• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Does this make any sense?

Black Panther

Senior Moderatorâ„¢
Staff member
Joined
May 30, 2007
Messages
8,957 (2.32/day)
Likes
2,166
System Name Great White Bengal
Processor i7 930 @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R
Cooling Scythe Yasya
Memory 12GB (3 x 4GB DDR3 Geil Black Dragon)
Video Card(s) Zotac 670 4GB
Storage eSata Seagate 2TB -- 240GB SSD Sandisk Extreme
Display(s) 27" 2560x1440 Dell U2711
Case NZXT Switch 810 White
Audio Device(s) Onboard sound & Z5500 Speakers
Power Supply Corsair 850W Gold
Mouse Asus ROG Sica
Keyboard Motospeed
Software Windows 10
#1
It's about my daughter's computer.

Every time I remove (and re-connect obviously) the power cable connecting PSU to wall socket, the computer refuses to POST. No beeps.

To get it to POST again I'd have to remove and re-insert the graphics card.

If this happened only once I'd have thought it was a coincidence. But it happened three times already.

Otherwise the pc works perfectly. Always turns on, never freezes, never bsods...

What on earth does the power cable have to do with the vga?
:wtf:
 
Joined
Nov 22, 2008
Messages
3,779 (1.14/day)
Likes
567
Location
Latin America, Uruguay
System Name The Lizard v2.4
Processor Intel Celeron G1840 (for the time being
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-H81-S2PH
Cooling Intel Stock Fan
Memory 16GB Kingston HyperX 1600
Video Card(s) MSI Gaming GTX 750Ti (For the time being)
Storage 500GB Samsung F1, 160GB Maxtor "Older than god"
Display(s) AOC 28' LCD
Case Coolermaster N200
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Antec VP500P
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Benchmark Scores No crashes in the last 24 minutes.
#2
thats the weirdest thing i ever heard. the only thing that came to my head: try using another cable for the wall socket or another 6 pin connector for the videocard
 
Joined
Nov 10, 2008
Messages
1,897 (0.57/day)
Likes
676
System Name Star Citizen Enabler
Processor Intel Core i7 4770K @ 4.2GHz
Motherboard MSI Z87-GD65
Cooling Triple 120 rad WC with EK-Supreme LTX CSQ waterblock
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance Pro 1866MHz C9
Video Card(s) MSI Gaming 6G GTX 980Ti
Storage Corsair Force 3 120GB, Kingstone V300 240GB, Seagate Barracuda 1.5tb, Samsung Spinpoint F1 1tb
Display(s) Oculus Rift DK2 + 24" 1920x1200 HP LP2475w(H-IPS panel)
Case Corsair Obsidian 800D
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D2X (pci-e) with optical into logitech z-5500 speakers
Power Supply Corsair HX850i
Software Windows 7 Professional 64-bit [full retail]
#3
Static build-up is the only thing that comes to mind, i used to have a pc that if i switched plug sockets for it i'd have to unplug and re-plugin the motherboard connectors, else it would be dead (no boot/post).

I never narrowed down how to fix the problem (replaced that POS after a short time), if you have a spare power supply try that in the pc instead of what you have in there now.
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,381 (10.17/day)
Likes
18,023
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#4
Sounds like some sort of circuit protection feature of the PSU is causing the problem or the PSU is just going bad.
 

HolyCow02

New Member
Joined
Jun 8, 2008
Messages
1,638 (0.47/day)
Likes
109
Location
New York
System Name Shredder
Processor Phenom II 955 @stock (for the time being)
Motherboard MSI 790FX-GD70
Cooling Noctua U12P
Memory 8 GB muskin DDR3 1600 @ 7-7-6-18
Video Card(s) 2x Sapphire 4870 1GB
Storage 64 GB Super Talent UltraDrive SSD | 2 x WD Caviar Black 500GB in RAID1
Display(s) Samsung 22" 2ms GTG
Case Thermaltake Spedo Advanced Package
Power Supply Corsair HX1000
Software Vista Business 64-bit
#5
that's very very odd. Though I have to agree with erocker on both points. What kind of PSU is it? Any special features on it?

Could be the connector to the VGA card as well. Bad wiring or connection?
 
Joined
Oct 27, 2007
Messages
1,132 (0.31/day)
Likes
160
System Name Grandpa
Processor i5 4690K
Motherboard Gigabyte Z97X-UD5H-BK
Cooling water
Memory 8GB Corsair Vengence 2400MHz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 5850 x2
Storage Samsung SM951
Display(s) Catleap 27"
Case coolermaster stacker
Power Supply corsair AX860i
Mouse logitech g5 original
Keyboard Ducky
Software Windows 8.1
#6
Hard to imagine what may cause this. I suggest you try and see if reseting CMOS does the same as re seating the graphics card. If so, maybe the mobo battery is sad.
 

CDdude55

Crazy 4 TPU!!!
Joined
Jul 12, 2007
Messages
8,178 (2.15/day)
Likes
1,269
Location
Virginia
System Name CDdude's Rig!
Processor AMD Athlon II X4 620
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3
Cooling Corsair H70
Memory 8GB Corsair Vengence @1600mhz
Video Card(s) XFX HD 6970 2GB
Storage OCZ Agility 3 60GB SSD/WD Velociraptor 300GB
Display(s) ASUS VH232H 23" 1920x1080
Case Cooler Master CM690 (w/ side window)
Audio Device(s) Onboard (It sounds fine)
Power Supply Corsair 850TX
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit SP1
#7
Somethings out of wack.
 

Clivuss

New Member
Joined
Feb 28, 2009
Messages
3 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Location
UK
#8
Wierd! Have you tried re-seating the RAM? If you have already done that, then you could try checking the system BIOS config. Usually there's a setting that influences how the system reacts to a power outage - Something along the lines of "On Power Failure" and options to Shut down, resume/restart or standby. Whatever it's currently set to, try changing it for an alternate option and see if that resolves the issue. Other than that, I would suspect either the PSU shorting out (after unplugging, try pressing the power button on your PC to discharge any residual power before plugging it back into the mains), or maybe the systemboard or VGA card itself could be faulty. (Check for odd shaped "domed" or leaking capacitors). Good luck.