• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Does quad channel RAM work on a dual channel motherboard ?

BIGi213

New Member
Joined
Mar 7, 2012
Messages
3 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#1
I bought Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3 and Corsair Vengeance — 32GB (CMZ32GX3M4X1600C10)
After I received it I got notice that it is a quad Channel memory. While the motherboard and the processor i7 2600 is supporting dual channel.

Will it work if I install it?? And what is the down effects?
 
Joined
Sep 21, 2011
Messages
499 (0.22/day)
Likes
119
System Name Multipurpose desktop
Processor AMD Phenom II x6 1605T @ 3.75Ghz , NB @ 2.5
Motherboard Gigabyte 990FXA-UD3 (rev 1.0)
Cooling Prolimatech Megahalems Rev. C, 2x120mm CM Blademaster
Memory Corsair Vengeance LP (4x4GB) @1666Mhz 9-9-9-20-24 1T
Video Card(s) ASUS Strix R7-370 4GB OC
Storage 2x WD Caviar Black 500GB Sata III in RAID 0
Display(s) Acer S211HL 21.5" 1920x1080
Case Cooler Master Centurion 534+, 3x 120mm CM Sickle Flow
Power Supply Seasonic X650 Gold
Software Windows 7 x64 Home Premium SP1
#2
There is no difference. A quad channel kit is just certified to run on a quad channel system.
The sticks will run just fine dual channel.
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2010
Messages
4,666 (1.65/day)
Likes
2,018
#3
I bought Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3 and Corsair Vengeance — 32GB (CMZ32GX3M4X1600C10)
After I received it I got notice that it is a quad Channel memory. While the motherboard and the processor i7 2600 is supporting dual channel.

Will it work if I install it?? And what is the down effects?
It will work in your board if it supports 4x8GB though only in dual channel mode
 

de.das.dude

Pro Indian Modder
Joined
Jun 13, 2010
Messages
8,203 (2.95/day)
Likes
2,394
Location
Pune
System Name la de da... | Samsung NP355V5C-S05IN
Processor FX 8320 | AMD A8-4500
Motherboard ASRock 990FX Extreme 4 | Samsung something something
Cooling CM Hyper 212 EVO push:pull+ 1 panaflow 113CFM + 2 x 120mm NZXTs | Coolermaster Notepal
Memory 2x4GB DDR3 Corsair Vengeance 1600MHz CL9 | Samsunng 4GB + 2GB DDR3 1600MHz
Video Card(s) AMD 7790 GHZ edition! | 7670M + 7640G
Storage 1TB WD10EZEX | W.D 500GB Green AADS | Samsung 1TB
Display(s) dell S2240l 1080p IPS 21.5" | Samsung antiglare 15.6"
Case NZXT Guardian 921RB(@home) and Antec ASK4000B U3(Current)
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892 with THX True Studio | Realtek something
Power Supply Corsair GS600 | 90W Brick, 6 cell 48000mAh battery
Mouse Logitech G400, GOD TIER MOUSE!! LOGitech F310 gamepad!
Keyboard Logitech K200
Software Windows 8.1 x64 | Windows 8.1 x64
Benchmark Scores real men do bench presses not bench marks.
#5
yes.

your PC will work fine.
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
10,520 (4.81/day)
Likes
5,600
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Zalman CPNS9900MAX 130mm
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB @ PCI-E 3.0
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 Corsair Force GT Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 17.10
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#7
Just keep in mind if you're building an Intel rig and the memory runs fast like 1866+ with all 4 slots populated or higher you may need to adjust your memory controller's voltage appropriately to maintain stability other than that, have a blast! I'm pretty happy with G.Skill's Ripjaws 16gb (4x4gb) of DDR3-2133 if you haven't ordered a kit yet.
 
Joined
Mar 26, 2010
Messages
7,680 (2.69/day)
Likes
1,998
Location
Jakarta, Indonesia
System Name micropage7
Processor Intel G4400
Motherboard MSI B150M Bazooka D3
Cooling Stock ( Lapped )
Memory 16 Gb Team Xtreem DDR3
Video Card(s) Nvidia GTX460
Storage Seagate 1 TB, 5oo Gb and SSD A-Data 128 Gb
Display(s) LG 19 inch LCD Wide Screen
Case HP dx6120 MT
Audio Device(s) Stock
Power Supply Be Quiet 600 Watt
Software Windows 7 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Classified
#8
yep it will be fine
quad channel is dual channel x 2, so your ram will be ok
 

Bo$$

Lab Extraordinaire
Joined
May 7, 2009
Messages
5,626 (1.77/day)
Likes
971
Location
London, UK
System Name Desktop | Server
Processor Intel i7 2700k @ 4.4GHZ | AMD 5350 @ 2500MHZ
Motherboard Asus P7Z77-V Pro | Asus AM1I-A
Cooling GeLID Tranquilo | Stock Air
Memory Crucial Ballistix 2x8GB CL8 1600MHZ | Corsair Vengence 2x4GB CL9 1600MHZ
Video Card(s) Gainward GTX 780 Phantom GLH | PNY GTX 750Ti
Storage Samsung 840 EVO 250GB + 4TB WD Red | 2x Seagate Barracuda 2TB
Display(s) Samsung S27D390H + Asus VE276Q | Headless
Case Fractal Design R5 | CM Elite 110
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D1 w/Otone Stilo 5.1 and Creative Fatal1ty headset
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 850 G2| Corsair CX430M
Mouse Razer Imperator 2012
Keyboard Corsair K90
Software Windows 7 SP1 X64 | Ubuntu 16.04LTS
#9
It will be perfectly fine
 
Joined
May 15, 2008
Messages
2,863 (0.81/day)
Likes
272
Location
Brasil
System Name Sovereign // HTPC
Processor i7 3770k 4.2 // i7 3770k 4.2
Motherboard Maximus V Gene // Sabertooth Z77
Cooling Noctua D14 // Intel HSF
Memory 16GB Samsung // 16GB VengeanceLP
Video Card(s) Deciding // 660 DC2
Storage OS (X25-M), Data (Seagate 1TB) // Samsung 840 120GB & bunch of drives
Display(s) Samsung T240HD // LG TV
Case TJ08e // Grandia GD08
Audio Device(s) DT880 Pro 250 ohm // TV speakers
Power Supply Seasonic Plat 1000 // Seasonic Gold 760
Software Windows 8 Pro x64 // Windows 7 Pro x64
#10
To my belief marketing dual channel, quad channel memory is purely marketing. Only thing that matter is having the correct same amount that the mem controller needs
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Staff member
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,581 (3.85/day)
Likes
10,951
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
#11
To my belief marketing dual channel, quad channel memory is purely marketing. Only thing that matter is having the correct same amount that the mem controller needs
Two things.

1. two dual-channel kits, bought together, and used as a quad kit, may not operate as advertized. Chances are, yes, it will work, but there is no guarantee from the ram makers about that(every company will advise buying a quad-stick kit for population of four DIMM slots) . If you want to populate more than two DIMM slots, and want support for that config, you need ot buy a kit with the number of DIMMs you wish to install. Other configurations are typically not provided with support form teh memory manufacturer.

I have run into this issue myself, with two dual-channel kits not working well together, even under lower speeds. However, i have also bought two dualchannel kits and had them work just fine..it's luck of the draw.


2. Quad channel memory is intended for X79, and as such, features and XMP v1.3 profile, that also includes VCCIO voltage settings when XMP is enabled. A non-XMP v1.3 kit(ie. XMP v1.2 or v1.2) may not work as advertized in an X79 system, due to this lack of info for the BIOS to make appropriate settings, and also becuase of differences in sub-timings and drive strengths between platforms.

I have personally run into this problem, where installation of a dual channel kit, on it's own with just two sticks installed, failed to boot and be stable until manual adjustments to VCCIO andsubtimings were made. I will be discussing this(what happens, and how to fix it) in an upcoming review(not the samsung one).


So, to close, generally, you are correct, but there are instances where buying the right ram matters. In my "professional" opinion, it's best to be be made aware of all potential issues, and how to deal with them, rather than to blindly recommend everything will work, when it may not. I will always be an advocate of full disclosure when it comes to situations like this one.


:rockout:
 
Joined
Oct 18, 2007
Messages
1,201 (0.32/day)
Likes
587
System Name Firebird
Processor Intel i7 2600K @5.0'ish 24/7 stock core Voltage {5.2 w/102 bCLK}
Motherboard Intel Extreme DZ68BC SkullTrail Z68 Cougerpoint, Excellent MCH !
Cooling Scythe NINJA PLUS Rev.B[skt478] Modded to 1155 Scythe SH12 fan
Memory Samsung 32nm 16Gb 4x4 (@19xxmhz} low profile[ better than 2133 banwidth]
Video Card(s) EVGA Titan SC }@Norton F@H Kreij GigaByte 7950 ARCTIC Accelero Xtreme III / XFX HD5870-XXX Edition
Storage Intel 512 SSD, Toshiba 3Tbx2,Hitachi 320,1TBx2,'Cuda 400 7200.10, WD1TBUSB,moved to SATA
Display(s) Acer K272HUL 1440 27" WQHD, Samsung 226W, Vizio M60C3 4K 60",Vizio XVT3D554SV
Case CoolerMaster HAF 932
Audio Device(s) Intel 10ch[9+1] HD Audio X540> Pioneer VSX39TX[copper chasis,Rosewood sides 5x6LCD remote
Power Supply Seasonic X750 @ 24/7
Mouse Logictech G300s
Keyboard Saitek Cyborg v7
Software Windows 7 ROG E3 X64 by Neuropass/tweakscene
Benchmark Scores 4642@665/1600 220/GAT F1 4544 220/667strap 2.5/3/2/6 Bliss 650/1500 6490 Q6700 Bliss 690/1500
#12
A non-XMP v1.3 kit(ie. XMP v1.2 or v1.2) may not work as advertized in an X79 system, due to this lack of info for the BIOS to make appropriate settings, and also becuase of differences in sub-timings and drive strengths between platforms.
:rockout:
That is sooo true, even on other platforms as we discovered with my "Intel" Extreme Z68, this should have been the "Bad Boy" from Intel, but low an behold it missed the mark with 2133 support, yes over 1600 is not "Supported" ,bbutt you'd think if they were going to nail it this would have been "Intel's" mark.

As has been made clear from here by testing, from the best support ever right here at TPU:rockout: at least they made 1866 total ball's out even with all four Dimm slots populated, and if I had the money and could have maxed out 32Gb instead of current 16Gb, I have no doubt that 1866 would still be a top performer.

So my point? Luck of the draw. I have no support for the 2 critical values that may have been able to get this board to support the fastest ram speed. Would it have made much difference? who knows, but since the 1866 support is already so far advanced into 2133 speeds, Intel designers would have clearly made this a superb board.
 
Joined
Apr 1, 2008
Messages
2,846 (0.79/day)
Likes
631
System Name HTC's System
Processor Ryzen 5 1600
Motherboard Asrock Taichi
Cooling NH-C14
Memory G.Skill Kit 16GB DDR4 F4 - 3200 C16D - 16 GTZB
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro+ Radeon RX 480 OC 4 GB
Storage 2 * Samsung 1 TB HD103UJ
Display(s) LG 27UD58
Case Corsair Obsidian 650D
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair TX750
Mouse Logitech Performance MX
Software Ubuntu 16.04 LTS
#13
I'm using a quad kit with my APU (see system specs): working just fine with slightly better then advertised timings @ rated voltage.

This kit is "designed for X79 systems" but is working just fine on my system.

Check out cadaveca's reply: very informative, IMO.