• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Does anyone care about 10Gb LAN? (Poll)

Do you want 10Gb LAN on a Motherboard?


  • Total voters
    140
  • Poll closed .

phill

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jun 8, 2011
Messages
12,835 (3.14/day)
Location
Somerset, UK
System Name Not so complete or overkill
Processor Ryzen 3900X
Motherboard Asus Crosshair 8 Hero (Non Wi-Fi)
Cooling Air :(
Memory Patriot 3200MHz 64GB
Video Card(s) 2 x EVGA GTX 1080 Ti SC Black Edition
Storage 1 250GB Crucial SSD for OS/Programs, 2 500GB Crucial SSD for Steam and Epic stores
Display(s) 3 x 23" LG IPS panels (can't remember model!!)
Case 10mm thick MDF on plastic risers.. It's kinda a case??
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply EVGA P2 1200w
Mouse Corsair thingy
Keyboard Logitec K120......
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores I've actually never benched it!! Too busy with WCG and FAH and not gaming!! :( :(
Are you guys just not interested in old gear? Or just like it from brands you can find at Walmart? Serious question. 10G has been around far longer than 2.5/5 and you can get single mellanox cards far cheaper on something like eBay, than the fancy anodized red asus cards. Likewise you can get Cisco broadcom, HP, etc etc etc 10G sfp and Ethernet switches for a few hundred. Which is on par in price with most ubiquity or mikrotik stuff.

I have seen an odd amount of hate on the forums for the better part of a year on 10G networking in general but I can’t help but wonder if it stems from simple ignorance, maybe unwillingness to believe it is a viable option, or maybe they just see a name like “Arista” and get nervous.
I can't agree more with this having just got a 10Gb network setup in my home :) Running on Cat5E without any issues.

My internet barely hits 1Mbps and I don't have a NAS so nope.
I think that's more of a reason to have a NAS and a good intranet :) It was one of the reasons I made that choice a few years ago and I've never looked back :)

As I started above, I had recently managed to have my home internet upgraded and made into a monster and when I was looking and thinking about it, why have a 1Gb download, to then only have a 1Gb network at home. Transferring data and downloading at the same time, not going to work without slowing things down (can't have it, unacceptable.... :laugh: ) so I decided to give something a try and try to find some bits and pieces that would work how I wished it too.

So with a Threadripper system that had a 10Gb network LAN adaptor and I thought hang on, so I grabbed a 10Gb Asus card and away we went. I had recently thought I should have gone for another card but still :) Having also found a couple Enterprise cards that have dual ports, it was just a dead cert to do stupid things :D

Much to learn about it and the 8 port 10Gb TP Link switch I have is annoying as the fan is terribly loud even without anything connected but as soon as funds allow, I'll be switching it out for a 24 port model instead. I know that's completely overkill in my current network setup with about 24 cables around the house but I guess at least I have expansion, not to mention only a few devices have the 10Gb LAN connections... Onto complete overkill network upgrade soon :D

(Apologies, hopefully not too much 'talking' there :laugh: I'll leave now :D)
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 18, 2005
Messages
3,640 (0.57/day)
Location
Ikenai borderline!
I voted no, for the simple reason that I haven't used wired ethernet in the last 3 year... and contrary to my initial expectations, it's been absolutely fine. Wireless ethernet has become Good Enough - in terms of ease of setup, reliability and speed - for ordinary consumers, that high-speed wired links simply aren't the necessity that they used to be. And that means 10GbE isn't as necessary in consumer products as 1GbE was, which - since 10GbE chips are still relatively large and power-hungry - also means there's a massive economic disincentive for manufacturers to concentrate on 10GbE. It's a vicious negative feedback loop.

Personally I'm glad, because wireless is absolutely the future. And yes, I have run Cat5 in multiple ceilings of multiple houses in my time.
 
Joined
Nov 11, 2004
Messages
11,957 (1.84/day)
Location
Formosa
System Name Overlord Mk MXVI
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 5800X
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Master
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro
Memory 32GB Viper Steel 3600 DDR4 @ 3800MHz 16-19-16-19-36
Video Card(s) Gigabyte RTX 2080 Gaming OC 8G
Storage 1TB WD Black NVMe (2018), 2TB Viper VPN100, 1TB WD Blue 3D NAND
Display(s) Acer XV272K LVbmiipruzx
Case Corsair Carbide 275Q
Audio Device(s) Corsair Virtuoso SE
Power Supply Corsair RM750
Mouse Logitech G502 Lightspeed
Keyboard Wooting Two
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores https://valid.x86.fr/33u9si
Personally I'm glad, because wireless is absolutely the future. And yes, I have run Cat5 in multiple ceilings of multiple houses in my time.
Wireless is still not full duplex though, so far from ideal during a lot of situations.
WiFi has advantages for sure, but it can never replace wired.
 
Joined
Jan 5, 2006
Messages
13,273 (2.19/day)
System Name AlderLake / Laptop
Processor Intel i7 12700K / Intel i3 7100U
Motherboard Gigabyte Z690 Aorus Master / HP 83A3 (U3E1)
Cooling Noctua NH-U12A 2 fans + Thermal Grizzly Kryonaut Extreme + 5 case fans / Fan
Memory 32GB DDR5 Corsair Dominator Platinum RGB 6000MHz CL36 / 8GB DDR4 HyperX CL13
Video Card(s) MSI RTX 2070 Super Gaming X Trio / Intel HD620
Storage Samsung 980 Pro 1TB + 970 Evo 500GB + 850 Pro 512GB + 860 Evo 1TB x2 / Samsung 256GB M.2 SSD
Display(s) 23.8" Dell S2417DG 165Hz G-Sync 1440p / 14" 1080p IPS Glossy
Case Be quiet! Silent Base 600 - Window / HP Pavilion
Audio Device(s) ALC1220-VB + ESS ES9118 DAC + Edifier S351DB 2.1 soon / Realtek onboard + B&O speaker system
Power Supply Seasonic Focus Plus Gold 750W / Powerbrick
Mouse Logitech MX Anywhere 2 Laser wireless / Logitech M330 wireless
Keyboard RAPOO E9270P Black 5GHz wireless / HP backlit
Software Windows 11 / Windows 10
Benchmark Scores Cinebench R23 (Single Core) 1911 @ stock Cinebench R23 (Multi Core) 22813 @ stock
Also a WIFI user here, the only thing I have wired is my TV, since WIFI for Smart TV is crapshoot....
 
Joined
Nov 11, 2004
Messages
11,957 (1.84/day)
Location
Formosa
System Name Overlord Mk MXVI
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 5800X
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Master
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro
Memory 32GB Viper Steel 3600 DDR4 @ 3800MHz 16-19-16-19-36
Video Card(s) Gigabyte RTX 2080 Gaming OC 8G
Storage 1TB WD Black NVMe (2018), 2TB Viper VPN100, 1TB WD Blue 3D NAND
Display(s) Acer XV272K LVbmiipruzx
Case Corsair Carbide 275Q
Audio Device(s) Corsair Virtuoso SE
Power Supply Corsair RM750
Mouse Logitech G502 Lightspeed
Keyboard Wooting Two
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores https://valid.x86.fr/33u9si
Also a WIFI user here, the only thing I have wired is my TV, since WIFI for Smart TV is crapshoot....
I have exactly the opposite experience where the WiFi works (barely) and the wired Ethernet is a crapshoot.
For some reason our Samsung TV has the worst wired Ethernet I've ever come across, with the 100 Mbps interface barely managing 4 Mbps upload speeds. No, it's not the wiring that's faulty.
 
Joined
Aug 6, 2020
Messages
516 (0.69/day)
As I started above, I had recently managed to have my home internet upgraded and made into a monster and when I was looking and thinking about it, why have a 1Gb download, to then only have a 1Gb network at home. Transferring data and downloading at the same time, not going to work without slowing things down (can't have it, unacceptable.... :laugh: ) so I decided to give something a try and try to find some bits and pieces that would work how I wished it too.


You do know how an Ethernet switch works, right? Every network cable gets the same dedicated 1 Gbps bandwidth

this could only be justified if you were downloading from the internet while maxing-out your local nas (everyone else has uninterrupted bandwidth to network storage).
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
37,419 (6.77/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Changed my vote "Do you want 10Gb LAN on a Motherboard?" to YES.

Do I need it now? No, but my motherboard has it.
If i needed higher function I would just buy a lan card. Most at best connectivity is 1Gibibit.
 

phill

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jun 8, 2011
Messages
12,835 (3.14/day)
Location
Somerset, UK
System Name Not so complete or overkill
Processor Ryzen 3900X
Motherboard Asus Crosshair 8 Hero (Non Wi-Fi)
Cooling Air :(
Memory Patriot 3200MHz 64GB
Video Card(s) 2 x EVGA GTX 1080 Ti SC Black Edition
Storage 1 250GB Crucial SSD for OS/Programs, 2 500GB Crucial SSD for Steam and Epic stores
Display(s) 3 x 23" LG IPS panels (can't remember model!!)
Case 10mm thick MDF on plastic risers.. It's kinda a case??
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply EVGA P2 1200w
Mouse Corsair thingy
Keyboard Logitec K120......
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores I've actually never benched it!! Too busy with WCG and FAH and not gaming!! :( :(
You do know how an Ethernet switch works, right? Every network cable gets the same dedicated 1 Gbps bandwidth

this could only be justified if you were downloading from the internet while maxing-out your local nas (everyone else has uninterrupted bandwidth to network storage).
I do, but if I'm downloading on the same PC that I'm transferring to that's limited to a 1Gb connection, to half its performance, which I don't want :) Plus its not all about the connection speed as such but the drive speed/performance from the server/other devices.
Each time you can access the NAS from another device, the performance will take a hit and it will be 50% of what it could be with a 1Gb connection. If the server can operate at 10Gb and the rest 1Gb, at least then the 10 machines that could access it before things start slowing down is a bonus :)
 
Joined
Nov 28, 2012
Messages
2,424 (0.68/day)
System Name BoX-Server | 775PC
Processor I3 3.5GHZ (3150) | Modded Xeon E5450 (OC @3.60)
Motherboard ASRock B85M-ITX | ASUS P5Q-EM
Cooling OEZM HSK | 92MM Heatsink RGB
Memory 8GB DDR3 | 8GB DDR2
Video Card(s) AMD 6450 | Onboard
Storage 120GB SSD 1TB WD | 120GB SSD 1TB Seagate 500GB HDD <<
Display(s) DELL 17" LCD 1280x1024 | ASUS 24" LCD IPS
Case CoolerMaster 110 | RoseWill ZIRCON
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Rosewill 610WATT | Rosewill 550WATT
Mouse Input-Director| RoseWill FUSION C40
Keyboard Input-Director | RoseWill FUSION
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
I voted no bc everything is wireless at least here. Cost a arm and a leg to hire people to route or drill holes in walls
 
Joined
May 19, 2019
Messages
32 (0.03/day)
System Name Home brew
Processor Intel i7 8700k 4.5g
Motherboard Asus RoG Strix Z370 H
Cooling Noctua NH-U12 S/LG window air conditioner
Memory G Skill Ripjaws V ddr 4 3200 32 gb.
Video Card(s) Sapphire Vega 64
Storage WD 240gb 3D nand SSD/WD 1tb 3D nand SSD
Display(s) Acer XF240 H 144hz Freesync
Case Rosewill Viper Z mid tower
Audio Device(s) Motherboard/EV 740 2 way & pwrd woofer/Logitech wireless headset #?
Power Supply EVGA supernova 850 G2
Mouse Cougar Revenger S
Keyboard Havit KB390L
Software Windows 10
Yeah, I heard that. 10 years ago, Comcast sent a guy to setup high speed internet for our neighbor, across the street. To save time, he spliced into our internet line and just decelerated our high speed connection. When they got through fixing it, it looked pretty odd with all the useless cabling.
 
Joined
Jan 14, 2019
Messages
2,866 (2.18/day)
Location
Midlands, UK
System Name Nebulon-B Mk. 3
Processor Intel Core i7-11700 @ ASUS Optimized (200 W)
Motherboard ASUS TUF B560M-Plus (WiFi)
Cooling be quiet! Silent Loop 2 280 mm
Memory 2x 16 GB Kinston Fury Beast RGB 3200 MHz
Video Card(s) ASUS TUF Radeon RX 6500 XT @ 2975/2400
Storage 1 TB Crucial P5, 1 TB Crucial P5 Plus
Display(s) Samsung C24F390, 7" Waveshare touchscreen
Case Corsair Crystal 280X black
Audio Device(s) Genius SP-HF160, AKG Y50
Power Supply Seasonic Prime GX-750
Mouse Cherry MW 8 Advanced
Keyboard MagicForce 68
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores Cinebench R23 multi core: 14,000, single core: 1,500. Superposition 1080p Extreme: 2,935.
There's no point. My great British broadband can't even do 100 Mbps, let alone 1 Gbps or 10.

I voted no bc everything is wireless at least here. Cost a arm and a leg to hire people to route or drill holes in walls
That too. No chance drilling in a rented flat.
 
Joined
Oct 17, 2021
Messages
294 (0.96/day)
Processor R7 5800X
Motherboard ASRock X570 Phantom Gaming 4
Cooling be quiet! Dark Rock Pro 4
Memory G.Skill Trident Z DDR4-3733 (2x8GB)
Video Card(s) MSI Radeon RX 5700 XT 8GB GAMING X
Storage Crucial MX500 500 GB
Display(s) ViewSonic G225fB
Case Antec 302
Power Supply be quiet! Pure Power 11 700W
I can't agree more with this having just got a 10Gb network setup in my home :) Running on Cat5E without any issues.


I think that's more of a reason to have a NAS and a good intranet :) It was one of the reasons I made that choice a few years ago and I've never looked back :)

As I started above, I had recently managed to have my home internet upgraded and made into a monster and when I was looking and thinking about it, why have a 1Gb download, to then only have a 1Gb network at home. Transferring data and downloading at the same time, not going to work without slowing things down (can't have it, unacceptable.... :laugh: ) so I decided to give something a try and try to find some bits and pieces that would work how I wished it too.

So with a Threadripper system that had a 10Gb network LAN adaptor and I thought hang on, so I grabbed a 10Gb Asus card and away we went. I had recently thought I should have gone for another card but still :) Having also found a couple Enterprise cards that have dual ports, it was just a dead cert to do stupid things :D

Much to learn about it and the 8 port 10Gb TP Link switch I have is annoying as the fan is terribly loud even without anything connected but as soon as funds allow, I'll be switching it out for a 24 port model instead. I know that's completely overkill in my current network setup with about 24 cables around the house but I guess at least I have expansion, not to mention only a few devices have the 10Gb LAN connections... Onto complete overkill network upgrade soon :D

(Apologies, hopefully not too much 'talking' there :laugh: I'll leave now :D)
I just get a new hard drive whenever the need arises.

I voted no bc everything is wireless at least here. Cost a arm and a leg to hire people to route or drill holes in walls
Had a 50m long ethernet cable going from the basement to my room through floors and stairs before I repurposed the old phone wiring for regular Eth, peaks out at 10Mbit/s but that's still 10 times faster than my internet so it's never saturated to cause packet loss or noise.
 
Joined
Sep 4, 2008
Messages
782 (0.15/day)
Location
USA
Thanks for the comments people! This is great for understanding people's perspective on 10 Gb LAN.
 
Joined
May 8, 2021
Messages
1,679 (3.58/day)
Location
Lithuania
System Name Shizuka
Processor Intel Core i5 10400F
Motherboard Gigabyte B460M Aorus Pro
Cooling Scythe Choten
Memory 2x8GB G.Skill Aegis 2666 MHz
Video Card(s) PowerColor Red Dragon V2 RX 580 8GB ~100 watts in Wattman
Storage 512GB WD Blue + 256GB WD Green + 4TH Toshiba X300
Display(s) BenQ BL2420PT
Case Cooler Master Silencio S400
Audio Device(s) Topping D10 + AIWA NSX-V70
Power Supply Chieftec A90 550W (GDP-550C)
Mouse Steel Series Rival 100
Keyboard Hama SL 570
Software Windows 10 Enterprise
I voted no, for the simple reason that I haven't used wired ethernet in the last 3 year... and contrary to my initial expectations, it's been absolutely fine. Wireless ethernet has become Good Enough - in terms of ease of setup, reliability and speed - for ordinary consumers, that high-speed wired links simply aren't the necessity that they used to be. And that means 10GbE isn't as necessary in consumer products as 1GbE was, which - since 10GbE chips are still relatively large and power-hungry - also means there's a massive economic disincentive for manufacturers to concentrate on 10GbE. It's a vicious negative feedback loop.

Personally I'm glad, because wireless is absolutely the future. And yes, I have run Cat5 in multiple ceilings of multiple houses in my time.
I actually also use wireless. It got cheap and good. You can have nearly bottom of the barrel router some inexpensive wifi cards or USB sticks and it will be reasonably fast. I can watch 4k30 YT without issues. Not even ping is poor.
 
Joined
Dec 16, 2010
Messages
1,528 (0.36/day)
Location
State College, PA, US
System Name My Surround PC
Processor Intel Core i9 9900KS
Motherboard Gigabyte Z390 Designare
Cooling Swiftech MCP35X / XSPC Rasa CPU / Phanteks GPU block / XSPC 480mm w/ Corsair Fans
Memory 64GB (2 x 32 GB) Corsair DDR4-3600 CL18
Video Card(s) Gigabyte AORUS GeForce RTX 2080 Ti Xtreme Edition
Storage WD SN850 2TB, 4 x 4TB HGST NAS HDD for Windows Storage Spaces
Display(s) 2 x Viotek GFI27QXA 27" 4K 120Hz + LG UH850 4K 60Hz + HMD
Case NZXT Source 530
Audio Device(s) Sony MDR-7506 / Logitech Z-5500 5.1
Power Supply Corsair RM1000x 1 kW
Mouse Patriot Viper V560
Keyboard Corsair K100
VR HMD HP Reverb G2
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores Mellanox ConnectX-3 10 Gb/s Fiber Network Card
I voted no. Not because I don't want 10Gb connections. I actually have a 10Gb SFP+ optical connection from my PC to the network switch and a 2Gb/s internet connection.

I voted no because I know that the feature will only show up on $700+ motherboards, which I wouldn't be buying anyway. Add-in cards give much more flexibility and can be reused between system upgrades.
 
Joined
May 8, 2021
Messages
1,679 (3.58/day)
Location
Lithuania
System Name Shizuka
Processor Intel Core i5 10400F
Motherboard Gigabyte B460M Aorus Pro
Cooling Scythe Choten
Memory 2x8GB G.Skill Aegis 2666 MHz
Video Card(s) PowerColor Red Dragon V2 RX 580 8GB ~100 watts in Wattman
Storage 512GB WD Blue + 256GB WD Green + 4TH Toshiba X300
Display(s) BenQ BL2420PT
Case Cooler Master Silencio S400
Audio Device(s) Topping D10 + AIWA NSX-V70
Power Supply Chieftec A90 550W (GDP-550C)
Mouse Steel Series Rival 100
Keyboard Hama SL 570
Software Windows 10 Enterprise
Add-in cards give much more flexibility and can be reused between system upgrades.
There are even USB to ethernet adapters. Those are even more reusable. You can even connect Android phone to wired internet if you want.
 
Joined
Feb 13, 2022
Messages
19 (0.10/day)
Location
Poland, Bydgoszcz
Yea i think that kinda sums it up, since gigabit gear now is cheap as chips, and sure if you could (can you?) get like a 16 port 10G switch for say $100 (which would be an awesome deal yea) you still need a 10G card for every machine too - which adds up.

It's not that it's unreasonable, it's just if like my house there are 5 machines i'd want to be on the 10G segment to be even worth the effort. And looking at say $50 for the cheapest 10G PCIe cards that adds up fast.

It's enough that I kinda have to justify the spend to make everything 10G other than it being awesome lol. I kinda hoped that the 2.5G and 5G might have come down to being maybe same price as cheap 1G cause in that case you don't even have to really think about it. While 2.5G would still be roughly twice as fast, that's still like $30 a card and you'd still need a switch - and some of the old 10G switches that might be cheap enough pre-date 2.5G and 5G so they won't negotiate those so it just keeps squeaking outside of "impulse upgrade" price lol
2.5Gbit cards are more like 15-20$, just use aliexpress, not amazon/newegg/whatever.
RTL8125 is the standard for 2.5Gbit/s these days, inexpensive Realtek chip.

Big HDD's these days can push quite close to 300MB/s sequential, which happens to be about what the 2.5Gbit/s is capable of.
So it's not like you need an SSD to see gains from above gigabit speeds.
 
Top