• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Does my system need more power

Joined
Oct 5, 2007
Messages
601 (0.16/day)
Likes
34
Location
North Carolina, USA
Processor Q6600 @ 3600mhz with 1600fsb
Motherboard Asus P5E x38
Cooling Zalman CPU, and 4x120mm fans
Memory 2 gig(2x1gig) Crucial ballistix 4gig(4x2gig) Corsair
Video Card(s) ATI 4850
Storage 150gig Raptorx/wd 320gig/2x raptor 37gig
Display(s) Samsung SnycMaster 906bw/acer 19inch
Case Lian Li PC V1000II
Audio Device(s) Creative SB X-FI
Power Supply 600w Silverstone ATX
Software vista 64, fruityloops, COD4, TF2, HL2
Benchmark Scores 15983 3dmark06
#1
I didnt really know where to post this exactly so ill post here. :toast:
I replaced my video card(in specs) with a 8800gts 512 and my mobo(in specs) with an Asus P5E x38. I got everything put together and ran 3dmark06. i get about 12~ depending on the driver. I know something is wrong because thats about what i got with my old hardware. Xazax thinks my PSU is holding me back. Its really annoying to spend money on stuff and not see a difference. :shadedshu

here is a link to the psu:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817163109

I havnt overclocked the cpu, but i did overclock the gpu, and got a little higher but not much.

also im running 2 gigs of PNY bestbuy ram at 800mhz @ 55515, untill i get my corsairs in. I dont think this would really cause anything

everywhere ive read on the internet i should be getting atleast 14~ with a q6600
 
Joined
Sep 9, 2006
Messages
2,476 (0.60/day)
Likes
232
Location
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom.{East Anglian Coast
System Name Hells Core.
Processor Q6600 Go @ 3.6ghz 24/7 1.360v stable.
Motherboard Asus Rampage Formula.
Cooling Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro (lapped). 1x120mm Akasa fan 2x80mm akasa fans (variable speeds)
Memory OCZ Reaper HPC 4GB 2x2 gigs pc2-6400 latency 6-6-6-15 @1100mhz. D9,s
Video Card(s) 2 x HIS HD5870's Crossfire
Storage WD Caviar SE 160GB 7200RPM SATAII 8MB Cache / Samsung 7200RPM SATAII 16mb Cache.
Display(s) 22" Benq True LED/HD.
Case Inwin IronClad Gaming case
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster X-Fi™ XtremeMusic EAX 5.0.2
Power Supply Hiper 880W Type-M Quad sli crossfire certified. 85% Efficiency Rated.
Software Windows 7 Home Premium
Benchmark Scores "3dmark06 23995" Q6600@4.3ghz 3870x2 GPU @900mhz MEM @1000mhz-OS XP. "The Current TPU Champ"
#2
Should run youre system ok but theres no mention of what amp rating the 12v rails are or overall efficiency rating just run it but if you have the cash later get somthing thats highly rated like a corsair psu.Overclocking the cpu will score you better results in 3dmark alot more than just overclocking the card.
If your fans slow or go dimmer than normal thats normally a sign that the psu is struggling a bit.
 
Joined
Oct 5, 2007
Messages
601 (0.16/day)
Likes
34
Location
North Carolina, USA
Processor Q6600 @ 3600mhz with 1600fsb
Motherboard Asus P5E x38
Cooling Zalman CPU, and 4x120mm fans
Memory 2 gig(2x1gig) Crucial ballistix 4gig(4x2gig) Corsair
Video Card(s) ATI 4850
Storage 150gig Raptorx/wd 320gig/2x raptor 37gig
Display(s) Samsung SnycMaster 906bw/acer 19inch
Case Lian Li PC V1000II
Audio Device(s) Creative SB X-FI
Power Supply 600w Silverstone ATX
Software vista 64, fruityloops, COD4, TF2, HL2
Benchmark Scores 15983 3dmark06
#3
Brand SILVERSTONE
Model SST-ST60F
Spec
Type ATX 12V 2.01 & EPS 12V
Maximum Power 600W
Fans 1
PFC Active
Main Connector 20+4Pin
+12V Rails 4
PCI-E Connectors 2 x 6Pin
NVIDIA SLI Support NVIDIA SLI Certified
Modular Cabling Support Yes
Efficiency 75.80%
Over Voltage Protection Yes
Overload Protection Yes
Input Voltage 115 - 240V
Input Frequency Range 50/60 Hz
Input Current 10 - 5A
Output +3.3V@33A, +5V@24A, +12V1@13A, +12V2@18A, +12V3@16A, +12V4@8A, -12V@0.5A, +5VSB@2A
MTBF 100,000 hours at 25°C, full load
Features
Features Quad +12V rail for superior performance
100% modular cables include dual PCI-E
Powerful & quiet running 120mm fan
Industrial class components

I wouldnt think that the processor would impact it THAT much
 

AsRock

TPU addict
Joined
Jun 23, 2007
Messages
15,381 (3.98/day)
Likes
4,797
Location
US
Processor 2500k \ 3770k
Motherboard ASRock Z68 \ Z77
Memory Samsung low profile 1600
Video Card(s) XFX 6770 \ XFX R9 390X
Storage Intel 80Gb (SATA2) WD 250Gb \ Team SSD+Samsung Evo 250Gb+500Gb+ 2xCorsair Force+WD250GbHDD
Display(s) Samsung 1080P \ Toshiba HDTV 1080P
Case HTPC400 \ Thermaltake Armor case ( original ), With Zalman fan controller ( wattage usage ).
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V475 \ Marantz SR5008 Tannoy Mercury MKII Paradigm 5SE + Tannoy Mercury F4
Power Supply PC&Power 750w \ Seasonic 750w MKII
Mouse MS intelimouse \ Logitech G700s + Steelseries Sensei wireless
Keyboard Logitech K120 \ ROCCAT MK Pro ( modded amber leds )
Benchmark Scores Meh benchmarks.
#4
12~ ?.. A good sign of a PSU not being able to cope with demand is shutdowns were the PSU just overloads and shuts off.

Is the PSU getting real hot ?. What are all the issue's you having ?


Ampage a little low on that PSU.

Aah you on about 20k on 3Dmark LMAO silly me. no thats not to bad. Worry when your games and OS is crashing.
 
Joined
Oct 5, 2007
Messages
601 (0.16/day)
Likes
34
Location
North Carolina, USA
Processor Q6600 @ 3600mhz with 1600fsb
Motherboard Asus P5E x38
Cooling Zalman CPU, and 4x120mm fans
Memory 2 gig(2x1gig) Crucial ballistix 4gig(4x2gig) Corsair
Video Card(s) ATI 4850
Storage 150gig Raptorx/wd 320gig/2x raptor 37gig
Display(s) Samsung SnycMaster 906bw/acer 19inch
Case Lian Li PC V1000II
Audio Device(s) Creative SB X-FI
Power Supply 600w Silverstone ATX
Software vista 64, fruityloops, COD4, TF2, HL2
Benchmark Scores 15983 3dmark06
#5
i just dont understand why i upgraded, but im not seeing any kind of benefit?
 

AsRock

TPU addict
Joined
Jun 23, 2007
Messages
15,381 (3.98/day)
Likes
4,797
Location
US
Processor 2500k \ 3770k
Motherboard ASRock Z68 \ Z77
Memory Samsung low profile 1600
Video Card(s) XFX 6770 \ XFX R9 390X
Storage Intel 80Gb (SATA2) WD 250Gb \ Team SSD+Samsung Evo 250Gb+500Gb+ 2xCorsair Force+WD250GbHDD
Display(s) Samsung 1080P \ Toshiba HDTV 1080P
Case HTPC400 \ Thermaltake Armor case ( original ), With Zalman fan controller ( wattage usage ).
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V475 \ Marantz SR5008 Tannoy Mercury MKII Paradigm 5SE + Tannoy Mercury F4
Power Supply PC&Power 750w \ Seasonic 750w MKII
Mouse MS intelimouse \ Logitech G700s + Steelseries Sensei wireless
Keyboard Logitech K120 \ ROCCAT MK Pro ( modded amber leds )
Benchmark Scores Meh benchmarks.
#6
i just dont understand why i upgraded, but im not seeing any kind of benefit?
Hehe same here near enough all though FPS is more stable and some games like stalker i am getting a extra 25FPS more than b4..

I did what i should not of done and waited 3 years like i normally do ( excluding graffics cards ).

EDIT: Quad core will help at the end of those 3 years i would of thought to like my daul core did when all told me go single core and they ended up upgrading. Puzzles me why i did not go quad lol.
 

JrRacinFan

Served 5k and counting ...
Joined
Mar 17, 2007
Messages
19,666 (4.96/day)
Likes
4,754
Location
Youngstown, OH
System Name Gamer :Server and Android BuildBox
Processor i7 3930k: Xeon e5-2660
Motherboard MSI X79A-GD45 Plus : Generic
Cooling Liqid cooled: CM 212+
Memory Klevv Neo 2x4Gb 1866 @ 1600 CL9 : 2x8Gb Vengeance 1600 cl9
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 950 SC : XFX R5 220
Storage HGST 2TB + 480GB OCZ Trion 150 : Seagate 1TB SSHD + WD 3TB + 2x HGST 2TB
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457-MHD 23.6" : headless
Case DIYPC D480-W White Window : Bitfenix Comrade
Audio Device(s) nVidia HDMI : Onboard
Power Supply EVGA 500b : Tt 775W Modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate+Manjaro 16.06: Ubuntu Server 16.10
#7
I dont remember, what did you upgrade from lion? Also, 3dmarks aren't everything. ;)

EDIT: Also, the PSU I have has about the same amount of power as that Seasonic. Oh wait guess what? The OEM of my psu is Seasonic IIRC :D
 
Joined
Oct 5, 2007
Messages
601 (0.16/day)
Likes
34
Location
North Carolina, USA
Processor Q6600 @ 3600mhz with 1600fsb
Motherboard Asus P5E x38
Cooling Zalman CPU, and 4x120mm fans
Memory 2 gig(2x1gig) Crucial ballistix 4gig(4x2gig) Corsair
Video Card(s) ATI 4850
Storage 150gig Raptorx/wd 320gig/2x raptor 37gig
Display(s) Samsung SnycMaster 906bw/acer 19inch
Case Lian Li PC V1000II
Audio Device(s) Creative SB X-FI
Power Supply 600w Silverstone ATX
Software vista 64, fruityloops, COD4, TF2, HL2
Benchmark Scores 15983 3dmark06
#8
I dont remember, what did you upgrade from lion? Also, 3dmarks aren't everything. ;)
a 8800gts 640 and an abit ip35 pro. the motherboard i know is no big upgrade.

and yeah i know 3dmarks arnt anything really, but they tell me my computer isnt as fast as i paid for.
 

hat

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
18,586 (4.55/day)
Likes
3,196
Location
Ohio
System Name Starlifter :: Dragonfly
Processor i5 2400 :: Athlon II x4 630
Motherboard MSI H67-G43-B3 :: GIgabyte GA-770T-USB3
Cooling Corsair H70 :: Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 4x2GB DDR3 1333 :: 2x1GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) 2x PNY GTX1070 :: GT720
Storage Plextor M5s 128GB, WDC Black 500GB :: Mushkin Enhanced 60GB SSD, WD RE3 1TB
Display(s) Acer P216HL HDMI :: None
Case Antec SOHO 1030B :: Old White Full Tower
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro - iLive IT153B Soundbar (optical) :: None
Power Supply Corsair CX600w :: Unknown
Software Windows 10 Pro - Plex Server on Dragonfly
Benchmark Scores >9000
#9
i just dont understand why i upgraded, but im not seeing any kind of benefit?
Because your system was powerful as hell before.
Silverstone is a GREAT brand, 600w should suffice for you.
 
Joined
Oct 5, 2007
Messages
601 (0.16/day)
Likes
34
Location
North Carolina, USA
Processor Q6600 @ 3600mhz with 1600fsb
Motherboard Asus P5E x38
Cooling Zalman CPU, and 4x120mm fans
Memory 2 gig(2x1gig) Crucial ballistix 4gig(4x2gig) Corsair
Video Card(s) ATI 4850
Storage 150gig Raptorx/wd 320gig/2x raptor 37gig
Display(s) Samsung SnycMaster 906bw/acer 19inch
Case Lian Li PC V1000II
Audio Device(s) Creative SB X-FI
Power Supply 600w Silverstone ATX
Software vista 64, fruityloops, COD4, TF2, HL2
Benchmark Scores 15983 3dmark06
#10
Because your system was powerful as hell before.
Silverstone is a GREAT brand, 600w should suffice for you.
well i wouldnt have upgraded at all if it wernt for i sold my other computer and it didnt have a gpu at all in it and the guy wouldnt buy it unless it had one, so i sold my 8800gts 640, and i NEEDED to replace it. i wanted the mobo though :D
 

hat

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
18,586 (4.55/day)
Likes
3,196
Location
Ohio
System Name Starlifter :: Dragonfly
Processor i5 2400 :: Athlon II x4 630
Motherboard MSI H67-G43-B3 :: GIgabyte GA-770T-USB3
Cooling Corsair H70 :: Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 4x2GB DDR3 1333 :: 2x1GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) 2x PNY GTX1070 :: GT720
Storage Plextor M5s 128GB, WDC Black 500GB :: Mushkin Enhanced 60GB SSD, WD RE3 1TB
Display(s) Acer P216HL HDMI :: None
Case Antec SOHO 1030B :: Old White Full Tower
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro - iLive IT153B Soundbar (optical) :: None
Power Supply Corsair CX600w :: Unknown
Software Windows 10 Pro - Plex Server on Dragonfly
Benchmark Scores >9000
#11
Your system was still powerful as hell before. Did you bother overclocking it yet?
I'm sure your CPU has a death-grip (extreme bottleneck) on your GPU. Really these graphics cards and cpus are like comparing the strength of a bear to the strength of a dog. You need to give your dog some steroids so it can stand up to the bear. Understand?
 

strick94u

New Member
Joined
May 24, 2006
Messages
1,592 (0.37/day)
Likes
70
Location
Texas
System Name CrashMaster 17.2/ crashmaster(M) ROG
Processor CD2 E8400@4.0 ghz/ i5 430@ 2.577 mhz
Motherboard EVGA 680i/ patogram inc intel north bridge
Cooling Monsoon vigor gaming II/ fan and vents
Memory 4 gig OCZ pc8500 DDR2/ 4 gigs ddr3
Video Card(s) 2 X EVGA 8800gts 512 735/1045/nvidia 360 gtsm gddr5
Storage 2 X WD 150 Raptors Raid 0+600gig usb/ 500 gig hitachi
Display(s) Samsung 2232 bw Sync Master 22" HD/16.9 inch asus
Case Enermax uber chakra/ asus republic of gamers
Audio Device(s) Creative SB X-FI 5.1 speakers/creative eax 4.0
Power Supply OCZ extream Gaming 650 watt 4x18a/ external
Software Dos 6.22/ win 3.11 for networks/ms bob server
Benchmark Scores 3dmark06 18,201/10601 3dmark05 23,943/not run Aquamark 218,094/not run
#12
One more gpu for sli should do it :D
 

JrRacinFan

Served 5k and counting ...
Joined
Mar 17, 2007
Messages
19,666 (4.96/day)
Likes
4,754
Location
Youngstown, OH
System Name Gamer :Server and Android BuildBox
Processor i7 3930k: Xeon e5-2660
Motherboard MSI X79A-GD45 Plus : Generic
Cooling Liqid cooled: CM 212+
Memory Klevv Neo 2x4Gb 1866 @ 1600 CL9 : 2x8Gb Vengeance 1600 cl9
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 950 SC : XFX R5 220
Storage HGST 2TB + 480GB OCZ Trion 150 : Seagate 1TB SSHD + WD 3TB + 2x HGST 2TB
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457-MHD 23.6" : headless
Case DIYPC D480-W White Window : Bitfenix Comrade
Audio Device(s) nVidia HDMI : Onboard
Power Supply EVGA 500b : Tt 775W Modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate+Manjaro 16.06: Ubuntu Server 16.10
#13
Well, you also have to look at it this way lion. When you get into some multithreaded gaming, that is when your new stuff is truly going to shine. For the older games that are single threaded, personally I would rather do a dual core @ 3.3Ghz than say a quad @ 2.8.

Why not the power supply I have? Link:http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817371007
 
Joined
Oct 5, 2007
Messages
601 (0.16/day)
Likes
34
Location
North Carolina, USA
Processor Q6600 @ 3600mhz with 1600fsb
Motherboard Asus P5E x38
Cooling Zalman CPU, and 4x120mm fans
Memory 2 gig(2x1gig) Crucial ballistix 4gig(4x2gig) Corsair
Video Card(s) ATI 4850
Storage 150gig Raptorx/wd 320gig/2x raptor 37gig
Display(s) Samsung SnycMaster 906bw/acer 19inch
Case Lian Li PC V1000II
Audio Device(s) Creative SB X-FI
Power Supply 600w Silverstone ATX
Software vista 64, fruityloops, COD4, TF2, HL2
Benchmark Scores 15983 3dmark06
#14
Your system was still powerful as hell before. Did you bother overclocking it yet?
I'm sure your CPU has a death-grip (extreme bottleneck) on your GPU. Really these graphics cards and cpus are like comparing the strength of a bear to the strength of a dog. You need to give your dog some steroids so it can stand up to the bear. Understand?
No i havnt "bothered" overclocking the cpu yet.

and yes i "understand" you dont have to talk to me like im a 12 year old
 

hat

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
18,586 (4.55/day)
Likes
3,196
Location
Ohio
System Name Starlifter :: Dragonfly
Processor i5 2400 :: Athlon II x4 630
Motherboard MSI H67-G43-B3 :: GIgabyte GA-770T-USB3
Cooling Corsair H70 :: Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 4x2GB DDR3 1333 :: 2x1GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) 2x PNY GTX1070 :: GT720
Storage Plextor M5s 128GB, WDC Black 500GB :: Mushkin Enhanced 60GB SSD, WD RE3 1TB
Display(s) Acer P216HL HDMI :: None
Case Antec SOHO 1030B :: Old White Full Tower
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro - iLive IT153B Soundbar (optical) :: None
Power Supply Corsair CX600w :: Unknown
Software Windows 10 Pro - Plex Server on Dragonfly
Benchmark Scores >9000
#15
If I were buying a computer in the near future I would be getting single core if the price gap between single and dual core wasn't so small.

Cheapest retail Athlon 64 x1:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819103199

Cheapest retail Athlon 64 x2:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819103243

Wow a whole $20 more.
I know and acknowledge a rather large gain going from single to dual core. But if the sinlge cores were around $50 and duals $130 or so I would be getting a single. But duals are cheap. Single core is still the standard, and multithreaded apps will work on single threaded processors.
 

hat

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
18,586 (4.55/day)
Likes
3,196
Location
Ohio
System Name Starlifter :: Dragonfly
Processor i5 2400 :: Athlon II x4 630
Motherboard MSI H67-G43-B3 :: GIgabyte GA-770T-USB3
Cooling Corsair H70 :: Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 4x2GB DDR3 1333 :: 2x1GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) 2x PNY GTX1070 :: GT720
Storage Plextor M5s 128GB, WDC Black 500GB :: Mushkin Enhanced 60GB SSD, WD RE3 1TB
Display(s) Acer P216HL HDMI :: None
Case Antec SOHO 1030B :: Old White Full Tower
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro - iLive IT153B Soundbar (optical) :: None
Power Supply Corsair CX600w :: Unknown
Software Windows 10 Pro - Plex Server on Dragonfly
Benchmark Scores >9000
#16
No i havnt "bothered" overclocking the cpu yet.

and yes i "understand" you dont have to talk to me like im a 12 year old
Sorry if I seemed offensive, I was just making an analogy that was supposed to be humorous.

 

JrRacinFan

Served 5k and counting ...
Joined
Mar 17, 2007
Messages
19,666 (4.96/day)
Likes
4,754
Location
Youngstown, OH
System Name Gamer :Server and Android BuildBox
Processor i7 3930k: Xeon e5-2660
Motherboard MSI X79A-GD45 Plus : Generic
Cooling Liqid cooled: CM 212+
Memory Klevv Neo 2x4Gb 1866 @ 1600 CL9 : 2x8Gb Vengeance 1600 cl9
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 950 SC : XFX R5 220
Storage HGST 2TB + 480GB OCZ Trion 150 : Seagate 1TB SSHD + WD 3TB + 2x HGST 2TB
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457-MHD 23.6" : headless
Case DIYPC D480-W White Window : Bitfenix Comrade
Audio Device(s) nVidia HDMI : Onboard
Power Supply EVGA 500b : Tt 775W Modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate+Manjaro 16.06: Ubuntu Server 16.10
#17
I still say you really should clock the proc up a bit. Also, did you know the P5E is just a rebadged maximus? :D
 
Joined
Oct 5, 2007
Messages
601 (0.16/day)
Likes
34
Location
North Carolina, USA
Processor Q6600 @ 3600mhz with 1600fsb
Motherboard Asus P5E x38
Cooling Zalman CPU, and 4x120mm fans
Memory 2 gig(2x1gig) Crucial ballistix 4gig(4x2gig) Corsair
Video Card(s) ATI 4850
Storage 150gig Raptorx/wd 320gig/2x raptor 37gig
Display(s) Samsung SnycMaster 906bw/acer 19inch
Case Lian Li PC V1000II
Audio Device(s) Creative SB X-FI
Power Supply 600w Silverstone ATX
Software vista 64, fruityloops, COD4, TF2, HL2
Benchmark Scores 15983 3dmark06
#18
oh yeah i remember why i havnt oc'ed yet; this ram is absolute crap, not to mention i cant figure out this bios...i cant seem to get it to let me adjust the vcore. wierd

The newer dual cores have a whole different architecture than the single cores, and running alot of music recording/playing apps like i do i use the extra cores.
 
Joined
Oct 5, 2007
Messages
601 (0.16/day)
Likes
34
Location
North Carolina, USA
Processor Q6600 @ 3600mhz with 1600fsb
Motherboard Asus P5E x38
Cooling Zalman CPU, and 4x120mm fans
Memory 2 gig(2x1gig) Crucial ballistix 4gig(4x2gig) Corsair
Video Card(s) ATI 4850
Storage 150gig Raptorx/wd 320gig/2x raptor 37gig
Display(s) Samsung SnycMaster 906bw/acer 19inch
Case Lian Li PC V1000II
Audio Device(s) Creative SB X-FI
Power Supply 600w Silverstone ATX
Software vista 64, fruityloops, COD4, TF2, HL2
Benchmark Scores 15983 3dmark06
#19
I still say you really should clock the proc up a bit. Also, did you know the P5E is just a rebadged maximus? :D
lol yeah i peeled the sticker off !
 

JrRacinFan

Served 5k and counting ...
Joined
Mar 17, 2007
Messages
19,666 (4.96/day)
Likes
4,754
Location
Youngstown, OH
System Name Gamer :Server and Android BuildBox
Processor i7 3930k: Xeon e5-2660
Motherboard MSI X79A-GD45 Plus : Generic
Cooling Liqid cooled: CM 212+
Memory Klevv Neo 2x4Gb 1866 @ 1600 CL9 : 2x8Gb Vengeance 1600 cl9
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 950 SC : XFX R5 220
Storage HGST 2TB + 480GB OCZ Trion 150 : Seagate 1TB SSHD + WD 3TB + 2x HGST 2TB
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457-MHD 23.6" : headless
Case DIYPC D480-W White Window : Bitfenix Comrade
Audio Device(s) nVidia HDMI : Onboard
Power Supply EVGA 500b : Tt 775W Modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate+Manjaro 16.06: Ubuntu Server 16.10
#20
Weird, you're still running the A-data's? They are supposed to be really really good. Link us to the ones you got.
 
Joined
Oct 5, 2007
Messages
601 (0.16/day)
Likes
34
Location
North Carolina, USA
Processor Q6600 @ 3600mhz with 1600fsb
Motherboard Asus P5E x38
Cooling Zalman CPU, and 4x120mm fans
Memory 2 gig(2x1gig) Crucial ballistix 4gig(4x2gig) Corsair
Video Card(s) ATI 4850
Storage 150gig Raptorx/wd 320gig/2x raptor 37gig
Display(s) Samsung SnycMaster 906bw/acer 19inch
Case Lian Li PC V1000II
Audio Device(s) Creative SB X-FI
Power Supply 600w Silverstone ATX
Software vista 64, fruityloops, COD4, TF2, HL2
Benchmark Scores 15983 3dmark06
#21
Weird, you're still running the A-data's? They are supposed to be really really good. Link us to the ones you got.
no no, i had to sell those also with the other computer. I bought the 4 gigs of corsair's off of Athlonx2, but i havnt gotten them yet. So i got some PNY 667mhz 55515 ram from bb to hold me over. I will be returning them if the corsairs ever show up.

its basically these with heatspreaders.

http://www.bestbuy.com/site/olspage...=product&tab=2&id=1166236338366#productdetail
 

hat

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
18,586 (4.55/day)
Likes
3,196
Location
Ohio
System Name Starlifter :: Dragonfly
Processor i5 2400 :: Athlon II x4 630
Motherboard MSI H67-G43-B3 :: GIgabyte GA-770T-USB3
Cooling Corsair H70 :: Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 4x2GB DDR3 1333 :: 2x1GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) 2x PNY GTX1070 :: GT720
Storage Plextor M5s 128GB, WDC Black 500GB :: Mushkin Enhanced 60GB SSD, WD RE3 1TB
Display(s) Acer P216HL HDMI :: None
Case Antec SOHO 1030B :: Old White Full Tower
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro - iLive IT153B Soundbar (optical) :: None
Power Supply Corsair CX600w :: Unknown
Software Windows 10 Pro - Plex Server on Dragonfly
Benchmark Scores >9000
#22
That explains a lot. :laugh:
 

JrRacinFan

Served 5k and counting ...
Joined
Mar 17, 2007
Messages
19,666 (4.96/day)
Likes
4,754
Location
Youngstown, OH
System Name Gamer :Server and Android BuildBox
Processor i7 3930k: Xeon e5-2660
Motherboard MSI X79A-GD45 Plus : Generic
Cooling Liqid cooled: CM 212+
Memory Klevv Neo 2x4Gb 1866 @ 1600 CL9 : 2x8Gb Vengeance 1600 cl9
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 950 SC : XFX R5 220
Storage HGST 2TB + 480GB OCZ Trion 150 : Seagate 1TB SSHD + WD 3TB + 2x HGST 2TB
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457-MHD 23.6" : headless
Case DIYPC D480-W White Window : Bitfenix Comrade
Audio Device(s) nVidia HDMI : Onboard
Power Supply EVGA 500b : Tt 775W Modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate+Manjaro 16.06: Ubuntu Server 16.10
#23
Joined
Oct 5, 2007
Messages
601 (0.16/day)
Likes
34
Location
North Carolina, USA
Processor Q6600 @ 3600mhz with 1600fsb
Motherboard Asus P5E x38
Cooling Zalman CPU, and 4x120mm fans
Memory 2 gig(2x1gig) Crucial ballistix 4gig(4x2gig) Corsair
Video Card(s) ATI 4850
Storage 150gig Raptorx/wd 320gig/2x raptor 37gig
Display(s) Samsung SnycMaster 906bw/acer 19inch
Case Lian Li PC V1000II
Audio Device(s) Creative SB X-FI
Power Supply 600w Silverstone ATX
Software vista 64, fruityloops, COD4, TF2, HL2
Benchmark Scores 15983 3dmark06
#24

Paulieg

The Mad Moderator
Joined
Feb 19, 2007
Messages
11,960 (3.00/day)
Likes
2,846
Location
Wherever I can find the iron.
Processor Haswell i7 4770K
Motherboard Gigabyte z79 UD5H Black Edition
Cooling Cryorig R1 Ultimate
Memory Gskill Trident DDR3 2400
Video Card(s) Asus 7970 Direct CU II
Storage Kingston Hyper Fury 240 SSD/ WD Black 640GB
Case Fractal Design R5
Power Supply XFX 650w
Software Win 7/Win 10 Tech preview
#25
oh yeah i remember why i havnt oc'ed yet; this ram is absolute crap, not to mention i cant figure out this bios...i cant seem to get it to let me adjust the vcore. wierd

The newer dual cores have a whole different architecture than the single cores, and running alot of music recording/playing apps like i do i use the extra cores.

Can't adjust the vcore on a 780i? What's it doing when you try to change it?