• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Does everyone else's GA-EP45-UD3* start up, shut down and then start back up?

DirectorC

New Member
Joined
Nov 4, 2009
Messages
1,624 (0.54/day)
Likes
267
Location
Florizy
System Name -= Son of a Whore =-
Processor E8400 @ 4.0GHz (445 x 9)
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3R
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212+
Memory 3GB Corsair XMS2
Video Card(s) EVGA 8800 GT 512
Storage 74GB Raptor + Caviars in RAID0
Display(s) I-Inc 19" LCD 1440x900
Audio Device(s) Audigy SE & Logitech X-540
Power Supply Corsair 750TX
Software Win32 v6.1.7600
Benchmark Scores Logitech KB & Sidewinder X3
#1
Every time I hit my power button, the system starts for a moment, shuts down, and then restarts and proceeds to boot. I don't know why it does this. For the longest time I thought it was just something Gigabyte/EP45/UD3* boards do but things have been seeming strange as far as power draw of components from the motherboard.
 
Joined
Dec 7, 2009
Messages
1,793 (0.60/day)
Likes
276
System Name Old Skool
Processor E6750 @ 3.6 ghz
Motherboard GA P35 DS3L
Cooling Xigmatek Dark Knight S1283v
Memory 4gb Kingston DDR2 @ 900mhz
Video Card(s) XFX 9800GT 512MB
Storage SAMSUNG 320gb
Display(s) VIEWSONIC vx2260wm
Case HAF 922
Audio Device(s) Realtek (on board) + Logitech x540
Power Supply CM 550w
Software W7 Ultimate 64
#2
All I can say is that I have a friend of mine who has an msi p31 board who does the same exact thing. So its not related to your board. I always thought it was because of his 'shite" el cheapo psu. Seeing you have a good one, its time to investigate ;)
 
Joined
Dec 14, 2009
Messages
118 (0.04/day)
Likes
5
Processor E8400 @ 3.0GHZ ~
#3
I'll bet you if you "un-clock" the systerm and go back to the default settings it will boot normal.
As I run overclocked my rig does the same thing if I "totally power it off" (switch on back of pc).
It boots normal though, if I un-clock.
 
Joined
Dec 7, 2009
Messages
1,793 (0.60/day)
Likes
276
System Name Old Skool
Processor E6750 @ 3.6 ghz
Motherboard GA P35 DS3L
Cooling Xigmatek Dark Knight S1283v
Memory 4gb Kingston DDR2 @ 900mhz
Video Card(s) XFX 9800GT 512MB
Storage SAMSUNG 320gb
Display(s) VIEWSONIC vx2260wm
Case HAF 922
Audio Device(s) Realtek (on board) + Logitech x540
Power Supply CM 550w
Software W7 Ultimate 64
#4
I'll bet you if you "un-clock" the systerm and go back to the default settings it will boot normal.
As I run overclocked my rig does the same thing if I "totally power it off" (switch on back of pc).
It boots normal though, if I un-clock.
Negative in my friend's case, his system is @ stock. SO i guess its not just related to OC'ing.
 

brandonwh64

Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!
Joined
Sep 6, 2009
Messages
19,529 (6.38/day)
Likes
6,950
Location
Chatsworth, GA
System Name The StarCrunch Defender! | X58 Cruncher!
Processor I7 6700K @ STOCK | Intel I7-920
Motherboard Gigabyte Z170X-UD5 | Alienware MS-7543 X58
Cooling Corsair A70 Push/Pull | Corsair H50
Memory Crucial Ballistix DDR4 2400 MHz | Pereema 3x2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Gaming G1 GTX 1070 | Gigabyte 7970 3GB
Storage 2x Samsung Pro 256GB M.2 SSD's in Raid 0 | 4TB Western Digital SATA drive
Display(s) ViewSonic VG2227wm 1080P | OLD viewsonics
Case NZXT Tempest 410 Elite | NZXT Source 210
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 750TX | Enermax Liberty 500W
Mouse MX518 | MX502
Keyboard TESORO Mechanical | ANZO Mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro on both
#5
director i had simular issues with my gigabyte P43 board. it did this when i set a bios setting wrong or i changed something in the bios, the computer would come on then immedatly turn off then 5 seconds later it would come back on
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2005
Messages
6,885 (1.48/day)
Likes
1,501
System Name MY PC
Processor E8400 @ 3.80Ghz > Q9650 3.60Ghz
Motherboard Maximus Formula
Cooling D5, 7/16" ID Tubing, Maze4 with Fuzion CPU WB
Memory XMS 8500C5D @ 1066MHz
Video Card(s) HD 2900 XT 858/900 to 4870 to 5870 (Keep Vreg area clean)
Storage 2
Display(s) 24"
Case P180
Audio Device(s) X-fi Plantinum
Power Supply Silencer 750
Software XP Pro SP3 to Windows 7
Benchmark Scores This varies from one driver to another.
#6
Are you using DDR2 1066 ram?
 
Joined
Oct 7, 2008
Messages
1,888 (0.56/day)
Likes
142
System Name The Beast
Processor Intel Core i3-2100 @ 3.1GHz
Motherboard Asus P8P67 LE
Cooling Stock
Memory 4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 @ 1600MHz
Video Card(s) 1GB Sapphire Radeon HD4650 Ultimate Edition
Storage 60GB Corsair Force LE, 1TB Samsung SpinPoint F1, 500GB Seagate
Display(s) 22" Samsung T220HD & 19" Acer X193W
Case Corsair Obsidian 750D
Power Supply Corsair HX650W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#7
Although I have an Asus mobo, it happens to me too. I turn it on and it shuts down then a second later turns on.
 

DirectorC

New Member
Joined
Nov 4, 2009
Messages
1,624 (0.54/day)
Likes
267
Location
Florizy
System Name -= Son of a Whore =-
Processor E8400 @ 4.0GHz (445 x 9)
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3R
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212+
Memory 3GB Corsair XMS2
Video Card(s) EVGA 8800 GT 512
Storage 74GB Raptor + Caviars in RAID0
Display(s) I-Inc 19" LCD 1440x900
Audio Device(s) Audigy SE & Logitech X-540
Power Supply Corsair 750TX
Software Win32 v6.1.7600
Benchmark Scores Logitech KB & Sidewinder X3
#8
director i had simular issues with my gigabyte P43 board. it did this when i set a bios setting wrong or i changed something in the bios, the computer would come on then immedatly turn off then 5 seconds later it would come back on
I don't think anything is set wrong. IIRC it does this every time. It doesn't wait 5 seconds, it waits like 1 second. It's just power--no power--power & boot. It does it quickly and I know that Gigabyte/P45 boards have all these advanced power features so I was just wondering if it's some kind of check-up/warm-up type thing.
 

DirectorC

New Member
Joined
Nov 4, 2009
Messages
1,624 (0.54/day)
Likes
267
Location
Florizy
System Name -= Son of a Whore =-
Processor E8400 @ 4.0GHz (445 x 9)
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3R
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212+
Memory 3GB Corsair XMS2
Video Card(s) EVGA 8800 GT 512
Storage 74GB Raptor + Caviars in RAID0
Display(s) I-Inc 19" LCD 1440x900
Audio Device(s) Audigy SE & Logitech X-540
Power Supply Corsair 750TX
Software Win32 v6.1.7600
Benchmark Scores Logitech KB & Sidewinder X3
#9
Joined
Mar 4, 2009
Messages
644 (0.20/day)
Likes
129
System Name StealthX
Processor Intel i7 2700k
Motherboard Asus SABERTOOTH z77
Cooling Prolimatech Genesis
Memory CORSAIR Vengeance 8GB DDR3
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 960 2GB black edition
Storage CORSAIR FORCE GT 120GB SSD + Samsung Spinpoint F3 (1TB + 2 x 500GB)
Display(s) Acer G235H 23" (1920 x 1080)
Case Silverstone Raven RV02
Audio Device(s) OB
Power Supply Seasonic x650 GOLD
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
#10
JackAttack is correct .... i too have that issue with my ASUS MOBO as well when its overclocked ..... i think this happens because it applies the OC settings when it goes through the ON-OFF-ON process ...
 

DirectorC

New Member
Joined
Nov 4, 2009
Messages
1,624 (0.54/day)
Likes
267
Location
Florizy
System Name -= Son of a Whore =-
Processor E8400 @ 4.0GHz (445 x 9)
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3R
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212+
Memory 3GB Corsair XMS2
Video Card(s) EVGA 8800 GT 512
Storage 74GB Raptor + Caviars in RAID0
Display(s) I-Inc 19" LCD 1440x900
Audio Device(s) Audigy SE & Logitech X-540
Power Supply Corsair 750TX
Software Win32 v6.1.7600
Benchmark Scores Logitech KB & Sidewinder X3
#11
i think this happens because it applies the OC settings when it goes through the ON-OFF-ON process ...
Interesting take on this.
 
Joined
Dec 7, 2009
Messages
1,793 (0.60/day)
Likes
276
System Name Old Skool
Processor E6750 @ 3.6 ghz
Motherboard GA P35 DS3L
Cooling Xigmatek Dark Knight S1283v
Memory 4gb Kingston DDR2 @ 900mhz
Video Card(s) XFX 9800GT 512MB
Storage SAMSUNG 320gb
Display(s) VIEWSONIC vx2260wm
Case HAF 922
Audio Device(s) Realtek (on board) + Logitech x540
Power Supply CM 550w
Software W7 Ultimate 64
#12
Its curious to see asus, msi and gb all doing the same thing, so I believe its not just gb boards who do that. Its got to be related to something else. And yeah, its like 1-2 seconds then powers up.
 
Joined
Mar 4, 2009
Messages
644 (0.20/day)
Likes
129
System Name StealthX
Processor Intel i7 2700k
Motherboard Asus SABERTOOTH z77
Cooling Prolimatech Genesis
Memory CORSAIR Vengeance 8GB DDR3
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 960 2GB black edition
Storage CORSAIR FORCE GT 120GB SSD + Samsung Spinpoint F3 (1TB + 2 x 500GB)
Display(s) Acer G235H 23" (1920 x 1080)
Case Silverstone Raven RV02
Audio Device(s) OB
Power Supply Seasonic x650 GOLD
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
#13
Interesting take on this.
well this happens only when the system is overclocked + when the PSU is switched off then switched on ....

when the system is at default stock settings this doesnt happen ... whether the PSU is switched off then switched on ...

anyway good to know that i am not the only having this problem .... :laugh: ... dont get me wrong guys .. :D
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2005
Messages
6,885 (1.48/day)
Likes
1,501
System Name MY PC
Processor E8400 @ 3.80Ghz > Q9650 3.60Ghz
Motherboard Maximus Formula
Cooling D5, 7/16" ID Tubing, Maze4 with Fuzion CPU WB
Memory XMS 8500C5D @ 1066MHz
Video Card(s) HD 2900 XT 858/900 to 4870 to 5870 (Keep Vreg area clean)
Storage 2
Display(s) 24"
Case P180
Audio Device(s) X-fi Plantinum
Power Supply Silencer 750
Software XP Pro SP3 to Windows 7
Benchmark Scores This varies from one driver to another.
#14
The phenomenon you are describing is called a cold double boot. Normally it doesn't happen once you booted for the 1st time already. It takes around 1/2 an hour or so with the PC off before it will do it again. It's been happening to motherboards for sometime now. The causes of it can vary but for some ram was the issue. If you use the ram at it's default timing, speed, latency, etc it should boot as normal. However, ram is just one of the issues causing it. Other are issues with the bios and CPU that I've read can be more server and in most cases the MB has to be replaced as there are other problems. The only other suggestion is to update your bios. However, that usually doesn't solve the cold double booting. Unfortunately, it's an inherent chipset behavior from what I recall.

As long as you are not experiencing any ill effects you are fine none the less. It's a wired thing that's started with the 965 chipsets. And, for the most part not clear what's causing it. But as long as everything is still fine most have just dealt with it until they upgraded to better PC setup.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 15, 2009
Messages
323 (0.10/day)
Likes
51
#15
I have had the same issue with my EP45-ud3p...

its stable from a cold boot, but can be a bit of a PITA after changing bios settings and what not...

it seems to happen more often to this board when using a 65nm chip... esp a quad...
 
Joined
Feb 19, 2009
Messages
1,573 (0.48/day)
Likes
568
Location
Warwick
System Name PC-Chips
Processor Intel core I5 4690K
Motherboard Asrock z87 Extreme 3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory G-Skill Ripjaws 2133mhz 4x4gig
Video Card(s) Sapphire RX-480 Nitro+ 8gig
Storage Samsung 250gig 840 SSD / 1TB HDD
Display(s) Samsung C27F591 27 inch Curved LED
Case NZXT phantom 410
Audio Device(s) Realtek digital out - Yamaha A-S501 - Wharfedale pacific evo 20 speakers - Wharfedale SW150 sub
Power Supply Cooler Master G650M
Mouse logitech G402
Keyboard Logitech delux 250
Software Windows 10 pro 64bit
#16
hi have simler problems like this to with my EP45 ds3 but it only does it when i change a setting or yurn the pc of for a while.
 

DirectorC

New Member
Joined
Nov 4, 2009
Messages
1,624 (0.54/day)
Likes
267
Location
Florizy
System Name -= Son of a Whore =-
Processor E8400 @ 4.0GHz (445 x 9)
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3R
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212+
Memory 3GB Corsair XMS2
Video Card(s) EVGA 8800 GT 512
Storage 74GB Raptor + Caviars in RAID0
Display(s) I-Inc 19" LCD 1440x900
Audio Device(s) Audigy SE & Logitech X-540
Power Supply Corsair 750TX
Software Win32 v6.1.7600
Benchmark Scores Logitech KB & Sidewinder X3
#17
I found out why I thought my front fan wasn't getting enough power. The filter that I didn't even know was there was fully clogged up. The filter (even after cleaning) actually reduces the air flow by way too much, I just removed it. Now my case can sound like a jet engine again when I turn the fans all the way up :laugh:
 
Joined
May 10, 2009
Messages
1,514 (0.48/day)
Likes
257
Location
South California, The desert.
System Name My Computer
Processor Core 2 Q9550 4Ghz 1.23volts
Motherboard Gigabyte
Cooling Corsair
Memory OCZ
Video Card(s) Galaxy
Storage Western Digital
Display(s) Acer
Case Lian li
Audio Device(s) Asus
Power Supply Corsiar
Software Microsoft
Benchmark Scores 25,000 3dmark06 at 4.35Ghz processor, 835core card!
#18
ok, yes the motherboard does do that. Espicially when you overclock.

My motherboard does the start on, shut down, start on, shut down either 1 time, or it will keep rebooting forever.

Why? Because of a :
Unstable overclock
Ram is defective
Shut down wrong, by just flicking the switch on the back of the PSU
Hold you case power button switch down to force shut down.
Or it just turns on and stays on(but not screen) Because you fry your processor.

And thats about it.

Dosnt bother me. Once you got a solid overclock now, its good to go, just dont hld the switch down, but you can turn it off and on via the operating system, and make sure your overclock is stable while posting because the motherboard will notice when its not, and reboot. It does this because it has dual bioses in my opinion. And when my overclock is not stable, i sometimes go into the bios and see completely diffrent settings. But i dont mind, just got to work with it right, and itll be fine./