• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

dolby digital live / dts whats it for??

stealth989

New Member
Joined
Apr 19, 2019
Messages
8 (0.02/day)
just a small question lol.... i been reading about dolby digital live / dts

is dolby digital live / dts for Movies and music only???? or it can be used for gaming too??

i just got sound blaster ae-5 and i noticed there a sound blaster ae-5 PLUS!............ that has dolby digital live / dts Support all the other specs are the same....

should i switch out for AE-5 Plus???? "i dont watch movies on my PC that much soo yea lol"
 
Joined
Jan 31, 2010
Messages
3,641 (0.95/day)
Location
Gougeland (NZ)
System Name Cumquat 2000
Processor AMD RyZen R7 3700X
Motherboard Asus Strix x470-F Gaming
Cooling Cryorig R1 Universal
Memory 16GB GSkill TridentZ DR4-3200 16-18-18-38 1.35V
Video Card(s) Sapphire Pulse RX5700 8GB DDR6 1750/1700
Storage 1X Samsung 860 EVO 500GB SATA AHCI 1x Sandisk 128GB PCIe, 12TB of HDD Storage
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457 MHD 75Hz FreeSync 1920x1080p
Case SilverStone Raven RV02B-W + 3x SS AP181 + USB3.0 upgrade
Audio Device(s) Realtek S1220a + Pioneer VSX-531 amp Technics 100W Speaker set
Power Supply Enermax RevolutionXT II 750W 80+ Gold
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Core
Keyboard Logitech G105
Software Windows 10 X64 PRO (build 1909)
Benchmark Scores it sucks even more less now ;)
Depends on the speaker system you are using if you're only using 2 or 2.1 speakers don't bother as both DDL and DTS and Dolby ATMOS are designed for surround sound 5.1 6.1 7.1 speakers and up configurations it helps to place certain sounds on certain speakers so as to give you the feeling of it happening as if you were there
 

stealth989

New Member
Joined
Apr 19, 2019
Messages
8 (0.02/day)
Depends on the speaker system you are using if you're only using 2 or 2.1 speakers don't bother as both DDL and DTS and Dolby ATMOS are designed for surround sound 5.1 6.1 7.1 speakers and up configurations it helps to place certain sounds on certain speakers so as to give you the feeling of it happening as if you were there
i have 5.1 logitech x 540 maybe i should change it to the AE-5 Plus??
 
Joined
Jan 31, 2010
Messages
3,641 (0.95/day)
Location
Gougeland (NZ)
System Name Cumquat 2000
Processor AMD RyZen R7 3700X
Motherboard Asus Strix x470-F Gaming
Cooling Cryorig R1 Universal
Memory 16GB GSkill TridentZ DR4-3200 16-18-18-38 1.35V
Video Card(s) Sapphire Pulse RX5700 8GB DDR6 1750/1700
Storage 1X Samsung 860 EVO 500GB SATA AHCI 1x Sandisk 128GB PCIe, 12TB of HDD Storage
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457 MHD 75Hz FreeSync 1920x1080p
Case SilverStone Raven RV02B-W + 3x SS AP181 + USB3.0 upgrade
Audio Device(s) Realtek S1220a + Pioneer VSX-531 amp Technics 100W Speaker set
Power Supply Enermax RevolutionXT II 750W 80+ Gold
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Core
Keyboard Logitech G105
Software Windows 10 X64 PRO (build 1909)
Benchmark Scores it sucks even more less now ;)
that's upto you if you think Dolby digital live or DTS or ATMOS will enhance your listening experience then go for the plus some games support DDL or DTS most don't because of licensing costs it wont really have much effect on music unless it has been encoded to do so mostly unlikely and as for movies or TV most of netflix and amazon prime content uses DDL
 

stealth989

New Member
Joined
Apr 19, 2019
Messages
8 (0.02/day)
that's upto you if you think Dolby digital live or DTS or ATMOS will enhance your listening experience then go for the plus some games support DDL or DTS most don't because of licensing costs it wont really have much effect on music unless it has been encoded to do so mostly unlikely and as for movies or TV most of netflix and amazon prime content uses DDL
i mostly just play FPS games like Pubg and COD i like hearing footsteps hahaha will that help me hear it more clear?
 
Joined
Jan 31, 2010
Messages
3,641 (0.95/day)
Location
Gougeland (NZ)
System Name Cumquat 2000
Processor AMD RyZen R7 3700X
Motherboard Asus Strix x470-F Gaming
Cooling Cryorig R1 Universal
Memory 16GB GSkill TridentZ DR4-3200 16-18-18-38 1.35V
Video Card(s) Sapphire Pulse RX5700 8GB DDR6 1750/1700
Storage 1X Samsung 860 EVO 500GB SATA AHCI 1x Sandisk 128GB PCIe, 12TB of HDD Storage
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457 MHD 75Hz FreeSync 1920x1080p
Case SilverStone Raven RV02B-W + 3x SS AP181 + USB3.0 upgrade
Audio Device(s) Realtek S1220a + Pioneer VSX-531 amp Technics 100W Speaker set
Power Supply Enermax RevolutionXT II 750W 80+ Gold
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Core
Keyboard Logitech G105
Software Windows 10 X64 PRO (build 1909)
Benchmark Scores it sucks even more less now ;)
not unless those games support DDL or DTS
 

stealth989

New Member
Joined
Apr 19, 2019
Messages
8 (0.02/day)
i dont think so not many games support it i just looked... well thanks for all the info!
 

FreedomEclipse

~Technological Technocrat~
Joined
Apr 20, 2007
Messages
20,743 (4.27/day)
Location
London,UK
System Name Codename: Icarus Mk.V
Processor Intel 8600k@4.8Ghz
Motherboard Asus ROG Strixx Z370-F
Cooling CPU: BeQuiet! Dark Rock Pro 4 {1xCorsair ML120 Pro|5xML140 Pro}
Memory 16 Corsair Vengeance White LED DDR4 3200Mhz {2x8GB}
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080Ti Gaming OC|Accelero Xtreme IV
Storage Samsung 970Evo 512GB SSD (Boot)|WD Blue 1TB SSD|2x 3TB Toshiba DT01ACA300
Display(s) Asus PB278Q 27"
Case Corsair 760T (White)
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V573|Speakers: JBL Control One|Auna 300-CN|Wharfedale Diamond SW150
Power Supply Corsair AX760
Mouse Logitech G900/G502
Keyboard Duckyshine Dead LED(s) III
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores (ノಠ益ಠ)ノ彡┻━┻
Ontop of that. You'd need new speaker's as well because DTS and DDL is a digital signal and can only be passed through TOSlink, HDMI and DisplayPort. x540 only supports analogue connections. DTS is a movie thing that's why you don't see any games at all that support it. It's an audio codec

You need a speaker system that has digital decoder like an av receiver to use it. Some higher end of speaker Kits have one. DDL was More like less fancy version of bitstreaming except it's always on.
 

stealth989

New Member
Joined
Apr 19, 2019
Messages
8 (0.02/day)
Ontop of that. You'd need new speaker's as well because DTS and DDL is a digital signal and can only be passed through TOSlink, HDMI and DisplayPort. x540 only supports analogue connections. DTS is a movie thing that's why you don't see any games at all that support it. It's an audio codec

You need a speaker system that has digital decoder like an av receiver to use it. Some higher end of speaker Kits have one. DDL was More like less fancy version of bitstreaming except it's always on.
wow thanks for the very nice info X-D then i wont bother getting the Ae-5 Plus since i only game
 
Joined
Sep 16, 2018
Messages
683 (0.99/day)
Processor X5690 ES
Motherboard Asus Rampage III Formula
Cooling Thermalright Le Grand Macho RT, TY143
Memory 10Gb G.Skill mix
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 980 Classified 3988 @ 1495/2001
Storage Intel 545S
Display(s) Hisense 55"
Case Fractal Design Meshify C TG, White
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar Essence ST
Power Supply CM Silent Pro M2 850
Mouse Zowie EC2 Evo
Keyboard Logitech G15
Software Yes
A good soundcard is nice to have. Especially if you can make use of it. But if you were going to use it in your home stereo setup.. I honestly wouldn't bother unless you were into it for the analogue sound. I have a sound card in my pc but we only use it for headphones, or maybe the desktop speakers occasionally. Movies and music go through the GPU into my AVR 98% of the time. But if I were using a stereo amp.. left/right then I would use the soundcard for sure. But to be fair, I haven't used a small speaker setup like that before. I use my GPU into my AVR these days.
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
11,467 (2.98/day)
Location
Oregon
System Name Delta // HTPC
Processor Intel i7 6700K // Intel i5 4570
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z270X-Gaming K7 // Gigabyte H97M -D3H
Cooling Corsair H80i V2 // Silverstone NT-06 Pro
Memory Corsair DDR4 3000 32gb //G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce RTX 2080 XC ULTRA GAMING// EVGA GTX 1050 ti
Storage Samsung 950 Pro NVMe 512, 2 Tb FireCuda// Samsung 1Tb SSD
Display(s) ASUS VP348QGL 34" Quad HD 3440 x 1440 // 55" LG 4K SK8000 Series
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 550D // Silverstone Granada GD05
Audio Device(s) Focusrite Scarlett // HDMI to Samsung HW-R650 sound bar
Power Supply Corsair TX850M // SeaSonic G Series 550w
Mouse Cooler Master MM710 53G
Keyboard Logitech 920-009300 G512 SE
Software Windows 10 Pro // Windows 10 Pro
DD and DTS is just a compression type of 5.1

The old saying is true. You can't make a silk purse out of a souse ear. If your source is 2.1 it does nothing for you.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 31, 2010
Messages
3,641 (0.95/day)
Location
Gougeland (NZ)
System Name Cumquat 2000
Processor AMD RyZen R7 3700X
Motherboard Asus Strix x470-F Gaming
Cooling Cryorig R1 Universal
Memory 16GB GSkill TridentZ DR4-3200 16-18-18-38 1.35V
Video Card(s) Sapphire Pulse RX5700 8GB DDR6 1750/1700
Storage 1X Samsung 860 EVO 500GB SATA AHCI 1x Sandisk 128GB PCIe, 12TB of HDD Storage
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457 MHD 75Hz FreeSync 1920x1080p
Case SilverStone Raven RV02B-W + 3x SS AP181 + USB3.0 upgrade
Audio Device(s) Realtek S1220a + Pioneer VSX-531 amp Technics 100W Speaker set
Power Supply Enermax RevolutionXT II 750W 80+ Gold
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Core
Keyboard Logitech G105
Software Windows 10 X64 PRO (build 1909)
Benchmark Scores it sucks even more less now ;)
Ontop of that. You'd need new speaker's as well because DTS and DDL is a digital signal and can only be passed through TOSlink, HDMI and DisplayPort. x540 only supports analogue connections. DTS is a movie thing that's why you don't see any games at all that support it. It's an audio codec

You need a speaker system that has digital decoder like an av receiver to use it. Some higher end of speaker Kits have one. DDL was More like less fancy version of bitstreaming except it's always on.
That's not quite true TOSLink, HDMI and Display Port are all pass through where as the AE-5 Plus can process the DDL or DTS signals and output to analogue or TOSLink
 

FreedomEclipse

~Technological Technocrat~
Joined
Apr 20, 2007
Messages
20,743 (4.27/day)
Location
London,UK
System Name Codename: Icarus Mk.V
Processor Intel 8600k@4.8Ghz
Motherboard Asus ROG Strixx Z370-F
Cooling CPU: BeQuiet! Dark Rock Pro 4 {1xCorsair ML120 Pro|5xML140 Pro}
Memory 16 Corsair Vengeance White LED DDR4 3200Mhz {2x8GB}
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080Ti Gaming OC|Accelero Xtreme IV
Storage Samsung 970Evo 512GB SSD (Boot)|WD Blue 1TB SSD|2x 3TB Toshiba DT01ACA300
Display(s) Asus PB278Q 27"
Case Corsair 760T (White)
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V573|Speakers: JBL Control One|Auna 300-CN|Wharfedale Diamond SW150
Power Supply Corsair AX760
Mouse Logitech G900/G502
Keyboard Duckyshine Dead LED(s) III
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores (ノಠ益ಠ)ノ彡┻━┻
That's not quite true TOSLink, HDMI and Display Port are all pass through where as the AE-5 Plus can process the DDL or DTS signals and output to analogue or TOSLink
I was unaware of this. I had an older XFi Titanium then a SB-Z and Dolby Digital Live always had to be output by TOSlink. Thats why its called Dolby Digital. If they can pass it through analogue then it isnt Dolby Digital anymore its just Dolby. The whole 'live' aspect about it was that it was keeping the connection alive constantly so there wasnt any pops or delays in the signal from latency or some speakers powering off during quite periods of a movie or when your system is idle.
 
Joined
Aug 24, 2018
Messages
674 (0.95/day)
System Name Dell Inspiron 7375
Processor AMD Ryzen™ 7 2700U Mobile Processor with Radeon™ RX Vega 10 Graphics
Memory 16GB (total) 2400MHz DDR4 SODIMM
Video Card(s) Radeon™ RX Vega 10 Graphics
Storage SanDisk X600 SATA SSD 512GB
Display(s) BOE NV13FHM
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC3253 (Dell Labelling) ALC255 (Real name)
That's not quite true TOSLink, HDMI and Display Port are all pass through where as the AE-5 Plus can process the DDL or DTS signals and output to analogue or TOSLink
Are you saying that the AE5 has a DD/DTS decoder?
I know only the G7 to have that.
 
Joined
Jan 31, 2010
Messages
3,641 (0.95/day)
Location
Gougeland (NZ)
System Name Cumquat 2000
Processor AMD RyZen R7 3700X
Motherboard Asus Strix x470-F Gaming
Cooling Cryorig R1 Universal
Memory 16GB GSkill TridentZ DR4-3200 16-18-18-38 1.35V
Video Card(s) Sapphire Pulse RX5700 8GB DDR6 1750/1700
Storage 1X Samsung 860 EVO 500GB SATA AHCI 1x Sandisk 128GB PCIe, 12TB of HDD Storage
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457 MHD 75Hz FreeSync 1920x1080p
Case SilverStone Raven RV02B-W + 3x SS AP181 + USB3.0 upgrade
Audio Device(s) Realtek S1220a + Pioneer VSX-531 amp Technics 100W Speaker set
Power Supply Enermax RevolutionXT II 750W 80+ Gold
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Core
Keyboard Logitech G105
Software Windows 10 X64 PRO (build 1909)
Benchmark Scores it sucks even more less now ;)
Joined
Aug 24, 2018
Messages
674 (0.95/day)
System Name Dell Inspiron 7375
Processor AMD Ryzen™ 7 2700U Mobile Processor with Radeon™ RX Vega 10 Graphics
Memory 16GB (total) 2400MHz DDR4 SODIMM
Video Card(s) Radeon™ RX Vega 10 Graphics
Storage SanDisk X600 SATA SSD 512GB
Display(s) BOE NV13FHM
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC3253 (Dell Labelling) ALC255 (Real name)

FreedomEclipse

~Technological Technocrat~
Joined
Apr 20, 2007
Messages
20,743 (4.27/day)
Location
London,UK
System Name Codename: Icarus Mk.V
Processor Intel 8600k@4.8Ghz
Motherboard Asus ROG Strixx Z370-F
Cooling CPU: BeQuiet! Dark Rock Pro 4 {1xCorsair ML120 Pro|5xML140 Pro}
Memory 16 Corsair Vengeance White LED DDR4 3200Mhz {2x8GB}
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080Ti Gaming OC|Accelero Xtreme IV
Storage Samsung 970Evo 512GB SSD (Boot)|WD Blue 1TB SSD|2x 3TB Toshiba DT01ACA300
Display(s) Asus PB278Q 27"
Case Corsair 760T (White)
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V573|Speakers: JBL Control One|Auna 300-CN|Wharfedale Diamond SW150
Power Supply Corsair AX760
Mouse Logitech G900/G502
Keyboard Duckyshine Dead LED(s) III
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores (ノಠ益ಠ)ノ彡┻━┻
Are you saying that the AE5 has a DD/DTS decoder?
I know only the G7 to have that.
Just to clarify. There is a bog standard AE-5 then there is a second card called the 'AE-5 PLUS'. Its the AE-5 PLUS that gets the DDL/DTS stuff because i dont know why. Back in the day you used to be able to install a DDL software package to enable it with older cards. Creative are just charging extra for the privileged of supporting DDL and maybe a few other meaningless features.
 
Joined
Aug 24, 2018
Messages
674 (0.95/day)
System Name Dell Inspiron 7375
Processor AMD Ryzen™ 7 2700U Mobile Processor with Radeon™ RX Vega 10 Graphics
Memory 16GB (total) 2400MHz DDR4 SODIMM
Video Card(s) Radeon™ RX Vega 10 Graphics
Storage SanDisk X600 SATA SSD 512GB
Display(s) BOE NV13FHM
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC3253 (Dell Labelling) ALC255 (Real name)
Just to clarify. There is a bog standard AE-5 then there is a second card called the 'AE-5 PLUS'. Its the AE-5 PLUS that gets the DDL/DTS stuff because i dont know why. Back in the day you used to be able to install a DDL software package to enable it with older cards. Creative are just charging extra for the privileged of supporting DDL and maybe a few other meaningless features.
Creative website for ae-5 plus only indicates encoding.
X-fi series did also had a hardware DD decoder.
 
Top