• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Does a 1080 tv ever display an image correctly...

Joined
Jan 6, 2007
Messages
2,549 (0.64/day)
Likes
344
Location
Illinois
Processor i7 2600k@4.6ghz
Motherboard MSI z68ma-ed55
Cooling Silentx Extreem 120mm
Memory 2x4gb XMS 7-8-7-20 1600
Video Card(s) HD6870
Storage 2x128gb Kingston Hyper-X (Raid0), 2x750gb RE3 (RAID1), 2x750gb RE3 (RAID1)
Display(s) Soyo 24", Gateway 22"
Case Fractal Design Arc Mini 6x120mm fans.
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Zalman 750w
Software Windows 7
#1
...that's coming from a PC?

I recently purchased two HDTVs. A 42" Hisense and a 24" Sansui. Most computer monitors, as you know, will look like $hit unless it's running at native resolution. At native, the image is nice and sharp because every pixle generated lands on a pixle in the LCD panel. LCD TVs, on the other hand, seem to -ALL- look like crap and need lots of tweaking and manual adjustment to get it to look 'ok' at best. Why is this? Do HDTVs use some odd-ball LCD panels that aren't actually 1920x1080? Everything to date leaves a black border around the desktop when using HDMI set to 1920x1080@60. It also looks as if the sharpness is cranked to infiity leaving the image very grainy and the contrast/gamma makes everything washed out.

It's not just the HDTVs I've tried recently. It's every HDTV I've ever tried to use with a computer. I've tried onboard gfx, nvidia, ATI/AMD.

I'm using the Sansui at the moment and the gamma is so far off my eyes are watering.

Anyone know what I'm talking about? What's different in a 1920x1080 TV vs. a 1920x1280 monitor? What I wouldn't give to go back to 4:3 when everything worked and ran higher then this marketing magic that is "HD".
 

theonedub

habe fidem
Joined
Apr 30, 2009
Messages
7,902 (2.51/day)
Likes
5,115
Location
Northern CA, USA
System Name Erakith || Asus UX305FA
Processor i7 3770k @ 4.2ghz 1.068v || Intel Core M 5Y10 @ 800mhz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77X-UP4 TH || ASUS OE
Cooling EK Supremacy, D5 w/ EK Top, 2X EK-CoolStream XTX 360 & Photon 270 Res || !PASSIVE!
Memory 16GB Samsung 'Wonder' RAM || 8GB LPDDR3 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA 780Ti Classified HydroCopper || Intel HD Graphics 5300
Storage 256gb Corsair Performance Pro, 2TB Caviar Green, 2TB Samsung F4 || Toshiba 256GB SSD
Display(s) DELL Ultrasharp U2715H 27" || 13.3" 1080P IPS
Case CaseLabs Merlin SM8 || Aluminum Unibody
Power Supply NZXT Hale-90-1000-M
Mouse Logitech M705 Marathon
Keyboard Corsair Strafe RGB w/ Cherry MX Silent
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 || WIndows 10 Home x64
Benchmark Scores WCG & F@H Only
#2
All 3 of my Vizio 1080P HDTVs correctly receive and display 1080P from a PC via HDMI and VGA. Don't see any color or sharpness issues either. Maybe its an AMD thing? Guess its just bad luck?
 
Joined
Mar 6, 2008
Messages
2,700 (0.76/day)
Likes
1,364
Location
Minnesota
System Name I Dub Thee Infinity
Processor Intel Core I7-3930K
Motherboard EVGA X79 Classified
Cooling Corsair H80
Memory 16GB GSkill Trident X
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 980 Ti SC+
Storage SanDisk Ultra Plus 256GB, OCZ V2 180GB, 2x Toshiba X300 5TB RAID 0
Display(s) Acer XB270HU
Case Cooler Master HAF X
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium + Sennheiser HD 598 + Klipsch ProMedia 2.1
Power Supply EVGA 850W G2
Mouse Razer Naga 2014
Keyboard Gigabyte Osmium Cherry MX Brown
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#3
A lot of the cheapo HDTVs accept a 1080P input but aren't actual 1080P displays.
 
Joined
Jan 6, 2007
Messages
2,549 (0.64/day)
Likes
344
Location
Illinois
Processor i7 2600k@4.6ghz
Motherboard MSI z68ma-ed55
Cooling Silentx Extreem 120mm
Memory 2x4gb XMS 7-8-7-20 1600
Video Card(s) HD6870
Storage 2x128gb Kingston Hyper-X (Raid0), 2x750gb RE3 (RAID1), 2x750gb RE3 (RAID1)
Display(s) Soyo 24", Gateway 22"
Case Fractal Design Arc Mini 6x120mm fans.
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Zalman 750w
Software Windows 7
#4
These claim to be 1080 panels. I'm reading about something called 4:4:4 Chroma Subsampling that may have to do with it. http://www.avsforum.com/t/1381724/official-4-4-4-chroma-subsampling-thread/30

dub - your just lucky

I have a saying for technology these days and it is that everything is built "good enough", as in, 90% of the consumers won't or don't notice the defects. When I buy a 1080 TV, I would assume that's 1920x1080 and that if I put a 1920x1080 signal into it that 1920x1080 pixles light up. The dozen or so TVs I've had (since HDMI came out) have never worked right with a computer. Any TV I've owned with a DVI input worked fine with a PC.

Here's a shot from the 24".

EDIT - Turning off cleartype text got rid of the rainbow effect but it's still fuzzy.

000_0152 (Medium).jpg
 
Last edited:

cdawall

where the hell are my stars
Joined
Jul 23, 2006
Messages
26,556 (6.38/day)
Likes
7,461
Location
Houston
System Name Team Blue
Processor 5960X@4.8 1.42v
Motherboard Asus X99M-WS
Cooling EK Supremecy EVO, MCR220-Stack+MCR220+MCR320, D5-PWM+EK X-RES 140
Memory 4x8GB G.Skill Trident Z 3200 CL16
Video Card(s) (2) EVGA SC BLACK 1080Ti's+ EVGA reference 1080Ti soon to be under water
Storage Samsung SM951 512GB, Samsung PM961 512GB
Display(s) Dell UP2414Q 3840X2160@60hz
Case Caselabs Mercury S5
Audio Device(s) Fischer HA-02->Fischer FA-002W High edition/FA-003/Jubilate/FA-011 depending on my mood
Power Supply Seasonic Prime 1200w
Mouse Thermaltake Theron
Keyboard Thermaltake Poseidon ZX
Software W10P
Benchmark Scores Zoom zoom mofo
#5
The fix for everyone one of my crappy looking tv's via an HDMI/VGA/DVI input has been to disable scaling within the TV. The issue is the TV tries to scale all images including 1080P coming into it in order to remove the possibility of inputs not outputting a full 1920X1080.
 
Joined
Oct 29, 2009
Messages
2,516 (0.85/day)
Likes
757
System Name Nightblade / Dell Latitude / Wife's Rig
Processor Core i5 4690K / i7 2720QM / FX-6100
Motherboard Nightblade ITX z97 / Dell 032T9K QM67 / Gigabyte GA-970A-DS3 Rev3
Cooling tower style cooler, plus one 120mm fan / stock blower / CNPS7000V
Memory Patriot Viper 2x8gb DDR3 2400 / Micron 2x4GB DDR3 / 2x4GB 2x2GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) MSI Gaming GTX 970 4GB / NVS 4200M 512MB / nVidia GTX 460 1GB
Storage 120GB ForceGT SSD (OS), 2TB WD Black, 250GB Seagate 2.5in / 320GB WD Blue /240GB SSD M500
Display(s) ASUS ROG SWIFT 1440P / Dell 14in @ 1600x900 / Vizio 1080p TV
Case MSI Nightblade Z97 / Dell Latitude / Corsair Full Tower
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150, Microsoft Lifechat 3000 / Intel / ALC887
Power Supply Gold rated 600W / Battery with 95w brick / Antec EA-650 Green
Mouse MadCatz RAT5
Keyboard G510
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 on all
#6
My room mate is running a 46in Philips on his Athlon x4 rig I built him and it seems to do 1080p from the vga cable just fine.
 
Joined
Sep 7, 2010
Messages
752 (0.28/day)
Likes
152
Processor Intel Core i7-4790K
Motherboard Intel Board DZ87KLT-75K
Cooling Intel Stock Cooler
Memory G.Skill RipjawsX {F3-2400C11D-16GXM x 2 [32GB]}
Video Card(s) Nvidia Geforce GTX 970
Storage Samsung EVO 250GB mSATA SSD + Seagate 3TB HDD
Display(s) Dell UltraSharp U2718Q
Case In Win F430
Power Supply Seasonic Platinum 660
Mouse Dell KM714 Wireless
Keyboard Dell KM714 Wireless
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#7
Most of the HDTVs I've seen are advertised to be 1080p, but the sad truth to most of the HDTVs the don't actually have 1920 x 1080 Pixels, what i have found out in the Manuals that come with those TVs is that,..

They have like 1366 x 768 Pixels or less then it can upscale if you play a 1080p clip on it or run a game at 1080p. but the sad truth is most of them don't have 1920 x 1080p.

Most manuals state something known as working resolutions 1366 x 768 and can upscale to 1920 x 1080.

Only few HDTVs actually have the 1920 x 1080.

On the other hand if a monitor is advertised to be 1920 x 1080p then it has that, that's why monitors are better than HDTVs
 
Joined
Feb 26, 2008
Messages
4,870 (1.36/day)
Likes
681
Location
Joplin, Mo
System Name Ultrabeast GX2
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo E8500 @ 4.0GHZ 24/7
Motherboard Gigabit P35-DS3L
Cooling Rosewill RX24, Dual Slot Vid, Fan control
Memory 2x1gb 1066mhz@850MHZ DDR2
Video Card(s) 9800GX2 @ 690/1040
Storage 750/250/250/200 all WD 7200
Display(s) 24" DCLCD 2ms 1200p
Case Apevia
Audio Device(s) 7.1 Digital on-board, 5.1 digital hooked up
Power Supply 700W RAIDMAXXX SLI
Software winXP Pro
Benchmark Scores 17749 3DM06
#8
Most TVs I have seen just require some tweaking either with the TV itself or your own graphics drivers.
 
Joined
Mar 24, 2010
Messages
4,573 (1.62/day)
Likes
917
Location
Independent in Imperialistic
System Name Oh the name!
Processor i7 7700K
Motherboard MSI Z270 Xpower
Cooling EK 360 Extreme
Memory 16Gb G.Skill TridentZ 3866
Video Card(s) nVidia 1080 Ti Flanders Edition
Storage 1 Intel PCIE SSD750, 2 Sam 840Evo 1TB SSD, WD Black 2TB, Toshiba 3TB
Display(s) Acer Predator X1 (32")
Case Rajintek Paean
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Corsair AX860
Mouse Mad Catz Pro X
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software W10Pro
#9
One rule for all: run native rez and check the display modes (movie, photo, natural, game, etc) untill you find the one that shows computer text and icons well. On my Philips 32" (real 1950x1080pixels) all but one modes is good.
Of course, you can tweak the gamma, contrast etc by yourself...
 
Joined
Nov 4, 2005
Messages
9,950 (2.25/day)
Likes
2,309
System Name MoFo 2
Processor AMD PhenomII 1100T @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair IV
Cooling Swiftec 655 pump, Apogee GT,, MCR360mm Rad, 1/2 loop.
Memory 8GB DDR3-2133 @ 1900 8.9.9.24 1T
Video Card(s) HD7970 1250/1750
Storage Agility 3 SSD 6TB RAID 0 on RAID Card
Display(s) 46" 1080P Toshiba LCD
Case Rosewill R6A34-BK modded (thanks to MKmods)
Audio Device(s) ATI HDMI
Power Supply 750W PC Power & Cooling modded (thanks to MKmods)
Software A lot.
Benchmark Scores Its fast. Enough.
#10
My 46" Toshiba is just as sharp as my monitors.
 
Joined
Mar 24, 2010
Messages
4,573 (1.62/day)
Likes
917
Location
Independent in Imperialistic
System Name Oh the name!
Processor i7 7700K
Motherboard MSI Z270 Xpower
Cooling EK 360 Extreme
Memory 16Gb G.Skill TridentZ 3866
Video Card(s) nVidia 1080 Ti Flanders Edition
Storage 1 Intel PCIE SSD750, 2 Sam 840Evo 1TB SSD, WD Black 2TB, Toshiba 3TB
Display(s) Acer Predator X1 (32")
Case Rajintek Paean
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Corsair AX860
Mouse Mad Catz Pro X
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software W10Pro
#11
do not believe :)
 
Joined
Dec 6, 2005
Messages
9,800 (2.23/day)
Likes
3,785
Location
Manchester, NH
System Name Working on it ;)
Processor I7-4790K
Motherboard MSI Z97
Cooling Be Quiet Pure Rock Air
Memory 16GB 4x4 G.Skill CAS9 2133 Sniper
Video Card(s) Intel IGP (Dedicated GPU TBD)
Storage WD 320 / 500KS / 500KS / 640KS / 640LS / 640LS / 640LS / 1TBFAEX and a NAS with 2x2Tb WD Black
Display(s) 24" DELL 2405FPW
Case Rosewill Challenger
Audio Device(s) Onboard + HD HDMI
Power Supply Corsair HX750 (love it)
Mouse Logitech G5
Software Win 7 Pro
#12
@ Lazzer, what are you using for a cable?

I've never seen anything remotely like that, either on 27" Samsung 1080P TV/Monitor, Dell 2405FP Monitor and my 40" Sony Bravia 1080P TV.

If the TV isn't true 1080 pixels, then scaling certainly could account for the defective image.
 
Joined
Jun 27, 2011
Messages
5,626 (2.38/day)
Likes
2,986
Processor Intel I7 4790k (stock)
Motherboard ASRock H97M-ITX/ac LGA 1150 Intel H97
Cooling Prolimatech megahalem
Memory Crucial 2x4gb 1600mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA 1060 3gb
Storage OWC Mercury SSD 240 GB
Display(s) Asus 144hz
Case Raijintek Metis
Power Supply Corsair SF600 600w psu
Software Windows 10 64 Bit
#13
I had the problem you described but I thought it was hdmi exclusive. I used the scaling tool in ccc and now the picture fills the entire screen just as I want.
 
Joined
Nov 4, 2005
Messages
9,950 (2.25/day)
Likes
2,309
System Name MoFo 2
Processor AMD PhenomII 1100T @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair IV
Cooling Swiftec 655 pump, Apogee GT,, MCR360mm Rad, 1/2 loop.
Memory 8GB DDR3-2133 @ 1900 8.9.9.24 1T
Video Card(s) HD7970 1250/1750
Storage Agility 3 SSD 6TB RAID 0 on RAID Card
Display(s) 46" 1080P Toshiba LCD
Case Rosewill R6A34-BK modded (thanks to MKmods)
Audio Device(s) ATI HDMI
Power Supply 750W PC Power & Cooling modded (thanks to MKmods)
Software A lot.
Benchmark Scores Its fast. Enough.
#14
I think it is, and I guess thats all that matters to me, its actually a samsung, look at the firmware files. My laptop passed the 4:4:4 tests too.
 
Joined
Jul 6, 2006
Messages
473 (0.11/day)
Likes
303
Location
ireland, galway
Processor q6600 G0 @ 2.8Ghz
Motherboard ex38 DS4
Cooling air
Memory 4 *1gig tracer ballistic
Video Card(s) sapphire dual bios 6950
Storage ssd- sandisk 120gb, sata- 2 500gb samsung in raid 1 & 1 samsung 400gb
Display(s) LG w2452tx
Case nzxt
Audio Device(s) na
Power Supply hiper 730
Mouse g9
Keyboard bt microsoft arch
Software win7
#15
hiya, my lg 42" works nice for me over dhmi or rgb
 

Krazy Owl

New Member
Joined
Jan 12, 2012
Messages
897 (0.41/day)
Likes
76
Location
Montreal
System Name HTPC-Cube
Processor AMD Athlon 64 skt754 3200+ 1M cache
Motherboard Foxconn Winfast K8S760MG-6LRS
Cooling Stock
Memory 2 gigs DDR400
Video Card(s) HIS IceQ 4670 AGP 1gig DDR3
Storage White label 80gigs sata
Display(s) Polaroid 19 inches 1366X768 LED
Case Chenming cube
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Raidmax RX-500S
Software Seven Pro 64bits
#16
Irico 32" ED 60hz 1080P here paired with a GT8600 512megs. Everything at max out in BF2 and no flickers at all even at full FPS.
 
Joined
Jan 6, 2007
Messages
2,549 (0.64/day)
Likes
344
Location
Illinois
Processor i7 2600k@4.6ghz
Motherboard MSI z68ma-ed55
Cooling Silentx Extreem 120mm
Memory 2x4gb XMS 7-8-7-20 1600
Video Card(s) HD6870
Storage 2x128gb Kingston Hyper-X (Raid0), 2x750gb RE3 (RAID1), 2x750gb RE3 (RAID1)
Display(s) Soyo 24", Gateway 22"
Case Fractal Design Arc Mini 6x120mm fans.
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Zalman 750w
Software Windows 7
#17
@ Lazzer, what are you using for a cable?
HDMI to HDMI -or- DVI(pc side) to HDMI(tv side)

I had the problem you described but I thought it was hdmi exclusive. I used the scaling tool in ccc and now the picture fills the entire screen just as I want.
We shouldn't have to adjust anything to force a 1080 image to fit a 1080 screen. Everything I can find online says this 42" is a 1080 but what's interesting is one of my games was trying to run at 1366 x 768 stating that was the native resolition of the display, like st.bone was saying. If I set the desktop resolution to 1366 x 768 the image will be past the borders of the screen.

I took the 26" back to the store.

This is a fairly good read with a bunch of other people having the exact same issue with a varity of TVs. It's an old thread but it has a lot of things to try if your having the same issue. I agree with what most of them are saying about the manufactures screwing it up.
http://www.tomshardware.com/forum/267972-33-1080-hdmi-hdmi-connected-quality
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 27, 2011
Messages
5,626 (2.38/day)
Likes
2,986
Processor Intel I7 4790k (stock)
Motherboard ASRock H97M-ITX/ac LGA 1150 Intel H97
Cooling Prolimatech megahalem
Memory Crucial 2x4gb 1600mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA 1060 3gb
Storage OWC Mercury SSD 240 GB
Display(s) Asus 144hz
Case Raijintek Metis
Power Supply Corsair SF600 600w psu
Software Windows 10 64 Bit
#18
I should of stated this. In my case it was the pre 12.8 bug that amd cards have with hdmi
 
Joined
Jan 6, 2007
Messages
2,549 (0.64/day)
Likes
344
Location
Illinois
Processor i7 2600k@4.6ghz
Motherboard MSI z68ma-ed55
Cooling Silentx Extreem 120mm
Memory 2x4gb XMS 7-8-7-20 1600
Video Card(s) HD6870
Storage 2x128gb Kingston Hyper-X (Raid0), 2x750gb RE3 (RAID1), 2x750gb RE3 (RAID1)
Display(s) Soyo 24", Gateway 22"
Case Fractal Design Arc Mini 6x120mm fans.
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Zalman 750w
Software Windows 7
#19
I should of stated this. In my case it was the pre 12.8 bug that amd cards have with hdmi
That must be alot of them. I've tried a HD5450?(some odd ball I had), 4850, 4870, 4970, 5870, and 7770. They all have this bug? Also the 8000, 9000, and 400 series nvidia that also do the EXACT same thing. Did I mention the Intel onboard also does it? lol :banghead:

If ATI/AMD fixed anything great. I'll try it tomorrow. I think I currently have 12.6.
 
Joined
Jun 27, 2011
Messages
5,626 (2.38/day)
Likes
2,986
Processor Intel I7 4790k (stock)
Motherboard ASRock H97M-ITX/ac LGA 1150 Intel H97
Cooling Prolimatech megahalem
Memory Crucial 2x4gb 1600mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA 1060 3gb
Storage OWC Mercury SSD 240 GB
Display(s) Asus 144hz
Case Raijintek Metis
Power Supply Corsair SF600 600w psu
Software Windows 10 64 Bit
#20
If ATI/AMD fixed anything great. I'll try it tomorrow. I think I currently have 12.6.
Went away for me in 12.8. Even in the change log. I had the problem on 12.6
 
Joined
Apr 4, 2008
Messages
4,659 (1.32/day)
Likes
1,009
System Name Obelisc
Processor i7 3770k @ 4.8 GHz
Motherboard Asus P8Z77-V
Cooling H110
Memory 16GB(4x4) @ 2400 MHz 9-11-11-31
Video Card(s) GTX 780 Ti
Storage 850 EVO 1TB, 2x 5TB Toshiba
Case T81
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium HD
Power Supply EVGA 850 T2 80+ TITANIUM
Software Win10 64bit
#21
I see lots and lots and lots of people using hdtvs as monitors and very rarely does it look good by my standards. For it to have a shot of working like a real monitor you need a good tv and to turn any scaling on the vga end off. Then you have to find the scaling setting on your tv and hope it has one just right. On my panasonic plasma it's called "HD size 2" which the description says is cutting things down to 95%. If it all works out it should be as sharp as a monitor and not running off screen.

I thought maybe the vga scaling blur was just a nvidia problem but my friend had the same issue with his amd card with a high end LG LCD and again the fix was the same, turn off vga scaling and find the right tv setting.
 
Joined
Mar 24, 2010
Messages
4,573 (1.62/day)
Likes
917
Location
Independent in Imperialistic
System Name Oh the name!
Processor i7 7700K
Motherboard MSI Z270 Xpower
Cooling EK 360 Extreme
Memory 16Gb G.Skill TridentZ 3866
Video Card(s) nVidia 1080 Ti Flanders Edition
Storage 1 Intel PCIE SSD750, 2 Sam 840Evo 1TB SSD, WD Black 2TB, Toshiba 3TB
Display(s) Acer Predator X1 (32")
Case Rajintek Paean
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Corsair AX860
Mouse Mad Catz Pro X
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software W10Pro
#22
Bugs and technical issues like scaling apart, it is all related to what you do with the HDTV (writing jobs, design, games or movies...)+working distance+resolution

My 32" 1950x1040 HDTV is brilliant for everything but only good enough for text, it is just 99% sharp at 80 cm distance.

It is quite obvious (should be) that a 24" 1950x1040 monitor is much sharper... so people with a monster 40" HDTV as monitor (how the hell!?) will have to have huge resolutions like 2500x1600 (just an invented example) to see sharp text at close distance (or work 2 meters away from the screen).
 
Joined
Jan 6, 2007
Messages
2,549 (0.64/day)
Likes
344
Location
Illinois
Processor i7 2600k@4.6ghz
Motherboard MSI z68ma-ed55
Cooling Silentx Extreem 120mm
Memory 2x4gb XMS 7-8-7-20 1600
Video Card(s) HD6870
Storage 2x128gb Kingston Hyper-X (Raid0), 2x750gb RE3 (RAID1), 2x750gb RE3 (RAID1)
Display(s) Soyo 24", Gateway 22"
Case Fractal Design Arc Mini 6x120mm fans.
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Zalman 750w
Software Windows 7
#23
Went away for me in 12.8. Even in the change log. I had the problem on 12.6
12.8 didn't change anything for me. I think the panel in this TV might be some oddball resolution. Either that or something between the input and the panel is scaling the image and I can't disable it. No matter what I try, I have to use scaling via. CCC to make it fit the entire screen but it's still not in alignment with the panel pixles. Oh well. Next time I'll be sure to get a 4-4-4 TV.

EDIT - So I had to try something. I forgot if I tried it before but here's what WORKS. Using a DVI to VGA adaptor at the PC, and a VGA to VGA cable to the TV, and making a custom 1920x1080@60 resolution = RAZOR SHARP TEXT!! HDMI is over-rated and over-hyped and under-developed. That said, Walmart's $368 42" HiSense LED TV works great with a PC!

http://www.walmart.com/ip/Hisense-42-Class-LED-LCD-1080p-60Hz-HDTV-F42K20E/20549808
 
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 18, 2008
Messages
1,833 (0.56/day)
Likes
523
System Name Computer
Processor 1700X
Motherboard CH6
Cooling Custom Loop
Memory G.Skill 32GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1070
Storage 500GB Samsung 850 Evo Msata
Display(s) LG 23" IPS
Power Supply Seasonic 760 Platinum
Software Windows 8.1 64-Bit
#24
AMD and Nvidia to Vizio and Samsung TVs and they both displayed 1080p perfectly
 
Joined
Jun 27, 2011
Messages
5,626 (2.38/day)
Likes
2,986
Processor Intel I7 4790k (stock)
Motherboard ASRock H97M-ITX/ac LGA 1150 Intel H97
Cooling Prolimatech megahalem
Memory Crucial 2x4gb 1600mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA 1060 3gb
Storage OWC Mercury SSD 240 GB
Display(s) Asus 144hz
Case Raijintek Metis
Power Supply Corsair SF600 600w psu
Software Windows 10 64 Bit
#25
Mines a vizeo. Same as the one in specs <--