• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Does all 4k TVs support chroma 4.4.4 when using hdmi 2.0 cable ?

r9

Joined
Jul 28, 2008
Messages
2,641 (0.61/day)
System Name PC1| PC2|Poweredge r410
Processor i5 6600k| Ryzen 1600| 2 x E5620 @2.4GHz
Memory 16GB DDR4 |16GB DDR4 | 32GB ECC DDR3
Video Card(s) GTX 1070|2 x RX570 |On-Board
Storage 512GB SSD+1TB SSD|512GB SSD+1TB|2x256GBSSD 2x2TBGB
Display(s) 27" Dell + 2 x 24" LCD Setup
Software Windows 10 |Windows 10| Server 2012 r2
I'm exploring the option to get 43" 4k tv and use it as a monitor.
I've been looking into it a bit and I was testing on my 50" 4k tv.
I found out that you need hdmi 2.0 cable to be able to do 4k@60+Hz and chroma at 4:4:4.
Currently I have it connected with 1.3 hdmi and I can either do 4k@30Hz with 4:4:4 or 4k@60 4:2:0, which is fine for games but not so much for text as a monitor.
For those who wonder here's the difference:
1585486244360.png
 
Joined
Oct 29, 2009
Messages
2,573 (0.66/day)
System Name Dejavu ($175 for "tower")
Processor Athlon II X4 640 3ghz
Motherboard Asus M5A78L-M LX PLUS
Cooling Thermaltake 120mm rear, amd stock cpu
Memory 2x 4GB Super Talent DDR-3 1066mhz
Video Card(s) PNY GTX 1050 2GB GDDR-5 (pulled from friends dead pc - and free)
Storage KINGSTON 240G SSD ($30 on Amazon)
Display(s) AOC 19in 1600x900 VGA ($8 at Goodwill)
Case iMicro? Dunno model
Audio Device(s) USB powered but signal from mobo chip 2x 3w speakers / TB P11 headset ($5 for both thrift)
Power Supply iMicro 400watt (a bit sketchy - came with case)
Mouse Vivatar "gaming" mouse ($3) / $4 mouse pad, yes more than the mouse @ Roses
Keyboard Logitech, the one slightly larger than the k120 (freebie)
Software Windows 10 Pro (~$20)
Benchmark Scores TBD - Decent gaming for ~$245
It's not so much the cable but that both devices need to fully support hdmi 2.0. As far as I know, the cable is physically the same regardless.

As far as the original question, it depends on what hdmi spec the TV follows
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
47,676 (8.33/day)
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Big Fella
Processor Ryzen R7 3700X Stock w/ Dark Rock Slim
Motherboard Asus B450-i ITX
Cooling GPU: Corsair H110 W/ Corsair ML RGB fans
Memory 16GB DDR4 3200 Corsair Vengeance RGB Pro @ 3333MHz
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS mod to Gaming Z) (45C max load, H110 AIO)
Storage 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + 1TB Intel 6000 Pro NVME
Display(s) Phillips 328m6fjrmb (32" 1440p 144hz curved) + Sony KD-55X8500F (55" 4K HDR)
Case Fractal Design Nano S
Audio Device(s) Razer Leviathan + Corsair Void pro RGB, Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G Pro wireless + PowerPlay mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptop: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB
Most 4K HDR TV's support it, but some only support it on one HDMI port as well - my first samsung only supported one port while my sony supports all, but you have to enable it in the TV's settings for each port.
 

sneekypeet

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
27,809 (5.38/day)
System Name His
Processor Intel i9 7920X
Motherboard Asus Prime X299 Deluxe
Cooling Corsair H115i RGB Platinum
Memory G.Skill TridentZ RGB 32GB @ 3600MHz
Video Card(s) nVidia RTX 2080ti
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Samsung 55" 4K 60hz
Case Cooler Master Cosmos C700P (Inverted Layout)
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony Receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
I have to run the tv in HDR mode, for the picture, at least I think that's it. Then go into the gpu software and use the custom options to use 4:4:4. That's 4k 60hz.
 
Joined
Nov 11, 2004
Messages
5,962 (1.05/day)
Location
Formosa
System Name Overlord Mk MXVI
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 3800X
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Master
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro
Memory 32GB Viper Steel 3600 DDR4 @ 3800MHz 16-19-16-19-36
Video Card(s) Gigabyte RTX 2080 Gaming OC 8G
Storage 1TB WD Black NVMe (2018), 2TB Viper VPN100, 1TB WD Blue 3D NAND
Display(s) Asus PG27AQ
Case Corsair Carbide 275Q
Audio Device(s) Corsair Virtuoso SE
Power Supply Corsair RM750
Mouse Logitech G500s
Keyboard Wooting Two
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores https://valid.x86.fr/33u9si
It's not so much the cable but that both devices need to fully support hdmi 2.0. As far as I know, the cable is physically the same regardless.

As far as the original question, it depends on what hdmi spec the TV follows
Not quite true, as HDMI 1.3 and older cables are not the same quality as HDMI 1.4 and 2.0 cables.
HDMI cable 1.0 – 1.2 – no 4K Ultra HD support​
HDMI cable 1.3: Probably no 4K support depending on the cable​
HDMI cable 1.4: 4K support very likely, but not guaranteed​
HDMI High Speed Cable: 4K Ultra HD support guaranteed​
Source: https://turbofuture.com/computers/do-i-need-hdmi-cable-4k-hdmi-20-guide
Also: https://www.hdmi.org/resource/cables


As the OP has an HDMI cable, it seems it wasn't designed to handle the extra bandwidth, so his devices drop back to 4:2:0 to be able to maintain the 4K signal. What is needed is a High Speed cable.
HDMI 2.1 again will require Ultra High Speed cables, which can handle 48Gbps of bandwidth.
 
Joined
Sep 20, 2019
Messages
53 (0.20/day)
Processor i9-9900K @ 5.1GHz (H2O Cooled)
Motherboard Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Master
Cooling CPU = EK Velocity / GPU = EK Vector
Memory 32GB - G-Skill Trident Z RGB @ 3200MHz
Video Card(s) Sapphire RX 5700 XT (H20 Cooled)
Storage Samsung 860 EVO 500GB & 970 EVO 500GB - Toshiba 4TB HDD
Display(s) TCL 4K 49" S405 TV & LG 20" 1600x900
Case Lian Li O11-D
Audio Device(s) Presonus Studio 192 & Digidesign 003 Rack+ audio interfaces
Power Supply Seasonic Prime Ultra Titanium 850W
Mouse Logitech MX Anywhere 2S
Keyboard Matias RGB Backlit Keyboard
Software Windows 10 & macOS (Hackintosh)
it can vary TV to TV. best bet is to read up a review on a detailed site like www.rtings.com for the model you want to know more about

Even some TV's with HDMI 2.0 can only show proper 4:4:4 at for example certain resolutions and/or refresh rates. For example, Samsung's NU8000 can do 4:4:4 at 4K 60Hz but it can NOT do 4:4:4 at 1440p at 120Hz or even just 60Hz. Lots of TV's make you label the HDMI input as "PC" or "Computer" or something similar in order for the TV to go into whatever "mode" that manufacture calls it to allow the TV to use low input lag and proper display of 4:4:4 etc

Generally speaking though, if it has HDMI 2.0 yes it should be able to do 4K 60Hz 4:4:4 but it is best to know the details for the TV set you are interested in purchasing. Like others mentioned you need a GPU which can output the proper signal too, so a GPU with at least HDMI 2.0, preferably 2.0b
 
Joined
Dec 22, 2011
Messages
3,132 (1.01/day)
System Name Zimmer Frame Rates
Processor Intel i7 920 @ Stock speeds baby
Motherboard EVGA X58 3X SLI
Cooling True 120
Memory Corsair Vengeance 12GB
Video Card(s) Palit GTX 980 Ti Super JetStream
Storage Of course
Display(s) Crossover 27Q 27" 2560x1440
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Don't be silly
Power Supply XFX 650W Core
Mouse Razer Deathadder Chroma
Keyboard Logitech UltraX
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores Epic
Yeah a high quality cable is really important too, the original cable I bought was supposed to be a good quality hdmi2.0 4K cable and would do 4K 4:2:0 @ 60Hz all day long. But my TV required that I enabled enhanced mode on the hdmi ports to enable 4:4:4, doing that with that cable would just result in a blank screen.

Bought a hdmi 2.1 cable and voila! Enhanced mode worked and I was away:
444.jpg
 
Joined
Jun 23, 2014
Messages
189 (0.09/day)
Processor 7900X 4.6
Motherboard X299 DLX
Cooling Arctic Liquid Freezer 360 II
Memory 4x8gb Trident-Z 3600 @ 3800
Video Card(s) Duke 2080
Storage Optane 280gb PCI-E + Intel 750 480gb
Display(s) PG348Q
Case Core P3
Audio Device(s) ATOLL DAC 100SE, Magnat RV-1 to Dali Ikon 1 MK2, QED banana cabling
Power Supply AX1500i
Mouse Glorious Model O matte
Keyboard Topre Realforce 87U with all 30g keys
Software Win 10 Pro
Not all TVs can do 4:4 regardless of cable. Lower end 4k TVs from older years, were for a long time, simply incapable of doing 4:4 on PC. For example, with LG, the 650V models couldn't while the 850 could.
 
Joined
Aug 20, 2007
Messages
12,993 (2.78/day)
System Name Pioneer
Processor Intel i9 9900k
Motherboard ASRock Z390 Taichi
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 + A whole lotta Sunon and Corsair Maglev blower fans...
Memory G.SKILL TridentZ Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-3200 @ 14-14-14-34-2T
Video Card(s) AMD RX 5700 XT (XFX THICC Ultra III)
Storage Mushkin Pilot-E 2TB NVMe SSD w/ EKWB M.2 Heatsink
Display(s) 55" LG 55" B9 OLED 4K Display
Case Thermaltake Core X31
Audio Device(s) VGA HDMI->Panasonic SC-HTB20/Schiit Modi MB/Asgard 2 DAC/Amp to AKG Pro K7712 Headphones
Power Supply SeaSonic Prime 750W 80Plus Titanium
Mouse ROCCAT Kone EMP
Keyboard WASD CODE 104-Key w/ Cherry MX Green Keyswitches, Doubleshot Vortex PBT White Transluscent Keycaps
Software Windows 10 Enterprise (yes, it's legit.)
chroma 444 support on TVs has always been a crapshoot. Don't bet on it, research.
 
Joined
Dec 22, 2011
Messages
3,132 (1.01/day)
System Name Zimmer Frame Rates
Processor Intel i7 920 @ Stock speeds baby
Motherboard EVGA X58 3X SLI
Cooling True 120
Memory Corsair Vengeance 12GB
Video Card(s) Palit GTX 980 Ti Super JetStream
Storage Of course
Display(s) Crossover 27Q 27" 2560x1440
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Don't be silly
Power Supply XFX 650W Core
Mouse Razer Deathadder Chroma
Keyboard Logitech UltraX
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores Epic
Not all TVs can do 4:4 regardless of cable. Lower end 4k TVs from older years, were for a long time, simply incapable of doing 4:4 on PC. For example, with LG, the 650V models couldn't while the 850 could.
Of course, but the point was not all cables are made equal.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
47,676 (8.33/day)
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Big Fella
Processor Ryzen R7 3700X Stock w/ Dark Rock Slim
Motherboard Asus B450-i ITX
Cooling GPU: Corsair H110 W/ Corsair ML RGB fans
Memory 16GB DDR4 3200 Corsair Vengeance RGB Pro @ 3333MHz
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS mod to Gaming Z) (45C max load, H110 AIO)
Storage 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + 1TB Intel 6000 Pro NVME
Display(s) Phillips 328m6fjrmb (32" 1440p 144hz curved) + Sony KD-55X8500F (55" 4K HDR)
Case Fractal Design Nano S
Audio Device(s) Razer Leviathan + Corsair Void pro RGB, Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G Pro wireless + PowerPlay mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptop: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB
I have to agree on cables, i've got antique short ones that work fine, but as the length grows cable quality needs increase
 
Joined
Aug 20, 2007
Messages
12,993 (2.78/day)
System Name Pioneer
Processor Intel i9 9900k
Motherboard ASRock Z390 Taichi
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 + A whole lotta Sunon and Corsair Maglev blower fans...
Memory G.SKILL TridentZ Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-3200 @ 14-14-14-34-2T
Video Card(s) AMD RX 5700 XT (XFX THICC Ultra III)
Storage Mushkin Pilot-E 2TB NVMe SSD w/ EKWB M.2 Heatsink
Display(s) 55" LG 55" B9 OLED 4K Display
Case Thermaltake Core X31
Audio Device(s) VGA HDMI->Panasonic SC-HTB20/Schiit Modi MB/Asgard 2 DAC/Amp to AKG Pro K7712 Headphones
Power Supply SeaSonic Prime 750W 80Plus Titanium
Mouse ROCCAT Kone EMP
Keyboard WASD CODE 104-Key w/ Cherry MX Green Keyswitches, Doubleshot Vortex PBT White Transluscent Keycaps
Software Windows 10 Enterprise (yes, it's legit.)
Cable length is a strange thing.

On the HDMI side of things, it's actually well defined: The cable must meet it's rated speed at the length it is sold at to be considered "certified." Note however, not all HDMI cables bother getting certified, and a lot of the cheap ones claim to be but aren't.

On the displayport side, the cert is looser: The cable only needs to meet it's speed rating at up to 2 meters, and up to full length at a reduced speed mode meant for projectors that really can't do more than 1080p. This means in practice, a lot more cables bother getting certified, but almost anything over 2 meters is a crapshoot if not buying high end. Really, just buy a cert'd 2 meter cable and get a good repeater to go in the middle if you need a long cable.

So yeah, cable quality does matter, but at least in some cases, a cert from the org in question can help you know certain things, too. But really, a repeater is a good answer to the length equation, often better than a super long expensive cable.
 
Top