• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Does anyone care about 10Gb LAN? (Poll)

Do you want 10Gb LAN on a Motherboard?


  • Total voters
    140
  • Poll closed .
Joined
Feb 20, 2019
Messages
4,567 (3.59/day)
System Name Bragging Rights
Processor Atom Z3735F 1.33GHz
Motherboard It has no markings but it's green
Cooling No, it's a 2.2W processor
Memory 2GB DDR3L-1333
Video Card(s) Gen7 Intel HD (4EU @ 311MHz)
Storage 32GB eMMC and 128GB Sandisk Extreme U3
Display(s) 10" IPS 1280x800 60Hz
Case Veddha T2
Audio Device(s) Apparently, yes
Power Supply Samsung 18W 5V fast-charger
Mouse MX Anywhere 2
Keyboard Logitech MX Keys (not Cherry MX at all)
VR HMD Samsung Oddyssey, not that I'd plug it into this though....
Software W10 21H1, barely
Benchmark Scores I once clocked a Celeron-300A to 564MHz on an Abit BE6 and it scored over 9000.
I am looking to see if people care if motherboards have 10Gb LAN.
I voted yes, but not for SFP+ ports.

Home users typically don't want the noisy rackmount switches that have 10GbE SFP+ and few homes, if any, are wired with fibre patch panels. SFP transceivers are also pretty expensive and the cheaper TwinAx copper DAC cables are short and inflexible.

10GbE over CAT6a will run up to around 37m I think which is a perfectly usable distance for your average consumer.

This is just my opinion, but home ethernet is either WiFi or RJ45 ethernet socket. For those few instances where people actually need 10GbE via an SFP+ port, then just put an add-in card in. That's what all those empty PCIe slots on the motherboard are for.

On a side note, I just wish more decent, cheap 2.5Gb switches existed. They're coming soon with new, cheaper SoCs but they're at least 5 years overdue and hindering the adoption of 2.5Gb.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 11, 2004
Messages
11,871 (1.83/day)
Location
Formosa
System Name Overlord Mk MXVI
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 5800X
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Master
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro
Memory 32GB Viper Steel 3600 DDR4 @ 3800MHz 16-19-16-19-36
Video Card(s) Gigabyte RTX 2080 Gaming OC 8G
Storage 1TB WD Black NVMe (2018), 2TB Viper VPN100, 1TB WD Blue 3D NAND
Display(s) Acer XV272K LVbmiipruzx
Case Corsair Carbide 275Q
Audio Device(s) Corsair Virtuoso SE
Power Supply Corsair RM750
Mouse Logitech G502 Lightspeed
Keyboard Wooting Two
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores https://valid.x86.fr/33u9si
10GbE over CAT6a will run up to around 37m I think which is a perfectly usable distance for your average consumer.
100 meters over CAT6A, 50 meters over CAT6.
 
Joined
Feb 20, 2019
Messages
4,567 (3.59/day)
System Name Bragging Rights
Processor Atom Z3735F 1.33GHz
Motherboard It has no markings but it's green
Cooling No, it's a 2.2W processor
Memory 2GB DDR3L-1333
Video Card(s) Gen7 Intel HD (4EU @ 311MHz)
Storage 32GB eMMC and 128GB Sandisk Extreme U3
Display(s) 10" IPS 1280x800 60Hz
Case Veddha T2
Audio Device(s) Apparently, yes
Power Supply Samsung 18W 5V fast-charger
Mouse MX Anywhere 2
Keyboard Logitech MX Keys (not Cherry MX at all)
VR HMD Samsung Oddyssey, not that I'd plug it into this though....
Software W10 21H1, barely
Benchmark Scores I once clocked a Celeron-300A to 564MHz on an Abit BE6 and it scored over 9000.
100 meters over CAT6A, 50 meters over CAT6.
Ah okay. I have the number 37-55m in my head for something, I thought that was CAT6A-CAT7 but either way, 50m is plenty as a worst-case.
 
Joined
Apr 18, 2013
Messages
1,170 (0.34/day)
Location
Artem S. Tashkinov
2.5Gbps is a good middle ground and nowadays it costs almost the same as old good 1Gbps. Switches are still super expensive though.
 
Joined
Nov 11, 2004
Messages
11,871 (1.83/day)
Location
Formosa
System Name Overlord Mk MXVI
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 5800X
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Master
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro
Memory 32GB Viper Steel 3600 DDR4 @ 3800MHz 16-19-16-19-36
Video Card(s) Gigabyte RTX 2080 Gaming OC 8G
Storage 1TB WD Black NVMe (2018), 2TB Viper VPN100, 1TB WD Blue 3D NAND
Display(s) Acer XV272K LVbmiipruzx
Case Corsair Carbide 275Q
Audio Device(s) Corsair Virtuoso SE
Power Supply Corsair RM750
Mouse Logitech G502 Lightspeed
Keyboard Wooting Two
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores https://valid.x86.fr/33u9si
Ah okay. I have the number 37-55m in my head for something, I thought that was CAT6A-CAT7 but either way, 50m is plenty as a worst-case.
CAT7 isn't part of the regular Ethernet standard, the next step up is CAT8.
 

Mussels

Freshwater Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
54,464 (8.35/day)
Location
Oystralia
System Name Rainbow Sparkles (Power efficient, <350W gaming load)
Processor Ryzen R7 5800X (PBO tweaked, 4.4-5.05GHz)
Motherboard Asus x570 Gaming-F
Cooling Alphacool Apex UV - EK Quantum Velocity AM4 + EK Quantum ARGB 3090 w/ active backplate
Memory 2x32GB DDR4 3600 Corsair Vengeance RGB @3800 C18-22-22-22-42 TRFC704 (1.4V, SoC 1.15V Hynix MJR)
Video Card(s) Galax RTX 3090 SG 24GB: Underclocked to either 1500Mhz 0.737v | 1700Mhz 0.75v | 1900Mhz 0.9v
Storage 2TB WD SN850 NVME + 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + WD AN1500 1TB + 1TB Intel 6000P NVME USB 3.2
Display(s) Kogan 32" 4K 72Hz + Gigabyte G32QC (1440p 165Hz) + Phillips 328m6fjrmb (1440p 144Hz)
Case Fractal Design R6
Audio Device(s) Logitech G560 | Corsair Void pro RGB |Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Fractal Ion+ 2 860W (Platinum) (This thing is God-tier. Silent and TINY)
Mouse Logitech G Pro wireless + Steelseries Prisma XL
Keyboard Razer Huntsman TE (custom white and steel keycaps)
VR HMD Oculus Rift S
Software Windows 11 pro x64 (Yes, it's genuinely a good OS)
Benchmark Scores I don't quite know how i managed to get such a top tier PC, I am not rich.
Long term yes

I only have 50Mb internet and dont even see how people can benefit from gigabit without a whole lotta people in that house, but for local file transfer 1Gb is way behind even SATA SSD's, let alone NVME.
 
Joined
Nov 20, 2013
Messages
5,252 (1.65/day)
Location
Kiev, Ukraine
System Name WS#1337
Processor Ryzen 7 3800X
Motherboard ASUS X570-PLUS TUF Gaming
Cooling Xigmatek Scylla 240mm AIO
Memory 4x8GB G.Skill Ares OEM DDR4-3200 (B-die)
Video Card(s) Inno3D RTX 3070 Ti iChill
Storage Adata SX8200 Pro 1TB
Display(s) Samsung U24E590D (4K/UHD)
Case ghetto CM Cosmos RC-1000
Audio Device(s) ALC1220
Power Supply SeaSonic SSR-550FX (80+ GOLD)
Mouse Logitech G603
Keyboard Modecom Volcano Blade (Kailh choc LP)
Software Windows 10, Ubuntu 20.04 LTS
I only have 50Mb internet and dont even see how people can benefit from gigabit without a whole lotta people in that house
Depends on the location/country. In my area most ISPs already started to phase-out plans under 100Mbit/s (including infamous Ukrtelecom, formerly owned by govt., and later by oligarch Akhmetov), which means gigabit WAN is a must nowadays. I have several friends that run small local ISP companies, and they only keep 50Mbit/s plans for very remote areas(or the ones with very few clients).
Another good motivator, is that any plan usually comes with gigabit speeds within UA-IX and other Ukrainian exchange networks, which is not only useful for synicing data between servers, but for more mundane things, like mom watching her favorite new show in UHD, while father is watching some weirdo fixing up an old motorcycle on Youtube (also in 4K), while their kid can easily download a new 100+GB title off Steam without interfering with parents and without losing bandwidth. 100Mbit/s sounds like a lot, but it's very easy to cap out today. Back when I had my semi-free 100Mbit/s connection, I had to leave rsync going overnight. After I moved and got faster internet - the same task takes only 2-2.5 hours, which makes my life helluvalot easier.
 
Joined
May 8, 2021
Messages
1,679 (3.63/day)
Location
Lithuania
System Name Shizuka
Processor Intel Core i5 10400F
Motherboard Gigabyte B460M Aorus Pro
Cooling Scythe Choten
Memory 2x8GB G.Skill Aegis 2666 MHz
Video Card(s) PowerColor Red Dragon V2 RX 580 8GB ~100 watts in Wattman
Storage 512GB WD Blue + 256GB WD Green + 4TH Toshiba X300
Display(s) BenQ BL2420PT
Case Cooler Master Silencio S400
Audio Device(s) Topping D10 + AIWA NSX-V70
Power Supply Chieftec A90 550W (GDP-550C)
Mouse Steel Series Rival 100
Keyboard Hama SL 570
Software Windows 10 Enterprise
Joined
Feb 20, 2019
Messages
4,567 (3.59/day)
System Name Bragging Rights
Processor Atom Z3735F 1.33GHz
Motherboard It has no markings but it's green
Cooling No, it's a 2.2W processor
Memory 2GB DDR3L-1333
Video Card(s) Gen7 Intel HD (4EU @ 311MHz)
Storage 32GB eMMC and 128GB Sandisk Extreme U3
Display(s) 10" IPS 1280x800 60Hz
Case Veddha T2
Audio Device(s) Apparently, yes
Power Supply Samsung 18W 5V fast-charger
Mouse MX Anywhere 2
Keyboard Logitech MX Keys (not Cherry MX at all)
VR HMD Samsung Oddyssey, not that I'd plug it into this though....
Software W10 21H1, barely
Benchmark Scores I once clocked a Celeron-300A to 564MHz on an Abit BE6 and it scored over 9000.
CAT7 isn't part of the regular Ethernet standard, the next step up is CAT8.
That's just a political bickering and willy waving contest between the ISO standards body and the TIA though.

Cat7 was ratified for 10GbE over 100M back in 2006 so that's what people have been using in new builds and fitouts for a decade. As for CAT8, it's not general purpose cabling for office/residential use, so irrelevant in this discussion about consumer motherboards for home PCs.
 
Joined
Nov 11, 2004
Messages
11,871 (1.83/day)
Location
Formosa
System Name Overlord Mk MXVI
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 5800X
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Master
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro
Memory 32GB Viper Steel 3600 DDR4 @ 3800MHz 16-19-16-19-36
Video Card(s) Gigabyte RTX 2080 Gaming OC 8G
Storage 1TB WD Black NVMe (2018), 2TB Viper VPN100, 1TB WD Blue 3D NAND
Display(s) Acer XV272K LVbmiipruzx
Case Corsair Carbide 275Q
Audio Device(s) Corsair Virtuoso SE
Power Supply Corsair RM750
Mouse Logitech G502 Lightspeed
Keyboard Wooting Two
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores https://valid.x86.fr/33u9si
That's just a political bickering and willy waving contest between the ISO standards body and the TIA though.

Cat7 was ratified for 10GbE over 100M back in 2006 so that's what people have been using in new builds and fitouts for a decade. As for CAT8, it's not general purpose cabling for office/residential use, so irrelevant in this discussion about consumer motherboards for home PCs.
Still, CAT7 Ethernet cables aren't really for part of the standard. Then again, nothing "better" than CAT6A is needed, there are zero reasons to pay more in this case.
I see people claiming their internet speeds improved because they got a CAT7 cables, which is yeah...
 
Joined
Oct 16, 2018
Messages
441 (0.32/day)
Location
Uttar Pradesh, India
Processor AMD R7 1700X @ 4100Mhz
Motherboard MSI B450M MORTAR MAX (MS-7B89)
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC14PE
Memory Crucial Technology 16GB DR (DDR4-3600) - C9BLM:045M:E BL16G36C16U4W.M16FE1 X2 @ CL14
Video Card(s) XFX RX480 GTR 8GB @ 1408Mhz (AMD Auto OC)
Storage Samsung SSD 850 EVO 250GB
Display(s) Acer KG271 1080p @ 81Hz
Power Supply SuperFlower Leadex II 750W 80+ Gold
Keyboard Redragon Devarajas RGB
Software Microsoft Windows 10 (10.0) Professional 64-bit
Benchmark Scores https://valid.x86.fr/mvvj3a
I have not used lan for years! remove it and drop the price of the board even more should be another option. lol
 
Joined
Feb 20, 2019
Messages
4,567 (3.59/day)
System Name Bragging Rights
Processor Atom Z3735F 1.33GHz
Motherboard It has no markings but it's green
Cooling No, it's a 2.2W processor
Memory 2GB DDR3L-1333
Video Card(s) Gen7 Intel HD (4EU @ 311MHz)
Storage 32GB eMMC and 128GB Sandisk Extreme U3
Display(s) 10" IPS 1280x800 60Hz
Case Veddha T2
Audio Device(s) Apparently, yes
Power Supply Samsung 18W 5V fast-charger
Mouse MX Anywhere 2
Keyboard Logitech MX Keys (not Cherry MX at all)
VR HMD Samsung Oddyssey, not that I'd plug it into this though....
Software W10 21H1, barely
Benchmark Scores I once clocked a Celeron-300A to 564MHz on an Abit BE6 and it scored over 9000.
Still, CAT7 Ethernet cables aren't really for part of the standard. Then again, nothing "better" than CAT6A is needed, there are zero reasons to pay more in this case.
I see people claiming their internet speeds improved because they got a CAT7 cables, which is yeah...
CAT7 is just what is used now. Ethernet is one of several possible uses of CAT7 cabling so if the TIA wants to backtrack on what was ratified in 2006, nobody cares. ISO > TIA.
 
Joined
Nov 11, 2004
Messages
11,871 (1.83/day)
Location
Formosa
System Name Overlord Mk MXVI
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 5800X
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Master
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro
Memory 32GB Viper Steel 3600 DDR4 @ 3800MHz 16-19-16-19-36
Video Card(s) Gigabyte RTX 2080 Gaming OC 8G
Storage 1TB WD Black NVMe (2018), 2TB Viper VPN100, 1TB WD Blue 3D NAND
Display(s) Acer XV272K LVbmiipruzx
Case Corsair Carbide 275Q
Audio Device(s) Corsair Virtuoso SE
Power Supply Corsair RM750
Mouse Logitech G502 Lightspeed
Keyboard Wooting Two
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores https://valid.x86.fr/33u9si
CAT7 is just what is used now. Ethernet is one of several possible uses of CAT7 cabling so if the TIA wants to backtrack on what was ratified in 2006, nobody cares. ISO > TIA.
That's not true though. It's something being sold to people who don't know anything about cables and costs at least 2-3x as much as a regular CAT6 or CAT6A cable.

I have not used lan for years! remove it and drop the price of the board even more should be another option. lol
Yeah no thanks. Ethernet always work, unlike WiFi.
 
Joined
Oct 18, 2013
Messages
3,602 (1.12/day)
Location
Behind that massive .44 mag that's in your face
System Name The Little One
Processor i5-8279u
Motherboard AZW Speed S
Cooling Fan w/heat pipes + side & rear vents
Memory 32GB Crucial DDR4-3200 (2x 16GB)
Video Card(s) Iris Plus 655
Storage WD Black SN750 2TB m.2 + WD 2TB external nvme
Display(s) 2x Samsung 43" LCD's @1440p
Case Practically identical to a mac mini, just purrtier in slate blue, & with 3x usb ports on the front !
Audio Device(s) Yamaha ATS-1060 Bluetooth Soundbar & Subwoofer
Power Supply 65w brick
Mouse Logitech MX Master 2
Keyboard Logitech G613 mechanical wireless
Software Windows 10 pro 64 bit, with all the unnecessary background shitzu turned OFF !
Benchmark Scores PDQ - all things considered !
I would rather have 10Gb (or anything faster than 1Gb) internet service 1st, then I would consider thinking about the wiring from my cable box to my router, which is currently all Cat7 ethernet running out to my 1Gb switches...

Yea, I know there are people who will say that Cat7 is unnecessary, but when re-wiring my house recently, I figured why not, perhaps it might "future proof" me for a few years or so...

I will NOT, under any circumstances, be getting wireless from the street to my house... it just aint happening, period, no if's, and's, or butts about it, just gimme those damned wires with 2.5/5/10G and I'll be happy (unless my ISP goes bankrupt...yea, right!) :D
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 20, 2019
Messages
4,567 (3.59/day)
System Name Bragging Rights
Processor Atom Z3735F 1.33GHz
Motherboard It has no markings but it's green
Cooling No, it's a 2.2W processor
Memory 2GB DDR3L-1333
Video Card(s) Gen7 Intel HD (4EU @ 311MHz)
Storage 32GB eMMC and 128GB Sandisk Extreme U3
Display(s) 10" IPS 1280x800 60Hz
Case Veddha T2
Audio Device(s) Apparently, yes
Power Supply Samsung 18W 5V fast-charger
Mouse MX Anywhere 2
Keyboard Logitech MX Keys (not Cherry MX at all)
VR HMD Samsung Oddyssey, not that I'd plug it into this though....
Software W10 21H1, barely
Benchmark Scores I once clocked a Celeron-300A to 564MHz on an Abit BE6 and it scored over 9000.
That's not true though. It's something being sold to people who don't know anything about cables and costs at least 2-3x as much as a regular CAT6 or CAT6A cable.
CAT7 vs CAT6A?
Cost is irrelevant, even when buying kilometers of the stuff for a fitout - because the cable cost itself is almost negligible compared to the labour and termination hardware at each end.

As I said, CAT7 is used in buildings for more than just ethernet and having better quality cable installed is just the obvious choice as it can cost hundreds of times more than the cable is worth in labour and downtime to change it later. Fitouts almost always spec the highest cable commonly available to maximise its useful lifespan. Perhaps CAT7 isn't a TIA-approved standard but we know it handles 10GbE like CAT6A does, being fully-backwards compatible - but perhaps it will handle a future 25GbE while CAT6A needs to be torn out and replaced at huge expense.
 
Joined
Dec 25, 2020
Messages
592 (0.99/day)
Location
São Paulo, Brazil
System Name Unova
Processor AMD Ryzen 9 5950X 16-Core Processor (B0)
Motherboard ASUS ROG STRIX B550-E
Cooling id-cooling Frostflow X 360 + Gelid GC-Extreme
Memory 64 GB (4x 16) Dominator Platinum B-die @ DDR4-3600 16-17-16-34-1 1.375V
Video Card(s) ASUS TUF Gaming OC GeForce RTX 3090 24 GB
Storage WD Green SN350 480 GB (x 2), Samsung 840 Pro 128 GB, Intel SSD 320 160 GB, Lexar NS100 256 GB
Display(s) Sony XBR-55X905F
Case Lian Li PC-O11 Air
Audio Device(s) EVGA Nu Audio (classic)
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA 1300 G2 1300W 80+ Gold
Mouse HyperX Pulsefire Haste
Keyboard Logitech G213 Prodigy
Software Windows 11 Pro for Workstations 22H2
My setup is running CAT5E cabling, it's a gigabit network, but it's never really been a problem. I agree that it's wise to invest a bit in more expensive, advanced standard patch cables if you plan to futureproof a permanent installation, but I must confess I just have the dang ol' blue cable running across my living room for the time being :laugh:
 
Joined
Oct 18, 2013
Messages
3,602 (1.12/day)
Location
Behind that massive .44 mag that's in your face
System Name The Little One
Processor i5-8279u
Motherboard AZW Speed S
Cooling Fan w/heat pipes + side & rear vents
Memory 32GB Crucial DDR4-3200 (2x 16GB)
Video Card(s) Iris Plus 655
Storage WD Black SN750 2TB m.2 + WD 2TB external nvme
Display(s) 2x Samsung 43" LCD's @1440p
Case Practically identical to a mac mini, just purrtier in slate blue, & with 3x usb ports on the front !
Audio Device(s) Yamaha ATS-1060 Bluetooth Soundbar & Subwoofer
Power Supply 65w brick
Mouse Logitech MX Master 2
Keyboard Logitech G613 mechanical wireless
Software Windows 10 pro 64 bit, with all the unnecessary background shitzu turned OFF !
Benchmark Scores PDQ - all things considered !
CAT7 vs CAT6A?
Cost is irrelevant, even when buying kilometers of the stuff for a fitout - because the cable cost itself is almost negligible compared to the labour and termination hardware at each end.

As I said, CAT7 is used in buildings for more than just ethernet and having better quality cable installed is just the obvious choice as it can cost hundreds of times more than the cable is worth in labour and downtime to change it later. Fitouts almost always spec the highest cable commonly available to maximise its useful lifespan. Perhaps CAT7 isn't a TIA-approved standard but we know it handles 10GbE like CAT6A does, being fully-backwards compatible - but perhaps it will handle a future 25GbE while CAT6A needs to be torn out and replaced at huge expense.
I came across this issue a while back while working on an multi-billion $$ industrical project that involved data, telecom, security and digital voice wiring. The original contract, signed in 2018, called for Cat5e.... but once the structures were complete, the conduits installed, and we were getting ready to actually pull the cable in 2020, it was clear that the obvious choice would be to go with Cat7 instead, for many reasons, not the least of which would have been the ginormous downtime & costs of tearing out the Cat5 & upgrading to Cat6, 7 or 8 in the future...

Yes it cost the project owners (big energy co.) moar moolah up front, but considering what they were already spending on the project, it was a drop in the proverbial bucket. The facility & all of it's systems are & have been operating at peak efficiency since mid-2020 with absolutely ZERO networking issues to date... no signal integrity concerns, no data losses or slow transmission speeds, no lost calls, no grainy, unviewable security footage, nope....notta... nuthin... zip...
 
Joined
Dec 26, 2006
Messages
1,764 (0.31/day)
Location
Northern Ontario Canada
System Name Just another PC
Processor Ryzen 1700
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-AX370-K3
Cooling Noctua NH-C12P SE14
Memory DDR4-2133 2x16GB
Video Card(s) Asus Tuf - AMD RX 6800
Storage 960 EVO 500GB OS, 1TB SSD Steam & 2TB WD Blue SSD Storage
Display(s) LG 27UL550-W
Case Be Quiet Pure Base 600 (no window)
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1220
Power Supply SuperFlower Leadex V Gold Pro 850W ATX Ver2.52
Mouse Mionix Naos 8200
Keyboard Corsair Strafe with browns
Software W10 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores Starts when push power button!!
As the thread states, I am looking to see if people care if motherboards have 10Gb LAN.
Yes and no. We need something faster than 1Gb. Even a regular raid 1 hdd NAS can saturate 1Gb network. You’d need 5Gb for sata ssd and more for raid 0 or nvme drives. 2.5 is a welcome step from 1, but I feel like 5 should be minimum in 2022 and 10 the preferred/enthusiast option.

I came across this issue a while back while working on an multi-billion $$ industrical project that involved data, telecom, security and digital voice wiring. The original contract, signed in 2018, called for Cat5e.... but once the structures were complete, the conduits installed, and we were getting ready to actually pull the cable in 2020, it was clear that the obvious choice would be to go with Cat7 instead, for many reasons, not the least of which would have been the ginormous downtime & costs of tearing out the Cat5 & upgrading to Cat6, 7 or 8 in the future...

Yes it cost the project owners (big energy co.) moar moolah up front, but considering what they were already spending on the project, it was a drop in the proverbial bucket. The facility & all of it's systems are & have been operating at peak efficiency since mid-2020 with absolutely ZERO networking issues to date... no signal integrity concerns, no data losses or slow transmission speeds, no lost calls, no grainy, unviewable security footage, nope....notta... nuthin... zip...
Cat 7 wasn’t available when I wired my old home. But regular meh stuff got cat 6 and my stuff and other possibly higher demand future stuff got 6a/6a shielded.
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
28,454 (4.66/day)
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 10850K@5.2GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z470 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro w/ Noctua NF-A14 Fans
Memory 32GB DDR4-3600
Video Card(s) RTX 2070 Super
Storage 500GB SX8200 Pro + 8TB with 1TB SSD Cache
Display(s) Acer Nitro VG280K 4K 28"
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply eVGA SuperNOVA 1000w G3
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
I believe they meant that 3500 MB/s turns out to be around 28 Gbps of bandwidth, so even lower end Gen 3 drives should be able to saturate a 10GbE uplink (1250 MB/s) :)
Poor guy's arguing in a tech forum, in a thread about networking, and doesn't know the difference between Gb and GB. :roll:

100 meters over CAT6A, 50 meters over CAT6.
Funny thing is, the 37m rating is the rating for 10Gb on Cat5e. Which there still seems to be a lot of people that seem to think you can't use Cat5e at all with 10Gb for some reason.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 5, 2006
Messages
13,195 (2.18/day)
System Name AlderLake / Laptop
Processor Intel i7 12700K / Intel i3 7100U
Motherboard Gigabyte Z690 Aorus Master / HP 83A3 (U3E1)
Cooling Noctua NH-U12A 2 fans + Thermal Grizzly Kryonaut Extreme + 5 case fans / Fan
Memory 32GB DDR5 Corsair Dominator Platinum RGB 6000MHz CL36 / 8GB DDR4 HyperX CL13
Video Card(s) MSI RTX 2070 Super Gaming X Trio / Intel HD620
Storage Samsung 980 Pro 1TB + 970 Evo 500GB + 850 Pro 512GB + 860 Evo 1TB x2 / Samsung 256GB M.2 SSD
Display(s) 23.8" Dell S2417DG 165Hz G-Sync 1440p / 14" 1080p IPS Glossy
Case Be quiet! Silent Base 600 - Window / HP Pavilion
Audio Device(s) ALC1220-VB + ESS ES9118 DAC / Realtek onboard + B&O speaker system
Power Supply Seasonic Focus Plus Gold 750W / Powerbrick
Mouse Logitech MX Anywhere 2 Laser wireless / Logitech M330 wireless
Keyboard RAPOO E9270P Black 5GHz wireless / HP backlit
Software Windows 11 / Windows 10
Benchmark Scores Cinebench R23 (Single Core) 1911 @ stock Cinebench R23 (Multi Core) 22813 @ stock
Changed my vote "Do you want 10Gb LAN on a Motherboard?" to YES.

Do I need it now? No, but my motherboard has it.
 
Joined
Feb 20, 2020
Messages
5,252 (5.80/day)
Location
Texas
System Name Ghetto Rigs x299 & z490 & x99
Processor 9940x w/Optimus SigV2 & 10900k w/Optimus Foundation & 5930k w/Noctua D15
Motherboard X299 Rampage VI Apex & z490 Maximus XII Apex & x99 Sabertooth
Cooling D5 combo/280 GTX/ VRM water block copper/280 GTX/ D5 Top/Optimus sigV2/TitanXp/Mora 360x2
Memory Trident-Z 3600C16 4x8gb & Trident-Z Royal 4000c16 2x16gb & Trident-Z 3200c14 4x8gb
Video Card(s) 1080ti FTW3 & Titan Xp & evga 980ti gaming
Storage 970 evo plus 500gb & 970 evo 500gb many sammy 2.5" ssd's and WD BLK hdd's
Display(s) 1-AOC G2460PG 24"G-Sync 144Hz/ 2nd 1-ASUS VG248QE 24"/ 3rd LG 43" series
Case D450 second floor for 2nd rad x2/ Cherry Entertainment center on Test bench
Audio Device(s) Built in Realtek x2 with 2-Insignia 2.0 sound bars & 1-LG sound bar
Power Supply EVGA 1200P2 & 1000P2 with APC AX1500 & 850P2 with CyberPower-GX1325U & 750P2
Mouse Redragon Perdition x3
Keyboard G710+x3
Software Win-7 pro x3 and Linux Cinnamon 20.2x2 & win-10 & 11pro x3
Benchmark Scores Are in the benchmark section
Changed my vote "Do you want 10Gb LAN on a Motherboard?" to YES.

Do I need it now? No, but my motherboard has it.
Hi,
That's not what the title or thread states

1655554926962.png
 
Joined
Jan 5, 2006
Messages
13,195 (2.18/day)
System Name AlderLake / Laptop
Processor Intel i7 12700K / Intel i3 7100U
Motherboard Gigabyte Z690 Aorus Master / HP 83A3 (U3E1)
Cooling Noctua NH-U12A 2 fans + Thermal Grizzly Kryonaut Extreme + 5 case fans / Fan
Memory 32GB DDR5 Corsair Dominator Platinum RGB 6000MHz CL36 / 8GB DDR4 HyperX CL13
Video Card(s) MSI RTX 2070 Super Gaming X Trio / Intel HD620
Storage Samsung 980 Pro 1TB + 970 Evo 500GB + 850 Pro 512GB + 860 Evo 1TB x2 / Samsung 256GB M.2 SSD
Display(s) 23.8" Dell S2417DG 165Hz G-Sync 1440p / 14" 1080p IPS Glossy
Case Be quiet! Silent Base 600 - Window / HP Pavilion
Audio Device(s) ALC1220-VB + ESS ES9118 DAC / Realtek onboard + B&O speaker system
Power Supply Seasonic Focus Plus Gold 750W / Powerbrick
Mouse Logitech MX Anywhere 2 Laser wireless / Logitech M330 wireless
Keyboard RAPOO E9270P Black 5GHz wireless / HP backlit
Software Windows 11 / Windows 10
Benchmark Scores Cinebench R23 (Single Core) 1911 @ stock Cinebench R23 (Multi Core) 22813 @ stock
Joined
Feb 20, 2020
Messages
5,252 (5.80/day)
Location
Texas
System Name Ghetto Rigs x299 & z490 & x99
Processor 9940x w/Optimus SigV2 & 10900k w/Optimus Foundation & 5930k w/Noctua D15
Motherboard X299 Rampage VI Apex & z490 Maximus XII Apex & x99 Sabertooth
Cooling D5 combo/280 GTX/ VRM water block copper/280 GTX/ D5 Top/Optimus sigV2/TitanXp/Mora 360x2
Memory Trident-Z 3600C16 4x8gb & Trident-Z Royal 4000c16 2x16gb & Trident-Z 3200c14 4x8gb
Video Card(s) 1080ti FTW3 & Titan Xp & evga 980ti gaming
Storage 970 evo plus 500gb & 970 evo 500gb many sammy 2.5" ssd's and WD BLK hdd's
Display(s) 1-AOC G2460PG 24"G-Sync 144Hz/ 2nd 1-ASUS VG248QE 24"/ 3rd LG 43" series
Case D450 second floor for 2nd rad x2/ Cherry Entertainment center on Test bench
Audio Device(s) Built in Realtek x2 with 2-Insignia 2.0 sound bars & 1-LG sound bar
Power Supply EVGA 1200P2 & 1000P2 with APC AX1500 & 850P2 with CyberPower-GX1325U & 750P2
Mouse Redragon Perdition x3
Keyboard G710+x3
Software Win-7 pro x3 and Linux Cinnamon 20.2x2 & win-10 & 11pro x3
Benchmark Scores Are in the benchmark section
I read it yes, but the poll question says: "Do you want 10Gb LAN on a Motherboard?"....

If the poll said "do you care"? I say no.
Hi,
Nice you have it on your board already at least you have the option if you choose to use it in the future :cool:
 
Joined
Jan 5, 2006
Messages
13,195 (2.18/day)
System Name AlderLake / Laptop
Processor Intel i7 12700K / Intel i3 7100U
Motherboard Gigabyte Z690 Aorus Master / HP 83A3 (U3E1)
Cooling Noctua NH-U12A 2 fans + Thermal Grizzly Kryonaut Extreme + 5 case fans / Fan
Memory 32GB DDR5 Corsair Dominator Platinum RGB 6000MHz CL36 / 8GB DDR4 HyperX CL13
Video Card(s) MSI RTX 2070 Super Gaming X Trio / Intel HD620
Storage Samsung 980 Pro 1TB + 970 Evo 500GB + 850 Pro 512GB + 860 Evo 1TB x2 / Samsung 256GB M.2 SSD
Display(s) 23.8" Dell S2417DG 165Hz G-Sync 1440p / 14" 1080p IPS Glossy
Case Be quiet! Silent Base 600 - Window / HP Pavilion
Audio Device(s) ALC1220-VB + ESS ES9118 DAC / Realtek onboard + B&O speaker system
Power Supply Seasonic Focus Plus Gold 750W / Powerbrick
Mouse Logitech MX Anywhere 2 Laser wireless / Logitech M330 wireless
Keyboard RAPOO E9270P Black 5GHz wireless / HP backlit
Software Windows 11 / Windows 10
Benchmark Scores Cinebench R23 (Single Core) 1911 @ stock Cinebench R23 (Multi Core) 22813 @ stock
Joined
Aug 6, 2020
Messages
508 (0.69/day)
Wont pay extra, because without a multi-disk nas array, I have yet to consistently exceed the transfer rate of a single red hdd

I find 2.5g running on my existing cat5e a much better upgrade path -but only once I upgrade all of these data drives to sata ssds ( probably another decade)
 
Last edited:
Top