• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Does O/S matter with gaming?

Do i need to upgrade my OS to play latest games


  • Total voters
    55

MxPhenom 216

Corsair Fanboy
Joined
Aug 31, 2010
Messages
12,129 (4.56/day)
Likes
3,697
Location
Seattle, WA
System Name The Battlestation
Processor Intel Core i7 4770k @ 4.2GHZ 1.275v
Motherboard MSi Z97 Gaming 5
Cooling EK Supremacy w/ EK Coolstream PE360
Memory G. Skill Trident X 16Gb (4x4GB) 2400mhz @ 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSi GTX1070 Gaming X 8GB @ 2GHz
Storage Samsung 830 128GB SSD, Crucial MX200 500GB, Seagate Barracuda 2TB (2x 1TB Partitions)
Display(s) Qnix QX2710 27" 2560 x 1440 PLS @ 100hz
Case Phantek Enthoo Evolv ATX TG
Audio Device(s) MSi Gaming AudioBoost ALC1150 w/ Sennheiser Game Ones
Power Supply Seasonic Flagship Prime Platinum 850
Mouse Steelseries Rival 310 w/ QCK Mass mat
Keyboard Corsair K70 w/ MX Browns and Red Backlit
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
Benchmark Scores Firestrike: 15439
#51
Duh, I'll second that. I think Microsoft are heading for a crash worse than Vista with this one. :rolleyes:
Why is that? Windows 8 has quite a bit more improvements and changes other then the GUI. And why is it a bad thing that they want the OS from going from a phone > tablet > desktop to look and perform the same? Itll make it easier for average consumers to go from one device to the other. On the desktop honestly we still get our normal UI, just the start button is gone, but now with Windows 7 the start button has become a lot less popular to use and people are now putting all their stuff down in the task bar rather then in the start button or on the desktop.
 

qubit

Overclocked quantum bit
Joined
Dec 6, 2007
Messages
14,551 (3.97/day)
Likes
8,059
Location
Quantum Well UK
System Name Quantumville™
Processor Intel Core i7-2700K at stock (hits 5 gees+ easily)
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB (4 x 4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 PC3-12800 C9 1600MHz)
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080 AMP! Extreme Edition
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB | WD Green 4TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2720Z | Asus VG278HE (both 27", 144Hz, 3D Vision 2, 1080p)
Case Cooler Master HAF 922
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX 850W v1
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
#52
Why is that? Windows 8 has quite a bit more improvements and changes other then the GUI. And why is it a bad thing that they want the OS from going from a phone > tablet > desktop to look and perform the same? Itll make it easier for average consumers to go from one device to the other. On the desktop honestly we still get our normal UI, just the start button is gone, but now with Windows 7 the start button has become a lot less popular to use and people are now putting all their stuff down in the task bar rather then in the start button or on the desktop.
Have you tried using Windows 8? That Metro/desktop switch is jarring as hell making it bloody awful - and I'm not the only one saying it either, many pundits are too.

It's obvious that Microsoft want to push everyone onto the dumbed down single tasking full-screen only apps interface on Metro. If that isn't a massive backwards step then I don't know what is. On top of that, it forces you to buy all your apps from the Microsoft store. This allows Microsoft to control everything that you're allowed to have on your PC and of course, they get a healthy cut of the sales revenue, which you pay for. And they're doing all this in the name of chasing Apple. It's pathetic. :rolleyes:
 

MxPhenom 216

Corsair Fanboy
Joined
Aug 31, 2010
Messages
12,129 (4.56/day)
Likes
3,697
Location
Seattle, WA
System Name The Battlestation
Processor Intel Core i7 4770k @ 4.2GHZ 1.275v
Motherboard MSi Z97 Gaming 5
Cooling EK Supremacy w/ EK Coolstream PE360
Memory G. Skill Trident X 16Gb (4x4GB) 2400mhz @ 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSi GTX1070 Gaming X 8GB @ 2GHz
Storage Samsung 830 128GB SSD, Crucial MX200 500GB, Seagate Barracuda 2TB (2x 1TB Partitions)
Display(s) Qnix QX2710 27" 2560 x 1440 PLS @ 100hz
Case Phantek Enthoo Evolv ATX TG
Audio Device(s) MSi Gaming AudioBoost ALC1150 w/ Sennheiser Game Ones
Power Supply Seasonic Flagship Prime Platinum 850
Mouse Steelseries Rival 310 w/ QCK Mass mat
Keyboard Corsair K70 w/ MX Browns and Red Backlit
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
Benchmark Scores Firestrike: 15439
#53
Have you tried using Windows 8? That Metro/desktop switch is jarring as hell making it bloody awful - and I'm not the only one saying it either, many pundits are too.

It's obvious that Microsoft want to push everyone onto the dumbed down single tasking full-screen only apps interface on Metro. If that isn't a massive backwards step then I don't know what is. On top of that, it forces you to buy all your apps from the Microsoft store. This allows Microsoft to control everything that you're allowed to have on your PC and of course, they get a healthy cut of the sales revenue, which you pay for. And they're doing all this in the name of chasing Apple. It's pathetic. :rolleyes:
Microsoft and Apple are direct competitors lol!

And yes I have had Windows 8 on my laptop for the last 2 months, and at first I didn't like it on a desktop/laptop environment. But it has grown on me. Its not that bad. All the people bitching about it has probably used it for a max of 15 minutes. How are you suppose to build a reasonable opinion on it in such a short amount of time.
 

qubit

Overclocked quantum bit
Joined
Dec 6, 2007
Messages
14,551 (3.97/day)
Likes
8,059
Location
Quantum Well UK
System Name Quantumville™
Processor Intel Core i7-2700K at stock (hits 5 gees+ easily)
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB (4 x 4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 PC3-12800 C9 1600MHz)
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080 AMP! Extreme Edition
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB | WD Green 4TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2720Z | Asus VG278HE (both 27", 144Hz, 3D Vision 2, 1080p)
Case Cooler Master HAF 922
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX 850W v1
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
#54
Microsoft and Apple are direct competitors lol!

And yes I have had Windows 8 on my laptop for the last 2 months, and at first I didn't like it on a desktop/laptop environment. But it has grown on me. Its not that bad. All the people bitching about it has probably used it for a max of 15 minutes. How are you suppose to build a reasonable opinion on it in such a short amount of time.
Ok, you're the one person here that likes it - tick one box! :)

I'm glad it works for you, but yeah, I've not used it for very long myself, because it felt so obviously wrong, that I couldn't stand it. I'll be very interested to see how Metro is implemented in the final build, as that will be the acid test for the product.

That pundit I told you about has an article on ZDNet called Windows 8: Can we live without the desktop? According to him, some simple tweaks would improve Metro a lot. In a way, Metro is just like a huge, expanded Start button, so I can see where he's coming from. I still prefer the regular Start menu interface though and think that Microsoft should make Metro optional in Windows 8.
 
Joined
Oct 6, 2009
Messages
2,793 (0.93/day)
Likes
835
Location
Midwest USA
System Name My Gaming System
Processor Intel i7 4770k @ 4.4 Ghz
Motherboard Asus Maximus VI Impact (ITX)
Cooling Custom Full System Water cooling Loop
Memory G.Skill 1866 Mhz Sniper 8 Gb
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 780 ti SC
Storage Samsung SSD EVO 120GB - Samsung SSD EVO 500GB
Display(s) ASUS W246H - 24" - widescreen TFT active matrix LCD
Case Bitfenix Prodigy
Power Supply Corsair AX760 Modular PSU
Software Windows 8.1 Home Primeum
#55
You can play most games on windows XP however..... you can not use most of those games to their fullest potential without Windows Vista/7/8. It also depends on your video card. If you are only using a DX 9 video card then windows XP will be fine for most games as because Windows XP does not support anything higher than DX9c.
But if you have a DX10 graphics card or higher... then you are not using your video card to it's highest potential unless you are using Vista or higher.
I also want to throw out that some games will not work on Windows XP at all. Some important games (for example Battlefield 3) will not play on Windows XP SP3 or any other SP for XP. More and more modern games will start doing this... I guarantee.
Why? There is no money in it. Xp is a Dead OS.... it is not going anywhere. It was the best in its time.... but MS found a great OS to replace it not long ago. Windows 7!!! and with more and more people making the switch (Plus Windows 8 releasing) there is no reason for game makers to support an old OS like XP any longer.
 
Joined
May 18, 2010
Messages
3,416 (1.23/day)
Likes
1,049
System Name My baby
Processor Athlon II X4 620 @ 3.5GHz, 1.45v, NB @ 2700Mhz, HT @ 2700Mhz - 24hr prime95 stable
Motherboard Asus M4A785TD-V EVO
Cooling Sonic Tower Rev 2 with 120mm Akasa attached, Akasa @ Front, Xilence Red Wing 120mm @ Rear
Memory 16 GB G.Skills 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) ATI ASUS Crossfire 5850
Storage Samsung 1Tb EcoGreen hard drive
Display(s) Hanngs-G 19"
Case Antec VSK 2000 Black Tower Case
Audio Device(s) Onkyo TX-SR309 Receiver, 2x Kef Cresta 1, 1x Kef Center 20c
Power Supply OCZ StealthXstream II 600w, 4x12v/18A, 80% efficiency.
Software Windows Vista X64
#56
No way i am going with Vista rather then going with vista i better go with W98 it is better then vista for sure i also buyed vista and it gave me some auto restarting problem and hangs after 5-6 hrs non stop work!
That is bullshit. I used Vista exclusively for about 3 years without any issues.

Vista has gone through many service packs, patches and hotfix. Any of those bugss were fixed years ago and it's just as stable as Windows 7 IMO.

And yes I use Windows 7 :)
 

MxPhenom 216

Corsair Fanboy
Joined
Aug 31, 2010
Messages
12,129 (4.56/day)
Likes
3,697
Location
Seattle, WA
System Name The Battlestation
Processor Intel Core i7 4770k @ 4.2GHZ 1.275v
Motherboard MSi Z97 Gaming 5
Cooling EK Supremacy w/ EK Coolstream PE360
Memory G. Skill Trident X 16Gb (4x4GB) 2400mhz @ 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSi GTX1070 Gaming X 8GB @ 2GHz
Storage Samsung 830 128GB SSD, Crucial MX200 500GB, Seagate Barracuda 2TB (2x 1TB Partitions)
Display(s) Qnix QX2710 27" 2560 x 1440 PLS @ 100hz
Case Phantek Enthoo Evolv ATX TG
Audio Device(s) MSi Gaming AudioBoost ALC1150 w/ Sennheiser Game Ones
Power Supply Seasonic Flagship Prime Platinum 850
Mouse Steelseries Rival 310 w/ QCK Mass mat
Keyboard Corsair K70 w/ MX Browns and Red Backlit
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
Benchmark Scores Firestrike: 15439
#57
That is bullshit. I used Vista exclusively for about 3 years without any issues.

Vista has gone through many service packs, patches and hotfix. Any of those bugss were fixed years ago and it's just as stable as Windows 7 IMO.

And yes I use Windows 7 :)
^^THIS

Windows 7 and Windows Vista is pretty similar. Just Windows 7 has a lot smaller foot print on the system resources, and slight UI changes.
 
Joined
Nov 29, 2011
Messages
5,975 (2.71/day)
Likes
5,278
Location
Hi! I'm from the Internet
System Name Selene / Yoda
Processor Fx 8350 @ 4.4 / Phenom II x6 1090t @ 3.6
Motherboard Gigabyte 990FXA-UD3 r4.0 / Gigabyte 890XA-UD3
Cooling H100i / Xig Dark Knight
Memory 4x 8gb G.Skill Snipers / 4x 4gb G.Skill Ares
Video Card(s) Gigabyte R9 290x / XfX DD & VisionTek HD6850's C'fired
Storage 256gb ssd, 2x 2tb Wd Blacks & 1x 1tb Wd black / 1x 1tb
Display(s) Dell Ultra Sharp 2408 WFp / Hp w2207
Case Raidmax Vampire / Chieftec Alum. Dragon Blue
Audio Device(s) Onboard Hd Audio / Onboard Hd Audio
Power Supply Corsair TX 850 watt / Corsair TX 750 watt
Mouse Logitech G500s
Keyboard Corsair Strafe
Software Win 10 pro / Win Vista Home prem. 64 bit
Benchmark Scores What are benchmarks anyway?
#58
I also use win vista and win 7. Vista is every bit as stable as 7. I actually use vista more for some odd reason.
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
10,031 (3.47/day)
Likes
6,633
Location
Oregon
System Name Delta // Alpha-HTPC
Processor Intel i7 6700K // Intel i5 4570
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z270X-Gaming K7 // Gigabyte H97M -D3H
Cooling Corsair H80i V2 // Silverstone NT-06 Pro
Memory Corsair DDR4 3000 32gb //G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX980ti// EVGA GTX 1050ti
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 512, 2 Tb FireCuda// Samsung 850 Pro, 1 X 4 Tb HGST, 1 x 6Tb Toshiba
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440X 2560 // 50" Samsung Plasma 720p
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 550D // Silverstone Granada GD05
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DGX // HDMI to Yamaha RX V571
Power Supply Corsair TX850M // SeaSonic G Series 550w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Windows 10 64bit // Windows 7 64bit with Kodi
#59
7 has a lot less network issues than Vista. And Vista has a whole lot of updates other than that there very similar. I never had an issue with Vista but to reinstall updates took forever
 
Joined
Jun 12, 2007
Messages
4,815 (1.25/day)
Likes
639
Location
Wangas, New Zealand
System Name Darth Obsidious
Processor Intel i5 2500K
Motherboard ASUS P8Z68-V/Gen3
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212+ in Push Pull
Memory 2X4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) ASUS R9 270x TOP
Storage 128GB Samsung 830 SSD, 1TB WD Black, 2TB WD Green
Display(s) LG IPS234V-PN
Case Corsair Obsidian 650D
Audio Device(s) Infrasonic Quartet
Power Supply Corsair HX650w
Software Windows 7 64bit and Windows XP Home
Benchmark Scores 2cm mark on bench with a razor blade.
#60
For now I believe XP is still viable.
Most of these games are made for console and the requirements of a console are generally far less than PC even with the background overheads windows has.

Only thing which people maybe missing out on is a few games and DX11 which I personally do not see any outstanding visual improvements over DX9 in the games I play.

None the less in the near future I would recommend upgrading to Windows 7 basically due to MS making it obsolete by officially not updating it.
 
Joined
Jan 29, 2012
Messages
4,480 (2.09/day)
Likes
3,639
Location
Boca Raton, Florida
System Name natr0n-PC
Processor Phenom II X6 1100T @ 3.7 GHz - NB 3.0 GHz | Xeon E3-1290
Motherboard MSI 970 Gaming | Asus Sabertooth Z77
Cooling TRUE 120 |Deep Cool Assassin
Memory Gskill Ripjaws X - 16GB DDR3 (4x4GB)
Video Card(s) MSI 7970 Twin Frozr III BE OC - 1100/1500
Storage Crucial MX300 525GB + Multiple Mechs
Display(s) SyncMaster 2343BWX 23" 2048x1152 / Dell 1909W 19" 1440x900
Case Sunbeam Transformer Silver - frame is built like a tank
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Extreme Music | X-Fi Titanium - Bookshelf system
Power Supply Corsair TX650 v1
Software Windows XP/7/8.1/10
Benchmark Scores Xeon E3-1290 cpuz world record
#61
Most arcade systems/units (TaitoTypeX) are made using windows XP still.
 
Joined
Jun 3, 2007
Messages
22,400 (5.82/day)
Likes
8,922
Location
'Merica. The Great SOUTH!
System Name The Mailbox 4.5
Processor Intel i7 2600k @ 4.2GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77X-UP5 TH Intel LGA 1155
Cooling Scythe Katana 4
Memory G.SKILL Sniper Series 16GB DDR3 1866: 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) MSI 1080 "Duke" with 8Gb of RAM. Boost Clock 1847 MHz
Storage 256Gb M4 SSD, 500Gb WD (7200) 128Gb Agelity 4 SSD
Display(s) LG 29" Class 21:9 UltraWide® IPS LED Monitor 2560 x 1080
Case Cooler Master 922 HAF
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX X-Fi with Bose Companion 2 speakers.
Power Supply SeaSonic X Series X650 Gold
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei (RAW) and a Wacom Intuos 4 tablet.
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow
Software Windows 10 Pro (64-bit)
Benchmark Scores Benching is for bitches.
#62

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
20,914 (6.24/day)
Likes
10,008
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Video Card(s) PowerColor PCS+ 390 8 GiB DVI + HDMI
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate 6 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T240 24" LCD (1920x1200 HDMI) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW 19" LCD (1440x900 DVI)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek Onboard, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
#63
Yes but realistically are there any games which benefit from having more than 16GB RAM? Or perhaps in the near future...
There are games that benefit from having access to an entire 4 GiB of RAM. On 32-bit operating systems, the operating system and software has to fight for the same 4 GiB of RAM. If you have 16 GiB of RAM installed, you could run up to three 32-bit applications and none of them will fight with each other nor the operating system for memory. Obviously, if you don't run anything that requires that much memory, there really isn't a point of installing more than about 6 GiB of RAM.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,114 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,542
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#64
There are games that benefit from having access to an entire 4 GiB of RAM. On 32-bit operating systems, the operating system and software has to fight for the same 4 GiB of RAM. If you have 16 GiB of RAM installed, you could run up to three 32-bit applications and none of them will fight with each other nor the operating system for memory. Obviously, if you don't run anything that requires that much memory, there really isn't a point of installing more than about 6 GiB of RAM.
firefox + game = worth it already
 

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
20,914 (6.24/day)
Likes
10,008
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Video Card(s) PowerColor PCS+ 390 8 GiB DVI + HDMI
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate 6 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T240 24" LCD (1920x1200 HDMI) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW 19" LCD (1440x900 DVI)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek Onboard, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
#65
Computer - FireFox = problem solved :p


Not really, but since it looks like Win7 might be the OS of choice for a good while, it doesn't hurt to have the option to go with more than 16GB if you wanted. Plus, something feels wrong with buying a 64-bit OS that artificially limits the amount of RAM you can use. One of the main points of a 64-bit OS it to allow you to use huge amounts of RAM, so limiting it to 16GB is just so wrong, IMO.
I agree. There should be no software limitation on memory.

FordGT90Concept slaps Microsoft with a tuna.
 
Joined
Nov 9, 2010
Messages
5,160 (1.99/day)
Likes
1,709
Processor Intel i7 950 @ 3.2GHz
Motherboard ASUS P6X58D-E
Cooling Corsair H50 push/pull
Memory Kingston HyperX 1600 8GB
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 7970 OC
Storage Plextor M5P 128GB/WD Black 2x1TB,1x6TB/Seagate 1TB
Display(s) Panasonic TC-L32U3
Case Antec DF-85
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V371 AVR
Power Supply XFX 850w Black Edition
Mouse Logitech G402
Keyboard Logitech K120
Software W10 Pro 64 bit
#66
@nvidiaintelftw,
Yeah it's not so much the features as the abysmal way they work together. Metro does not in fact seamlessly integrate as a desktop GUI via mouse, and so far they've not indicated they'll have an option to disable it for those that just want to use W8 as a desktop OS.

So, at this point your only option on desktop is to wade through the clunky Metro interface first. Now that may not seem horrible to some, but most everyone that's used it even for a little while has seen how utterly annoying it can become when repeated over and over.

I like W8 for it's slight edge on DX11 performance in games, plain and simple. Whether that amount of performance increase is worth wading through Metro every time you use your PC is questionable, esp when you consider few games use DX11, and many that do have performance issues that may not be overcome by that slight increase anyway.