4.8 at 1.152 core voltage minus 0.120 offset
Motherboard Asus rog Strix Z370-F Gaming
Cooling Dark Rock TF air cooler.. Stock vga air coolers with case side fans to help cooling..
Memory 32 gb corsair vengeance 3200
Video Card(s) Palit Gaming Pro OC 2080TI
Storage 150 nvme boot drive partition.. 1T Sandisk sata.. 1T Transend sata.. 1T 970 evo nvme m 2..
Display(s) 27" Asus PG279Q ROG Swift 165Hrz Nvidia G-Sync, IPS.. 2560x1440..
Case Gigabyte mid-tower.. cheap and nothing special..
Audio Device(s) onboard sounds with stereo amp..
Power Supply EVGA 850 watt..
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard Logitech K270
Software Win 10 pro..
Benchmark Scores Firestike 29500.. timepsy 14000..
cpu z used to show about 1.28 for my 4790K vcore reading and that was overclocked to 4.6 on all cores .. the reading must be wrong..

trog
 
Joined
Oct 10, 2018
Messages
94 (0.16/day)
As previously mentioned, go into the boards bios, go to the monitor tab where you can view voltages and temperatures and show us a picture from that. It looks like from the screens shots you've posted apart from some slightly high temps (HD's for example) everything looks ok but this would confirm it :)
20190328_195630.jpg
20190328_195242.jpg
20190328_195308.jpg
 

Toothless

Tech, Games, and TPU!
Supporter
Joined
Mar 26, 2014
Messages
6,181 (2.73/day)
Location
Washington, USA
System Name Veraltet // Dualie
Processor 3700x // E5-2680v2 x2
Motherboard AsRock Taichi Ultimate x470 // S2600IP4
Cooling NH-D15 Chromax // Hyper 212 x2
Memory G.Skill 2x16GB // 16x4GB ECC
Video Card(s) MSI GTX1080 Ti Gaming X // MSI GTX750
Storage 2 NVMEs + 5 HDDs // 2x 240GB SSD + 700GB HDD
Display(s) LG 34UB88-P + 2x AOC 2425W
Case Nanoxia Deep Silence 6 // Big boxy case
Audio Device(s) SteelSeries Arctis 5 // None
Power Supply Rosewill Fortress 750w // Rosewill 1kw
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard G.Skill KM780 RGB (Brown switches)
Software Windows 10 Professional
Benchmark Scores Trips the breaker
So you're on the right track, but we need to see the voltage settings in the BIOS.
 
Joined
Sep 17, 2014
Messages
12,165 (5.83/day)
Location
Mars
Processor i7 8700k 4.7Ghz @ 1.26v
Motherboard AsRock Fatal1ty K6 Z370
Cooling beQuiet! Dark Rock Pro 3
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3200/C16
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X @ 2100/5500
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 1TB + Samsung 830 256GB + Crucial BX100 250GB + Toshiba 1TB HDD
Display(s) Eizo Foris FG2421
Case Fractal Design Define C TG
Power Supply EVGA G2 750w
Mouse Logitech G502 Protheus Spectrum
Keyboard Sharkoon MK80 (Brown)
Software W10 x64
Board lacks all sorts of sensors, some temp readings are over 100C while idling.
 
Joined
Dec 16, 2017
Messages
818 (0.91/day)
Location
Buenos Aires, Argentina
System Name System V
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 3600
Motherboard Asus Prime X570-P
Cooling AMD Wraith Stealth // a bunch of 120 mm Xigmatek 1500 RPM fans (2 ins, 3 outs)
Memory 2x8GB Ballistix Sport LT 3200 MHz (BLS8G4D32AESCK.M8FE) (CL16-18-18-36)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte AORUS Radeon RX 580 8 GB
Storage SHFS37A240G / DT01ACA200 / WD20EZRX / MKNSSDTR256GB-3DL / LG BH16NS40
Display(s) LG 22MP55 IPS Display
Case NZXT Source 210
Audio Device(s) Logitech G430 Headset
Power Supply Corsair CX650M
Mouse Microsoft Trackball Optical 1.0
Keyboard HP Vectra VE keyboard (Part # D4950-63004)
Software Windows 10
So you're on the right track, but we need to see the voltage settings in the BIOS.
How can i find?
The manual doesn't say anything about voltage settings, except for DRAM, so it's possible that such settings are not available, considering the H81 chipset was not meant for overclocking.
 
Joined
Apr 12, 2013
Messages
1,075 (0.41/day)
Processor Ryzen 2600x
Motherboard PRIME X370-A
Cooling Wraith Prism
Memory Adata 2x8
Video Card(s) RX580 8gb Nitro
Power Supply Seasonic 620w
Software Win 10 x64
That board lacks everything starting from an non existing power phase so i would recommend getting an h97 or z97 board they go real cheap these days.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 18, 2005
Messages
7,212 (1.37/day)
System Name money pit..
Processor Intel 9900K 4.8 at 1.152 core voltage minus 0.120 offset
Motherboard Asus rog Strix Z370-F Gaming
Cooling Dark Rock TF air cooler.. Stock vga air coolers with case side fans to help cooling..
Memory 32 gb corsair vengeance 3200
Video Card(s) Palit Gaming Pro OC 2080TI
Storage 150 nvme boot drive partition.. 1T Sandisk sata.. 1T Transend sata.. 1T 970 evo nvme m 2..
Display(s) 27" Asus PG279Q ROG Swift 165Hrz Nvidia G-Sync, IPS.. 2560x1440..
Case Gigabyte mid-tower.. cheap and nothing special..
Audio Device(s) onboard sounds with stereo amp..
Power Supply EVGA 850 watt..
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard Logitech K270
Software Win 10 pro..
Benchmark Scores Firestike 29500.. timepsy 14000..
i think the basic board dosnt have anything for cpu z to read from so its just inventing something.. but if it dosnt have adjustments it will run default settings which will be okay.. stop worrying about a reading which is quite clearly a nonsense one..

trog
 
Joined
Feb 22, 2019
Messages
757 (1.62/day)
System Name Fatboii
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 3700X @ 4.2 GHz (all cores)
Motherboard ASUS Crosshair VIII Hero WiFI
Cooling Custom water
Memory Patriot Viper Steel 2x8GB @ 3733 14-15-15-34-52-1T
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080 Ti FTW3 under water
Storage Samsung SM951 256GB + 860 EVO 1TB
Display(s) ASUS ROG PG278Q 144Hz
Case Fractal Design R6 Tempered Glass
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA G3 850w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Cooler Master Pro Keys L
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores I only game on this system... built for silence, not absolute max performance. ;)
I can’t believe that so many people still don’t know that CPUZ doesn’t always report the correct voltage. :roll:

Please don’t try to freak people out by saying it will blow up when there’s nothing to worry about. Maybe I should share one of my old LN2 results with my “CPU voltage” at 3.1 volts?? ;)
 

Toothless

Tech, Games, and TPU!
Supporter
Joined
Mar 26, 2014
Messages
6,181 (2.73/day)
Location
Washington, USA
System Name Veraltet // Dualie
Processor 3700x // E5-2680v2 x2
Motherboard AsRock Taichi Ultimate x470 // S2600IP4
Cooling NH-D15 Chromax // Hyper 212 x2
Memory G.Skill 2x16GB // 16x4GB ECC
Video Card(s) MSI GTX1080 Ti Gaming X // MSI GTX750
Storage 2 NVMEs + 5 HDDs // 2x 240GB SSD + 700GB HDD
Display(s) LG 34UB88-P + 2x AOC 2425W
Case Nanoxia Deep Silence 6 // Big boxy case
Audio Device(s) SteelSeries Arctis 5 // None
Power Supply Rosewill Fortress 750w // Rosewill 1kw
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard G.Skill KM780 RGB (Brown switches)
Software Windows 10 Professional
Benchmark Scores Trips the breaker
I can’t believe that so many people still don’t know that CPUZ doesn’t always report the correct voltage. :roll:

Please don’t try to freak people out by saying it will blow up when there’s nothing to worry about. Maybe I should share one of my old LN2 results with my “CPU voltage” at 3.1 volts?? ;)
We're also trying to make sure which voltage it's reading. Better safe than sorry.
 
Joined
Oct 22, 2014
Messages
8,048 (3.92/day)
Location
Sunshine Coast
System Name Black Box
Processor AMD 3200G
Motherboard MSI X470 Gaming Plus
Cooling Stock
Memory Adata 8Gb 2133Mhz DDR4
Storage Kingston A2000 512Gb NVME
Display(s) AOC 22" Freesync 1m.s. 75Hz
Case Corsair 450D High Air Flow.
Audio Device(s) No need.
Power Supply FSP Aurum 650W
Mouse Yes
Keyboard Of course
Software W10 Pro 64 bit
Aida64 shows what I consider a correct value if you ignore the CPU core reading and look at the CPU Vid readout which shows in other monitoring software he has posted.
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
17,525 (4.60/day)
TLDR... if he was actually running 1.76V through that CPU, he'd be cooking it at idle...and it would be dead sooner than later. hwmonitor shows otherwise on temps so its reading the FIVR or its erroneous.

Update you bios, chipset drivers, etc and see if that helps. Otherwise, it is what it is.
 

rtwjunkie

PC Gaming Enthusiast
Supporter
Joined
Jul 25, 2008
Messages
13,018 (3.01/day)
Location
Louisiana -Laissez les bons temps rouler!
System Name Bayou Phantom
Processor Core i7-8700k 4.4Ghz @ 1.18v
Motherboard ASRock Z390 Phantom Gaming 6
Cooling All air: 2x140mm Fractal exhaust; 3x 140mm Cougar Intake; Enermax T40F Black CPU cooler
Memory 2x 16GB Mushkin Redline DDR-4 3200
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080Ti Gaming X
Storage 1x 500 MX500 SSD; 1x 2TB WD Black; 2x 4TB WD Black; 1x400GB VelRptr; 1x 3TB WD Blue storage (eSATA)
Display(s) HP 27q 27" IPS @ 2560 x 1440
Case Fractal Design Define R4 Black w/Titanium front -windowed
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Z
Power Supply Seasonic X-850
Mouse Coolermaster Sentinel III (large palm grip!)
Keyboard Logitech G610 Orion mechanical (Cherry Brown switches)
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit (Start10 & Fences 3.0 installed)
TLDR... if he was actually running 1.76V through that CPU, he'd be cooking it at idle...and it would be dead sooner than later. hwmonitor shows otherwise on temps so its reading the FIVR or its erroneous.

Update you bios, chipset drivers, etc and see if that helps. Otherwise, it is what it is.
All covered! :) Correct assessments, and he’s figured out his Vcore is correct in AIDa64 at least.
 

phill

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jun 8, 2011
Messages
7,013 (2.14/day)
Location
Somerset, UK
System Name Not so complete or overkill
Processor Ryzen 3900X
Motherboard Asus Crosshair 8 Hero (Non Wi-Fi)
Cooling Air :(
Memory Patriot 3200MHz 64GB
Video Card(s) 2 x EVGA GTX 1080 Ti SC Black Edition
Storage 1 250GB Crucial SSD for OS/Programs, 2 500GB Crucial SSD for Steam and Epic stores
Display(s) 3 x 23" LG IPS panels (can't remember model!!)
Case 10mm thick MDF on plastic risers.. It's kinda a case??
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply EVGA T2 1200w
Mouse Corsair thingy
Keyboard Logitec K120......
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores I've actually never benched it!! Too busy with WCG and FAH and not gaming!! :( :(
That's great and a shame as I thought it might show something a little more. Is there an advanced option for your bios, something that might show more details? If not, the first picture shows were the 1.76v is being picked up from. I'm guessing them it's possibly giving things a little more than maybe needed but that's not a bad thing as I think every board I've had reports/gives a little bit more volts to things when set to auto... :)
 
Top