• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Does Asus 7970 DirectCU II have a Dual Link Dvi

Mir96ta

New Member
Joined
Aug 12, 2012
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#1
Box and manual said it does have one Dual link Dvi
I been reading on it; and have found it does not ?
Any body own this card and have used dual link of dvi (Higher then of 1920 X1080)
Thanks
 
Joined
May 9, 2011
Messages
1,892 (0.77/day)
Likes
890
Location
Mainland Britain
System Name H2o Box
Processor Intel(R) Xeon e5-2690 v2 Stock 3 ~ 3.6GHz
Motherboard MSI X79A-G43 Plus (MS-7760) v3
Cooling CPU EK Block & Phobya G-Changer 360 V2.0 RAD H2o
Memory Gskill RipjawsZ 16Gb & Gskill TridentX 16Gb 9-10-9-28 3T @ 1866Mhz
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080ti AMP EXTREME
Storage HyperX Fury 120GB & Savage 480GB SSD, Seagate 250GB,250GB 7200rpm Kingston 64GB SSD
Display(s) Panasonic GT30 46'' 1080p 3D HDTV [Custom Resolution 4096*2304]
Case Corsair O-800D
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
Power Supply Be Quiet! [Dark Power Pro 11] 1200W CM replaced [7-4-2017]
Mouse Asus ROG
Keyboard Microsoft Digital Media 1.0A
Software Win 10 Pro 64Bit v 1703 / OS[build 16299.192]
#2
Joined
Apr 21, 2010
Messages
4,665 (1.65/day)
Likes
2,017
#3
Only some entry level cards don't come with dual link DVI capabilities these days afaik, though there are a few cards about that only have hdmi/display port but an display port>dvi adaptor would sort that.

To answer your question, this link also say's it has dual link DVI and supports upto 2560x1600 :toast:
 

Mir96ta

New Member
Joined
Aug 12, 2012
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#4
I know manual and Box and Card says it does.
People who have tried that says other wise.
I know most common res is 1920 X 1080
I am going to go with infamouse 27 Korean IPS pannel monitor (ACHIEVA Shimian et ); which require
to have dual link DVi for 2560 X 1440
 
Joined
Aug 30, 2009
Messages
4,001 (1.31/day)
Likes
1,652
Location
Sarasota, Florida, USA
System Name Awesomesauce 4.3 | Laptop (MSI GE72VR 6RF Apache Pro-023)
Processor Intel Core i7-5820K 4.16GHz 1.28v/3GHz 1.05v uncore | Intel Core i7-6700HQ @ 3.1GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X99-UD5 WiFi LGA2011-v3| Stock
Cooling Corsair H100i v2 w/ 2x EK Vardar F4-120ER + various 120/140mm case fans | Stock
Memory G.Skill RJ-4 16GB DDR4-2666 CL15 quad channel | 12GB DDR4-2133
Video Card(s) ASUS ROG Strix A8G Gaming GTX 1080 @ 2075/1368 boost | NVIDIA GTX 1060 6GB +200/+500 + Intel 530
Storage Samsung 840 EVO 500GB + Seagate 3TB 7200RPM + others | Kingston 256GB M.2 SATA + 1TB 7200RPM
Display(s) Acer G257HU 1440p 60Hz AH-IPS 4ms | 17.3" 1920*1080 60Hz wide angle TN notebook panel
Case Fractal Design Define XL R2 | MSI
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Z | Realtek with quad stereo speakers and subwoofer
Power Supply Corsair HX850i Platinum | 19.5v 180w Delta brick
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 | Windows 10 Home x64
Benchmark Scores GTX 1080 please?
#5
At least one port should be dual link and the other is single (that's how my 6950 was configured, and my 7950 only has one port and works fine at 120Hz 1080p on my ASUS VG236H).
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2010
Messages
4,665 (1.65/day)
Likes
2,017
#6
I know manual and Box and Card says it does.
People who have tried that says other wise.
I know most common res is 1920 X 1080
I am going to go with infamouse 27 Korean IPS pannel monitor (ACHIEVA Shimian et ); which require
to have dual link DVi for 2560 X 1440
Just google it and it will tell you, who says 2560x1440 isn't supported?

http://www.google.co.uk/search?q=di...&ie=&oe=&redir_esc=&ei=lDIoUN_gL6mh0QXbzoHACg

Rocking a Yamakasi Catleap 27" 2560x1440 on my 570 ;)
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Staff member
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,576 (3.85/day)
Likes
10,942
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
#7
Only some entry level cards don't come with dual link DVI capabilities these days afaik
GTX670 and 7-series cards are problematic apparantly. Wizz has reported several cards recently with single DVI ports, and they are Single-link, like the MSI Lightning 7970.

Seems more common with AMD cards than NV, particularily 7970's, so your 570 supporting it is useless to the OP.

Oh, and a link to MSI's spec's saying single-link:):

http://www.msi.com/product/vga/R7970-Lightning.html

I think it's kinda common to AMD cards with only single DVI output, my Gigabyte cards are the same as well, I think.
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2010
Messages
4,665 (1.65/day)
Likes
2,017
#9
GTX670 and 7-series cards are problematic apparantly. Wizz has reported several cards recently with single DVI ports, and they are Single-link, like the MSI Lightning 7970.

Seems more common with AMD cards than NV, particularily 7970's, so your 570 supporting it is useless to the OP.

Oh, and a link to MSI's spec's saying single-link:):

http://www.msi.com/product/vga/R7970-Lightning.html

I think it's kinda common to AMD cards with only single DVI output, my Gigabyte cards are the same as well, I think.
Why did I think we were talking about a directcu ii 670, completely sorry, my bad


OT that sucks, AMD/(insert AOB partner here) should be sorting that shit out, I would maybe try my luck with the card and RMA if it doesn't work out as it would clearly be deffective if it din't work as advertised.
 
Last edited:

Mir96ta

New Member
Joined
Aug 12, 2012
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#10
Thanks for that, we're talking about the Asus Directcu II 670 though not an MSI 7970.... glad you decided to enlighten us with your thoughts on that though and not the OP so my 570 supporting it (even though I was just saying to the OP I am running one of the monitors he is looking at) is as useless as banging on about an MSI 7970 :rolleyes:
I am looking 7970 other GPU are just a back ground noise for me :cool: