• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Does MSI Z390 A Pro need a BIOS update for i5 9400F?

Frostified

New Member
Joined
Nov 17, 2019
Messages
17 (0.71/day)
I tried to google it but there is mixed responses. I bought the Z390 a few days ago. Will i5 9400F work straight out of the box? If not how can I update the BIOS version?
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
28,355 (6.24/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Read your motherboard manual, go to msi website, look for your specific board go to its support page, download latest bios file, flash.

If in doubt Contact msi for help
 
Joined
Sep 28, 2005
Messages
927 (0.18/day)
Location
Calgary Alberta, Canada
System Name PussySlayer
Processor Intel Core i7 4770
Motherboard Asrock Z87E-ITX
Cooling Some crappy Silverstone ITX Cooler
Memory 2x8GB Gskill RipjawsX 1600
Video Card(s) GTX 1070
Storage 1x500gb Crucial SSD
Display(s) BenQ 24" 1080P
Case Couger QBX
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply 650W EVGA BR - Coil Whine Issue
Software Windows 10 64bit Pro
you would need a compatible CPU in order to flash the bios on that mobo. I tried to see if it has the ability to do so without the CPU but I dont think it can.

 
Joined
Dec 16, 2012
Messages
3,584 (1.40/day)
Location
Jyväskylä, Finland
System Name Classified
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 2600 @ 4.05GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF B450 Plus Gaming
Cooling Custom loop by Alphacool
Memory G.Skill Value 16GB DDR4-2400
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 980 Ti FTW Gaming
Storage 2x256GB, 240GB & 480GB SSDs, 2TB HDD
Display(s) 2x 1920x1080 (23" & 22")
Case Corsair Carbide Air 740
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Z
Power Supply Seasonic Focus+ Gold 750W
Mouse Logitech G400s
Keyboard Dell keyboard
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores 19545 in Fire Strike with 290 Crossfire OC

Frostified

New Member
Joined
Nov 17, 2019
Messages
17 (0.71/day)
you would need a compatible CPU in order to flash the bios on that mobo. I tried to see if it has the ability to do so without the CPU but I dont think it can.

I don't have any working CPU unfortunately... My CPU died and I am looking to buy a new one. Do you know if i5 9600K works out of the box? The price range is very close between 9400F and 9600K and I really can't be bothered to look for work arounds to update the BIOS. Thanks for the video though, I will use it for general knowledge.


Here's the CPU compatibility list. Very likely it will work out of the box.
I should have known to check the website. Thanks!
 
Joined
Sep 28, 2005
Messages
927 (0.18/day)
Location
Calgary Alberta, Canada
System Name PussySlayer
Processor Intel Core i7 4770
Motherboard Asrock Z87E-ITX
Cooling Some crappy Silverstone ITX Cooler
Memory 2x8GB Gskill RipjawsX 1600
Video Card(s) GTX 1070
Storage 1x500gb Crucial SSD
Display(s) BenQ 24" 1080P
Case Couger QBX
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply 650W EVGA BR - Coil Whine Issue
Software Windows 10 64bit Pro
Give it a shot. I think Chloe found your answer. I was looking for that page.

Just watched a video review of the board and the tester used a 9600k, so if that worked, so would the 9400f i presume.
 
Joined
Jun 3, 2018
Messages
738 (1.33/day)
Location
Jeddah , Saudi Arabia.
Processor i5 3470
Motherboard Asus H61M-E
Cooling Alseye EDDY-8
Memory Cruical 1600MHz 8GB (4x2)
Video Card(s) Intel HD Graphics 2500
Storage Kingston A400 120GB + Western Digital Blue 500 GB (5000AAKX)
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster E1920
Case Cooler Master MasterBox MB520
Power Supply Cooler Master MWE 550
Mouse Redragon Griffin
Keyboard HP SK-2885
Software Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
15,938 (4.39/day)
Joined
Dec 16, 2012
Messages
3,584 (1.40/day)
Location
Jyväskylä, Finland
System Name Classified
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 2600 @ 4.05GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF B450 Plus Gaming
Cooling Custom loop by Alphacool
Memory G.Skill Value 16GB DDR4-2400
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 980 Ti FTW Gaming
Storage 2x256GB, 240GB & 480GB SSDs, 2TB HDD
Display(s) 2x 1920x1080 (23" & 22")
Case Corsair Carbide Air 740
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Z
Power Supply Seasonic Focus+ Gold 750W
Mouse Logitech G400s
Keyboard Dell keyboard
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores 19545 in Fire Strike with 290 Crossfire OC
It will, absolutely. The BIOS listed is v10 which is the first BIOS for that board. It will have that BIOS or newer on it. :)
I could be newer R0 stepping and it would require v15 bios, but I doubt that. :)
 
Top